How much does an Uptown Cheapskate franchise cost?
A single Uptown Cheapskate Store has an Estimated Initial Investment of $364,015 to $682,215 under the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. The range applies to the standard U.S. retail format and includes the signing fee, required systems, premises and buildout, fixtures, merchandise, opening promotion, and a three-month operating reserve.
One new Store, 2026 FDD. The range assumes approximately 5,000 square feet in a community shopping center and includes a three-month reserve. It does not include annual rent or financing costs. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11-15. The franchisor's official 2026 cost overview reports the same range.
The published endpoints are not two preset packages. They are the low and high estimates for the same retail format, assembled from categories that move for different reasons and are paid at different times. A buyer therefore should not assume that reaching the low end requires only the lower cash payment at signing, or that the upper end will be available through financing. The practical funding plan must connect each vendor quote and lease obligation to the month in which cash is required.
- Legal franchisor
- Uptown Cheapskate Franchise System, LLC
- Immediate parent
- BaseCamp Franchising, LLC
- FDD issuance
- April 10, 2026
- Offer structures
- One Store or an Area Development Agreement with at least two Stores
- Cost Items used
- Items 5, 6 and 7; cost-relevant parts of Items 8, 10, 11 and 17
- Information checked
- July 18, 2026
No matching current disclosure was located on an official franchise-controlled public domain, so the document citations in this article are intentionally unlinked.
Capital snapshot
The total range is not the same as the signing payment, available cash, or balance-sheet qualification. Each figure answers a different part of the capital decision.
The disclosure cover says the one-unit investment includes $50,000 paid to the franchisor or an affiliate. The fee section separately lists a $35,000 signing payment, a $15,000 software installation payment and a $15,000 opening-service payment after lease signing. The investment table includes a $20,000 opening promotion, while the ongoing-fee section says $15,000 of that promotion must be spent through the opening service. The official total reconciles, but the payment-recipient classification does not. A prospective franchisee should request a written sources-and-uses schedule identifying the recipient of each $15,000 payment.
What is included in the $364,015 to $682,215 range?
The 2026 investment table covers 17 disclosed categories from signing through the first three months, but its widest uncertainty comes from buildout, merchandise, fixtures, the operating reserve, deposits and financing charges. The official total equals the sum of the disclosed low and high endpoints.
Largest variable Item 7 ranges for one Store
Each bar starts at the disclosed low amount and ends at the disclosed high amount. Scale maximum: $170,000.
Interpretation: The buildout line has the widest disclosed spread, $135,000, calculated from the official endpoints. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11-15. Bar positions use official ranges; the spread is a derived calculation.
A range bar shows uncertainty, not a recommended allocation. A category with a narrow band can still require substantial cash, while a category with a broad band may depend on a negotiation that is not complete when the agreement is signed. The useful next step is to replace one estimate at a time with a written quote, while leaving the remaining official estimates unchanged. That approach avoids creating an artificial midpoint and makes it easier to see whether a favorable lease term is being offset by a higher fixture, inventory or borrowing requirement.
The categories also interact. A less-finished site can increase construction work and delay the period when merchandise can be acquired. A longer opening schedule can increase payroll and occupancy needs before sales begin. Borrowing can reduce the amount paid from personal cash at a particular milestone, but it adds fees and repayment obligations that are not part of the operating reserve. The official total should therefore remain the control figure while the project-specific schedule becomes more detailed.
Agreement, training and premises
The first group includes the contractual entry payment and the Store Location costs that are most sensitive to lease terms and site condition.
| Cost category | Disclosed amount | When paid | Payee or interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Franchise Fee | $35,000 | At signing of Franchise Agreement | Uptown Cheapskate Franchise System, LLC |
| Travel and Lodging Expenses while Training | $1,500-$7,000 | As incurred during corporate, in-store and internship training | Travel providers; training for the franchisee and one other person is included, but travel, meals, compensation and incidentals are not. |
| Real Estate Deposit | $4,500-$33,000 | At lease signing | Landlord; covers initial rent payments and/or security deposit for an assumed 5,000-square-foot Store. |
| Real Estate Improvements | $35,000-$170,000 | As incurred | Contractors and vendors; assumes the landlord funds some, but not all, improvements. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11-13 and Notes 1-4.
Signs, fixtures and technology
The physical retail package carries several fixed or tightly defined payments in addition to the broad buildout range.
| Cost category | Disclosed amount | When paid | Payee or interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Exterior Signs and Graphics | $10,000-$21,000 | Before opening | Various vendors; assumes a sign at least 20 feet tall plus window graphics. |
| Interior Signs | $2,000-$4,500 | Before opening | Sign contractor; category, policy, promotional and point-of-sale signs. |
| Trade Fixtures | $75,000-$105,000 | Before opening | Approved suppliers and vendors; based on approximately 5,000 square feet. |
| Computer Hardware and Related Equipment | $22,715 | Upon signing the lease | Dell, Lenovo and other vendors; March 2026 purchase price including estimated tax and shipping. |
| BaseCamp Software Suite | $15,000 | Upon signing the lease | BaseCamp; includes Baseline point-of-sale and appraisal, IMAP and Vendor Check-in software. |
| Security Camera System | $2,000-$8,000 | Before opening | Various vendors. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11-14 and Notes 5-9; Item 8, pp. 16-17, identifies required or approved suppliers.
Inventory, promotion and initial operating cash
The final phase funds the inventory-acquisition period, Store supplies, Grand Opening and the first three months of operations.
| Cost category | Disclosed amount | When paid | Payee or interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grand Opening Promotion | $20,000 | Before opening | Marketing providers; $15,000 must be spent through the New Store Service and counts toward this total. |
| Opening Inventory | $75,000-$110,000 | As purchased before opening | Inventory sellers and vendors during the Open to Buy period. |
| Incorporation Documents | $300-$1,500 | Before opening | Attorney and state. |
| Loan Fees | $0-$25,000 | At application and/or closing | Lenders and brokers; may include application, origination, packaging, underwriting and administrative fees. |
| Licenses, Permits and Utility Deposits | $1,000-$2,000 | As incurred | Government agencies and utilities. |
| Supplies, Hangers and Miscellaneous Expenses | $25,000-$35,000 | Before opening | Includes bags, tags, sensors, sensor towers, cleaning and office supplies. |
| Additional Funds, three months | $40,000-$67,500 | As incurred | Payroll, facilities, utilities, internet and other operating expenses during Open to Buy and after Grand Opening; financing costs are excluded. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12-15 and Notes 10-15.
Use the breakdown as a scope-control document rather than as a menu of optional spending. For each row, match the franchisor's description to a written proposal that uses the same scope. A contractor quote may exclude demolition, design, permits, utility work or delivery even when the broad category appears to cover them. A fixture proposal may omit installation or freight. A merchandise plan may identify a purchase budget without showing how much cash must remain available while goods are acquired from many sellers. Recording those differences beside the official line prevents a low quote from appearing comparable when it covers less work.
The low endpoint also should not be assembled from unrelated best-case assumptions. A favorable landlord contribution may reduce construction cash but require a longer lease, a larger deposit or a later reimbursement. Lower borrowing charges may depend on collateral, guarantees or closing conditions. The useful comparison is therefore not simply official low versus official high. It is official scope versus contracted scope, with the payment date and refundability recorded for each commitment.
When is the money paid?
The payment schedule begins with contract signing, accelerates at lease signing, and continues through buildout, merchandise acquisition and the first three operating months. The 2026 FDD states that the typical period from the earlier of signing or first payment to opening is eight to twelve months.
- Receive and review the current FDD before paying. The FTC franchise buying guide explains that a prospect must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate.
- Pay the Initial Franchise Fee at signing. A single-unit buyer pays $35,000 when the governing agreement is signed. The official franchise development process also places the franchise-fee payment at agreement signing.
- Fund lease-signing payments. The Real Estate Deposit is $4,500 to $33,000. The investment table also places the $22,715 computer hardware package and $15,000 software payment at lease signing.
- Pay buildout, training and pre-opening vendors as work occurs. Buildout, signs, fixtures, permits, training travel, security equipment and supplies are paid before opening or as incurred.
- Fund New Store Service, inventory and Grand Opening. The $15,000 opening-service payment is due after lease signing and at least two weeks before its first advertising. It counts toward the $20,000 opening promotion. Merchandise is acquired during the designated buying period.
- Keep the three-month operating reserve available. The $40,000 to $67,500 range is used as payroll, facilities, utilities, internet and other operating expenses arise during merchandise acquisition and directly after opening.
This sequence matters because the largest payment month may not be the signing month. Lease execution can bring the deposit, systems package and construction mobilization close together, while the merchandise-acquisition period adds payroll and occupancy before the sales opening. A funding commitment that is sufficient in total can still fail operationally if proceeds are released after a vendor deposit or advertising deadline. The closing plan should identify who controls each disbursement, whether a lender pays a vendor directly, and which amounts must remain unrestricted for early operations.
Sources: 2026 FDD cover; Items 5-7, pp. 5-15; Item 11, pp. 23-24. The FTC's Franchise Rule page provides the federal disclosure framework.
A usable cash schedule should show the earliest date each amount can become non-refundable, not merely the planned opening date. Lease deposits, design retainers, equipment orders and advertising commitments can become binding before construction is complete. Loan proceeds may be released only after invoices, inspections or borrower contributions are documented. The schedule should therefore pair each payment with its trigger, payee, cancellation terms and expected funding source.
That sequencing also protects against a common timing mismatch: a project can appear fully funded on paper while cash is unavailable when a deposit is due. The solution is not to add an unsupported estimate to the official range. It is to identify committed funds, approved but undrawn funds, and funds still subject to conditions, then compare those amounts with the next group of invoices. This keeps the disclosure figure intact while testing whether the actual funding structure can support the opening calendar.
Why is opening inventory a distinctive Uptown Cheapskate cost?
The merchandise budget is not simply a shipment received from one distributor. The 2026 FDD budgets $75,000 to $110,000 while the franchisee builds a required mix of used and new merchandise during the designated buying period.
Minimum Inventory before the Store may sell
The Store must have the greater of five items per square foot of sales area or 12,000 gently used, in-season items, plus at least $10,000 at cost in new product inventory. The FDD says it typically takes seven to ten weeks to build the required inventory.
The unit also cannot open to sell merchandise until it has at least 1,000 vendors in its database. These operating thresholds explain why the merchandise budget and the three-month reserve overlap in timing but remain separate categories.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12-14, Note 11; Item 11, p. 23.
Which fees continue after opening?
The principal continuing obligations are the sales-based royalty and fund contribution, required advertising, monthly national-program spending, technology support and first-year bookkeeping. Several amounts may increase under the governing contract.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Payment timing | Important interaction |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 5.0% of Gross Sales | Monthly, 10th day of next month | If Gross Sales are not reported, the franchisor may withdraw a $4,000 Estimated Royalty Fee and adjust it later. |
| Marketing Fund | 0.5% of Gross Sales | Same as Royalty Fee | Separate from Advertising Expenditure. |
| Advertising Expenditure | Greater of 5.0% of Gross Sales or $2,000/month | Measured quarterly; report due after quarter | NMP and Local Advertising Cooperative spending count toward the requirement; the $2,000 minimum may rise by up to $250 per year. |
| National Marketing Program | $2,000/month in opening calendar year | Monthly, 20th day for next month's advertising | After the opening year, if the Store has at least six full months of operation, the requirement becomes the lesser of 2.5% of average Gross Sales and $2,500. |
| Local Advertising Cooperative | Currently not required | If activated, monthly on the 20th | Formula: greater of $2,000 or 4% of Gross Sales, capped at $5,000, less required NMP spending. |
| Computer Support Fee | $350/month | Monthly on the 10th | May increase by up to $100 per year; supports the Software Suite when Computer System Standards are met. |
| Bookkeeping Service Fee | $225/month | 10th day after service month | Required for the first year and may continue for another 12 months if required financial reports are not submitted. |
| Tech Support Fee | $50/hour; $25 minimum | 10th day after service month | Applies to Software Suite support when Computer System Standards are not met. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 6-10. “Gross Sales” is defined in Item 6, p. 11, and generally includes receipts from Store and brand-related sales across channels, excluding specified taxes and refunded merchandise.
The advertising obligations overlap rather than stack mechanically in every case. Certain program and cooperative expenditures receive credit toward the broader spending requirement, while the fund contribution remains separate. That distinction is important when reviewing a monthly debit schedule: the amount sent through an approved program may satisfy part of the required local spend, but it does not eliminate the percentage contribution or the possibility of a shortfall penalty. Because several obligations use a sales-based formula, the document does not provide a fixed annual dollar total and this article does not create one.
The fixed monthly service charges should also be separated from usage-based support and event charges. A regular systems charge is due even when no special consultation is requested. By contrast, hourly support depends on compliance with equipment standards, and bookkeeping can continue beyond the first year if reporting duties are not met. Keeping those categories separate prevents a buyer from treating every technology or administrative payment as one interchangeable subscription.
Which events can trigger additional charges?
Item 6 also creates conditional fees tied to advertising compliance, late performance, transfer, renewal, relocation, audit, termination and closure.
- Advertising shortfall. A 1.0% of Gross Sales penalty, based on the prior month, is charged for six months after failure to satisfy the Advertising Expenditure during a six-month period; it does not count toward required advertising.
- Late reporting or response. $200 per violation, applied monthly, increasing by $50 per month while uncured.
- Late payment and interest. $200 for each late payment, increasing by $50 per month while uncured, plus the lesser of 1.5% interest per month or the highest lawful rate; California has a stated 10% annual maximum.
- Renewal. 25% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee, plus the obligation to remodel to current Standards and attend Refresher Training.
- Relocation or expansion. $5,000 for relocation and $2,500 to expand within existing premises. Relocation also carries at least $10,000 of advertising, or at least $20,000 if the Store temporarily closes and holds a Grand Reopening.
- Transfer. $35,000 to transfer to a new franchisee or $20,000 to an existing franchisee. A $10,000 Finder's Fee can apply in addition, and assignment of an Area Development Agreement costs $10,000.
- Standards and meeting violations. $200 for each standards violation, increasing by $50 per month while uncured; non-attendance at the annual meeting is $2,000 and may increase by up to $500 per year.
- Additional on-site assistance. The current rate is $300 per day plus transportation and lodging, with a three-day maximum.
- Audit understatement. 13.5% Royalty Fee and 1.5% Marketing Fund Fee on the understated amount, plus late fees and interest; the franchisee also pays audit cost if understatement exceeds 1% of Gross Sales.
- Post-termination operation or unauthorized closure. Post-Termination Royalty is 150% of the stated royalty rate. Closing without prior written consent can trigger the highest average monthly Royalty Fee over the previous three years multiplied by the months remaining in the Franchise Agreement.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7-11; Item 17, pp. 45-49.
For budgeting, separate post-opening obligations into three ledgers. The first contains payments that recur on a calendar date. The second contains amounts that vary with the disclosed sales base or required advertising calculation. The third contains charges activated by an event, such as late reporting, transfer, relocation, audit findings or contract default. Combining all three into one monthly estimate can hide obligations that are dormant today but become payable quickly after a trigger.
The operating account also needs enough control to support automatic withdrawals and reporting deadlines. A disputed invoice, delayed report or missing balance can create a charge that is separate from the underlying obligation. Contract review should identify notice periods, cure rights, escalation clauses and any right to debit the account. Those terms determine when a small administrative failure can become a larger cash demand, even though it was not part of the opening budget.
How much does the two-Store Area Development Agreement require?
The minimum multi-unit development contract covers two Stores and has a total investment of $728,030 to $1,364,430. The buyer pays $70,000 at signing, equal to $35,000 for each unit, and that amount is credited toward the two signing fees.
Minimum and maximum investment by development path
All bars start at zero. Scale maximum: $1,364,430.
Interpretation: The two-Store range is exactly two times the one-Store Item 7 range. It does not show a multi-unit cost discount. Source: 2026 FDD, cover and Item 7, p. 15.
The chart compares the contractual scale of the two paths, not the timing of both openings. The schedule may stagger site selection, construction and opening dates, so the entire high-end amount is not necessarily paid on one day. The signing commitment is nevertheless broader: separate agreements are executed together, the territorial schedule becomes binding, and the developer must be able to finance each location as its deadlines arrive. A lender approval for the first project does not by itself establish funding for the second.
There is also no disclosed volume reduction in the startup estimates. The repeated ranges assume that each location requires its own premises, systems, fixtures, merchandise and opening reserve. Any savings negotiated with landlords or vendors would be project-specific rather than an amount promised in the disclosure.
- Signing payment
- $70,000 for the minimum two-Store commitment, paid as a lump sum when the Area Development Agreement is signed.
- Franchise Agreements
- A separate unit agreement is signed for each location at the same time as the development contract.
- Additional Stores
- Each additional Store adds another $35,000 to the Area Development Fee; commitments above two are determined case by case.
- Lease-stage software
- Each Store has a separate $15,000 Software Installation Fee when its lease is signed.
Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 5-6 and 15-16. The upfront development payment is refundable only if the application is not approved; otherwise it is non-refundable.
How much liquid capital and Net Worth are required, and is financing offered?
The official franchise website states a minimum of $100,000 in liquid capital and $200,000 in Net Worth. These are qualification thresholds, not substitutes for the disclosed project range, and the balance-sheet test is not cash available for the project.
The franchisor's official investment page lists those thresholds. The current official FAQ describes the liquidity test as at least $100,000 in cash available to invest and also states that candidates should have no bankruptcy in their financial history. These website qualifications were checked July 18, 2026; they are supplemental to, rather than stated in, Items 5-7 of the FDD.
BaseCamp financing terms disclosed in Item 10
Uptown Cheapskate Franchise System, LLC says it does not offer direct or indirect financing, but its affiliate BaseCamp may decide to lend. The disclosed BaseCamp option is discretionary and does not guarantee approval.
- Up-front cost
- No down payment, but a $500 documentation fee.
- Interest and term
- 15% to 20% annual interest, compounded monthly, over 12, 24 or 36 months.
- Payment date
- Amortized principal and interest are drawn on the 20th day of each month.
- Collateral and guarantee
- Security interest in the assets plus a Personal Guarantee from the franchisee and spouse or domestic partner, or the owners of an entity franchisee.
The FDD also says the system works with Wells Fargo, Key Bank, Lendio, BaseCamp and other lenders without receiving direct or indirect placement payments. The official site discusses SBA and bank financing support; the SBA 7(a) program page explains permitted uses such as real estate improvements, working capital, equipment, fixtures and supplies. Loan approval, rate, collateral and equity requirements remain lender-specific.
The SBA Franchise Directory is a lender eligibility tool, not an endorsement or a promise of financing. Prospects should verify the current brand listing and agreement version with the lender handling the application.
Debt changes payment timing but not the underlying project cost. Loan proceeds may cover eligible construction, equipment, supplies or working capital, yet origination expenses, interest and required equity affect the cash plan separately. The operating reserve should not be assumed available for debt service unless the lender's approved budget and the franchise documents both support that use. A personal guarantee also means the financing decision extends beyond the assets held by the operating entity.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, pp. 21-22 and Item 7, Note 15, pp. 14-15.
A financing plan should distinguish eligibility from availability. Meeting a stated financial screen does not establish the amount a lender will approve, the portion that must come from the borrower, or the date proceeds will be released. Underwriting can depend on credit, collateral, guarantees, lease terms, construction contracts and the borrower's remaining cash after closing. The funding worksheet should therefore record approval conditions alongside the project invoices they are expected to cover.
It is equally important to preserve a source for costs that cannot be financed or reimbursed. Some deposits and professional charges may be due before closing, while a construction facility may fund only completed work. A borrower contribution may have to be spent first. The official range remains the disclosure reference, but the cash plan must show which obligations require immediately available funds and which can be paid from a confirmed draw. A financing conversation without that timing detail does not resolve the opening requirement.
The official FAQ states that veterans receive a 20% discount on the signing fee. Applied to the current $35,000 fee, that is a derived $7,000 reduction, producing a $28,000 fee. The discount does not reduce buildout, technology, merchandise, opening promotion or the operating reserve. Eligibility and the written fee treatment should be confirmed in the transaction documents because the current disclosure tables do not state this veteran incentive.
Which costs can fall outside the official investment range?
The $364,015 to $682,215 range is a disclosed starting envelope, not a cap. Annual rent, financing costs, owner compensation and future remodel obligations are not fully resolved by the published total, while site and sign conditions can push specific expenditures above assumptions.
- Annual rent is excluded. The published estimate includes a lease deposit but explicitly excludes annual rent. A building purchase may require more cash for the down payment and improvements.
- Financing costs are excluded from the three-month reserve. The three-month reserve estimate covers stated operating expenses but not debt-service or other financing costs.
- Owner compensation is not identified as included. The disclosure lists employee payroll but does not state that a franchisee's personal living expenses or owner pay are covered.
- Buildout depends on landlord contribution and site condition. The buildout estimate assumes a 5,000-square-foot unit and some landlord-funded work; a different lease can change the cash requirement.
- Sign costs can exceed the range. The disclosure says larger signs, second signs or pylon signs permitted by a landlord or jurisdiction may cost more.
- Required purchases constrain vendor choice. Item 8 requires specified computer suppliers, BaseCamp software and marketing services, and approved fixture suppliers; the FDD estimates required purchases at 24% to 36% of establishment purchases.
- Insurance coverage is mandatory but not a separate investment-table line. The FDD states insurance is part of operating requirements and the operating reserve references an insurance company, but the table does not isolate the premium amount.
- Remodel obligations continue after opening. The governing contract can require a remodel within 90 days after notice, subject to a stated cap of 50% of initial fixture and fit-up costs every five years; renewal and relocation require upgrades to current Standards.
A useful reconciliation keeps three columns: the disclosed estimate, the current written quote, and the amount already committed. Differences should be explained by scope, timing or contract terms rather than hidden in a single contingency line. This is especially important for a site that requires unusual structural work, delayed possession, a larger sign package or a long permit process. The method does not predict the final project cost; it shows which official assumptions have been replaced by evidence and which remain uncertain.
Before signing, reconcile the current lease proposal, landlord allowance, equipment quote, fixture quote, inventory plan, advertising schedule, lender term sheet and three-month cash-flow plan against every disclosed line. The most important unresolved figure is usually not the $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee; it is the site-specific combination of buildout, rent obligations and working cash that the disclosure cannot determine for a particular market.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, Notes 3-5 and 14-15; Item 8, pp. 16-20; Franchise Agreement remodeling provision summarized in Item 17, pp. 45-47.
What capital number should a prospective franchisee use?
Use the 2026 FDD range of $364,015 to $682,215 for one Store as the official initial-investment reference, then test the specific site and financing plan without replacing the range with a midpoint or a self-created “typical” budget. Preserve qualification thresholds as separate measures, and maintain a second schedule for continuing and event-driven payments after opening.
The decision turns on whether the proposed lease, construction scope, merchandise plan, lender terms and opening timetable can be funded in the order required. The official low and high figures establish the disclosed boundary; written project evidence determines where a particular proposal may sit within or beyond it.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Uptown Cheapskate Franchise?
- How Does the Uptown Cheapskate Franchise Work?
- How to Start an Uptown Cheapskate Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning an Uptown Cheapskate Franchise?
- How Much Does an Uptown Cheapskate Franchise Owner Make?