How Much Does a Merry Maids Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Merry Maids franchise cost?

The May 21, 2026 disclosure estimates $126,875 to $169,325 for a new U.S. unit or an existing cleaning business converting to the system. This is the full opening range, not the $55,000 contract payment or the cash qualification on the public inquiry form.

Estimated Initial Investment
$126,875–$169,325

This Item 7 range covers both a new unit and a conversion. It includes the contract payment, launch costs and a three-month operating allowance, but not a negotiated resale price or every later upgrade, vehicle or conditional charge. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 34–37.

Data basis: Legal franchisor: Merry Maids SPE LLC. Issued May 21, 2026. U.S. formats reviewed: new unit and conversion, with standard-office and approved hub-office distinctions. Main disclosures: Items 5, 6 and 7, plus cost-relevant portions of Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Checked July 21, 2026.

No matching current disclosure was located on an official franchise-controlled public webpage, so disclosure references below are unlinked. Current U.S. availability appears on the official Merry Maids territory page; the parent-company site lists the brand on its official franchising page.

Key cost figures

The snapshot separates the contract payment, three-month operating allowance, weekly percentage charges and public cash screen so they are not mistaken for one another.

$55,000 Initial Franchise Fee One lump sum at signing.
$38,000–$43,000 Additional Funds Opening and first three months; included in the total.
7% Royalty Baseline rate on Gross Sales; paid weekly.
1.3% Ad Fund Contribution Current weekly percentage of Gross Sales.
$50,000 Public liquid-capital screen Minimum selection on the official U.S. inquiry form; not the opening total.
ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the $126,875 to $169,325 estimate?

For a new or conversion unit, the 2026 opening table contains 12 expenditure categories. The fixed contract payment and three-month operating allowance are the largest components, while professional services, miscellaneous items, coverage and training travel create much of the spread. Every plotted line is already included in the official total.

What the category ranges cover

The chart provides every official low and high amount; the notes below explain what each group covers and where the estimate stops.

Contract and training
The franchise fee is paid at signing and includes registration for two people in the same initial training session. Travel assumes one or two attendees for the ten-day program; legal and accounting work can include entity formation, lease review, disclosure review and hiring practices.
Premises
The premises line covers the first three months of rent, a security deposit and leasehold improvements for one standard office. It does not represent a full-year occupancy budget.
Technology and office setup
The setup estimate covers QuickBooks licenses, a required tablet, an optional recommended laptop, furniture, fixtures, a washer, a dryer and décor.
Supplies, coverage and phones
Launch supplies include cleaning products, equipment, uniforms and printed materials. The coverage line reflects an estimated initial payment for required first-year policies, while the answering-service line covers the first month.
Launch and miscellaneous items
The marketing window runs from 60 days before through 60 days after opening. Miscellaneous items can include background checks, deposits, licenses, entity fees, Internet access and initial stationery or collateral.
First three months
The operating allowance can cover payroll, benefits, uniforms, taxes, utilities, vehicle obligations, added advertising, the monthly technology charge, card processing, supplies and other expenses.
FDD CAVEAT

The table names the franchisor as payee for the $6,500 to $8,000 supplies line, while Note 7 says third-party vendors provide those goods. The cover says $55,000 is paid to the franchisor or affiliates. Confirm the current ordering and payment path before signing. Source: 2026 FDD, cover p. 1 and Item 7, pp. 34 and 36.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the startup money paid?

For a new or conversion unit, the largest fixed payment is due at contract signing; the balance is paid to vendors, professionals, employees and utilities as training, office setup and launch progress. Units typically open within 90 days, with a deadline no later than the earlier of 30 days after training or 120 days after the agreement takes effect. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 7 and 11, pp. 23–25, 34–37 and 45.

At signingPay the $55,000 franchise fee in one lump sum. Any applicable area-expansion charge is also due, and these payments are stated to be nonrefundable.
Before and during initial trainingPay travel, lodging, wages and some meal costs as incurred. The fee for two people attending the same session is included; an extra trainee or separate session currently costs $1,000 per person.
During office setup and the launch windowPay premises, equipment, software, supplies, coverage, professional, licensing and deposit costs as incurred. Spend at least $6,000 on Eligible Marketing from 60 days before to 60 days after opening.
Before opening and through month threeUse the $38,000 to $43,000 operating allowance for payroll, benefits, utilities, vehicles, technology, card processing and other expenses. Owner salary or draw is not identified as included.
PAYMENT TIMING

The opening total is not a single check and does not necessarily equal cash needed on day one. The $55,000 contract payment is due at signing; most other categories arise later. Map each amount to its actual due date.

OFFICE FORMAT

How do the Primary Office, Market Hub Office and Conversion Franchise affect cost?

One published opening range covers both new and conversion units; separate totals are not provided for the standard office or an approved hub arrangement. The office path and ability to reuse assets can still change actual outlay.

Primary Office

A dedicated commercial office with washers, dryers and supply storage. The typical size is 450 to 1,800 square feet, with estimated annual rent of $6,000 to $12,000. The $2,000 to $4,000 premises line covers only three months of rent, the deposit and improvements.

Market Hub Office

A commercial office without required washers, dryers or storage. It may replace the standard office only when an affiliate operates one in a contiguous area and the franchisor approves. The monthly hub charge is $150 and may rise to $200; the $499 technology charge may be waived while no standard office operates in that area.

Conversion Franchise

An existing cleaning business converted to the system. The operator may be able to reuse premises, furniture, fixtures, equipment, décor, supplies and coverage, but no separate lower opening total is published.

A resale follows a different cost contract: the buyer negotiates the purchase price, pays the applicable transfer charge and may need upgrades; the new-unit launch-marketing expense does not apply. Renewal excludes most startup costs but can require replacement or refurbishment of signage, vehicle wraps, uniforms, equipment, vehicles, branded items and offices. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 6, 7, 11 and 17, pp. 28–30, 34–37, 44–45 and 59–62.

ONGOING FEES

Which Merry Maids fees continue after opening?

The core recurring charges are the Royalty, advertising contribution, local marketing requirement and monthly technology charge. The stated sales basis is billings, collected or not, for cleaning, maintenance and related activity, excluding sales or use tax. Percentage fees should not be converted into annual dollars without a verified sales figure.

Ongoing obligation Current amount or basis When paid Cost condition
Royalty 7% of Gross Sales, subject to the current tiered reduction Weekly, 14 days after week-end Untimely renewal can add 2.5% after 60 days.
Ad Fund Contribution 1.3% of Gross Sales Weekly, 14 days after week-end May rise to 2%; combined national and local marketing may not exceed 3%.
Local Marketing Obligation 0.7% of Gross Sales spent on Eligible Marketing Ongoing spend; shortfall on demand Any shortfall can be demanded for the advertising fund.
Technology Fee $499 per unit per month Monthly on the first Annual increase cap is generally 10%, with accumulated capacity; a Software Change can raise the fee to as much as $1,000 per month after 90 days' notice.
Market Hub Fee $150 per approved hub office per month; may rise to $200 Monthly on the first Only for each approved hub office.
National Accounts Processing Fee $20 per job As incurred Only for program jobs.

How does the Royalty Incentive change the 7% rate?

The reduction is marginal, not retroactive. The rate is 7% until one unit exceeds $400,000 in calendar-year Gross Sales; 6% applies only to the portion above $400,000 through $500,000, and 5% applies only above $500,000. The test resets each January. National-account revenue is excluded from the threshold test but remains royalty-bearing. The franchisor may change or discontinue the reduction. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 32–34.

FDD CAVEAT

The special-risk page warns of mandatory minimum royalty or advertising-fund payments regardless of sales, but the fee table does not state a separate dollar minimum. Request the current royalty policy and Manual provisions before modeling ongoing cash needs. Source: 2026 FDD, pp. 4 and 25–34.

DISCOUNTS AND TERRITORY

Can the $55,000 franchise fee be reduced or supplemented?

Yes. In the 2026 disclosure, three percentage reductions are disclosed, but only one may be used and an incentive can change or end. Customer-acquisition and area-expansion charges can also apply, so the opening total cannot be recalculated by changing the contract payment alone.

Program Reduction Qualification
Military Discount 20% Honorably discharged from the U.S. Armed Forces; qualifying owner holds at least 51% and operational control.
Affiliate Discount 15% Specified existing owners or employees in named affiliated systems.
Conversion Franchise Discount 15% An existing cleaning business converts to the system.

The military incentive also appears on the official military-discount page. These percentages reduce onlythe $55,000 contract payment; they do not recalculate the other opening categories. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 23–25.

Customer Acquisition Fee and Territory Expansion Fees

For the 2026 U.S. offer, the customer charge is $250 per qualifying customer. The disclosed area-expansion schedule ranges from $500 to $41,250, depending on the number of households added. Source: FDD Item 5, pp. 23–25.

Conditional payment Amount When it applies
Customer Acquisition Fee $250 per customer Paid to another operator for each qualifying customer in the acquired area; excluded from the opening table.
Territory Expansion Fee—to 40,000 Qualified Households $500 For an original Territory below 40,000 Qualified Households in the renewal or transfer context described in Item 5.
Territory Expansion Fee—add up to 10,000 households $13,750 Adjacent white-space expansion when offered and approved.
Territory Expansion Fee—add up to 20,000 households $27,500 Adjacent white-space expansion when offered and approved.
Territory Expansion Fee—add up to 30,000 households $41,250 Adjacent white-space expansion when offered and approved.
LATER-LIFE COSTS

What renewal, transfer and conditional fees can arise later?

Under the 2026 agreement, the initial term is five years and two potential five-year renewal terms if the conditions are met. Renewal, transfer, training, meeting, compliance and default events can create material costs outside the Item 7 opening range.

Training and meetingsThe Initial Training Fee for Additional Persons or Sessions or Subsequent or Replacement Trainees is currently $1,000 per person. Ongoing Training Programs can cost up to $500 per trainee per virtual program; in person, $250 per trainee per day at the franchisor office or $750 per trainer per day at the unit, plus travel and living expenses. The Meeting Registration Fee is capped at $1,500 per person, with a possible 150% charge after two consecutive missed annual conferences without a valid business reason.
Supplier, transfer and ownership changesThe Supplier/Product Review Fee is $500 per item plus actual expenses, with another $500 plus travel and living costs if representatives travel. A referred buyer can trigger the $10,000 Lead Fee. A Control Transfer generally uses a Transfer Fee of 25% of the then-current standard fee for one business, falling to 20%, 15% or 10% per business for two, three or four-plus businesses; special formulas also apply. The Change Fee is currently $500, while consolidating agreements costs $1,500 per agreement involved.
Audit and late-payment exposureAn Audit finding at least a 5% monthly understatement can trigger audit cost, underpayment, Interest and Late Fees, and the lesser of $5,000 or the underpayment. Overdue fees accrue 2% monthly interest compounded daily or the legal maximum, plus weekly late charges of $200 for the first four weeks and $500 afterward.
Insurance, complaints and performance after defaultThe Insurance Procurement Fee can reach 150% of the franchisor procurement cost. The Customer Complaint Management Fee is currently $500 plus expenses and may rise to $750. Performance After Default can be charged at up to 120% of the franchisor or affiliate cost.
Enforcement, taxes and terminationEnforcement Expenses and Tax Reimbursement Fees can require cost reimbursement; Indemnification varies with the claim. Liquidated Damages after a qualifying termination use average monthly Royalties and Ad Fund Contributions multiplied by the lesser of the remaining term or 24 months. The Appraiser's Fee can require 50% of the first appraiser and 100% of second and third appraisers.
COST IMPLICATION

The published Item 7 total is an opening estimate, not a lifetime cap. Renewal refurbishment, transfer upgrades, technology changes, supplier approvals and default-related charges depend on later events and may be impossible to price when the Franchise Agreement is signed. Source: Items 6, 11 and 17, pp. 25–34, 48–52 and 59–62.

CAPITAL QUALIFICATIONS

How much liquid capital or net worth does Merry Maids require?

The official U.S. inquiry form currently uses $50,000 as its minimum available-liquid-funds selection. This is a screening figure, not the opening range and not proof that $50,000 will fund the unit. No separate net-worth or non-borrowed-funds threshold appears in the reviewed cost disclosures. The same screen appears on the official owner inquiry page.

Separate the opening range from the cash screen.The published investment and the $50,000 selection answer different questions.
Do not infer a net-worth requirement.No current threshold was verified in the reviewed cost items or official qualification forms.
Confirm whether borrowed funds satisfy the screen.The public form does not define how it treats borrowed money, retirement funds, home equity or committed credit.
Plan beyond month three.The disclosure does not state that the unit becomes self-funding when the included operating allowance ends.

Does Merry Maids finance the investment?

No direct or indirect franchisor financing is offered, and the franchisor and its affiliates do not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. Regional bank or third-party lender referrals may be available, but there is no lender arrangement or franchisor benefit. A referral is not approval. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 42.

External borrowers can review the U.S. Small Business Administration loan-program overview, but eligibility, lender underwriting, collateral, equity injection and permitted uses must be confirmed independently.

EXCLUSIONS AND VERIFICATION

What does the official range not fully resolve?

The official range is specific enough to establish an opening-cost envelope, but several obligations remain local, conditional or future-facing. The largest unresolved issues are the exact office lease package, required vehicle spending, owner compensation, costs after month three and any transfer or renewal upgrades.

Vehicles above the included assumptionsAdditional Funds can include ongoing vehicle payments, taxes and licensing, and Item 7 warns that purchasing additional vehicles can push actual cost higher; no separate vehicle-purchase range is disclosed.
Owner payAdditional Funds list employee salaries, wages and benefits but do not expressly include owner salary, draw or personal living expenses.
Costs after the first three monthsThe FDD does not state how much working capital will be needed after the covered period.
Resale purchase price and required upgradesA transferred business has a separately negotiated purchase price, Transfer Fee and possible office, equipment, vehicle, uniform and signage upgrades.
Local lease, insurance and regulatory variationRent, deposits, improvements, insurance, licenses, permits and professional fees can vary by market and circumstances within or beyond the published ranges.
BUYER VERIFICATION

Before comparing financing offers, reconcile the exact Territory, office type, customer-acquisition obligation, opening inventory payee, vehicle plan, lease proposal, insurance quote, discount eligibility and three-month cash schedule against the final Franchise Agreement and the then-current Manual. The FTC Franchise Rule explains the disclosure framework, while the FTC's franchise cost-planning guidance emphasizes independent legal and financial review.

DECISION SUMMARY

What capital figure should a prospective franchisee use?

Use $126,875 to $169,325 as the verified 2026 opening range for a new or conversion unit. Of that amount, $55,000 is due at signing and $38,000 to $43,000 supports pre-opening and months one through three. Keep the public $50,000 cash screen separate, then account for recurring percentage, marketing, technology and event-triggered charges.