How much does a Mosquito Hunters franchise cost?
The 2026 Estimated Initial Investment is $117,570 to $139,743 for one mobile, generally home-based Pest Hunters-Mosquito Hunters-Humbug Holiday Lighting Business. The range includes the required pest-control and holiday-lighting startup components, a service vehicle deposit and first lease payment, technology, training travel, opening inventory, and Additional Funds for the first three months.
Which figures matter most before opening?
The capital decision is not just the $50,000 Initial License Fee. A new franchisee also commits to three other signing-day fees, a vehicle and operating systems, two service-line inventories, and three months of Additional Funds.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 6–7; Item 6, pp. 7–11; Item 7, pp. 11–14; Item 11, pp. 20–24.
What is included in the $117,570 to $139,743 range?
Item 7 contains 20 separate expenditure categories. The low and high totals reconcile exactly to the listed line items, so the official range already includes Additional Funds; adding that amount again would double-count working capital.
Franchisor and operating-system payments
These payments establish the franchise rights, launch support, initial marketing, pest equipment, and required operating systems. The first four are the principal fees paid in cash when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
| Item 7 expenditure | Amount | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial License Fee | $50,000 | On signing | Mosquito Hunters, LLC |
| Training and Support Fee | $7,500 | On signing | Mosquito Hunters, LLC |
| Grand Opening Marketing Package | $20,000 | On signing | Mosquito Hunters, LLC |
| Equipment Package Fee | $3,000 | On signing | Mosquito Hunters, LLC |
| Sales Support Resources | $200–$450 | Monthly; first payment on signing | Mosquito Hunters, LLC |
| Vehicle Tracking and Telematics | $50–$100 | Monthly | Supplier |
| Technology Fee | $150 | First payment in opening month | Mosquito Hunters, LLC |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–13. The Item 7 footnote states that the Technology Fee row covers the first monthly payment due when operations begin.
Vehicle, technology, premises, and professional costs
The required Service Vehicle is the largest variable asset. The estimate assumes a lease through the approved supplier, with a minimum 10% down payment when credit qualifications are met and a 20% option otherwise.
| Item 7 expenditure | Amount | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Service Vehicle Deposit | $8,350–$16,700 | As agreed before delivery | Approved supplier |
| Initial Service Vehicle Lease Payment | $1,200–$1,525 | Initial monthly payment | Approved supplier |
| Computer Software | $415–$656 | Initial and monthly payments | Designated suppliers |
| Computer Hardware | $0–$2,000 | As agreed | Suppliers |
| Uniforms | $250–$600 | As incurred | Suppliers |
| Rental Space | $0–$1,000 | Monthly if storage is needed | Landlord |
| Bookkeeper | $325–$400 | Monthly | Designated provider |
| Insurance | $850–$1,500 | Provider terms vary | Insurer |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14; Item 8, pp. 14–16. Vehicle outfitting is rolled into the lease, and the Item 7 monthly estimates are not the full 60- or 72-month lease obligation.
Inventory, training travel, and the first three months
The combined franchise requires startup assets for both outdoor pest control and holiday lighting. The Additional Funds line then covers specified pre-opening expenses and the first three months of operations.
| Item 7 expenditure | Amount | When paid | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Opening Mosquito & Pest Control Inventory | $500–$1,000 | As agreed | Suppliers |
| Holiday Lighting Start-Up Inventory Package | $5,000 | As agreed | Supplier |
| Holiday Lighting Start-Up Equipment Package | $2,400–$2,800 | As incurred | Suppliers |
| Training and Travel Expenses | $2,500–$4,000 | As incurred | Travel and lodging suppliers |
| Additional Funds — 3 Months | $14,880–$21,362 | Pre-opening and months 1–3 | Employees, vendors, insurers, licensors, vehicle and fuel providers |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–14. Item 7 says amounts are nonrefundable except security deposits.
The $50,000 Initial License Fee is the largest single line. The widest major ranges are Additional Funds and the Service Vehicle Deposit.
Scale: $0 to $50,000. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14. This is a derived ranking of category maximums; the bars are not additive and do not represent a recommended allocation.
Item 7 does not expressly include the owner's personal living expenses or owner compensation. It also cannot resolve the final vehicle down payment, local pesticide licensing, insurance pricing, optional software support, future hardware upgrades, or storage cost for a particular market.
When is the startup money paid?
The cash commitment begins at signing, then shifts to suppliers during onboarding, training, vehicle delivery, and the first three operating months. The FDD describes a general 30- to 60-day interval from agreement execution to opening, although licensing, financing arrangements, training completion, and regulatory requirements can change the schedule.
Before signing or paying. The disclosure document must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment to the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC Franchise Rule provides the federal disclosure framework.
When the Franchise Agreement is signed. Pay $50,000 for the Initial License Fee, $7,500 for Training and Support, $20,000 for the Grand Opening Marketing Package, and $3,000 for the Equipment Package: $80,500 in principal signing fees. The first Sales Support Resources payment is also listed as due on signing.
During onboarding and training. Arrange the approved Service Vehicle, software, hardware, insurance, uniforms, inventory, storage if needed, and travel for the mandatory training program. The 2026 FDD describes four weeks of virtual preparation followed by a five-day, approximately 35-hour program in Holmdel, New Jersey.
At vehicle delivery and opening. Pay the vehicle deposit and first lease payment under supplier terms. The first monthly Technology Fee is due in the calendar month operations begin. Weekly Centrally Managed Paid Media Investment contributions begin in the first week after the Grand Opening Marketing Package launch date.
During months 1–3, then month 13. Additional Funds cover listed early operating costs, including second- and third-month vehicle, software, storage, and Technology Fee payments, plus labor, licensing, fuel, and other expenses. The Local Marketing Requirement and National Marketing Fund begin in month 13.
The franchisor's official franchise process page describes disclosure review, agreement signing, and launch in broad terms; the 2026 FDD controls the amounts and contractual timing stated above.
Sources: 2026 FDD, cover; Item 5, pp. 6–7; Item 7, pp. 11–14; Item 11, pp. 24–27.
Why can two new franchisees land at different points in the range?
The franchise has one Item 7 range, but the mobile model contains several binary or credit-sensitive choices. The home-based low end assumes existing compliant hardware and adequate storage; the higher end adds storage rent, more hardware, higher travel and insurance, and a larger Service Vehicle deposit.
Service Vehicle
The deposit ranges from $8,350 to $16,700, and the first lease payment ranges from $1,200 to $1,525. Credit qualification determines whether the approved lessor uses a 10% or 20% down-payment option.
Home or storage
Rental Space ranges from $0 to $1,000. The low end assumes home operation with adequate storage; the high end assumes one month for approximately 12-by-20-foot storage space.
Pest plus lighting
The range includes opening pest inventory, a $5,000 Holiday Lighting Start-Up Inventory Package, and $2,400 to $2,800 of holiday-lighting tools, ladders, and safety equipment.
The official home-based opportunity description confirms that a dedicated commercial office is not central to the model. That does not eliminate vehicle, storage, licensing, insurance, technology, or supplier obligations.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14; Item 8, pp. 14–16; Item 11, pp. 24–25.
Does an existing franchisee pay the same amount for another Territory?
No separate total investment range is disclosed. An existing compliant Hunters-Humbug operator may be offered a separate Franchise Agreement with a $25,000 initial franchise fee, but the franchisee will not receive the standard initial training, support, and supplies provided to a new franchisee.
What is disclosed
The $25,000 additional-business fee is due in full when the separate Franchise Agreement is signed and is nonrefundable.
What is not disclosed
The FDD does not provide a complete second Item 7 schedule for an additional Territory, so the $117,570–$139,743 new-franchise range cannot simply be reused or reduced by $25,000.
For two contiguous Territories under separate Franchise Agreements, the annual Centrally Managed Paid Media Investment is capped at $45,000 across the two, and National Marketing Fund payments are capped at $7,000 across the two. The FDD also mentions an option to obtain a third Territory when the first and second are purchased together, but it does not disclose a separate area-development fee or total multi-unit investment.
The additional-Territory offer changes the initial fee and support package, but not enough information is provided to calculate a complete second-territory startup total. A buyer should require a territory-specific Item 7 reconciliation before combining commitments.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 7; Item 6, pp. 8–9; Item 7, p. 12.
Which fees continue after Mosquito Hunters opens?
The continuing cost structure combines a weekly Royalty and Service Fee, weekly marketing contributions, a monthly Technology Fee, and required operating contracts. Several obligations have minimum dollar floors even when the percentage formula would produce less.
| Fee or requirement | Amount | Basis | Timing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty and Service Fee | 10% | Net Revenues | Weekly for preceding week |
| Technology Fee | $150/month initially | Scheduled $250 after $1 million cumulative Net Revenues; may rise to $500 maximum | Monthly from opening |
| Centrally Managed Paid Media Investment | $30,000 or 5% | Annual greater-of formula; $45,000 cap for one Territory or two contiguous Territories | Weekly from first week after launch |
| Local Marketing Requirement | $8,000/year | Territory-focused local spending | Beginning month 13 |
| National Marketing Fund | $5,000 or 2% | Annual greater-of formula; $7,000 cap for one Territory or two contiguous Territories | Weekly beginning month 13 |
| Convention / Conference Fee | Up to $2,000/year | Attendance fee; travel and living costs are additional | Usually 60 days before event |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–11; Item 11, pp. 20–23 and 27.
- Net Revenues
- Actual gross revenues collected from customers, plus other revenues derived from the Business, excluding customer taxes and refunds or adjustments. This is the denominator for the 10% Royalty and Service Fee and the percentage-based marketing formulas.
- Software and sales systems
- Computer Software is currently $415–$656 per month; Sales Support Resources are $200–$450 per month; Vehicle Tracking and Telematics are $50–$100 per month.
- Vehicle and bookkeeping
- The required vehicle lease continues for the supplier's 60- or 72-month term. Bookkeeping is estimated at $325–$400 per month and must use the designated provider during the first year.
- Variable purchases
- Equipment, products, services, insurance, fuel, licenses, inventory replenishment, approved-supplier purchases, and future hardware or software upgrades vary as incurred.
For a single Territory, the disclosed annual floors total $43,000: $30,000 for centrally managed paid media, $8,000 for local marketing, and $5,000 for the National Marketing Fund.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–9; Item 11, pp. 20–23. The $43,000 combined figure is a derived calculation. Paid media and National Marketing Fund obligations can be higher under their percentage formulas, subject to the disclosed caps; Local Marketing has no stated annual cap.
Which costs apply only when a trigger occurs?
Item 6 adds event-driven charges that are outside the standard Item 7 opening range. Some are fixed; others reimburse actual costs or depend on the then-current Initial License Fee.
- Out-of-Territory work: 15% of Net Revenues earned outside the Territory, paid in addition to the regular 10% Royalty and Service Fee.
- Transfer: 50% of the then-current Initial License Fee component, due before transfer. If the current $50,000 component remains unchanged, the formula equals $25,000; the formula, not that derived amount, controls.
- Broker assistance: $25,000 if Mosquito Hunters, LLC engages a third-party broker or consultant on the franchisee's behalf to help sell the Business.
- Late payment and reporting: interest at the highest legal rate up to 1.5% per month; current policy is 1% per month. A late Royalty and Service Fee report adds 1% of the amount due for each late month, and a rejected electronic funds transfer adds $20.
- Audit or records failure: audit reimbursement applies if an audit finds at least a 3% understatement or required reports are not furnished. Failure to provide inspection materials can add $500 per day plus expenses.
- Unauthorized advertising: $250 per item, per occurrence. A Local Marketing shortfall must be paid to the franchisor within 60 days after calendar year-end.
- Customer, tax, indemnity, and enforcement costs: reimbursement of actual complaint payments, taxes, liabilities, attorneys' fees, and related costs as circumstances require.
- Renewal: no fixed renewal fee is listed in Item 6, but Item 17 requires Service Vehicle refurbishment and re-equipping, equipment repair or replacement, and acceptance of the then-current agreement, which may have different fees.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–11; Item 11, p. 20; Item 17, pp. 34–37.
Does the 2026 FDD require a stated liquid-capital amount or offer financing?
No Liquid Capital, Net Worth, or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold is stated in the 2026 FDD. Item 10 also says Mosquito Hunters, LLC does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation.
The approved Service Vehicle supplier does offer 60- and 72-month leases with a 10% minimum down payment for qualifying applicants and a 20% option when the applicant does not qualify for 10%. That supplier lease is part of the Item 7 assumption; it is not franchisor financing, and approval is not guaranteed.
The official franchise investment webpage currently displays a different startup range and says some expenses may be financed with the franchisor, while the official franchise FAQ displays another, lower range and a $10,000 discount. Those webpage statements do not match the April 29, 2026 FDD. The current FDD controls this article: $117,570–$139,743, no direct or indirect franchisor financing, and a 10% reduction of the current $50,000 Initial License Fee for a qualifying candidate.
A 10% reduction of the current Initial License Fee equals $5,000. The FDD says qualified U.S. military veteran, minority, and first responder candidates may receive the reduction, but the discounts cannot be combined. The official veterans opportunity page describes the veteran program generally; eligibility and the current amount should be taken from the applicable FDD and Franchise Agreement.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 7; Item 7, pp. 12–14; Item 10, p. 18. The $5,000 discount amount is a derived calculation from the disclosed 10% rate and current $50,000 Initial License Fee.
What should be reconciled before signing?
The official Item 7 total is internally consistent, but several buyer-specific inputs remain open. A final capital plan should reconcile the current FDD, the Franchise Agreement, supplier quotes, and state-specific requirements without importing older website or directory figures.
- Confirm the current disclosure package. Verify the April 29, 2026 FDD, any state addendum, and any later material update before payment.
- Get the vehicle quote in writing. Confirm credit approval, 10% or 20% down payment, 60- or 72-month term, first payment, outfitting, wrap, mileage, insurance, and end-of-lease obligations.
- Reconcile every monthly system charge. Identify the selected Sales Support Resources level, current software licenses, Vehicle Tracking and Telematics, Technology Fee, bookkeeping, and any toll-free-number charge.
- Price the local regulatory package. Confirm pesticide-applicator licensing, permits, required insurance limits, workers' compensation, and any employee credential costs in the operating state.
- Separate business working capital from personal cash. Additional Funds cover listed business expenses for three months; personal living expenses are not expressly included.
- Test the marketing calendar. Map the $20,000 first-year Grand Opening Marketing Package, weekly paid-media contributions from launch, and the Local Marketing and National Marketing Fund obligations beginning in month 13.
- Do not blend Territory structures. A new-franchise Item 7 range, a $25,000 additional-business fee, and two-Territory marketing caps are separate disclosures, not interchangeable totals.
What does the Mosquito Hunters capital decision come down to?
A new franchisee should anchor the decision to the $117,570–$139,743 2026 Item 7 range, not to the $50,000 Initial License Fee alone. The largest fixed commitments are the Initial License Fee, Grand Opening Marketing Package, Training and Support Fee, and Equipment Package; the largest variability comes from the Service Vehicle deposit, Additional Funds, travel, insurance, hardware, and storage.
After opening, the key distinction is between the 10% Royalty and Service Fee, the monthly Technology Fee and required systems, and the marketing obligations that carry annual minimums. The most important unresolved cash question is the buyer-specific Service Vehicle and local regulatory package, followed by whether the first three months of Additional Funds are sufficient without including personal living expenses.