How much does a Tapestry Collection franchise cost?
The 2026 estimated initial investment for a typical 125-room Tapestry Collection by Hilton hotel is $2,861,047 to $70,253,147. Hilton Franchise Holding LLC states that this Item 7 range applies to New Development and Conversion hotels and excludes real property, market studies, insurance, interest, and separately identified improvement costs for a Conversion, Re-licensing, or Change of Ownership project.
Estimated Initial Investment in the official 2026 U.S. Tapestry Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 7, pages 36–41, for a typical 125-room hotel. The cover states that up to $400,630 of the investment is payable to Hilton Franchise Holding LLC or its affiliates.
Data basis: Legal franchisor: Hilton Franchise Holding LLC. Document: 2026 U.S. Tapestry Franchise Disclosure Document, issued March 30, 2026. Applicable model: typical 125-room New Development or Conversion hotel. Cost analysis uses Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17. Information checked July 22, 2026. Hilton also maintains an official disclosure-document page and official U.S. development information.
The exact brand identity used in the disclosure is Tapestry Collection by Hilton; Hilton's official Tapestry Collection fact sheet provides current brand context but does not replace the FDD cost disclosures.
Capital snapshot
The total investment, application payment, operating reserve, percentage fees, technology cost, and financial qualification are separate concepts. The following figures should not be added together because several are already included in Item 7 or arise only after opening.
How should the published endpoints be read?
The lower and upper endpoints are disclosure boundaries, not two fully specified hotel plans. A project does not automatically qualify for the lower endpoint merely because it uses an existing building, and the upper endpoint is not a prediction that every high-cost line will occur together. Some rows depend on what can be reused, while others depend on site conditions, required work, vendor selections, local rules, and optional facilities. The table also contains categories that cannot be estimated in advance, so the stated total is deliberately narrower than a complete acquisition-and-opening budget.
A sound reading starts with the buyer's actual property and works outward. First determine which physical elements already comply, which must be replaced, and which need further investigation. Then separate expenses already captured in the published total from items marked variable or excluded. Finally, map each obligation to the party receiving payment and the date or project milestone that makes it due. This prevents three common errors: treating the lowest endpoint as readily available, treating every high value as mandatory, or adding a reserve or fee twice because it appears in more than one part of the disclosure.
What is included in the 125-room investment range?
The official initial-investment table combines project development costs, equipment, technology, pre-opening expenses, and a 3-month operating reserve. It also uses $0 at the low end for several categories because an existing-property project may reuse improvements or equipment. A zero lower bound does not mean the category will be free for a particular property.
Premises, design, equipment, and contingency costs
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 disclosed range | When paid |
|---|---|---|
| Construction and Leasehold Improvements | $0–$45,954,000 | As agreed |
| Designer and Engineering Fees | $0–$1,838,160 | As incurred |
| Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment | $0–$7,115,625 | As incurred |
| Inventory and Operating Equipment | $900,000–$1,350,000 | As incurred |
| Signage | $2,000–$102,000 | As incurred |
| Permits and Licenses | $0–$689,310 | As required |
| Contingencies | $0–$4,595,400 | As incurred |
Source: 2026 U.S. Tapestry FDD, Item 7, pages 36–41. The FDD defines Contingencies as unanticipated construction overruns and other unanticipated expenses and says a buyer should assume at least 10% of construction costs. The official total remains controlling; this article does not substitute a locally constructed budget.
Bars show the maximum only, not a typical or expected amount. The scale is anchored to the $45,954,000 maximum for Construction and Leasehold Improvements.
Interpretation: the breadth of the official range is driven mainly by the physical hotel project, not by the $100,000 Franchise Application Fee.
Source: 2026 U.S. Tapestry FDD, Item 7, pages 36–41. The spa bar is conditional and uses the disclosed high bound.
Technology, professional, pre-opening, and working-capital costs
| Item 7 expenditure | 2026 disclosed range | Timing or coverage |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Hardware and Software Systems | $58,245–$143,245 | Generally 45 days before opening |
| Guest Internet Access System | $60,028–$87,725 | Generally 45 days before opening |
| Connected Room System | $29,725–$35,525 | Generally 45 days before opening |
| Delphi Sales and Events System | $990–$41,000 | As incurred |
| Required Pre-Opening Training | $5,000–$15,000 | As incurred; attendee expenses extra |
| ADA Consultant Fee | $6,000–$15,000 | On request, when required |
| Organizational Expense | $75,000–$293,657 | As agreed |
| Miscellaneous Pre-Opening and Project Management | $600,000–$1,378,620 | As incurred |
| Additional Funds | $1,000,000–$1,400,000 | First 3 months after opening; payroll included |
| Other Required Pre-Opening Services Fees | $24,059–$28,880 | Before opening |
Source: 2026 U.S. Tapestry FDD, Item 7, pages 36–41.
Additional Funds are already inside the official total. Adding the disclosed reserve again would double-count operating capital. The line covers 3 months after opening and includes payroll, but it does not establish a fixed owner-compensation allowance.
Why is a property-level estimate still necessary?
The disclosure cannot inspect the building a buyer is considering, determine the condition of concealed systems, or set the commercial terms of local contractors. It therefore functions as a contractual map of cost categories rather than a construction quotation. The buyer still needs a coordinated scope that connects architectural work, code compliance, building systems, room layouts, public areas, food-and-beverage spaces, signs, furnishings, technology, professional services, and opening preparation. A gap in that scope can be more important than a small difference in a listed fee.
The treatment of zero-dollar lower bounds deserves particular care. In an existing property, a usable asset may reduce a category, but reuse is conditional on approval and compliance. A building component that appears serviceable may still require replacement after inspection, design review, accessibility analysis, or testing. Conversely, a new project may not require the maximum shown for every line. The useful question is not whether a row begins at zero; it is whether the signed scope confirms that the buyer can retain the corresponding asset without later corrective work. Written bids and approved plans are stronger evidence than assumptions based on the table alone.
How do New Development, Conversion, and transfer paths change the cost?
The disclosure gives one range for a typical 125-room new-build or existing-hotel project, but the legal and cost path differs by transaction. It does not provide separate all-in ranges for an ownership transfer or a new license for the same hotel, and it does not separately quantify the improvements required for those situations.
New Development
New building construction. Construction and Leasehold Improvements can reach $45,954,000, while Real Property remains outside the Item 7 total.
Conversion or Adaptive Reuse
Existing assets may reduce some line items, but required renovation depends on age, condition, code compliance, life-safety systems, and Brand Standards. A PIP Fee may apply.
Change of Ownership or Re-licensing
The FDD uses separate application fees and may require a PIP, upgrades, new technology, and a current Franchise Agreement. No separate Item 7 total is disclosed for these paths.
The low end of the 125-room range should not be read as a universal Conversion budget. Hilton Franchise Holding LLC states that it cannot give an average Tapestry cost because the brand is newer and each existing property's physical condition creates substantial variation. The buyer-specific PIP and property-level scopes are therefore central cost documents.
How do application fees differ by transaction path?
Item 5 uses the exact name Franchise Application Fee. The chart compares the current standard amounts for the three transaction paths. A new-build or existing-hotel application also carries an additional $400 for each guest room or suite over 250.
The columns compare current standard application fees only. They do not represent total project investment.
Interpretation: Change of Ownership carries a $50,000 higher current application payment than the other two displayed paths, before any PIP, upgrade, or transfer-related costs.
When is the money paid?
The cash requirement is staged from application through the first 3 months of operation. The largest construction, design, equipment, and professional invoices are paid to third parties under project contracts, while the Franchise Application Fee and several pre-opening service charges are paid to Hilton Franchise Holding LLC or its affiliates.
-
1
Before the first franchise payment
The Franchise Rule generally requires delivery of the FDD at least 14 calendar days before a prospective franchisee signs a binding agreement or makes a franchise-related payment. The FTC Franchise Rule and the FDD cover describe this timing protection.
-
2
With the Application
Pay the applicable Franchise Application Fee shown in the transaction-path chart. The amount is generally non-refundable after approval, subject to the stated exceptions.
-
3
During PIP, design, and construction
A $10,000 PIP Fee is due before a PIP inspection for an applicable Conversion, Change of Ownership, or Re-licensing. Design, engineering, construction, equipment, permits, deposits, professional fees, and any approved extension charges are then paid as agreed or incurred.
-
4
About 90 to 45 days before opening
The HITS Agreement for OnQ is generally signed 90 to 120 days before opening. Item 7 places the Computer Hardware and Software Systems, Guest Internet Access System, and Connected Room System payments at approximately 45 days before opening. OnQ Connectivity billing can begin when the internet circuit is installed.
-
5
Before opening and at opening
Required training, the Opening Process Services Fee, and any required pre-opening support are paid before opening or after billing. A Restaurant Brand Development Services Fee is split between amendment signing and restaurant opening.
-
6
First 3 months after opening
The disclosed operating reserve covers estimated expenses for 3 months, including payroll. Recurring brand, technology, loyalty, and program charges also begin according to their individual billing rules.
Why can the cash schedule differ from the total?
The total measures disclosed opening expenditures, while the cash schedule describes when separate obligations become payable. Those are related but not identical. A third-party contract may require a deposit, progress payments, retainage, or payment on delivery. A professional engagement may be billed as work is performed. Equipment may be ordered well before installation. A charge shown as due before opening can overlap with construction draws, lender conditions, or other vendor invoices. The buyer's peak cash requirement can therefore occur before the hotel is operating even though part of the reserve is intended for the months that follow.
This distinction matters when comparing funding sources. Committed financing, equity, and available cash may become usable at different times, and some sources may not cover every category. The disclosure does not provide a universal draw schedule or guarantee that a lender will reimburse an expense after it is paid. A transaction budget should therefore pair every expected invoice with its funding source, required documentation, and due date. It should also identify amounts that can accelerate after a default or become payable when an approval, extension, opening, or transfer occurs. The result is a practical funding calendar rather than a single headline number.
Which fees continue after the hotel opens?
The principal continuing brand charges are a 5% Monthly Royalty Fee and a 4% Monthly Program Fee, both based on Gross Rooms Revenue and generally payable by the 15th day of the following month. Required technology, loyalty, training, distribution, and quality-assurance obligations can add fixed, per-user, per-stay, percentage, or event-triggered charges.
| Ongoing fee | Amount or basis | Payment timing | Applicability |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly Royalty Fee | 5% of Gross Rooms Revenue | Monthly, by the 15th | Core hotel fee |
| Monthly Program Fee | 4% of Gross Rooms Revenue | Monthly, by the 15th | Core system/program fee; rate may change within the disclosed cap |
| OnQ Connectivity | $400–$600 per month | Monthly | Based on workstations and OnQ equipment |
| Hardware and Software Maintenance Support | $2,105–$6,499 per month | Monthly | OnQ hardware and software support |
| Connected Room Maintenance | $543–$833 per month | Monthly | Required Connected Room system |
| OnQ Email | $7.92 per user/month; $12.50 mobile delivery | Quarterly | Minimum 3 accounts |
| Delphi Sales and Events System | $858 per user/year | Annually | License and maintenance |
| Hilton Honors Program | 4% of total eligible guest folio | 10 days after billing | Required; stated waiver for qualifying on-property enrollment stays |
| Monthly Spa Royalty Fee | 2% of Gross Spa Revenue | Monthly, by the 15th | Only with an eforea Spa Amendment |
Item 6 includes room-rental receipts, point-redemption amounts, qualifying breakfast allocation, Mandatory Guest Fees, late-cancellation fees, guaranteed no-show amounts, and credit transactions, whether collected, less specified rebates and overcharges and excluding taxes collected from guests. Group booking rebates are not deducted.
The 4% fee supports reservation systems, directories and websites, advertising and promotion, certain quality-assurance and technology programs, and administration. It does not cover optional programs or the cost of operating the hotel to Brand Standards.
The OnQ system must be refreshed at least every 3 years, or after a longer period Hilton specifies, and may also require refresh at Change of Ownership or Re-licensing. The FDD anticipates a cost equal to or lower than the original installation, excluding one-time installation elements.
Percentage charges use different contractual bases. The two core monthly charges share one rooms-based definition, while loyalty, direct-booking, spa, group-booking, and other programs use their own measures. They should not be combined into one percentage unless the governing definitions and the particular transaction make those measures identical.
How should continuing obligations be organized?
A useful operating-cost schedule separates charges by calculation method instead of putting every line into one percentage. One group contains contractual percentages that change with the stated measure. A second group contains fixed monthly or annual subscriptions. A third group contains per-user, per-stay, per-transaction, or per-attendee charges. A fourth group contains corrective or event-driven amounts that may remain at zero when the triggering circumstance never occurs. Keeping those groups separate makes the contract easier to audit and prevents an optional service from being mistaken for a universal charge.
Timing should be recorded with the same care as the rate. Some invoices are collected by electronic transfer on a scheduled date; others are due shortly after billing, before attendance, or on demand. Several amounts may change under the governing documents, while the core royalty rate and stated damage formulas have different treatment. The buyer should preserve the current fee schedule, definitions, enrollment rules, and vendor order forms used at signing. Later invoices can then be checked against the correct basis, applicable period, participation status, room count, user count, or triggering event without converting the disclosure into an unsupported annual estimate.
Which costs depend on choices, events, or non-compliance?
Several material charges arise only when the hotel adds a facility, uses a program, requests a transaction, misses a deadline, or fails a standard. These amounts sit outside the core percentage charges and may be outside the initial total unless the disclosure expressly lists an opening payment.
Project and transaction triggers
The current PIP Fee is paid before inspection for applicable existing-property, ownership-transfer, new-license, room-addition, or renovation work. A waiver or credit may be granted, but it is not required.
An initial fee of up to $25,000 applies if the hotel uses the eforea spa concept. Item 7 also includes $0 to $4,950,000 for spa implementation, and Item 6 adds a 2% Monthly Spa Royalty Fee on Gross Spa Revenue.
A $75,000 Development Services Fee applies for each selected Restaurant Brand, with half due at amendment signing and half at restaurant opening. Optional added services can cost more.
$10,000 with an approved written request after any fee-free automatic extension period described in Item 5.
In addition to the application amounts in the chart, current charges include $5,500 for a Permitted Transfer requiring consent, $3,500 for a Lender Comfort Letter, and $1,500 for an assignment.
If HSM supplies or procures goods or services, the disclosed Procurement and Services Fee is 4% to 10% of project cost, in addition to product cost, freight, sales tax, and other actual costs.
Quality, delay, and default triggers
$8,000 every 90 days until acceptable Plans and Designs are submitted.
$65 to $145 per approved guest room for consecutive Unacceptable quality grades, capped at $50,000 in each 6-month period under the Standards.
$2,500 per Quality Assurance Re-Evaluation and $3,000 per Special Audit, plus complimentary lodging for an on-site representative when applicable.
$16,000 every 6 months for overdue required work; $20,000 to $50,000 for each 6-month period in the Service Improvement Program.
Item 11 discloses $700 per Systems Implementation Consultant per additional day, plus travel, and a $2,000 rescheduling fee plus additional travel if consultants must depart and return.
$5,000 per day plus costs for opening without written authorization. Overdue amounts carry 1.5% per month or the highest lawful rate, whichever is less.
Sales, loyalty, and support-program triggers
1.35% of eligible Digital Direct Revenue, capped at $30 per stay.
Currently up to 2% for Brand.com bookings, 5% for Groups360.com, and 7% for request-for-proposal bookings when inventory is loaded and the group actualizes.
Up to 5% of the sale price, excluding taxes, for approved Add-On products and services sold through direct booking channels. No Add-Ons are currently required, according to Item 6.
Disclosed service models range from $895 to $1,815 for one-time services and from $835 to $15,709 for monthly models, depending on category. Participation is generally optional but can be required for certain expedited openings.
The handling fee is $300 for a Hilton Honors Diamond member, $250 for a Gold member, and $200 for other guests, plus the cost of the rebate or remedy.
The Brand Conference is currently $2,500 per attendee. Other disclosed training charges range from up to $600 to up to $5,000 per program per attendee, with wages, travel, lodging, food, and related expenses potentially additional.
What does the official investment total leave unresolved?
The published $2,861,047 to $70,253,147 range is not a complete property-acquisition or financing figure. The FDD deliberately leaves several categories variable because a hotel site, existing building, lender, local code, and insurance program can change the amount materially.
Land or the acquisition value of an existing hotel is marked “Varies” and excluded because site costs differ by location, size, accessibility, assessments, and market conditions.
Both are marked “Varies.” A market study is recommended and may be required for a new hotel; environmental work may be required by a lender or property condition.
Insurance is marked “Varies,” and the total expressly excludes both insurance and interest. Premiums depend on location, hotel size, and coverage; debt terms are not supplied in Item 7.
The total does not separately identify the cost of upgrades under these paths. The PIP, code requirements, existing FF&E condition, technology refresh, and Brand Standards determine the project scope.
Labor, materials, impact fees, earthquake requirements, utility and security deposits, professional rates, vendor travel, freight, taxes, change orders, and opening delays can change the actual cash schedule.
Item 8 permits Hilton to update Standards and require replacement, modernization, rehabilitation, or upgrades of FF&E, signage, technology, and other property elements at the franchisee's cost.
Does Hilton disclose liquid-capital requirements or franchise financing?
The 2026 Tapestry FDD does not state a fixed minimum for Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds. That absence does not eliminate financial screening, project capitalization, lender requirements, guaranties, or the need to fund costs excluded from Item 7. A prospective franchisee should distinguish an undisclosed threshold from an approval without financial conditions.
General financing position
Item 10 says Hilton Franchise Holding LLC generally does not offer direct or indirect financing other than a development incentive program. It may occasionally permit the Franchise Application Fee to be paid in installments before construction without interest or a security interest, but that treatment is discretionary.
Development Incentive
A discretionary Incentive may support a development or Conversion and is generally disbursed within 30 days after opening if stated conditions are met. It is not described as a loan, but it is a contingent liability that can become repayable after early termination or transfer. The repayable amount declines over time.
A development Incentive is not guaranteed capital and should not be netted against Item 7 unless a signed incentive note establishes the amount, conditions, timing, and repayment exposure for the specific hotel. Item 10 also says rare alternative financing terms cannot be determined in advance.
The FTC's Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains why a prospective franchisee should test the entire capital structure, while the FTC's FDD review guidance describes how Items 5, 6, and 7 serve different purposes.
Which obligations can create costs later in the franchise term?
The initial investment does not end the capital cycle. The Franchise Agreement, HITS Agreement, Brand Standards, and transfer provisions can require technology refreshes, renovations, fees, new agreements, or de-identification costs years after opening.
At least every 3 years, unless Hilton specifies a longer period, and potentially at Change of Ownership or Re-licensing.
Hotel furniture, fixtures, finishes, equipment, signs, software, and other elements may need replacement or modernization at the franchisee's expense.
The franchisee has no right to renew or extend. If the franchisor agrees to issue a new license, the owner may need a current contract, the applicable application payment, a property plan, upgrades, and a new technology agreement.
An ownership transfer generally requires the applicable application payment, current approval standards, possible property work, payment of amounts due, and a current contract. A permitted transfer requiring consent carries the processing charge described above.
Item 6 uses liquidated-damages formulas based on Hotel or System Average Monthly Royalty Fees and the timing of termination. The FDD does not state a single fixed dollar amount, so it should not be estimated without the applicable contractual inputs.
At expiration or termination, the franchisee must pay amounts due and remove signs, marks, materials, technology access, and other brand identifiers as required by Item 17 and the agreements.
What should be verified before relying on the cost range?
The controlling number is the current FDD range for the correct project path, but the transaction-specific capital requirement comes from reconciling the FDD with the property, PIP, construction scope, technology orders, supplier contracts, lender terms, and operating reserve.
What does a complete reconciliation look like?
Begin with a single master schedule rather than separate spreadsheets that use different assumptions. Each row should identify the work or service, the responsible party, the quoted amount or range, taxes and freight, the payment milestone, and whether the amount is inside or outside the published total. Where a value is not yet known, keep the row open and record the document or inspection needed to resolve it. Do not replace an unknown with an industry ratio or an amount taken from another hotel.
Next, compare documents for overlap. A technology order may include installation that also appears in a broader project budget. A supplier proposal may include freight while another schedule adds it separately. An operating reserve may already contain early subscription charges. A renovation allowance may overlap with a contingency. Marking the source and scope of each amount allows those overlaps to be removed without deleting a genuine obligation. The final schedule should also distinguish committed prices from allowances and conditional charges. That distinction shows which amounts are contractually fixed, which remain exposed to change, and which arise only if the buyer selects an option or misses a requirement.
Finally, align the schedule with funding availability and approvals. A cost can be fully recognized in the budget yet still create a shortfall if it is due before financing can be drawn or before an incentive is disbursed. The signed transaction documents, property contracts, and lender instructions should resolve that sequence. The checklist below focuses on the records most likely to change the capital answer.
Maintain one controlled version of the schedule and record each revision. When a bid changes, note whether the change affects scope, timing, tax, delivery, or contingency rather than simply replacing the prior amount. This creates a clear trail from the published disclosure to the final transaction budget and makes unresolved assumptions visible before commitments are made.
Identify New Development, Conversion or Adaptive Reuse, Change of Ownership, or Re-licensing, and apply the room-count rule for more than 250 rooms.
Reconcile construction, code, life-safety, FF&E, signage, technology, and professional scopes instead of assuming every $0 lower bound applies.
Add verified property, market-study, environmental, insurance, interest, local permit, tax, freight, deposit, and lender-related amounts outside the Item 7 total.
Item 5's OnQ amount covers specified payments to an affiliate, while Item 7 includes third-party components and therefore uses a different Computer Hardware and Software Systems range.
Confirm whether the $1,000,000 to $1,400,000 Additional Funds allowance, including payroll, matches the project's actual local obligations without adding it twice.
Record spa, Restaurant Brand, RMCC, distribution programs, procurement, transfer, PIP, training, quality, extension, delay, and financing conditions that apply to the specific hotel.
Check the current FDD, applicable amendments, Franchise Agreement, HITS Agreement, PIP, incentive note, and supplier agreements. The official Tapestry Collection brand information can confirm brand identity, but only the governing documents establish the franchisee's cost obligations.
The capital decision in one view
The official range is the starting point, not the final project capitalization. The decisive variables are the physical hotel scope, excluded property and financing costs, property-specific improvement work, optional facilities, recurring system charges, technology obligations, and event-triggered fees. Because the disclosure gives no fixed liquidity or balance-sheet threshold, the actual cash requirement must be established from the transaction documents rather than an unsupported eligibility figure.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Tapestry Collection Franchise?
- How Does the Tapestry Collection Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Tapestry Collection Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Tapestry Collection Franchise?
- How Much Does a Tapestry Collection Franchise Owner Make?