How much does an X-Golf franchise cost?
The 2026 X GOLF Franchise Corporation Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $1,153,500 to $1,803,850 to open one individual X-Golf indoor golf entertainment facility. The estimate is for a leased retail location of about 5,500 to 10,000 square feet with six to eight X-Golf simulators.
Estimated Initial Investment. This is the stated 2026 FDD Item 7 total for one X-Golf facility. It includes the Initial Franchise Fee, simulator package, premises buildout, opening assets, pre-opening expenses, and Additional Funds for the first three months.
Source: 2026 FDD, cover and Item 7, pp. 17-19.
- Legal franchisor
- X GOLF Franchise Corporation, a California corporation.
- FDD basis
- Issued April 15, 2026; Items 5, 6, and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11, and 17.
- Applicable format
- One individual X-Golf facility with six to eight simulators. Items 5-7 do not publish a separate multi-unit investment schedule.
- Public FDD link
- No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official X-Golf-controlled website, so FDD citations below are unlinked and use exact Item and page references.
- Information checked
- July 15, 2026. The federal disclosure framework is described in the FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide and codified in 16 CFR Part 436.
The individual investment-table rows do not arithmetically reconcile to the stated total at either endpoint. This article preserves the official total shown on the cover and in the investment table and does not replace it with a recalculated figure. A buyer should request written clarification before relying on the line-item schedule as a complete cash budget.
How should the published range be read?
The stated total is an opening-cost envelope for the described facility, not a statement that a buyer can proceed by producing only the low endpoint in cash. Some amounts are paid immediately, some become binding when orders or contracts are placed, and others are spent over construction and early operations. The practical funding question is therefore whether the buyer can cover each commitment when it becomes due, including contingencies that the national schedule cannot price for a specific property.
The total also should not be confused with the payment made for the right to enter the system. That contract payment is a small part of the overall capital stack. Most of the disclosed dollars are directed to the premises, contractors, equipment suppliers, insurers, government authorities, employees, and other third parties. This distinction matters because a discount on the contract payment changes only that one component; it does not reduce construction, equipment, rent, licensing, inventory, or operating-reserve obligations.
The low and high endpoints are not described as a typical result, midpoint, target, or probability range. They are boundaries assigned to separate categories. A buyer should not assume that every low value can be achieved together, or that the high endpoint absorbs every local contingency. The approved property, landlord contribution, design, local permit process, equipment specification, and opening schedule determine which side of each category is relevant.
Finally, the working reserve is already part of the published total. Adding it again would double count it. At the same time, the reserve omits the owner's compensation and loan payments, so a household cash plan and a debt-service plan may require resources beyond the opening estimate even though those amounts are not missing line items in the disclosure.
Key cost figures
What is included in the initial investment?
The 2026 investment table combines the contract payment to X GOLF Franchise Corporation with site acquisition, leasehold improvements, golf simulators purchased from parent company X GOLF America, Inc., furniture and equipment, technology, insurance, signage, inventory, licensing, professional fees, training travel, and three months of Additional Funds.
Contract, premises, and core equipment
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 range | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $40,000 | Upon signing the Franchise Agreement | X GOLF Franchise Corporation |
| Rent, one month | $15,000-$22,000 | Upon signing the lease | Landlord |
| Lease Security Deposit | $15,000-$22,000 | Upon signing the lease | Landlord |
| Utilities | $1,650-$3,000 | Upon ordering service | Utility providers |
| Leasehold Improvements | $542,000-$710,000 | As incurred or billed | Contractors |
| Market Introduction Program | $5,000-$10,000 | As incurred or billed | Vendors |
| Golf Simulators | $407,850-$536,850 | 50% when ordered; 50% before shipment | X GOLF America, Inc. |
| Furniture, Fixtures, and Other Equipment | $75,000-$300,000 | As incurred | Vendors |
Systems, opening stock, approvals, and working capital
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 range | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Systems | $1,500-$3,000 | As incurred | Vendors |
| Insurance, 12 months | $15,000-$20,000 | Upon purchase | Insurance company |
| Signage | $10,000-$30,000 | Upon ordering | Approved suppliers and vendors |
| Inventory from affiliate | $0-$2,000 | Upon ordering | X GOLF America, Inc. |
| Other Inventory | $9,000-$10,000 | Upon ordering | Approved suppliers and vendors |
| Licenses and Permits | $4,500-$40,000 | Upon application | Government authorities |
| Professional Fees | $4,000-$14,000 | As incurred or billed | Lawyers, accountants, and other firms |
| Initial Training Travel, Lodging, and Meals | $2,000-$5,000 | As incurred | Travel providers |
| Additional Funds, first three months | $60,000-$90,000 | As incurred | Employees, suppliers, and utilities |
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 11-12, and Item 7, pp. 17-19. The FDD says initial fees are non-refundable. Lease and utility deposits may be refundable if no money is owed.
A qualifying U.S. military veteran, active-duty service member, or spouse may receive a 10% discount on the Initial Franchise Fee for the first Franchise Agreement. When the franchisee is an entity, the qualifying participant must own at least 51%, and proof must be provided before signing. The reduction applies to the $40,000 fee component, not to Leasehold Improvements, Golf Simulators, working capital, or the other Item 7 expenditures.
The initial training program has no training fee for up to three participants, but the franchisee pays their travel, lodging, meals, wages, and other attendance costs. Item 7 estimates only the travel, lodging, and meal portion at $2,000 to $5,000.
Why is the low endpoint not a universal minimum?
Each category responds to a different contract or local condition. Rent and deposits depend on the lease; construction depends on the delivered condition and landlord work; equipment depends on the approved layout; insurance depends on the required coverage and underwriting; and government charges depend on jurisdiction. The disclosure combines those estimates into one national schedule, but it does not say that the least expensive outcome in every category is available at one site.
The timing can also change the amount carried before opening. The estimate assumes a free-rent period during construction so that only one month of rent and one security deposit are shown before operations. A lease without that concession could cause occupancy payments to begin earlier. Because the document does not publish an alternate total for that situation, the difference should be priced from the actual lease rather than inserted as an unsupported national estimate.
Likewise, the schedule assumes a leased retail site rather than a building purchase. Financing fees, interest during development, lender reserves, and property-acquisition costs are not converted into a replacement range. The defensible approach is to retain the official figure as the disclosure benchmark and maintain a separate, property-specific uses-and-sources schedule for items the national table cannot resolve.
The light segment shows the disclosed minimum; the dark segment shows the spread from the minimum to the disclosed maximum. Scale maximum: $710,000.
Interpretation: Leasehold Improvements and the six-to-eight-unit Golf Simulator package are the dominant disclosed capital categories. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17-19. Values are official ranges; bar percentages are derived only to scale the display.
Premises costs drive much of the uncertainty. Item 7 assumes a leased location, one month of rent, a security deposit, and a buildout from a “vanilla shell.” Purchasing real estate is outside the estimate and would make the capital requirement significantly different.
When is the money paid?
The capital is not due on one date. The 2026 FDD creates a sequence that starts with the Initial Franchise Fee, moves through lease and simulator commitments, and continues through construction, pre-opening purchases, and the first three months of operations.
- Sign the Franchise Agreement.Pay the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee by check or wire transfer. The fee is a lump-sum, non-refundable payment.
- Secure the approved premises.The estimate assumes one month of rent and a Lease Security Deposit, each estimated at $15,000 to $22,000, when the lease is signed.
- Order the simulator package.Pay 50% of the $407,850 to $536,850 Golf Simulator purchase price when ordering and the remaining 50% before X GOLF America, Inc. ships the equipment.
- Fund construction and opening assets.Leasehold Improvements, Furniture, Fixtures, Other Equipment, Computer Systems, professional services, and utilities are generally paid as incurred or billed; signage and inventory are generally paid when ordered.
- Complete pre-opening requirements.Pay insurance upon purchase, Licenses and Permits upon application, and travel costs for initial training as incurred. The Market Introduction Program must be planned for franchisor approval at least 60 days before the projected opening.
- Carry the initial operating reserve.The $60,000 to $90,000 Additional Funds allowance covers required pre-opening expenses and the first three months of operations, including payroll, added inventory, rent, utilities, and operating shortfalls.
Why can cash be committed before the facility opens?
Several obligations become fixed before the opening date even when the final invoice is paid later. Signing a lease creates occupancy obligations, an equipment order commits the buyer to the second installment before shipment, and a construction contract may require deposits or progress payments. These commitments can overlap, so a funding plan based only on the date of final opening can understate the amount that must be accessible during development.
The three-month reserve is used as expenses arise, but it is intended to cover both late pre-opening needs and the early operating period. Delays can shift payroll, rent, utilities, inventory, and other outlays into a longer pre-opening and ramp-up window. The disclosure says timing can affect both the amount and the duration of expenses exceeding incoming cash, without providing a larger delay scenario. That makes the development calendar a capital-control document, not merely an operational schedule.
The typical development period is four to 12 months. A lease is required within four months after signing, subject to a disclosed 30-day extension. The facility must open within 12 months unless X GOLF grants a paid extension.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 11, and Item 11, p. 25. Extensions are discretionary, not automatic.
Which costs continue after opening?
The main continuing charges are a 7% Royalty Fee and a 1% Marketing Fund Contribution, both based on Adjusted Gross Sales and paid monthly on the 10th day of the following month. The system also has a quarterly Technology Fee, an Acuity subscription, a quarterly marketing-spend requirement, and possible Market Cooperative contributions.
| Ongoing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | Key qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 7% of Adjusted Gross Sales | Monthly, 10th of following month | Paid by pre-authorized bank draft unless another method is required. |
| Marketing Fund Contribution | 1% of Adjusted Gross Sales | Monthly, 10th of following month | Separate from the Royalty Fee. |
| Required Marketing Spending | At least 5% of Adjusted Gross Sales | Each fiscal quarter | Market Cooperative contributions count toward the floor. |
| Market Cooperative Contribution | 1%-5% of Adjusted Gross Sales | Monthly if a cooperative applies | Amount is determined by cooperative vote; Chicago had a cooperative and Boston was being organized when the FDD was issued. |
| Technology Fee | Currently $1,500 | Quarterly | May increase up to 2% of gross sales with 30 days' notice. |
| Acuity Software | $120 per year | $10 monthly with royalties | Cloud scheduling system. |
| Maintenance, Updating, Upgrading, or Support Contracts | Estimated $15,000-$30,000 annually | As required or elected | Item 11 estimate excludes credit-card processing. |
| Third-Party Vendors | Pass-through cost plus reasonable administration charge | Varies | Current administrative charge disclosed as none. |
| Non-Standard Offering Fee | As determined | One-time or recurring | Currently $2,000 annually for approval of games-of-chance machines in Illinois. |
Why should the percentage obligations not be added blindly?
The disclosed percentages have different functions and timing. One is a monthly system charge, one funds brand marketing, one sets a quarterly spending floor, and one applies only when a local cooperative exists. The cooperative contribution receives an express credit toward the quarterly floor, which prevents that particular amount from being treated as wholly separate spending. No comparable credit is stated for the brand fund, so the agreement should control how proof of compliance is calculated.
A percentage also cannot be translated into a responsible annual dollar budget without an official sales assumption. The correct cost statement is the rate and its defined base. Monthly withdrawals can still create a cash-timing issue because the payment follows the prior month's activity, while the quarterly spending test may require evidence that sufficient qualifying marketing was purchased during the quarter.
All four rates use Adjusted Gross Sales as the basis. The bars are not an additive total.
Interpretation: the 7% Royalty Fee is distinct from marketing obligations. A Market Cooperative payment counts toward the 5% quarterly marketing-spend floor; the FDD does not say the 1% Marketing Fund Contribution counts toward that floor. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 12-17, and Item 11, pp. 26-28. Bar lengths are derived from the disclosed rates using 7% as the display maximum.
- Adjusted Gross Sales
- Total sales generated through the business, excluding bona fide refunds, collected sales taxes, and sales of prepaid cards until redemption. Membership and lesson payments are included when the customer pays.
- Gross sales for Technology Fee cap
- The fee table uses “gross sales,” rather than the defined adjusted-sales term, when describing the possible 2% maximum Technology Fee. The agreement should be checked for the controlling definition before any increase.
- Square costs
- Square is the required point-of-sale and facility-management system, but the 2026 FDD does not state its processing or subscription charges. Item 11 also estimates the initial computer hardware at $1,500-$2,500, while Item 7 uses $1,500-$3,000; the Item 7 range is retained for the official initial-investment schedule.
- Future system changes
- The Franchise Agreement does not place a contractual limit on the frequency or cost of required hardware, software, equipment, or system upgrades. Those later obligations are not a fixed addition to the 2026 Item 7 total.
How much liquid capital or net worth is required?
The current disclosure does not state a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds requirement. The official X-Golf franchise page, checked July 15, 2026, states a $200,000 minimum liquid-capital figure and says SBA funding is available. That website figure is a supplemental screening statement, not part of Item 7 and not a promise that $200,000 is sufficient to fund the project.
The official franchise page also displays a $35,000 franchise fee and a $993,000 to $1.9 million-plus investment range. Those figures conflict with the later April 15, 2026 FDD, which states a $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee and a $1,153,500 to $1,803,850 Estimated Initial Investment. For FDD-governed fees, this article uses the 2026 disclosure and treats the website figures as needing correction or written confirmation.
The financing disclosure says the franchisor offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation. A lender may consider an SBA-guaranteed structure, but approval depends on the lender, borrower, project, and current program rules. The SBA 7(a) loan program page explains the federal program; it does not establish X-Golf eligibility or borrower approval.
What does a lender-ready capital plan still need?
A screening figure for available cash does not establish the equity contribution, collateral, credit approval, or total project funding that a lender may require. It also does not show whether borrowed proceeds can be used for every category or when those proceeds will be available. The financing disclosure leaves those decisions outside the franchisor's control.
A complete funding schedule therefore needs to align committed equity, loan proceeds, landlord contributions, and any other verified sources with the dates in the lease, construction contract, equipment order, insurance binders, government applications, and opening plan. This is not a substitute estimate; it is a timing reconciliation using the buyer's actual contracts. Any financing proposal should also preserve enough uncommitted resources for excluded personal compensation and debt payments.
What makes the X-Golf cost range move?
The largest range drivers are the premises, construction scope, number of simulators, Furniture, Fixtures, and Other Equipment, and local licensing. The 2026 FDD uses one investment schedule rather than separate traditional, nontraditional, conversion, freestanding, or mobile-format ranges.
Which fees arise only after a specific event?
The fee table contains several charges that do not apply to every franchisee. They become relevant when management changes, the location moves, the agreement renews or transfers, payments are late, records are deficient, or the franchisor supplies extra support or enforces compliance.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 12-17; Item 8, pp. 19-22; Item 17, pp. 37-40; Franchise Agreement §7.13.
What does the official range not fully resolve?
The disclosed opening range is a franchisor estimate, not a guaranteed project budget. It includes Additional Funds, but that allowance excludes owner compensation and debt service. It also cannot settle local real-estate pricing, the actual liquor-license market, landlord contributions, financing costs, Square charges, later system upgrades, or a buyer's specific construction plan.
What capital figure should a prospective franchisee use?
Use $1,153,500 to $1,803,850 as the latest verified official 2026 FDD range for one leased X-Golf facility with six to eight simulators, while recognizing that the Item 7 rows require reconciliation. The $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee is only one part of that total; Leasehold Improvements and Golf Simulators are the largest disclosed capital categories, and the $60,000 to $90,000 Additional Funds allowance is already included.
After opening, budget separately for the 7% Royalty Fee, 1% Marketing Fund Contribution, at least 5% quarterly Required Marketing Spending, the $1,500 quarterly Technology Fee, Acuity, system maintenance or upgrades, and any conditional fees triggered by the location, agreement, ownership, support needs, or compliance events. The main unresolved question is not the published range itself, but how the franchisor reconciles the investment-table rows and translates the national estimate into the approved site's final construction and equipment schedule.