How Much Does a Retrofitness Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Retro Fitness franchise cost in 2026?

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $832,216 to $3,241,991 to open one RETROFITNESS® Outlet in the United States. The range applies to the brand's standard large-format fitness club, generally about 15,000 to 18,000 square feet. It includes a $29,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $100,000 to $350,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months, but it does not treat liquid capital or net worth as part of the Item 7 total.

$832,216–$3,241,991

Estimated Initial Investment for one Outlet under the 2026 FDD. The low end assumes a conversion-friendly former health-club space; the high end assumes substantial Leasehold Improvements. See 2026 FDD Item 7, pp. 18–23.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Retrofitness, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company; parent: Fierce Brands, LLC. FDD issuance date: April 30, 2026. Primary cost disclosures reviewed: Item 5, pp. 6–7; Item 6, pp. 7–18; Item 7, pp. 18–24; and cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. The document covers one Outlet and a separate Area Development Agreement path. Information checked July 17, 2026.

The current public franchise site presents single-unit, multi-unit and territory-development opportunities. A matching 2026 FDD was not located on an official franchise-controlled public page, so FDD citations below are plain-text Item and page references. The Wisconsin active-registration list showed Retrofitness, LLC with an April 30, 2027 expiration date when checked.

Key capital figures

$29,000 Initial Franchise Fee Due in full when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
$51,716–$86,716 Paid to franchisor or affiliate Included within the one-Outlet Item 7 total.
$100,000–$350,000 Additional Funds Three-month working-capital estimate; owner's pay excluded.
$40,000 minimum Area Development Fee $10,000 per required Outlet; minimum four Outlets.
$500,000 Liquid assets Current official website qualification, checked July 17, 2026.
$2,000,000 Net worth Current official website qualification; not cash on hand.

Sources: 2026 FDD cover, Items 5 and 7, pp. 6 and 18–24; official financial-qualification statement linked later in this article.

ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the estimated initial investment?

The Item 7 total contains 22 disclosed expenditure categories, from the Initial Franchise Fee through three months of Additional Funds. The three tables below preserve the 2026 ranges and separate the payment phases so that pre-sales spending is not confused with premises, equipment or working capital.

Contract, pre-sales and opening setup

Contract and pre-sales expenditures
Expenditure 2026 amount When due Paid to
Initial Franchise Fee $29,000 When the Franchise Agreement is signed Retrofitness, LLC
Opening Advertising–Pre-sales $30,000–$50,000 Before and during the first 90 days of business Approved third-party suppliers
Marketing Kit $12,000–$15,000 Before Pre-Sales begin Approved third-party supplier
Trailer Rental, if needed $0–$30,000 Before Pre-Sales begin Approved third-party supplier
Office Supplies $1,000–$2,000 Upon delivery Approved third-party suppliers
Computer Equipment $5,000–$7,000 Before beginning business Approved computer-equipment providers
Branded Key Tags $216 Before beginning business Retrofitness, LLC

Source: 2026 FDD Item 7, p. 19. Item 5, p. 6 states that the $29,000 Initial Franchise Fee includes F.I.T. training for franchisee owners and “Retro Ready” training for a group of up to 20 people, and that the fee is nonrefundable.

Premises, equipment and build-out

Premises and equipment expenditures
Expenditure 2026 amount When due Paid to
Opening Inventory $10,000–$15,000 Before beginning business Approved third-party suppliers
Insurance and Bond $6,000–$24,000 Down payment before opening; ten monthly installments follow Insurance company
Signage $24,000–$50,000 Before beginning business Approved signage company
Equipment and Furnishings $140,000–$195,000 Before beginning business Third-party financing institution and approved suppliers
Prepaid Rent and Security Deposit $0–$75,000 Before beginning business Landlord
Lease Review Fee $2,500 Before beginning business; charged for each lease reviewed Retrofitness, LLC or authorized representative
Turnkey Build-Out Service Fee $20,000–$55,000 When the lease is signed Retrofitness, LLC
Architectural Fees and Surveys $0–$65,275 Before beginning business, as incurred Approved third-party suppliers

Source: 2026 FDD Item 7, pp. 20–21. The Turnkey Build-Out Service Fee is $55,000 for a new club or $20,000 for an acquired existing Retro Fitness Outlet that the franchisor requires to be refurbished.

Construction, approvals and working capital

Construction, approvals and working-capital expenditures
Expenditure 2026 amount When due Paid to
Leasehold Improvements / Fit Out $450,000–$2,200,000 Before beginning business, as incurred or amortized Approved contractors and suppliers
Utility Deposits $0–$3,500 Before beginning business Landlord and utility companies
Licenses and Permits $500–$63,500 Before beginning business Government authorities
Fictitious Name Registration, Incorporation and Legal Review $0–$1,500 Before beginning business Attorney and government authorities
Travel, Lodging and Meals for Initial Training $0–$3,500 Before beginning business, as incurred Travel providers
Miscellaneous Start-up Costs $2,000–$5,000 Before beginning business, as incurred Third-party vendors
Additional Funds for three months $100,000–$350,000 As incurred during the initial phase Employees, utilities, advertising, tax authorities and suppliers

Source: 2026 FDD Item 7, pp. 20–23. Additional Funds cover early-stage expenses such as payroll, utilities and advertising until cash flow builds; the category expressly excludes an owner's salary or draw.

Official one-Outlet total
2026 FDD Item 7
$832,216–$3,241,991
FDD CAVEAT

The $140,000–$195,000 Equipment and Furnishings row is an estimated down payment, not the full equipment price. Item 7 says the down payment generally represents 20% of equipment and furnishing cost. Paying in full is estimated at $680,000–$970,000. A buyer comparing cash and financed scenarios must not substitute the down-payment range for total equipment value.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

The cash commitment begins at contract signing, increases at lease execution and construction, and continues into Pre-Sales and the first three operating months. The following sequence tracks the FDD's payment events rather than treating the entire Item 7 total as a single check.

  1. Before signing or paying. The FDD states that the disclosure document must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement is signed or a payment is made. The FTC's franchise buyer guide explains the same federal disclosure period.
  2. At Franchise Agreement signing. Pay the $29,000 Initial Franchise Fee in a lump sum. Under an Area Development Agreement, also pay the $10,000-per-Outlet Area Development Fee, with a $40,000 minimum for four Outlets.
  3. During site approval and lease review. Pay the $2,500 Lease Review Fee for each lease reviewed. After an approved lease is signed, the Turnkey Build-Out Service Fee is $55,000 for a new club or $20,000 for an acquired existing Retro Fitness Outlet that requires refurbishment.
  4. Before and during Pre-Sales. Fund the $12,000–$15,000 Marketing Kit, any $0–$30,000 trailer rental and $30,000–$50,000 of Opening Advertising–Pre-sales. Pre-Sales must begin within nine months of signing.
  5. Before public opening. Pay or finance the approved construction, Equipment and Furnishings, Signage, Opening Inventory, Computer Equipment, deposits, Insurance and Bond, Licenses and Permits, and training travel. The Outlet may not open without written approval.
  6. During the first three operating months. Use the $100,000–$350,000 Additional Funds included in Item 7 for early payroll, utilities, advertising and other working-capital needs. Owner salary or draw is outside that estimate.

Sources: 2026 FDD cover; Items 5, 6 and 7, pp. 6–24; Item 11, pp. 32–35.

PAYMENT TIMING

Royalty Fee, Advertising Fund and Retro-techno obligations can begin before the club opens to the public: generally when Pre-Sales start or when the contractual opening clock reaches the first day of the tenth month after signing. A $2,500 monthly Pre-Sales Delay Fee can also apply after the ninth month, in addition to applicable minimum Royalty, Advertising and Technology Fees.

FORMAT DIFFERENCE

How do a new club, an existing outlet and area development change the cost?

The 2026 FDD does not publish separate full Item 7 ranges for a new club and an acquired existing outlet. It publishes one Outlet range, then changes specific assumptions and fees. The Area Development Agreement has a separate total only for the development fee plus the first Outlet.

Retro Fitness cost paths are not interchangeable

New club Turnkey Build-Out Service Fee: $55,000. Leasehold Improvements remain $450,000–$2,200,000 depending on site condition and landlord contribution.
Existing Retro Fitness Outlet If the acquired Outlet must be refurbished in the franchisor's discretion, the Turnkey Build-Out Service Fee is $20,000. Acquisition price is not disclosed as a separate Item 7 category.
Area Development Agreement Minimum four Outlets; $10,000 per Outlet development fee. The first-Outlet total is $872,216–$3,281,991, not the cost of all four Outlets.

The official single-unit franchise page also lists acquiring an existing location as an investor interest. The official multi-unit page describes real-estate, construction, bookkeeping, call-center and marketing support, but those support descriptions do not replace the Item 5, Item 6 or Item 7 payment obligations.

COST IMPLICATION

The $872,216–$3,281,991 Area Development Agreement total covers the $40,000 minimum development fee and the first Outlet only. Each later Outlet requires its own then-current Franchise Agreement, $29,000 Initial Franchise Fee and initial investment. Item 7 warns that those future costs may increase over time.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

The principal continuing charges are the Standard Royalty Fee, Advertising Fund, Retro-techno Technology Fee and Local Advertising Requirement. Bookkeeping Services and Call Center fees are mandatory through the first 12 months the Outlet is open, then may be discontinued. Join Now Media has a required first-year spend and a separate 5% service fee on media purchases.

Recurring and opening-period obligations
Fee or requirement Amount or basis Start / duration Key condition
Standard Royalty Fee 5% of Gross Sales; $1,000 monthly minimum Monthly from Pre-Sales or contractual deadline Percentage may rise by no more than 0.5 percentage point each year
Advertising Fund Greater of 2% of gross revenues or $400 per month Monthly from Pre-Sales or contractual deadline Paid to the Retrofitness Advertising Fund
Retro-techno Technology Fee Currently $750 per month Monthly from Pre-Sales or contractual deadline Then-current fee may increase
Local Advertising Requirement Pre-Sales $30,000 or $50,000; opening months $25,000, $15,000 and $15,000; later displayed as $6,000 or 5% of Gross Sales, whichever is greater Pre-Sales and monthly after opening See drafting caveat below
Minimum First Year JNM Spend and JNM Fee $4,500 media spend plus 5% of media placements First year; fee monthly when ads were placed Media spend counts toward Local Advertising; 5% fee is additional
Bookkeeping Services Fee $550 per month; $0 until Pre-Sales Mandatory through first 12 months open May be discontinued afterward
Call Center Fee $550 per month; $0 during Pre-Sales Mandatory through first 12 months open May be discontinued afterward
Web Signup Fee $5 per member signup on the website Monthly as designated Transaction-based charge

Source: 2026 FDD Item 6, pp. 7–18. “Gross Sales” is defined broadly to include revenue from services, sales, member dues, approved-location rental or sublet income and usage income, excluding state and local sales taxes.

SOURCE CONFLICT

The Local Advertising sentence in Item 6 and Item 11 spells out “five thousand dollars” but displays ($6,000), while related Item 6 provisions repeatedly use $6,000. This article reports the displayed $6,000 figure and treats the wording as unresolved. A prospective franchisee should obtain a written clarification before modeling post-opening advertising cash requirements.

The official support-services page describes the bookkeeping, call-center, marketing, real-estate and construction functions. The current FDD controls the disclosed charges and time limits for those services.

CONDITIONAL FEES

Which costs arise only after a trigger or special event?

Item 6 contains substantial fees that are not part of ordinary monthly operations but can become material after a remodel, transfer, default, supplier violation, delay or training event. They should be treated as contractual exposure, not added automatically to the Item 7 opening total.

Refurbishment and remodeling. A Turnkey Refurbishment Service Fee may be up to $20,000 per event, plus all third-party remodeling, refurbishment and improvement costs. Renewal and transfer can also require modernization to then-current standards.
Training and conferences. Additional Training is $500 per person per day, plus travel. Continuing Education is cost plus an administrative fee; Training No Show is $199 per person; Mandatory Conference cost varies. The Item 6 table states a current $5,000 failure-to-attend penalty, while Note 3 states $2,500, creating an internal FDD conflict that needs written clarification.
Transfer and renewal. The Franchise Agreement Transfer Fee ranges from $1,000 to $15,000. The current Renewal Fee is $20,000, reduced to $15,000 if a renewal agreement is executed 12 to 24 months before the renewal date. The renewal right also requires modernization and a then-current agreement.
Supplier approval and compliance. An Alternative Supplier Request costs $1,000 and is nonrefundable. An uncured unapproved-product or vendor violation triggers $20,000 for the first violation and $50,000 for the second and each later violation.
Repairs and systems. If the franchisee does not timely repair equipment, signage or the facility, Retrofitness may charge actual repair cost plus an 18% administrative fee. Required POS and DGW updates are charged at actual cost. Optional Digital Menu Board service is $550 startup plus $10 per TV per month; optional Managed IT Services are currently $325 per month.
Advertising noncompliance and opening delay. A first Local Advertising deficiency can trigger a $2,500 penalty plus $6,000 per month for three months; later offenses can trigger $5,000 plus $6,000 per month for six months. A Pre-Sales Delay Fee is $2,500 per month after month nine, in addition to applicable minimum Royalty, Advertising and Technology Fees.
Default-related royalties. An uncured default lasting at least 30 days may trigger a Penalty Royalty Fee of 1% to 5% of Gross Sales. Three or more defaults within the most recent 12 months trigger an Increased Royalty Fee of 7% of Gross Sales, with a $1,500 monthly minimum, for the next six months.
Audit, secret shop and late payment. A reporting discrepancy of 2% or more can make the franchisee responsible for the audit cost. Secret Shop Failure is currently $100 per failed or required follow-up shop. Past-due amounts accrue 18% annual interest or the highest lawful rate, whichever is less.
Legal, indemnity and termination exposure. Attorneys' fees and enforcement costs may be reimbursable; indemnification is uncapped by a fixed dollar amount. Default termination can trigger Liquidated Damages based on 36 months of Royalty Fee and Advertising Fund obligations, using the FDD's stated formula.
Behavior and optional services. A Franchisee Behavior/Morals Penalty is $10,000 for the first offense and $25,000 for the second. Optional Consulting is $125 per hour, or the then-current rate, plus direct costs.
Area Development Agreement events. A Development Extension Period Fee is $2,500 per month, with each extension period limited to three months. A transfer can cost $15,000 for each unmet development obligation, plus reasonable out-of-pocket expenses and indemnification.

Source: 2026 FDD Item 6, pp. 8–18; Area Development Agreement fee table, pp. 18–19; Item 17, pp. 48–52. Unless a separate formula or maximum applies, then-current Item 6 fees may increase by up to 10% over the prior-year fee.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

How much liquid capital and net worth does Retro Fitness require?

The current official franchise site asks candidates whether they have $500,000 in liquid assets and $2 million in net worth. Those are screening qualifications, not a replacement for the 2026 Item 7 total. Liquid assets indicate resources that can be converted to cash; net worth includes assets less liabilities and therefore is not the same as available opening cash.

Estimated Initial Investment
$832,216–$3,241,991 for one Outlet under 2026 Item 7.
Liquid assets
$500,000 current official website qualification, checked July 17, 2026; not stated as an Item 7 component.
Net worth
$2,000,000 current official website qualification; not cash available to spend.
Additional Funds
$100,000–$350,000 already included in Item 7 for three months; owner salary or draw excluded.
Personal guarantee
The FDD's risk disclosures state that a spouse may be required to guarantee financial obligations, subject to applicable state provisions.

Does the franchisor finance the investment?

No. Item 10 states that Retrofitness, LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. Item 7 says franchisees typically use third-party financing for Equipment and Furnishings, and the $140,000–$195,000 row reflects an estimated down payment rather than full cost. No named lender or guaranteed approval is disclosed.

Sources: 2026 FDD Item 7, pp. 21–22; Item 10, p. 28; official financial-qualification language on the linked support-services page.

BUYER VERIFICATION

Which cost questions remain unresolved until a site and contract are selected?

The official range is broad because the leasehold site, construction scope, financing structure and local approvals are not fixed by the FDD. The following checks are the cost items most likely to change the required cash without changing the headline franchise fee.

  • Confirm the site assumption. Determine whether the premises are a former health club, a vanilla box or a space requiring significant demolition and construction. Item 7 ties the $450,000–$2,200,000 Leasehold Improvements range to that condition.
  • Separate cash down payment from total equipment price. Obtain third-party financing terms for the $680,000–$970,000 full Equipment and Furnishings estimate and test whether the assumed 20% down payment is available.
  • Reconcile advertising cash. Ask how the $30,000–$50,000 Item 7 Opening Advertising–Pre-sales line, the first three post-opening Local Advertising amounts and the Additional Funds category overlap so the budget neither omits nor double-counts advertising.
  • Price the actual lease. Verify prepaid rent, security deposit, landlord contribution, architectural fees, utility deposits and every Lease Review Fee. Real-estate purchase cost is not a separate Item 7 line.
  • Confirm local approvals and insurance. The Licenses and Permits range reaches $63,500, and the Insurance and Bond range is $6,000–$24,000. Required coverage levels and local rules can change those amounts.
  • Request written clarification of FDD drafting conflicts. Resolve the post-opening Local Advertising dollar floor and the failure-to-attend penalty before signing.
  • Account for high-cost markets. Item 7 warns that New York City boroughs and other metropolitan markets will likely have initial investment expenses significantly above the stated range.
  • For area development, price every Outlet separately. The Area Development Agreement total includes only the first Outlet; subsequent Outlets use then-current agreements and costs.
EXCLUDED FROM ITEM 7

Owner salary or draw is expressly excluded from Additional Funds. The FDD also does not provide a buyer-specific acquisition price for an existing Outlet, a fixed future modernization budget, a guaranteed construction allowance, a guaranteed financing rate or a single all-in amount for all four minimum Area Development Agreement Outlets.

CAPITAL DECISION

What is the practical cost takeaway?

A prospective U.S. franchisee should distinguish four numbers: the $832,216–$3,241,991 one-Outlet Estimated Initial Investment; the $29,000 Initial Franchise Fee; the official website's $500,000 liquid-assets and $2 million net-worth qualifications; and the ongoing percentage, monthly and event-triggered obligations in Item 6. The largest opening uncertainty is Leasehold Improvements, while the most important cash-flow timing issue is that Royalty, Advertising Fund and Technology Fees can begin at Pre-Sales or before public opening.

For an Area Development Agreement, the first-Outlet total is $872,216–$3,281,991, including the minimum $40,000 Area Development Fee. That figure is not the four-Outlet budget. Each additional Outlet creates a separate initial investment and a $29,000 Initial Franchise Fee under the then-current Franchise Agreement.