How Much Does a Planet Fitness Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST RANGE

How much does a Planet Fitness franchise cost?

A single U.S. Planet Fitness facility requires an estimated initial investment of $1,282,500 to $3,769,000 when the required equipment is financed, or $2,385,000 to $5,386,000 when the equipment is purchased. These are the two equipment-based ranges disclosed by Planet Fitness Franchising LLC in its Franchise Disclosure Document issued May 22, 2026. They apply to a new facility and are described as substantially the same for a conversion facility.

Estimated Initial Investment
$1.2825M-$5.386M

The full span combines two distinct Item 7 outcomes: $1,282,500-$3,769,000 with financed equipment and $2,385,000-$5,386,000 with purchased equipment. Both exclude the cost of purchasing or leasing real estate beyond the disclosed lease deposit and typical leasehold improvements. Source: 2026 FDD, cover and Item 7, pp. 23-28.

The equipment decision is not the only variable. Leasehold Improvements are estimated at $1,000,000 to $2,167,000, Non-Fitness Equipment at $89,200 to $1,315,000, and Additional Funds at $68,000 to $459,000. The FDD also says that dense urban construction, a ground-up building, unusually expensive real estate, financing terms, and the size of the club can push actual costs outside the stated range.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Planet Fitness Franchising LLC, a Delaware limited liability company. Ultimate parent: Planet Fitness, Inc. Applicable offer: one U.S. Planet Fitness facility, including new and conversion facilities, plus separate Area Development Agreement obligations where applicable. FDD issued May 22, 2026. Cost analysis uses Item 5, pp. 11-12; Item 6, pp. 12-22; Item 7, pp. 23-28; Item 8, pp. 28-33; Item 10, p. 35; and cost-relevant agreement provisions. Information checked July 19, 2026. FDD references are unlinked because no matching current FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled public page.

Corporate context can be checked through the official Planet Fitness U.S. website, the parent company's SEC filings page, and the 2025 Form 10-K. The FTC Franchise Rule explains the federal disclosure framework.

CAPITAL SNAPSHOT

Which figures matter before the club opens?

The initial investment range is the broad project budget, while the Initial Franchise Fee, Area Development Fee, Additional Funds, Royalty, and borrowing limit answer different capital questions. They should not be treated as interchangeable amounts.

Initial Franchise Fee $0-$40,000

Due when the Franchise Agreement is signed; $0 reflects the current Area Development Agreement waiver.

Area Development Fee $10,000-$30,000

Per committed location, due when the Area Development Agreement is signed; separate from the single-club Item 7 total.

Additional Funds $68,000-$459,000

Covers expenses before opening and certain startup expenses for the first three months after opening.

Royalty 7%

Based on the EFT Dues Draft of gross monthly and annual membership fees, as defined in Item 6.

Maximum Borrowed Share 80%

The franchisor does not permit more than 80% of the Initial Investment to be borrowed.

Initial Operating Period 3 months

The Item 7 Additional Funds period begins before opening and continues through the first three operating months.

COST IMPLICATION

The Initial Franchise Fee is only one line in a seven-figure development budget. The largest disclosed variables are the premises buildout and the required Fitness Equipment and Non-Fitness Equipment package, not the $40,000 fee paid at contract signing.

ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the Planet Fitness initial investment?

Item 7 includes the payments needed to secure, build, equip, market, and initially operate one Planet Fitness facility. The table total is $1,282,500 to $5,386,000 across the equipment-financing alternatives, but the FDD separates the cost categories and payment timing shown below.

Premises, equipment, signs, and systems

Leasehold Improvements and the equipment package dominate the disclosed range. Planet Fitness facilities typically require approximately 15,000 to 25,000 square feet, and the franchisor must accept the location and the facility plans.

Premises and equipment costs - 2026 FDD Item 7, pp. 23-26
Cost entity Disclosed amount When paid Payee or basis
Leasehold Improvements $1,000,000-$2,167,000 Before opening Approved suppliers or work performed to specifications
Fitness Equipment $33,300-$995,000 Varies Lender, approved suppliers, or affiliate PF Equipment; range spans financed down payments and purchase cost
Non-Fitness Equipment $89,200-$1,315,000 Varies Lender, approved suppliers, or affiliate; includes items such as televisions, lockers, flooring, trusses, and amenity equipment
Exterior Signs $12,000-$40,000 Before opening Approved suppliers or work performed to specifications
Computer System, Point of Sale System, and other supplies $1,000-$7,000 Varies Designated or approved suppliers; continuing PCI and technology changes can create later costs
Real Estate Lease Deposits $0-$95,000 When the lease is signed Landlord; amount depends heavily on the lease negotiation

Franchisor and professional payments before opening

Several smaller Item 5 and Item 7 payments are due at contract, site, design, or advisory milestones. They remain material because most amounts paid to Planet Fitness Franchising LLC or its affiliates are nonrefundable unless the FDD says otherwise.

Agreement, site, design, training, and advisory costs - 2026 FDD Items 5 and 7
Cost entity Disclosed amount Payment timing Key condition
Initial Franchise Fee $0-$40,000 Franchise Agreement signing Normally $40,000; currently waived for Franchise Agreements issued under an Area Development Agreement
Site Selection Costs $0-$10,000 As incurred or upon invoice Reimbursement of travel, lodging, and food for requested site-evaluation visits
Construction Development Plan Review Fee $0-$5,000 When plans are submitted Applies when the franchisee does not use designated architects
Design Resubmission Fee $0-$5,000 Upon demand at resubmission Applies after a noncompliant resubmission of Construction Development Plans
Professional Fees $2,000-$25,000 Varies Accountants, attorneys, and other professional advisers
Out-of-Pocket Initial Training Expenses $2,000-$10,000 Varies Travel, ground transportation, meals, and lodging; not a training tuition fee

Marketing, deposits, licenses, and working capital

The opening budget also includes insurance, government approvals, deposits, pre-sale marketing, and Additional Funds. Additional Funds are already inside the Item 7 total and must not be added a second time.

Launch and initial operating costs - 2026 FDD Item 7, pp. 23-28
Cost entity Disclosed amount When paid What the amount covers
Pre-Sale/Grand Opening Marketing $40,000-$120,000 Monthly, as incurred Approved media, public relations, advertising materials, and temporary pre-sale facility activity
Insurance $25,000-$45,000 Before opening First-year premium for one location
Other Deposits $0-$23,000 When the service is engaged Utilities, banks, credit-card companies, leased-equipment vendors, alarm provider, and telephone provider
Licenses/Bonds $10,000-$25,000 On application, before opening Government agencies and bonding companies; jurisdiction-specific
Additional Funds - three months $68,000-$459,000 Before and after opening, as incurred Payroll, debt service, continuing Pre-Sale/Grand Opening Marketing, and miscellaneous day-to-day expenses
EXCLUDED FROM ITEM 7

The official total excludes the purchase price or continuing lease cost of real estate beyond the initial lease deposit and typical leasehold improvements. It also excludes finance charges and interest. A ground-up building or a high-cost urban site may exceed the range. Item 7 does not state that owner compensation is included in Additional Funds.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

The capital is not paid in one transaction. Planet Fitness ties payments to the Area Development Agreement, Franchise Agreement, site and lease, design submission, construction, equipment acquisition, pre-sale campaign, and first three months of operations.

  1. Development and franchise agreements. The Area Development Fee of $10,000 to $30,000 per committed location is due when the Area Development Agreement is signed. The $40,000 Initial Franchise Fee is due when each Franchise Agreement is signed, unless the current Area Development Agreement waiver applies.

  2. Site and lease commitment. Site Selection Costs are paid as incurred or invoiced, while the Real Estate Lease Deposit of $0 to $95,000 is due when the lease is signed. The FDD says the lease or purchase of the location must be completed within the agreement's development timetable.

  3. Plans and buildout. A Construction Development Plan Review Fee is due when non-designated plans are submitted, and a Design Resubmission Fee may follow. Leasehold Improvements, Exterior Signs, licenses, bonds, and the first-year insurance premium are generally paid before opening.

  4. Equipment and launch marketing. Fitness Equipment and Non-Fitness Equipment payments depend on whether the package is financed or purchased. Pre-Sale/Grand Opening Marketing is incurred monthly, normally beginning at least 60 days before opening and potentially extending up to 180 days after operations begin.

  5. Opening and initial operations. Additional Funds cover pre-opening expenses and certain startup expenses through the first three months after regular operations begin. The FDD warns that more operating capital, or a longer funded period, may be required.

PAYMENT TIMING

Before signing or paying the franchisor or an affiliate, a prospect must receive the current disclosure document at least 14 calendar days in advance under the federal rule. The FTC's FDD review guidance also emphasizes requesting the most recent disclosures and updates before contract execution.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

The main continuing obligations are the Royalty, National Advertising Fund contribution, Local Advertising Funds spending requirement, Join Fee, possible Special Marketing Programs, and certain system or partnership charges. Percentage fees must be read against their precise FDD basis, not against an estimated sales figure.

Core ongoing and program fees - 2026 FDD Item 6, pp. 12-22
Fee entity Amount or basis Timing How to interpret it
Royalty 7% of EFT Dues Draft Monthly and annually Based on gross monthly and annual membership fees due and payable through authorized EFT withdrawals, regardless of the amount actually collected, subject to the FDD definition
Join Fee 20% of regular monthly membership fee or 5% of prepaid membership price Monthly Charged once for each new membership
National Advertising Fund Fee During 2026: 2% of EFT Dues Draft plus 1% of Monthly EFT With the Royalty via EFT The franchisor may adjust the NAF requirement, but the annual NAF may not exceed 3% of EFT Dues Draft
Local Advertising Funds During 2026: greater of $50,000 or 6% of cumulative Monthly EFT Spent under the approved advertising budget Normally a local spending requirement; paid to the franchisor only if collected directly or after an under-spend. Combined NAF and LAF may not exceed 9% of EFT Dues Draft
Special Marketing Programs Up to 7% of Monthly EFT for one month Upon demand May be assessed in one month or spread over several months and is credited toward required LAF expenditures
Administrative Fees for commercial partnerships Up to 50% of related partnership revenue Varies Depends on the arrangement with the commercial partner
Software licensing Currently $100 per year Upon demand Reimburses a portion of third-party customer-relationship software and application costs
EFT Dues Draft
The total gross monthly and annual membership fees due and payable through authorized EFT withdrawals, as defined in Item 6. It is not the same as cash actually collected.
Monthly EFT
Total gross monthly membership fees payable through EFT. It is used for certain 2026 advertising calculations.
Royalty Incentive Period
For a qualifying club opened early under an Area Development Agreement, Royalty may be deferred until the sooner of the required opening date or 180 days after opening. National Advertising Fund and other fees still begin at opening.
LIFECYCLE OBLIGATIONS

Which costs arise only after a trigger or later event?

Item 6 contains material charges that do not appear in the opening budget because they depend on equipment age, remodel timing, transfer, renewal, delayed development, noncompliance, closure, or termination. These obligations can be substantially larger than ordinary annual system fees.

  • Re-Equip Costs: currently $333,000 to $995,000, generally every five to nine years depending on club usage and equipment type. The franchisor estimates six months' advance notice for substantial replacement.

  • Remodel Costs: currently $250,000 to $1,200,000. Substantial remodeling generally may be required as frequently as every 12 years, with additional legal, safety, trademark, transfer, or successor-franchise circumstances described in Item 6.

  • Transfer and renewal: a Franchise Agreement Transfer Fee is $10,000 plus reasonable out-of-pocket expenses capped at $10,000 per club; the Successor Franchise Fee is $20,000. An Area Development Agreement transfer is $5,000 per undeveloped location plus capped expenses.

  • Late development: $5,000 for each 30-day period after a required opening date. The Franchise Agreement version is capped at the then-current Initial Franchise Fee; the Area Development Agreement version is not subject to that cap.

  • Supplier and construction reviews: alternative-supplier evaluation costs are capped at $25,000, and requested Site Evaluation Fees during construction are also capped at $25,000.

  • Default and exit events: Item 6 lists a Cure Period Extension Fee of up to 4% of applicable gross membership fees payable through EFT, a $25,000 Late Non-Renewal Fee, a Temporary Closure Fee based on average Royalty, an Early Termination Fee based on average Royalty and remaining term, and Debrand Deficiency Fees that can total $70,000 when both equipment categories are affected.

  • Training and operational intervention: Refresher Training Workshops cost $500 to $1,500, Per Diem Fees cost $100 to $1,000 plus travel, and management, emergency purchase, insurance, audit, legal, and third-party reimbursement charges depend on the event and actual cost.

FRANCHISE-SPECIFIC COST DRIVER

Planet Fitness requires periodic replacement of the fitness equipment package through approved channels, and PF Equipment is currently the sole supplier of required U.S. fitness equipment. The re-equipment cycle is therefore a separate capital obligation from the original Item 7 equipment purchase or financed down payment. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 6 and 8, pp. 13-33.

FINANCING AND QUALIFICATIONS

How much non-borrowed capital may be needed?

The 2026 FDD does not disclose a fixed Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold for a prospective franchisee. It does disclose a financing constraint: a franchisee may not borrow more than 80% of the Initial Investment. Item 10 also states that Planet Fitness Franchising LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation.

Financed-equipment range

At least $256,500-$753,800

This is a derived 20% non-borrowed share of the official $1,282,500-$3,769,000 range. It is arithmetic, not a disclosed Liquid Capital requirement or approval threshold.

Purchased-equipment range

At least $477,000-$1,077,200

This is a derived 20% non-borrowed share of the official $2,385,000-$5,386,000 range. The buyer's actual equity contribution depends on the final project cost and lender terms.

Equipment financing itself is not arranged by the franchisor. For Fitness Equipment, the FDD estimates down payments of approximately 10% to 30%, or $33,300 to $298,500. For Non-Fitness Equipment, estimated financed down payments are $89,200 to $394,500. Creditworthiness, collateral, business experience, lender availability, and interest rates affect the final financing structure, while finance charges and debt service remain outside the Item 7 total except that debt service is part of the Additional Funds description.

FDD CAVEAT

A 20% non-borrowed share is not the same as cash available to close. The buyer may need additional cash for excluded real-estate costs, finance charges, construction escalation, deposits, contingencies, and operating capital beyond the first three months.

BUYER VERIFICATION

What should be confirmed before using the range?

The most important verification is whether the proposed site, equipment plan, development agreement, and financing structure match the assumptions in the May 22, 2026 FDD. The official range is a disclosure estimate, not a site-specific construction budget.

  • Confirm the equipment route. Obtain current quotes for financed down payments and full purchase prices for Fitness Equipment and Non-Fitness Equipment, including any finance charges excluded from Item 7.
  • Separate real estate from buildout. Confirm rent, continuing lease obligations, landlord allowance, site work, and any ground-up construction because the official total excludes real-estate acquisition and continuing lease cost.
  • Check the agreement path. Determine whether the purchase is a single Franchise Agreement, a conversion, a company-owned club sale, or an Area Development Agreement. A company-owned location has negotiated terms, while an Area Development Fee is separate from the single-club Item 7 total.
  • Verify the Initial Franchise Fee waiver. The 2026 FDD says the $40,000 fee is currently waived for Franchise Agreements issued under Area Development Agreements, but the policy may be terminated.
  • Reconcile the opening cash schedule. Match lease deposit, plan review, construction draws, equipment deposits, marketing spend, insurance, licenses, and Additional Funds to their actual due dates.
  • Budget for later capital events. Review Re-Equip Costs, Remodel Costs, transfer, successor-franchise, late-development, and default-related fees in Item 6 and the Franchise Agreement.
  • Request the current disclosure package. Ask for the most recent FDD and any updates before signing. The FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains how to review the 23 disclosure Items and attached agreements.
FINAL COST READING

The verified 2026 capital range is $1,282,500-$3,769,000 with financed equipment or $2,385,000-$5,386,000 with purchased equipment. Leasehold Improvements and equipment create most of the variation; the Initial Franchise Fee is a small portion of the total; the 7% Royalty and advertising obligations continue after opening; and the main unresolved amount is the site-specific real-estate, construction, and financing cost excluded from the official estimate.