How much does a Surface Experts franchise cost?
The 2026 Surface Experts Franchise Disclosure Document estimates a total initial investment of $155,893 to $273,200 for one mobile Surface Experts Business beginning with one wrapped vehicle. The low end assumes a home-based operation and a leased vehicle; the high end assumes a purchased vehicle and rented office space. The range includes the Initial Franchise Fee and Additional Funds, but it does not include salary or compensation for the franchise owner.
Estimated Initial Investment for the single mobile/home-based unit format disclosed in the April 6, 2026 FDD. The total includes $60,000 to $75,000 of Additional Funds for the first three to six months. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 10–12.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Surface Experts Franchising LLC, a Washington limited liability company. FDD issuance date: April 6, 2026. Cost sections reviewed: Items 5, 6, and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11, and 17. Unit format: a mobile service business, typically home-based, with one wrapped Surface Experts vehicle and an optional small office. Information checked July 20, 2026.
The researched 2026 FDD is not linked because no matching copy was verified on a franchise-controlled public domain. The brand’s official U.S. franchise information describes the mobile, home-or-small-office operating model. Wisconsin’s active franchise registration list shows Surface Experts Franchising LLC with an April 6, 2027 expiration date.
Tiered by the number of multi-family housing units in the territory.
Included in Item 7; covers the first three to six months and excludes owner compensation.
Greater of 8% of Gross Sales or $1,600 monthly after the first year.
4% of monthly Gross Sales up to $80,000; 2% on monthly Gross Sales above $80,000.
ExpertNet begins about two to three weeks before opening; extra email addresses are $6 monthly.
From signing to opening, subject to financing, permits, training, and hiring.
Total Initial Investment is not a disclosed cash-on-hand requirement. The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. A buyer still needs enough accessible capital to fund the Item 7 payments, owner living costs excluded from Additional Funds, and any financing down payment.
What is included in the $155,893 to $273,200 range?
The 2026 Item 7 total combines the territory-based Initial Franchise Fee, one vehicle, required launch equipment, technology, insurance, training travel, professional setup costs, and Additional Funds. The tables below preserve each official range without converting it to an average or combining incompatible assumptions.
Where the largest disclosed Item 7 ranges sit
Floating bars show the official low-to-high range for seven decision-driving categories. The complete Item 7 categories appear in the tables below.
Interpretation: the Initial Franchise Fee and Additional Funds dominate the official range; the vehicle choice is the largest equipment-related swing. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 10–12. Official figures; bar positions are proportional calculations using $137,500 as the chart maximum.
| Territory and mobile setup | Official range | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $75,000–$137,500 | Upon signing the Franchise Agreement | Surface Experts Franchising LLC |
| One Surface Experts car, including Vehicle Wrap | $5,000–$30,000 | Upon purchase or lease | Vehicle vendor |
| Equipment, Tools, Supplies and Inventory | $4,500–$5,500 | When purchased | Franchisor and third parties |
| Sander/Vacuum | $0–$1,100 | When purchased | Specified vendor |
| ExpertNet and Technology Fees before opening | $393–$500 | Approximately two to three weeks before opening | Franchisor |
| Computer Systems and Phones | $500–$2,000 | As incurred | Vendors and suppliers |
| Signage | $0–$250 | Upon ordering | Vendor |
| Premises and professional setup | Official range | Cost condition | FDD context |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rent, Utilities, and Leasehold Improvements | $0–$3,000 | Zero at the low end for home-based startup | High end assumes rented commercial office space |
| Office Furniture | $0–$500 | As incurred | Varies with home or office setup |
| Office Supplies | $0–$300 | As incurred | Vendor purchases |
| Insurance | $1,500–$4,000 | Upon ordering | Estimate covers setup charges plus one quarter of premium |
| Licenses and Permits | $500–$1,250 | Upon application | Jurisdiction may require contractor, handyman, or other permits |
| Professional Fees | $3,500–$5,000 | As incurred or billed | Lawyer, accountant, and other professional firms |
| Training, launch and operating reserve | Official range | When paid | What it covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Marketing Materials and Uniforms | $500–$800 | Upon ordering | Brochures, handouts, giveaways, promotional materials, and staff uniforms |
| Travel, lodging and meals for initial training | $4,500–$6,500 | As incurred | Travel and living expenses; the franchisor currently charges no training tuition |
| Additional Funds | $60,000–$75,000 | Before and during initial operations | First three to six months of payroll, additional inventory, and operating expenses exceeding business income |
Item 7 gives the Sander/Vacuum a $0 low estimate, while Item 7 Note 3 and Item 8 say the specified palm sander/vacuum must be purchased from an independent vendor. The 2026 FDD does not explain why the low end is zero. A buyer should obtain the current required-equipment quote before relying on that line item.
Why can the Initial Franchise Fee vary by $62,500?
The Initial Franchise Fee is not one flat amount. Surface Experts Franchising LLC calculates it progressively from the number of multi-family housing units, or MFHU, in the territory. Each pricing tier applies only to the MFHU inside that tier, similar to a marginal rate schedule.
The 2026 MFHU fee schedule
Item 5 defines MFHU for territory pricing and gives four rate bands. The Item 7 low and high examples correspond to approximately 30,000 and 70,000 MFHU.
Initial Franchise Fee examples published in Item 5
The columns show exact FDD examples, not averages or recommended territory sizes.
Interpretation: larger territories increase the Initial Franchise Fee, but the per-MFHU rate decreases in later tiers. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pages 5–6. Official example values; column heights are proportional calculations using $137,500 as the maximum.
Additional contiguous territory uses the same tier formula in the 2026 FDD. The Additional Territory Fee is due when the Contiguous Territory Addendum is signed, and the fee is based on the then-current schedule.
When is the startup money paid?
The largest fixed payment is due at signing, while vehicle, equipment, insurance, training travel, and working-capital payments occur across the six-to-nine-week pre-opening window and the first three to six months of operation. Several milestones can overlap.
- Sign the Franchise Agreement. Pay the nonrefundable Initial Franchise Fee of $75,000 to $137,500. Any franchisor financing documents and required Personal Guaranty are also executed at this stage.
- Secure the vehicle and launch package. Lease or purchase one approved Surface Experts vehicle and arrange the wrap; order required equipment, tools, supplies, inventory, marketing materials, and uniforms.
- Complete setup and training. Pay insurance, licenses, Professional Fees, hardware, and travel costs as incurred. The owner, full-time Business Development person, and Lead Technician have required training obligations; training must be completed to the franchisor’s satisfaction at least one week before opening.
- Begin ExpertNet payments. The $393 to $500 monthly Technology Fee starts approximately two to three weeks before opening. The 2026 FDD estimates one pre-opening payment in that same range.
- Fund the opening period. Additional Funds of $60,000 to $75,000 are used before and during the first three to six months for payroll, extra inventory, and operating expenses exceeding business income. Owner compensation is outside this amount.
The Item 7 total is not payable entirely to the franchisor. The FDD cover states that $79,893 to $143,500 of the total investment is paid to the franchisor or an affiliate; the remaining categories are paid to vehicle vendors, insurers, governments, professional firms, and other suppliers as incurred.
Which fees continue after opening?
After opening, the principal continuing obligations are the Royalty Fee, Support Center Services Fee, Technology Fee, the cost of a full-time Business Development person, and any advertising fund or cooperative contribution that is later activated. Percentage fees use the FDD definition of Gross Sales; they should not be converted into annual dollars without actual sales figures.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | Current condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | Greater of 8% of Gross Sales or $1,600 monthly after year one | Monthly, on the 5th for the preceding month | For a territory with more than 500,000 people, the minimum becomes $1,800 monthly after 18 months |
| Support Center Services Fee | 4% of monthly Gross Sales up to $80,000; 2% on the excess | Monthly with Royalty Fee | Supports centralized customer intake, scheduling, dispatch, and related services |
| Technology Fee | $393–$500 monthly; $6 for each additional email address | Monthly with Royalty Fee | ExpertNet package; pricing may change with the franchisor’s costs |
| Local Advertising | Actual cost of a full-time Business Development person | Monthly payroll and related costs | The person must be someone other than the franchise owner |
| Brand Fund Contribution | Currently none; up to 2% of Gross Sales | Monthly if created | Would be additional to other advertising requirements |
| Local or Regional Advertising Cooperative | At least 1% and generally no more than 4% of Gross Sales | As established by cooperative members | No cooperative existed as of the 2026 FDD; a higher amount requires unanimous member agreement |
| Market Cooperative Contribution | Currently none; amount determined by the cooperative | Monthly with Royalty Fee if established | FDD states a maximum of 4% of Gross Sales unless members unanimously approve more |
- Gross Sales
- Revenue and other consideration connected to the Surface Experts Business, whether cash or credit, including business-interruption insurance proceeds. It excludes sales taxes paid to the taxing authority and bona fide customer refunds.
- Missing sales report
- If a monthly Gross Sales report is not submitted, the franchisor may withdraw estimated Royalty Fee and Brand Fund amounts based on 125% of the most recently reported Gross Sales, followed by a true-up when the report is filed.
- Technology upgrades
- Item 11 estimates $2,800 to $3,000 annually for optional or required maintenance, updating, upgrading, or support contracts and states there is no contractual limit on the frequency or cost of required system upgrades. A buyer should clarify which costs are already included in ExpertNet.
What makes one Surface Experts startup cost more than another?
The disclosed range changes mainly with territory size, the vehicle decision, home-based versus rented-office operation, existing computer equipment, training travel, insurance pricing, and the amount of Additional Funds needed during the opening period. These are cost conditions inside one mobile unit format, not separate franchise formats.
- Territory size: the progressive MFHU formula moves the Initial Franchise Fee from $75,000 for approximately 30,000 MFHU to $137,500 in the 70,000-MFHU example.
- Vehicle lease or purchase: the $5,000 low estimate assumes a lease with down payment, first payment, and wrap payment; the $30,000 high estimate assumes a purchase. The FDD identifies an optional arrangement with Enterprise Fleet Management, but participation is not mandatory.
- Home or office: Rent, Utilities, and Leasehold Improvements are $0 at the low end because the business may start from home. The $3,000 high estimate assumes rented commercial office space; the franchisor reserves the right to require office space later.
- Required suppliers: Surface Experts Franchising LLC is the sole approved source for the initial equipment package, initial marketing materials, and uniforms. The palm sander/vacuum comes from a specified independent vendor.
- Insurance requirements: Item 8 requires Commercial General Liability coverage of at least $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 aggregate, Business Automobile Liability of at least $1,000,000, and Workers Compensation as required by state law.
- Required-purchase exposure: Item 8 estimates required purchases and leases at 30% to 50% of purchases needed to establish the business and 10% to 20% of ongoing purchases and leases.
Additional Funds exclude the owner’s salary or compensation. Item 7 also cannot resolve future office requirements, later vehicle additions, future technology upgrades, local wage levels for the required Business Development person and Lead Technician, or local permit conditions. Those variables should not be replaced with generic industry estimates.
Does Surface Experts finance the initial investment?
Surface Experts Franchising LLC may finance only a portion of the Initial Franchise Fee, subject to available funds, creditworthiness, and the franchisor’s qualifications. The 2026 FDD does not promise approval and does not disclose franchisor financing for the vehicle, Additional Funds, insurance, training travel, or other Item 7 categories.
| Franchisor financing term | 2026 disclosure | Buyer interpretation |
|---|---|---|
| Down payment | 0%–50% | Financing may cover 50% to 100% of the Initial Franchise Fee |
| Interest rate | 6%–12% | Actual rate depends on approval terms |
| Repayment period | 36–96 months | A longer period does not change the separate Item 7 obligations |
| Published payment example | $1,245.54 monthly | Example only: $37,500 financed for 36 months at 12% APR |
| Security | Personal Guaranty | Entity owners must personally guarantee the debt |
| Prepayment penalty | None | Default can accelerate the full balance and add collection costs |
Even 100% financing of the Initial Franchise Fee would not finance the complete $155,893 to $273,200 Item 7 range. The buyer would still need a plan for the vehicle, launch purchases, training travel, deposits, professional costs, and $60,000 to $75,000 of Additional Funds.
Which costs arise only after a trigger or later event?
Item 6 includes operational, compliance, lifecycle, and legal charges that are not part of the ordinary monthly fee stack. Some are fixed; others reimburse actual costs or add an administrative percentage. These amounts can become material after late payment, non-compliance, a transfer, renewal, or a request for special support.
Operations and compliance triggers
- Replacement or Additional Training: currently no training fee, but the franchisor may add one; the franchisee pays attendee travel and living expenses.
- Third-party vendors: pass-through cost plus a reasonable administrative charge when the franchisor administers payment.
- Non-compliance: $500 after the applicable notice period, then $250 per week until corrected; reporting failures may be charged immediately.
- Reimbursement: amount paid on the franchisee’s behalf plus 10%, due within 15 days of invoice.
- Late payment: $100 plus interest at 18% per year, or the highest lawful rate if lower.
- Insufficient funds: $30, or the lawful maximum if lower.
- Breach of Territory Fee: $500 per unauthorized job outside the territory.
- Special support: $600 per day plus travel, lodging, meals, and other out-of-pocket costs.
- Customer complaint resolution: reimbursement of the franchisor’s expenses.
- Records audit: actual audit cost after reporting non-compliance or an under-reporting of Gross Sales exceeding 3% for any month.
Evaluation, lifecycle and legal triggers
- Special evaluation: $600 plus out-of-pocket costs after specified complaints, government reports, defaults, or system non-compliance.
- Non-compliance cure: out-of-pocket and allocated internal costs plus 10% when the franchisor cures the default.
- Additional Territory Fee: the then-current MFHU formula, due when a Contiguous Territory Addendum is signed.
- Renewal Fee: $5,000 upon entering a successor Franchise Agreement.
- Transfer Fee: $10,000 plus broker fees and other out-of-pocket costs when the business is sold.
- Costs of collection: actual costs, including reasonable attorney fees.
- Professional Fees and expenses: variable reimbursement after breach, termination, indemnity obligations, or enforcement.
- Indemnification: variable losses and Professional Fees connected to the Surface Experts Business.
- Prevailing party legal costs: attorney fees, court costs, and other proceeding expenses if the franchisor prevails.
Item 6 states that fees payable to the franchisor are nonrefundable and generally collected by electronic funds transfer. Item 17 adds that renewal requires compliance with then-current standards and that transfer approval can require the buyer to complete training and the business to meet then-current system specifications.
What should a buyer verify before treating the range as fully funded?
The official 2026 range answers the cost of opening one mobile Surface Experts Business under the FDD assumptions, but it does not establish a buyer-specific cash requirement. The decisive variables are territory MFHU, vehicle financing, home versus office setup, required staffing, owner living costs, and the financing terms actually offered.
- Confirm the territory’s MFHU count and independently recalculate the progressive Initial Franchise Fee before signing.
- Obtain current written quotes for the approved vehicle, wrap, equipment package, specified sander/vacuum, insurance, ExpertNet, and required computer hardware.
- Separate the $60,000 to $75,000 Additional Funds reserve from the owner’s personal living-cost reserve because owner compensation is excluded.
- Model the Royalty Fee, Support Center Services Fee, Technology Fee, required Business Development payroll, and possible advertising contributions as separate ongoing obligations.
- Ask whether the $2,800 to $3,000 Item 11 technology maintenance and upgrade estimate overlaps with the monthly ExpertNet fee and what system changes are currently planned.
- Review the current Franchise Agreement and FDD with independent legal and accounting advisers. The FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise explains how to use the disclosure document, while the FTC Franchise Rule page describes the federal disclosure framework.
Cost synthesis: $155,893 to $273,200 is the verified 2026 Estimated Initial Investment; $75,000 to $137,500 is the separate territory-based Initial Franchise Fee; and $60,000 to $75,000 is the included Additional Funds allowance for the first three to six months. Continuing charges begin with an 8% Royalty Fee subject to a later monthly minimum, a tiered Support Center Services Fee, and the $393 to $500 monthly Technology Fee, with several conditional advertising, compliance, transfer, and renewal obligations.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to Surface Experts Franchising LLC?
- How Does Surface Experts Franchising LLC Work?
- How to Start a Surface Experts Franchising LLC Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Surface Experts Franchising LLC Franchise?
- How Much Does a Surface Experts Franchising LLC Franchise Owner Make?