How Much Does an SCA Appraisal Services Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does an SCA Appraisal Services franchise cost?

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document states that the Estimated Initial Investment for one SCA Appraisal Services business is $27,300 to $79,950. The disclosed model is a vehicle-damage appraisal business operated from a home office in virtually all cases, not a retail storefront. The range already includes the Initial Franchise Fee, training travel, home-office setup, equipment, insurance, one software-license allowance, and Additional Funds for the first three months.

$27,300–$79,950

Estimated Initial Investment. This is the single Item 7 range in the SCA Franchising Corporation 2026 FDD for an SCA Appraisal Services business. The largest variable is the $10,000 to $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee, which can change with Service Area population density, National Account needs, geography, and territory size. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 3; Item 7, pp. 7–9.

Legal franchisor
SCA Franchising Corporation, a California corporation
Disclosure basis
2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issued May 26, 2026
Cost model
One SCA Appraisal Services Appraisal Business, expected to operate from a home office within a designated Service Area
Items reviewed
Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 17; cited below by exact FDD page
Information checked
July 14, 2026
Public FDD link
No matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled domain, so FDD Item and page references in this article are intentionally unlinked. The official SCA Appraisal Services website is linked separately.

Which figures matter most before signing?

The upfront territory fee is only one part of the capital requirement. The three-month operating allowance is already included in the opening total, the Continuing Royalty begins after opening, and the 2026 FDD does not state a fixed minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold.

$10,000–$50,000 Initial Franchise Fee Due at signing unless the franchisor approves fee financing.
$6,000–$13,000 Additional Funds Covers the first three months; excludes an owner salary or draw.
50% / 35% Continuing Royalty 50% of Gross Revenue; 35% for qualifying Elite Program assignments.
Up to $500 Software Fee Per month, per user, for the first 24 months of a software license.
$0 currently Brand Fund and Local Spend No current Brand Fund contribution or minimum local-advertising spend.
HOME-OFFICE COST CONTRACT

Why is the investment range unusually dependent on the Service Area?

The home-office format keeps premises costs narrow, while the territory-priced Initial Franchise Fee creates most of the spread between the low and high opening totals. The franchisor reserves the right to set that fee between $10,000 and $50,000 based on population density, National Account needs, geography, and the size of the Service Area. The payment is fully earned when made and is nonrefundable.

The FDD also permits discounts for multiple franchises or territories and for special qualifications, including a current book of business. During the most recent fiscal year, the franchisor collected initial fees from $0 to $10,000. Those historical payments do not replace the current $10,000 to $50,000 contract range and do not promise that a new applicant will receive a discount.

Operating format

Home office rather than a storefront

The 2026 FDD expects virtually all franchisees to operate from home and says no business “site” is required. The $2,000 to $2,500 real-property line is an allowance for outfitting an existing room, not a commercial lease or new-build budget.

Main range driver

Service Area pricing changes the upfront fee

This payment can account for $10,000 at the low end or $50,000 at the high end. A prospective franchisee therefore needs the proposed territory and the exact fee in writing before treating either endpoint as applicable.

Cost implication A low premises allowance does not make the opening total a complete vehicle budget. The FDD expects franchisees to use a personal automobile and explicitly excludes the cost of owning that automobile from the equipment estimate.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 3; Item 7, Notes 4 and 5, pp. 8–9; Item 11, pp. 15–16.
ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the $27,300 to $79,950 initial investment?

The opening-cost table combines eight nonzero expenditure categories plus a zero-dollar opening-inventory line. Each category has its own payment timing, and several payments go to third parties rather than the franchisor.

Item 7 expenditure Low High When or how paid
Initial Franchise Fee $10,000 $50,000 Lump sum at signing, or monthly under an approved Promissory Note
Training Expenses $1,500 $2,000 Paid as airlines, hotels, meals, and other providers require
Real Property, construction, remodeling, leasehold improvements, and decorating $2,000 $2,500 Home-office outfitting; paid as supplier or landlord requires
Equipment, fixtures, and other fixed assets $5,000 $7,500 Paid as supplier requires; personal automobile ownership is excluded
Security deposits, utility deposits, licenses, and prepaid expenses $100 $250 Before opening or as providers and government agencies require
Insurance annual premium $2,200 $4,200 Before opening; may be spread over 52 weekly payments
Computer software licenses $500 $500 Lump sum before opening to software owner or the franchisor
Additional Funds for three months $6,000 $13,000 As payroll and operating expenses occur
Opening inventory $0 $0 No minimum inventory purchase is currently required
Total Estimated Initial Investment $27,300 $79,950 Official disclosed total
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 7–9. The official total is preserved as disclosed.

The endpoints cannot be reconstructed by selecting whichever line-item values appear most convenient. The low total uses every low estimate in the table, and the high total uses every high estimate. A buyer whose territory fee is near the upper end but whose insurance quote is near the lower end will have a mixed set of actual costs, yet the FDD does not publish a midpoint or a most-likely combination. That is why the proposed fee, insurance quote, software-user count, travel plan, and local licensing requirements need to be assembled as one buyer-specific cash schedule without relabeling it as the franchisor’s estimate.

Payment destination also matters. The franchise fee is paid to the franchisor, while travel providers, equipment suppliers, software vendors, insurers, government agencies, and operating vendors receive other amounts. A financing approval for one payment does not postpone every other pre-opening obligation. The opening budget should therefore distinguish the amount due under the franchise contract from amounts paid directly to outside providers.

What does the three-month operating allowance cover?

The $6,000 to $13,000 estimate covers operating expenses during the first three months. It is already included in the $27,300 to $79,950 total, so it should not be added again. The estimate excludes an owner salary or draw, and the FDD says it anticipates no payroll expense initially.

FDD caveat The disclosure says franchisees may have additional payments to third-party suppliers, the franchisor, and affiliates that are not listed in the table. It also excludes the personal automobile and owner compensation. A buyer should treat the disclosed total as the official contract range, not as a guarantee that every personal or local cash need is covered.
PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

Cash is not paid in one transaction. The upfront fee is tied to signing, setup costs are incurred before opening, and the three-month operating allowance is spent after launch.

  1. At the Franchise AgreementThe $10,000 to $50,000 upfront fee is paid in a lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed unless the franchisor approves financing and a Promissory Note sets monthly due dates.
  2. Before and during Initial TrainingInitial Training has no tuition charge for the Operating Principal, Designated Appraiser, or Owners, but the franchisee pays transportation, lodging, meals, attendee wages, and related expenses. The opening-cost table estimates $1,500 to $2,000.
  3. Before opening approvalThe franchisee obtains the required equipment, software, business forms, licenses, permits, and insurance. The FDD’s estimated typical opening period is 30 days after the franchisor signs the Franchise Agreement, subject to training availability and completion of opening conditions.
  4. During the first three monthsThe $6,000 to $13,000 allowance is used as operating expenses occur. Owner salary or draw is outside that allowance.
  5. After openingThe Continuing Royalty is settled weekly, while software, insurance, support, training, compliance, and transfer-related charges arise on their disclosed schedules or only when a triggering event occurs.

Training location can materially affect the travel line. The Initial Training Program is approximately six to ten classroom hours and may be conducted at the franchisor’s facilities in Burbank, California; Bayville, New York; or Richardson, Texas, depending on the franchisee’s location. The franchisor may also provide virtual training. Because the format and location are discretionary, the $1,500 to $2,000 travel estimate should be matched to the actual training notice rather than assumed to be unavoidable airfare and lodging.

The 30-day opening period is described as the estimated typical interval after the franchisor signs the agreement, not as a promise that every business will open on that date. Equipment delivery, software installation, required credentials, insurance, and satisfactory training completion can affect consent to open. A delay can change the timing of cash outflows even when the official dollar categories remain unchanged.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 4–7; Item 7, pp. 7–9; Item 11, pp. 15–22.
ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

The largest ongoing contractual fee is the Continuing Royalty: 50% of Gross Revenue, paid weekly. Eligible Elite Program assignments can produce a net 35% Continuing Royalty through a weekly reimbursement mechanism, but eligibility is evaluated from performance criteria and the franchisor may modify or eliminate the program.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 4 and 7. Official percentages of Gross Revenue; the chart does not estimate sales or annual dollars.
Gross Revenue
All revenue and income derived or received directly or indirectly from the Appraisal Business, including amounts categorized as services, products, goods, travel, mileage compensation, or expense reimbursement.
Payment timing
Weekly, no later than Friday, for Gross Revenue from the preceding week.
Elite Program mechanism
The franchisor initially deducts the 50% Continuing Royalty and reimburses 15% of Gross Revenue for qualifying periods, producing a net 35% rate for eligible assignments.
Rate stability
The standard royalty percentage does not change during the Franchise Agreement term; Elite Program availability and criteria can change.

What other recurring or potentially recurring charges apply?

Fee or obligation 2026 amount or basis Timing and condition
Software Fee Then-current fee, capped at $500 per month per user for the first 24 months of any software license As incurred; paid to a designated vendor, franchisor, or affiliate depending on the license structure
Technology Fee None currently; the franchisor says it does not anticipate more than $250 in the first year if implemented May be imposed on 30 days’ notice and increased for technology or vendor-cost changes
System Brand Fund Contribution None No current national brand-fund payment
Testing Fee None currently No current fee to evaluate an alternative supplier
Required Minimum Local Advertising Expenditure None currently; future requirement capped at the greater of $250 per month or 1% of Gross Revenue As incurred if activated; franchisee must also spend at least 10 hours per month marketing services
Insurance The opening table estimates a $2,200 to $4,200 annual premium Required continuously; may be collected in 52 weekly installments under the offered insurance program
IT System maintenance and upgrades Future maintenance cost is not predictable; the FDD estimates $1,500 to $2,000 for increased licensing fees and additional hardware upgrades When required by software, hardware, System Standards, or technological changes

A percentage fee should remain a percentage in the capital analysis. The Continuing Royalty cannot be converted into an annual dollar amount without introducing a sales assumption that the cost disclosure does not provide. The same limitation applies to the possible 1% local-advertising requirement and the 5% Quality Control Review charge. Their financial effect depends on the defined revenue base and the period in which the obligation applies.

Zero-dollar current fees also require careful reading. “None currently” means no charge as of the May 26, 2026 issuance date; it does not remove the contractual right to activate a future Technology Fee or local advertising expenditure within the disclosed limits. By contrast, the current absence of a Brand Fund contribution is not permission to ignore independent marketing time, because the agreement separately requires at least ten hours of local marketing activity each month.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 4–7; Item 11, pp. 17–19.
CONDITIONAL CHARGES

Which fees arise only after a specific event?

Training requests, compliance failures, transfers, temporary operational assistance, overdue balances, and technology support can create additional charges. These amounts are not part of the published opening total unless a specific initial payment is expressly included there.

Trigger Disclosed charge Payment basis
Additional Training $150 per day per attendee at the franchisor’s location or per trainer at the franchisee’s location; may rise to $450 per day plus trainer wage increases Before training begins
Continuing Training Franchisor’s costs and expenses to conduct the training, plus franchisee attendee wages and expenses Before training begins
Remedial Training $150 per day per attendee or trainer; may rise to $500 per day plus trainer wage increases Before training begins
Meeting, Seminar, or Conference No current fee; future registration may equal actual cost up to $1,500 per attendee, plus attendee travel and living costs On demand
Quality Control Review assistance 5% of Gross Revenues on a continuing basis or a per-file charge for individual occurrences Weekly by ACH while temporary assistance is provided
Special Services $35 to $400 per file, or actual outsourced cost plus 25% Weekly by ACH for occurrences in the prior week
Technology Support $100 per hour Weekly, only when franchisor technology assistance is required
  • Late payment: 2% of the overdue amount, plus interest stated in the Item 6 table as 1.5% per month or the highest legal rate, whichever is less.
  • Audit: all audit costs if Gross Revenue is understated by 2% or required records were not supplied or kept; additional amounts and interest are also due.
  • Non-compliance: $500 per violation and, for an ongoing violation, $500 per week until the violation ends.
  • Enforcement or corrective work: the franchisee reimburses varying enforcement costs, attorneys’ fees, and costs incurred to correct uncured operating deficiencies.
  • Transfer: $1,500 Transfer Fee plus a $1,000 Transfer Deposit. The deposit is held for 90 days after the effective transfer date and refunded less unpaid liabilities.
  • Renewal: no Renewal Fee is disclosed, but required supplemental or refresher training and the then-current renewal agreement can create separate costs or changed terms.
Source conflict The Item 6 fee table says general overdue interest is 1.5% per month or the highest legal rate, whichever is less. The audit footnote uses “whichever is more” wording for interest on audit-discovered underpayments. Because those clauses do not align, the applicable agreement language should be confirmed with franchise counsel before relying on either formulation.

These event-driven charges should not be inserted into the opening total as though every buyer will pay them. They belong in a separate obligations register showing the trigger, calculation method, payee, due date, and cure period. That separation preserves the official opening range while making clear that a later transfer, compliance problem, support request, audit, or mandatory event can create additional cash demands.

The transfer charges illustrate the distinction. The $1,500 fee is a cost of approval, while the $1,000 deposit is potentially refundable after the post-transfer hold period, less unpaid liabilities. Combining them into a permanent $2,500 charge would misstate the deposit’s disclosed treatment, but ignoring the deposit would understate cash needed at the time of a transfer request.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 5–7; Item 17, pp. 28–33.
EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIERS

Which required purchases can change the final capital need?

The 2026 FDD requires specified office technology, collision-estimating software, appraisal tools, insurance, licenses, and compliance with changing System Standards. The opening disclosure provides allowances, but later hardware, software, insurance, and supplier changes remain the franchisee’s responsibility.

  • Office and field technology: computer or laptop, printer, telephone capability, high-speed internet, smartphone capable of photographs and Core Mobile, and other peripherals required by the IT System specifications.
  • Software: Core and Core Mobile are provided without charge, but a collision-estimating software license must be purchased. Required software can change, and the franchisee bears resulting costs.
  • Appraisal tools: the FDD currently lists an NADA Vehicle Value Subscription, Neon Photo Arrows, Keson Tape Measurer, and Tire Depth Gauge as required purchases meeting specifications.
  • Insurance: required limits include $2 million general liability; automobile coverage of $2 million per person for death or bodily injury, $500,000 property damage, and $2 million aggregate; $3 million errors and omissions; and $3 million cyber liability, plus statutory workers’ compensation where applicable. Coverage requirements can change.
  • Licenses and permits: state and local requirements vary, and some states require property-damage appraiser licenses for the franchisee or employees before appraisal work starts.
  • Personal automobile: the system expects use of a personal vehicle, but automobile ownership is not included in the $5,000 to $7,500 equipment estimate.

The computer disclosure deserves a reconciliation check. Item 11 estimates approximately $7,000 to purchase or lease the required IT System, while the opening table separately shows $5,000 to $7,500 for equipment and fixed assets and $500 for computer software licenses. The $7,000 statement appears to describe overlapping system components, so it should not automatically be added on top of those opening lines. The current hardware list and vendor quotes should be mapped to the official categories to prevent double counting.

Specifications may also change after signing. A compliant device today may require replacement when the mandated software, security standards, customer requirements, or mobile platform changes. The FDD does not provide a predictable lifetime replacement schedule. That uncertainty is different from the stated $1,500 to $2,000 estimate for increased licensing fees and additional hardware upgrades: the estimate is disclosed, but the timing and precise components are not fixed.

The FDD estimates that products and services purchased or leased under specifications represent about 3% of establishment purchases and about 5% of operating purchases. Those percentages describe the franchisor’s disclosed purchasing structure; they are not a substitute for the opening dollar ranges.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 9–12; Item 11, pp. 15–19.
FINANCING

Does the franchisor finance the startup cost?

The franchisor may finance the upfront fee and may purchase qualifying insurance-company accounts receivable, but neither arrangement is guaranteed. Item 10 makes both programs subject to the franchisor’s qualifications, documentation, and approval.

Item 10 arrangement Key financial terms Security and risk
Initial Franchise Fee Financing No down payment; 12-month term; rate is the lower of the highest legal rate or prime plus 5% per year; no prepayment penalty May be secured by weekly advances, with a UCC-1 filing right; default can accelerate the full balance and collection costs
Accounts Receivable Purchase Agreement Amount varies with approved insurance-company receivables; no stated interest or finance charge; rolling 10% reserve; non-recourse purchase structure Security interest in receivables and collection rights; qualifications, approved payors, documentation, and certain guarantees apply

The opening table allows the upfront fee to be paid monthly only when financing is approved. Financing does not reduce the amount of the fee or convert the entire $27,300 to $79,950 investment into financed capital.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 7–8; Item 10, pp. 13–15.
CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

Is there a disclosed Liquid Capital or Net Worth minimum?

The 2026 FDD does not state a fixed Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. That absence should not be read as automatic financial approval: Upfront-fee financing is subject to undisclosed financial and credit requirements, and the franchisee must still fund all unfinanced opening categories and ongoing obligations.

Estimated Initial Investment
$27,300 to $79,950 for the disclosed SCA Appraisal Services home-office model. This is an expenditure range, not a liquidity test.
Liquid Capital
No fixed minimum is stated in the 2026 FDD. Cash available to invest remains distinct from Net Worth.
Net Worth
No fixed minimum is stated in the 2026 FDD. Net Worth is not the same as cash available at signing.
Credit approval
Required if the buyer seeks upfront-fee financing; the FDD does not publish the approval standards.
Personal Guarantee
The franchise documents include guarantee obligations in specified circumstances, including owner guarantees associated with the franchise relationship and the receivables arrangement.

A missing published threshold is not the same as a zero-capital qualification. The buyer still needs enough available funds to pay the nonfinanced categories when due, support personal living costs that are outside the disclosure, and absorb any difference between estimates and actual provider quotes. Net assets that cannot be readily converted to cash may help a balance sheet but do not necessarily meet a near-term payment deadline.

Credit approval is also narrower than overall financial readiness. A twelve-month note may change the timing of the franchise fee, but it leaves travel, equipment, software, licenses, insurance, and early operating expenses payable under their own schedules. The note adds a repayment obligation after opening rather than erasing the underlying fee.

Buyer verification Before signing, obtain the exact Service Area fee, the franchisor’s current credit criteria, the monthly Promissory Note schedule if financing is offered, and a list of cash categories that remain due before opening. None of those buyer-specific figures can be derived from the published opening range alone.
EXCLUSIONS AND UNCERTAINTY

What does the official range not fully resolve?

The FDD gives a valid official range, but it does not settle every buyer-specific cost. Local licensing, insurance underwriting, personal vehicle expense, owner compensation, future technology changes, and the exact territory fee can move the actual cash requirement without changing the published endpoints.

  • Owner salary or draw: expressly excluded from the three-month operating allowance.
  • Personal automobile ownership: expected for transportation but excluded from the equipment estimate.
  • Future software and hardware changes: System Standards and vendor pricing may require upgrades after opening.
  • Local licensing and employee credentials: requirements differ by state and locality.
  • Unlisted third-party and affiliate expenses: the opening disclosure expressly warns that additional payments may exist outside the table.
  • Commercial premises: the disclosed range assumes home-office operation and is not a storefront lease, buildout, or relocation budget.

Which documents and figures should be matched before a capital decision?

  • Match the proposed territory to the written upfront fee and confirm whether any multi-territory discount is actually offered.
  • Reconcile the required software users with the current per-user license quote and any administration charge.
  • Obtain insurance quotes for every required coverage, including cyber liability not covered by the offered program.
  • Confirm state appraiser licensing, employee credential, and permit costs before the opening deadline.
  • Separate the three-month operating allowance from personal living expenses and owner compensation.
  • Have counsel resolve the FDD’s inconsistent interest wording and review transfer, default, guarantee, and financing clauses.
CAPITAL SYNTHESIS

What is the practical reading of the 2026 cost disclosure?

The official entry range is $27,300 to $79,950 for a home-office SCA Appraisal Services business. The $10,000 to $50,000 Initial Franchise Fee is the main variable, and the $6,000 to $13,000 Additional Funds allowance covers three operating months but excludes an owner salary or draw. After opening, the central continuing obligation is a 50% Continuing Royalty on Gross Revenue, with a conditional net 35% rate for qualifying Elite Program assignments.

The most important unresolved capital question is not the published total; it is which endpoint applies to the buyer’s Service Area and what additional personal-vehicle, licensing, software-user, insurance, and owner-living costs sit outside the opening assumptions.