How Much Does a Smashburger Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 cost answer

How much does a Smashburger franchise cost?

A new U.S. Smashburger Restaurant requires an estimated initial investment of $1,239,500 to $2,255,500 under the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. That is the Item 7 range for developing and opening one Restaurant under a Franchise Agreement; it includes the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee, the $1,500 Lease Review Fee, and $10,000 to $20,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months after opening.

The cover states that $41,500 to $71,500 of the total is payable to the franchisor or its affiliates. The lower amount reflects the Initial Franchise Fee and Lease Review Fee; the upper amount also captures the disclosed high end of reimbursable Grand Opening Training for a third or later Restaurant. The much larger balance is paid to landlords, contractors, equipment vendors, insurers, professional advisers, employees and government agencies as the project progresses.

This distinction matters because the official total is not a single check due on the signing date. It is a range for the entire pre-opening project plus a limited operating cushion after the doors open. A buyer therefore needs both enough immediately available cash for agreement-stage payments and a credible funding plan for later invoices. The FDD does not identify a standard debt-and-equity mix, and it does not convert the range into a minimum cash contribution. Any lender requirement, landlord allowance, construction draw schedule or investor contribution sits outside the franchisor’s published estimate unless the document expressly includes it.

$1,239,500–$2,255,500

Estimated Initial Investment for one Smashburger Restaurant. The 2026 Item 7 range covers the disclosed opening categories but does not include debt service or extensive exterior renovations. Special Venue Restaurants and permitted drive-thru components use this same disclosed range; the FDD does not publish separate total ranges for those configurations. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 12–15.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Smashburger Franchising LLC. FDD issuance date: April 17, 2026, as amended May 28, 2026. Cost analysis uses Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Applicable paths are a single Restaurant Franchise Agreement, a Multi-Unit Development Agreement generally covering 2 to 25 Restaurants, and possible Special Venue Restaurants. Information and public source pages were checked July 20, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD references below are unlinked Item-and-page citations.

The official Smashburger U.S. franchise opportunity page confirms that the brand is soliciting franchise inquiries, while the Wisconsin active-registration list shows Smashburger Franchising LLC with an expiration date of April 17, 2027.

What are the key cost figures?

The headline investment range is only one part of the capital decision. The following figures identify the main payments and fee bases disclosed in the 2026 FDD.

Initial Franchise Fee $40,000

Lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed; fully earned and non-refundable.

Additional Funds $10K–$20K

Included in Item 7 for the first three months after the Restaurant opens.

Royalty Fee 5.5%

Of Gross Sales, paid weekly after opening.

Marketing Fund 2.25%

Of Gross Sales, paid weekly; the FDD permits an increase up to 4%.

Development Fee $40K–$500K

For a typical 2-to-25-Restaurant Multi-Unit Development Agreement, at $20,000 per committed Restaurant.

Item 7 investment

What is included in the $1.24 million to $2.26 million range?

The 2026 Item 7 total combines premises work, equipment, training, opening inventory, professional costs, insurance, licensing and three months of Additional Funds. The widest disclosed ranges are Leasehold Improvements and Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, which together account for most of the variation without implying a typical or average budget.

Premises, equipment and occupancy

Item 7 category Low High Payment timing
Leasehold Improvements $710,000 $1,257,000 As invoiced to landlord or suppliers
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment $264,000 $458,000 As invoiced to suppliers
Signage $25,000 $60,000 As invoiced to suppliers
Technology Systems $40,000 $50,000 As invoiced to suppliers
Three Month’s Rent $28,000 $38,000 As incurred to landlord
Security Deposit and Business Licenses $0 $26,000 As incurred

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 12–14. The Leasehold Improvements estimate does not subtract any site-specific tenant improvement allowance.

Opening, training and launch costs

Item 7 category Low High What the category covers
Initial Fees $40,000 $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee on execution
Opening Inventory and Supplies $20,000 $28,000 Opening food, beverage, paper and operating supplies
Grand Opening Advertising $10,000 $15,000 Approved opening program; minimum spend is $10,000
Training Expenses $35,000 $101,000 Pre-opening payroll plus wages, travel and lodging for 3 to 4 trainees
Grand Opening Training $0 $30,000 No additional charge for first two Restaurants; estimated $4,000 to $30,000 for third or later Restaurant
Miscellaneous Opening Costs $1,000 $5,000 Selected pre-opening payroll, deposits, utilities, permits and licenses

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 12–15; Item 5, pages 6–7; Item 11, pages 26–27.

Professional, insurance, licensing and working-capital categories

Item 7 category Low High Important qualification
Professional Fees $5,000 $15,000 Lease, FDD, entity and other advisor work
Architecture and Building Design Fees $20,000 $50,000 Professional plans and building design
Insurance Premiums – 3 Months $20,000 $40,000 FDD notes that all or part of the first year may be prepaid
Liquor Licensing $10,000 $21,000 Varies materially by local quota and resale rules
Lease Review Fee $1,500 $1,500 Paid when the lease is submitted for approval
Additional Funds – 3 Months $10,000 $20,000 Included in the official Item 7 total, not added on top

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 13–15.

Cost implication

The $1,239,500 low and $2,255,500 high are official endpoints, not a recommended budget. Item 7 combines multiple variables—site condition, Restaurant size, local construction, wage rates, liquor licensing and drive-thru equipment—so selecting a midpoint would create a scenario the franchisor did not publish.

The line items should be read as a coordinated project estimate, not as a menu from which a buyer can select every low amount. A bare space may require more demolition, utility work, ventilation, electrical capacity or finish work than a second-generation restaurant site. A landlord contribution can reduce the cash paid directly by the franchisee, but it can also arrive as reimbursement after invoices have already been funded. The useful comparison is therefore between the approved construction scope, the lease economics and the timing of each reimbursement—not between the published low end and an unsupported assumption that every favorable condition will occur together.

The equipment category includes freight and installation. That qualification prevents a buyer from comparing the disclosed amount only with the sticker price of kitchen equipment. The technology category likewise covers the initial required system, while later access, support, maintenance and upgrades appear elsewhere in the disclosure. Signage may be modest at a constrained venue or materially higher when exterior signs and drive-thru menu boards are required. Each supplier proposal should state whether delivery, installation, permits, taxes, cabling, commissioning and removal of old assets are included, because a quote that omits those tasks is not directly comparable with the FDD category.

Training and opening costs also need to be matched to the operating plan. The franchisor provides initial instruction for up to four mandatory trainees without an additional tuition charge, but the franchisee pays wages, workers’ compensation, travel and living expenses. The grand-opening advertising program has a stated minimum, and the disclosure says the program for the first three Restaurants includes retaining an approved local public-relations firm for three months. Those obligations explain why a preliminary staffing or marketing budget that includes only travel and media placement can understate the published categories.

Item 8 adds an important purchasing constraint: the franchisor estimates that 95% to 100% of both initial and ongoing expenditures will be restricted in some manner through specifications, approved sources or designated suppliers. That does not mean every payment goes to the franchisor, but it limits the buyer’s ability to substitute cheaper products or vendors without approval. Bid comparisons should therefore be built from the current approved specifications rather than from generic restaurant packages that may not qualify.

The final arithmetic does reconcile: adding the disclosed low amounts produces the official low total, and adding the disclosed high amounts produces the official high total. That reconciliation confirms that Additional Funds, rent, insurance, deposits and opening inventory are already included once. It does not establish that a particular project will land at either endpoint. A site-specific budget should retain the FDD category names so omissions and double counting can be spotted before commitments are made.

Format difference

Does Smashburger disclose different costs for traditional, Special Venue and drive-thru Restaurants?

No separate total investment ranges are disclosed for those configurations. Item 7 publishes one Franchise Agreement range of $1,239,500 to $2,255,500, then explains how Special Venue Restaurants and an approved drive-thru component can affect specific categories.

One official range, three different cost pressures

Traditional Restaurant

A suitable freestanding building is described as approximately 1,600 to 2,200 square feet. Rent, leasehold work and local real-estate conditions remain site-specific.

Special Venue Restaurant

Special Venue Restaurants may be kiosks, mobile facilities, concession locations or captive-market venues. Item 7 notes that limited space can reduce Leasehold Improvements, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, and Signage, but it does not provide a separate Special Venue total.

Approved drive-thru component

An experienced operator may be allowed up to approximately 600 additional square feet. The drive-thru can add menu boards, POS terminals, headsets, an ordering terminal and other equipment, increasing several Item 7 categories.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 1, pages 3–4; Item 7, pages 13–14.

Because the FDD does not separate the formats, a prospective franchisee should not apply the low endpoint automatically to a Special Venue Restaurant or assume the high endpoint represents every drive-thru. The approved site, plans, supplier quotes and lease terms determine which line items move within the disclosed range.

FDD caveat

Item 5 reports that Special Venue franchisees received discounted Initial Franchise Fees of $10,000 to $20,000 during the 2025 fiscal year. That is a historical disclosure, not a current promised discount. Any present reduction should be confirmed in the current written offer before it is included in a capital plan.

A format label by itself is therefore not enough to choose a budget. A smaller footprint can lower some build-out and signage needs while introducing concessionaire charges, venue-required equipment, unusual security rules, restricted delivery windows or higher contractor costs. Conversely, a larger conventional site may receive a landlord contribution or reuse existing infrastructure. The disclosure gives the direction of several cost pressures but does not quantify a separate package for each configuration.

The practical comparison should be made line by line after the franchisor approves the concept plan. For a Special Venue proposal, confirm which standard equipment can be removed, what the host venue supplies and which fees are imposed by the master concessionaire or property operator. For a drive-thru proposal, confirm the additional civil work, paving, menu-board foundations, communications equipment and point-of-sale capacity. For a conventional inline or freestanding proposal, confirm the condition of utilities, grease handling, ventilation and exterior work. None of those checks changes the official range; they determine where the approved project may fall within it and whether an excluded cost exists.

The historical fee reduction also needs narrow treatment. It concerns the charge for entering the franchise relationship, not the contractor, equipment, rent, inventory or working-capital categories. Even when a current written offer includes a reduction, the buyer should apply it only to the stated charge and preserve all other estimates unless the franchisor provides a corresponding written change.

Multi-unit commitment

How does the Multi-Unit Development Fee work?

A Multi-Unit Development Agreement requires a Development Fee equal to $20,000 multiplied by the number of Restaurants committed. The 2026 FDD describes a typical commitment of 2 to 25 Restaurants, producing a Development Fee of $40,000 to $500,000, paid in one non-refundable lump sum when the agreement is executed.

The Development Fee is not the cost to build those Restaurants. Item 7 expressly excludes the investment required under each individual Franchise Agreement. As Franchise Agreements are signed, the franchisor credits the Development Fee balance in $20,000 increments toward the Initial Franchise Fee due for each Restaurant.

Payment-credit structure

The Development Fee is cash paid at the start of the multi-unit commitment, while the credit is applied later as individual Franchise Agreements are signed. The timing creates an upfront capital requirement even though the fee is credited in $20,000 increments toward later Initial Franchise Fees.

The credit mechanism reduces a later payment but does not finance construction. The amount applied when an individual agreement is signed covers only part of the current signing charge. The developer still needs to fund the remaining payment and every other cost for the corresponding site. Because the development-rights estimate excludes all individual-unit investments, presenting the two ranges as alternatives would materially understate a multi-unit commitment.

The timing of openings is negotiated in a development schedule that can extend across several years. That schedule affects how quickly site deposits, design expenses, build-out invoices and operating cushions can overlap. A developer should model the cash needs by opening date rather than multiplying one endpoint by the number of promised units and assuming equal annual spacing. The FDD does not promise that construction costs, rents or the form of the individual agreement will remain unchanged for later openings.

Missing a deadline can also create a separate monthly charge for each delayed Restaurant and can jeopardize territorial protections or the development agreement itself. The economic exposure is therefore larger than the original rights payment. Before execution, the buyer should reconcile the required opening cadence with financing availability, real-estate lead times, management capacity and the possibility that two projects will require funding at the same time.

Payment timing

When is the money paid before opening?

Smashburger’s pre-opening cash requirement is staged: agreement fees are paid first, the Lease Review Fee follows when the lease is submitted, and most premises, equipment, training and opening costs are paid as invoiced or incurred. The FDD says a typical Restaurant opens 6 to 10 months after the Franchise Agreement is signed, although the contractual deadlines depend on the lease and agreement dates.

  1. Receive the current disclosure document before paying. The FDD cover and the FTC franchise buyer guide state that the FDD must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement is signed or money is paid to the franchisor or an affiliate.
  2. Execute a Multi-Unit Development Agreement, when applicable. Pay the Development Fee in one lump sum: $20,000 for each committed Restaurant. Smashburger may also require the first Franchise Agreement at the same time.
  3. Execute each Franchise Agreement. Pay the $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee. Under a Multi-Unit Development Agreement, $20,000 of Development Fee credit is applied as each Franchise Agreement is signed.
  4. Submit the proposed lease. Pay the $1,500 Lease Review Fee when the lease is submitted for approval. The FDD says the lease should not be signed without franchisor approval.
  5. Fund construction, equipment and pre-opening obligations. Leasehold Improvements, Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment, Signage, Technology Systems, training, insurance, inventory and other Item 7 categories are paid to landlords, suppliers, employees, professionals, insurers and government agencies as arranged, invoiced or incurred.
  6. Open with three months of Additional Funds inside Item 7. The $10,000 to $20,000 allowance begins with the start-up phase after opening and is already included in the total investment range.

The contractual opening clock is not the same as an invoice calendar. The disclosure says an acceptable site generally must be secured within 180 days after signing. Unless a development schedule provides a different deadline, opening is required by the earlier of 150 days after the lease is signed or 12 months after the agreement date. Construction deposits, equipment orders and insurance payments may therefore become due well before sales begin, while the three-month operating allowance is intended for the period after opening.

A useful cash schedule should identify who controls each due date. Agreement-stage payments are controlled by execution. The lease-review payment is controlled by submission. Landlord and contractor draws follow negotiated contracts. Equipment and technology payments follow purchase orders and delivery terms. Payroll and travel follow the training calendar. Licensing payments follow government procedures, which can be especially uncertain where liquor rights are scarce. The FDD’s “as arranged,” “as invoiced” and “as incurred” labels are not interchangeable; each requires supporting terms from the relevant counterparty.

Refundability also differs. Payments to the franchisor or affiliates are generally described as non-refundable, while the refundability of third-party amounts depends on the supplier, lease, permit or insurance arrangement. A project budget should therefore track not only when cash leaves the account, but also which deposits can be recovered if a site is rejected, a lease is not completed or the opening is delayed. That distinction is particularly important before large equipment orders or contractor mobilization payments are authorized.

The disclosed opening period provides a planning boundary, not a promise that every approval will arrive on time. Financing, lease negotiations, ordinances, licensing, equipment delivery and renovation are all identified as factors affecting the schedule. A buyer should preserve contingency capacity for timing changes without adding an invented amount to the official estimate. The defensible approach is to identify the uncertain event, obtain the current contract or quote, and show the resulting cash date separately from the franchisor’s published range.

Payment timing sources: 2026 FDD cover; Item 5, pages 6–7; Item 7, pages 11–15; Item 11, pages 20–21. The FTC Franchise Rule page describes the federal disclosure framework.

Ongoing fees

Which fees continue after the Restaurant opens?

The principal continuing percentage charges are a 5.5% Royalty Fee and a current 2.25% Marketing Fund contribution, both based on Gross Sales and paid weekly. Local Advertising Cooperative contributions and Local Advertising spending are not currently charged in Item 6, but each may be imposed up to 3% of Gross Sales subject to the Marketing Cap.

Continuing fee Amount or basis Due 2026 FDD qualification
Royalty 5.5% of Gross Sales Weekly Gross Sales definition excludes specified taxes, refunds, credits and discounts
Marketing Fund 2.25% of Gross Sales Weekly May increase up to 4% of Gross Sales
Local Advertising Cooperative Not currently charged; up to 3% Weekly if established Applies in an area with 2 or more Restaurants; subject to Marketing Cap
Local Advertising Not currently charged; up to 3% Monthly if imposed Required spend or payment may be imposed; subject to Marketing Cap
Proprietary Software and/or Technology Fee Not currently charged; estimated $150–$250 for first year if charged Monthly After imposition, may compound upward by up to 10% per year

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 7–8. The Marketing Cap limits aggregate required marketing to 5% of Gross Sales.

What other technology and supplier charges may recur?

Item 6 and Item 11 disclose additional service costs that are not percentages of total Restaurant sales. These charges are separate from the $40,000 to $50,000 initial Technology Systems investment.

Service or system cost Disclosed amount Basis Payee or context
Music Fees $49.08–$51.24 Per month, plus tax Paid to Smashburger Purchasing
Gift Card Service Fees $4.00–$5.50 Per day, plus tax Paid monthly to Smashburger Purchasing
Gift Card Transaction Fees 14.8%–30.64% Of redeemed gift-card transaction value Paid monthly to Smashburger Purchasing
Hosted software services About $1,861 Per year Approved suppliers; Item 11 estimate
IT help desk and hardware depot About $1,765 Per year Item 11 estimate; amount may change
Technology maintenance and upgrades $0–$4,000 Estimated annual maintenance Hardware and software upgrades remain franchisee-funded

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 9–10, and Item 11, page 25.

The weekly percentage charges and the service charges answer different budgeting questions. The first group rises or falls with the disclosed sales base. The second group may be fixed by time, tied to a particular transaction, passed through from a vendor or changed under the contractual adjustment language. They should be kept in separate rows rather than combined into one blended percentage, because doing so would hide the basis on which each obligation is calculated.

The marketing provisions also contain an interaction rule. The stated cap applies across the national fund, a local cooperative and required local spending, and a cooperative contribution can offset part of the local requirement. It does not cap the royalty, technology, gift-card, music, insurance or other operating obligations. A buyer reviewing a local cooperative should obtain its current governing documents and confirm the amount then being collected, rather than assuming that “not currently charged” means the franchisor cannot impose it during the term.

Item 11 gives additional context for local spending after the grand-opening program: the franchisor may require at least 1% of Gross Sales each calendar quarter for a single Restaurant and at least 3% for an operator with 2 or more Restaurants, while cooperative contributions are credited against the local requirement. Because Item 6 describes the charge as not currently imposed and subject to the overall cap, the amount in force for a specific market should be verified at the time of review.

The technology disclosures separate the original acquisition from ongoing access and replacement. The initial estimate covers specified hardware, software and network components. Annual service estimates cover access and support, while maintenance can vary and mandatory upgrades remain the franchisee’s responsibility. A current vendor proposal should therefore distinguish subscription charges, hardware warranties, replacement reserves, installation labor and any drive-thru additions. Treating the initial package as a lifetime technology cost would omit obligations expressly reserved in the agreement.

Gift-card charges require similar care because one amount is assessed by day and another is a percentage of redeemed value. Neither uses total Restaurant sales as its denominator. Music is assessed monthly. Vendor reimbursements may also pass through amounts paid on behalf of the Restaurant. The correct interpretation is to preserve the published basis and timing for each charge; converting them into a common annual amount would require operating data that the cost disclosure does not provide.

Finally, the payment method can affect working-capital control. The FDD currently requires electronic transfers from a designated business account and permits the franchisor to alter timing or intervals with notice. The account must have sufficient funds on the debit date even when the underlying expense was incurred earlier. That operational requirement is separate from the amount of the charge but relevant to avoiding late interest, denied-payment fees and non-compliance consequences.

Gross Sales
All revenue from operating the Restaurant, subject to the specific exclusions and inclusions stated in Item 6. Percentage fees should not be converted into annual dollars without actual sales data.
Marketing Cap
An aggregate cap of 5% of Gross Sales on the Marketing Fund, Local Advertising Cooperative and Local Advertising requirements described in the FDD.
Technology Systems
The required hardware, software, POS, security, network and related systems. Item 7 covers the initial $40,000 to $50,000 acquisition estimate; Item 11 adds recurring access, support and upgrade costs.
Conditional obligations

Which fees arise only after a transfer, renewal, default or other event?

Item 6 includes several event-triggered charges that are outside the normal weekly Royalty and Marketing Fund cycle. Some are fixed; others reimburse actual costs or depend on the circumstances.

Restaurant transfer

$15,000 under the Franchise Agreement. An existing-Restaurant buyer is not charged a new Initial Franchise Fee when the required transfer fee is paid.

Development-rights transfer

The greater of 1% of the purchase price or $25,000; $2,500 is due with the application and the balance before transfer.

Renewal

50% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee. Because the fee is based on the future then-current amount, the 2026 FDD does not fix the eventual dollar charge.

Late or failed payment

2% per month or the lower legal maximum on overdue amounts, plus $100 per returned check or denied ACH.

Additional training

$250 per day, subject to change, plus direct costs including travel when extra training is requested or required.

Multi-unit delay

$800 per month per Restaurant behind schedule under the Multi-Unit Development Agreement.

Non-compliance

Up to $1,000 per failure, in addition to other contractual remedies.

Inspection or audit

Reimbursement of actual inspection, reinspection or audit costs when the stated access, reporting, standards or understatement triggers occur.

Interim operations

10% of Gross Sales plus costs and expenses if the Restaurant is abandoned, not actively operated, expired or terminated and operations are being transitioned or evaluated for transition.

Other contingent obligations include product or supplier testing of $0 to $250, insurance reimbursement if required coverage is not maintained, indemnification, attorneys’ fees, deficiency-correction costs, shared appraisal costs, tax reimbursement and Lost Revenue Damages following specified early termination events. A requested printed manual may be charged at direct out-of-pocket cost. An Online Presence Maintenance Fee is not currently charged, but the agreement permits a then-current setup charge and monthly maintenance amount tied to vendor cost. Those obligations are not suitable for a single budget number because Item 6 describes them as direct costs, unpriced charges or circumstance-dependent liabilities.

Buyer verification

Transfer and renewal can also require upgrades, remodeling, refurbishment, equipment replacement or a substitute premises meeting then-current System Standards. The 2026 FDD does not cap those project costs, so the fee itself is not the full cash requirement for a transfer or renewal.

Fixed event charges are easier to identify than the work that may surround them. A transfer can require the existing unit to cure inspection deficiencies, bring assets into good condition and complete training before approval. A renewal can require the premises and equipment to satisfy standards then applicable to new locations. Those conditions can produce contractor, technology, professional and downtime costs even though the fee table shows only the contractual charge paid to the franchisor.

Cost-reimbursement clauses should be treated as open-ended exposure rather than zero-cost items. They are not necessarily paid in ordinary operations, but the absence of a fixed amount does not make them immaterial. Inspection, audit, indemnity, insurance, legal and deficiency-correction provisions shift defined expenses to the franchisee when a trigger occurs. The appropriate control is to understand the trigger, maintain records and coverage, and review invoices—not to insert an arbitrary placeholder into the published initial-investment total.

Early termination can be especially consequential because the document describes Lost Revenue Damages by reference to future percentage fees and a historical sales base. This article does not estimate that amount because it depends on facts that do not exist at the purchase stage. The disclosure is still relevant to capital risk: ending the relationship may leave payment, de-identification, lease and creditor obligations after operations stop.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 8–11; Item 17, pages 35–40; Franchise Agreement provisions summarized in Item 17.

Capital qualifications

How much liquid capital and net worth does Smashburger require?

The 2026 FDD does not state fixed numeric Liquid Capital or Net Worth thresholds. It requires sufficient working-capital reserves and permits Smashburger Franchising LLC to establish or modify working-capital, debt-to-equity, borrowing-limit and liquidity requirements.

Two current official website routes displayed conflicting screening figures when checked July 20, 2026. The franchise opportunity page listed $2 million-plus Net Worth and $500,000 Liquid Assets. A separate official franchise page displayed $360,000 Net Worth and $300,000 Assets.

Source conflict

Do not treat either website pair as a settled contractual requirement until the franchisor confirms which screening standard applies to the proposed unit format and multi-unit commitment. Net Worth, Liquid Assets and the Item 7 Estimated Initial Investment are different measures; none can be substituted for another.

Confirm the applicable qualification in writing. Ask whether the $2 million Net Worth and $500,000 Liquid Assets screen applies to all U.S. applicants, only multi-unit developers, or a particular Restaurant format.
Separate liquidity from the opening budget. Liquid Assets are a qualification measure; they are not an Item 7 line item and are not automatically the amount paid at signing.
Map working capital to the development schedule. A 2-to-25-Restaurant commitment can require multiple Restaurant investments in addition to the Development Fee.
Verify guarantees and borrowing limits. The FDD permits financial-reserve and borrowing requirements to change and contains owner and spouse guarantee provisions in the agreements.

The conflict cannot be resolved by choosing the larger figure as a conservative answer or the smaller figure as the easier qualification. The pages may reflect different applicant types, publication dates or unfinished updates, but neither page explains the discrepancy. The current disclosure document controls the contractual cost terms, while the screening standard remains an application question that should be documented by the franchisor for the specific proposal.

Net worth measures assets minus liabilities and may include property or other holdings that cannot be converted quickly. Liquid resources are intended to measure funds more readily available, but the official pages do not define exactly which assets qualify. The opening estimate measures expected uses of money for one project. Because these measures answer different questions, a buyer can satisfy one and still be unable to fund the construction schedule or maintain required reserves.

For a multi-unit applicant, the more important issue may be aggregate capacity over the full schedule. The rights payment is only the first layer; later sites can overlap, and the franchisor may request evidence of working-capital availability. Written confirmation should address the number of locations, permitted leverage, required equity, acceptable sources of funds and whether reserves must remain available after the first opening.

Financing

Does Smashburger finance the initial investment?

No. Item 10 states that Smashburger Franchising LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee promissory notes, mortgages, leases or other obligations. Item 7 also excludes debt service on loans from the Estimated Initial Investment.

External financing therefore remains a separate lender decision. The SBA Franchise Directory explains how lenders evaluate franchise eligibility for SBA-assisted financing, but inclusion or lender review does not guarantee approval, required equity, loan terms or sufficient funding for a Smashburger Restaurant.

A loan can change the timing and source of funds without changing what the FDD says the project costs. Interest, lender fees, required reserves and debt payments remain outside the published total unless specifically identified. Construction financing can also require the borrower to fund deposits or equity first and receive advances only after inspections. A capital plan should therefore show the official uses of funds separately from the financing sources and their conditions.

Landlord contributions, equipment leases and investor capital should be handled the same way. They may reduce the amount of cash supplied by the owner at a particular stage, but they do not erase the underlying build-out, equipment or opening obligation. The key verification is whether committed funds are available on the dates required by the lease, vendor contracts and opening schedule, not merely whether the total amount of proposed financing exceeds the low endpoint.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 11–15, and Item 10, page 19.

Exclusions and uncertainty

What does the official investment range leave unresolved?

The Item 7 range is broad, but it is not an all-purpose cap. The FDD identifies exclusions and variables that require site-specific verification before the capital requirement is known.

Debt service is excluded. Principal, interest and financing costs on borrowed funds are not included in Item 7.
Extensive exterior renovations are excluded. The Additional Funds note expressly states that the estimates do not include extensive exterior renovations.
Tenant improvement allowances are not netted. A landlord allowance may reduce the franchisee’s out-of-pocket Leasehold Improvements, but it is site-specific and not deducted from the published range.
Special Venue and drive-thru totals are not separated. Their effects are described by category, not as distinct official total ranges.
Owner compensation is not specifically identified in Additional Funds. The three-month allowance lists inventory replenishment, lease payments, initial promotion, uniforms, utilities and other variable costs; personal living expenses or owner draws are not stated as included.
Future remodels and technology upgrades are unpriced. The Franchise Agreement can require renovation, refurbishment, equipment replacement and Technology Systems upgrades at the franchisee’s expense.

These limitations do not make the official range unusable; they identify the work needed to turn a disclosure into a project budget. The range supplies a standardized list of categories and a verified boundary based largely on observed openings. The site investigation, lease, plans and supplier proposals supply the facts needed for the particular location. Keeping those two layers separate prevents local estimates from being presented as franchisor figures and prevents the published total from being treated as a guaranteed cap.

Additional Funds deserve particular attention because they cover only a stated initial period and a stated group of operating expenses. The allowance is not described as a reserve for loan payments, owner living costs, major repairs or an extended delay in reaching stable operations. A buyer may decide to hold more cash, but any larger cushion would be a buyer or lender decision rather than an official estimate and should be labeled accordingly.

Unpriced future obligations should be recorded as verification items, not silently ignored. The franchisor can require changes to systems, premises and assets as standards evolve. The cost and timing may not be knowable before signing, yet the contractual responsibility is material. Review of the agreement should focus on notice, compliance periods, approval requirements and whether a transfer or renewal can accelerate the work.

The California franchise-regulation resources and the FTC guidance on reviewing an FDD provide separate government context for checking registration status, amendments and disclosure details. A state filing is a regulatory record, not an endorsement of the franchise or its costs.

Decision synthesis

What capital figure should a prospective franchisee use?

The verified starting point is the 2026 Item 7 range of $1,239,500 to $2,255,500 for one Smashburger Restaurant. A multi-unit developer must add the separate $40,000 to $500,000 Development Fee at execution and then fund each Restaurant under its own Franchise Agreement, subject to the Development Fee credits.

The largest unresolved variables are the premises scope, equipment package, site configuration, training payroll, local licensing and any later upgrade obligation. The signing payment, continuing percentage charges and included operating cushion should remain separate in the capital model rather than being treated as interchangeable measures.

A defensible budget begins with the official category list, substitutes current approved quotes only where the project facts are known, preserves every exclusion and records the expected payment date. It should also identify whether a source is the current disclosure, an official website screen, a third-party contract or abuyer assumption. That structure makes it possible to revise one uncertain input without silently changing the franchisor’s figures.

The most important unresolved issue is the applicable financial qualification. The FDD provides no fixed threshold, and the two official Smashburger franchise pages displayed inconsistent net-worth and asset screens as of July 20, 2026. Written confirmation should precede any assumption that the applicant qualifies or that the planned financing structure will be accepted.