How much does a FujiSan Fresh Harvest franchise cost?
The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document discloses three separate Estimated Initial Investment ranges: $49,943 to $123,030 for a Traditional Kiosk, $42,193 to $106,580 for a Reduced Operating Hours Kiosk, and $27,750 to $71,750 for a Satellite Kiosk. The Satellite Kiosk is not a stand-alone entry format; it may be operated only with a Traditional Kiosk or Reduced Operating Hours Kiosk.
This is the overall span across three incompatible kiosk formats, not one blended FujiSan cost range. The correct capital figure depends on the Kiosk Addendum and format. Item 7 already includes Additional Funds for the first three months, but it excludes owner compensation and certain format-specific obligations.
Data basis: Fujisan Franchising Corp., a California corporation; Fujisan Fresh Harvest Franchise Disclosure Document – NRS, issued March 23, 2026; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17; cost tables on FDD pages 16–30. Public information was checked July 15, 2026. No matching 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD citations below are unlinked by design. The official FujiSan U.S. franchise page is listed separately as franchise information, not as the disclosure document.
Capital snapshot
Item 5 also discloses a $1,500 discounted Traditional Kiosk Initial Franchise Fee for an existing FujiSan Sushi Traditional Kiosk franchisee adding Fresh Harvest at the same host, or for a qualified buyer signing both Traditional Kiosk agreements for the same host at the same time. Certification covers up to two participants; an additional instructor costs $2,250, while a shortened program is typically charged at $750 per day. If more than one location is offered, initial fees, other fees and required purchases apply to each location. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pages 6–7.
Which FujiSan kiosk format requires the most capital?
The Traditional Kiosk has the highest disclosed low and high endpoints because its Item 7 estimate carries the largest opening food inventory, opening supplies and Additional Funds ranges. The Reduced Operating Hours Kiosk is lower but still includes on-site preparation and staffing. The Satellite Kiosk has the lowest disclosed range, but it relies on a companion unit for production and assumes an available delivery vehicle.
Each floating bar starts at the disclosed minimum and ends at the disclosed maximum on a $0 to $125,000 scale.
Interpretation: lower operating hours reduce the disclosed range, but they do not remove inventory, insurance, permits or working-capital obligations. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 16–30.
How much of the opening cost is paid to Fujisan Franchising Corp. or its affiliate?
The 2026 FDD cover shows that the amount paid to Fujisan Franchising Corp. and/or its affiliate, Fuji Food Products, Inc., spans $11,750 to $46,930 across the three formats. The chart preserves each format-specific range. These payments are part of the relevant total investment, not an extra layer to add on top.
The cover-page ranges are plotted on a $0 to $50,000 scale and remain separate from third-party payments.
Interpretation: the direct-pay portion is materially smaller than the full Item 7 total because permits, insurance, professional services and operating reserves may be paid elsewhere. Source: 2026 FDD cover.
Item 5 separately describes an initial inventory-and-equipment purchase package of $4,068 to $7,930 for a Traditional or Reduced Operating Hours Kiosk and $250 to $3,350 for a Satellite Kiosk, excluding freight. Those purchases correspond to opening categories already reflected in Item 7. They should not be added again without a written category-by-category reconciliation from the franchisor.
Why does this kiosk cost structure differ from a conventional leased storefront?
The Fujisan Fresh Harvest offer is built around a Premises Host, such as a grocery retailer, rather than a separate storefront lease negotiated by the franchisee. Item 11 says the Premises Host is generally responsible for developing the kiosk space, including the workspace, refrigeration, display case and dry storage. Item 7 therefore does not disclose a separate rent, security deposit or leasehold-improvement range for the franchisee.
Premises Host
Controls the host location and generally works on the physical kiosk build-out. The franchisee's compensation is later reconciled through the host-and-franchisor share structure.
Staffed formats
Traditional and Reduced Operating Hours kiosks prepare products on site and carry certification, equipment, tablet, uniform and manual-deposit categories.
Satellite format
Products are prepared at the companion kiosk and delivered to the self-service display. The Item 7 estimate assumes the operator already has a suitable vehicle.
The disclosed totals do not include buying or leasing a delivery vehicle for a Satellite Kiosk. They also exclude owner wages, owner draws, personal living expenses, debt service, financing charges, income taxes and certain sales or use taxes. These exclusions can make the buyer's required cash different from the headline Item 7 total.
What is included in the 2026 Estimated Initial Investment?
Item 7 combines fees paid at signing, certification and pre-opening expenses, opening inventory and supplies, compliance costs, insurance, marketing and Additional Funds. The category mix changes by format, so a Satellite Kiosk should not be budgeted by simply discounting the Traditional Kiosk table.
Item 8 requires many products, condiments, branded items, labels, sauces and packaging trays to come from Fujisan Franchising Corp., Fuji Food Products, Inc. or designated suppliers. The FDD says Fuji Food Products, Inc. applies an approximate 33% to 45% markup on products sold to the franchisor, which is passed through on resale. This is a supplier-price disclosure, not a separate percentage fee to add to Item 7. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pages 30–31.
Fees, certification, equipment and compliance
| Item 7 category | Traditional | Reduced hours | Satellite |
|---|---|---|---|
| Background Investigation / Credit Check | $0–$600 | $0–$600 | Not separately listed |
| Initial Franchise Fee | $3,750 | $1,000 | $500 |
| Certification Program Fee | $2,250 | $2,250 | Not separately listed |
| Training travel and incidental expenses | $0–$2,000 | $0–$2,000 | Not separately listed |
| Equipment / smallwares | $2,000–$4,000 | $2,000–$4,000 | $250–$1,500 |
| Printer and tablet | $1,300 | $1,300 | Not separately listed |
| Health permits or licenses | $200–$1,500 | $200–$1,500 | $200–$1,500 |
| Testing, food-manager certificates and uniforms | $543–$2,380 | $543–$2,380 | Not separately listed |
| Manual Loan Deposit | $300 | $300 | Not separately listed |
The $543 to $2,380 combined row is a derived calculation from compatible Item 7 line items: TB/drug testing, food-manager/handler examination and uniforms. It is shown only to keep the comparison compact; the official categories remain separate in the FDD. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pages 16–30.
Inventory, operating setup and initial reserve
| Item 7 category | Traditional | Reduced hours | Satellite |
|---|---|---|---|
| Opening Food Inventory | $18,000–$36,000 | $16,000–$33,000 | $14,000–$30,000 |
| Opening Supplies | $15,000–$30,000 | $14,000–$30,000 | $11,000–$25,000 |
| Freight | $300–$2,100 | $300–$1,400 | $0–$1,400 |
| Insurance | $800–$5,000 | $800–$5,000 | $800–$5,000 |
| Professional advisor fees | $0–$5,000 | $0–$5,000 | Not separately listed |
| Grand opening / initial marketing | $500–$1,850 | $500–$1,850 | $0–$1,850 |
| Additional Funds, first 3 months | $5,000–$25,000 | $3,000–$15,000 | $1,000–$5,000 |
Additional Funds are already included in the official totals. Adding the reserve a second time would overstate the 2026 Item 7 range. The first-three-month estimate is not a promise that the kiosk will cover its costs within that period.
When is the money paid?
Cash is committed in stages rather than on one opening date. The Franchise Agreement and Kiosk Addendum set the binding payment terms, while Item 7 identifies whether each category is due during candidate review, at signing, before operations, on invoice or during the first three months.
Candidate review
Before a franchise offer, Fujisan Franchising Corp. may charge up to $300 per person for background investigation and credit checks. The high end of the staffed-format Item 7 estimate assumes two people.
Franchise Agreement signing
The Initial Franchise Fee and $2,250 Initial Certification Fee for a staffed kiosk are due when the Franchise Agreement is executed. The Initial Franchise Fee is generally nonrefundable, subject to a narrow first-year location-loss refund provision in Item 5.
Pre-opening purchases and approvals
Equipment, tablet, opening food inventory, opening supplies, freight, permits, insurance, examinations, uniforms, marketing and training travel are paid before opening or according to supplier invoices and reconciliation terms.
Opening and first three months
Additional Funds cover the initial operating period. After sales begin, the Premises Host and Franchisor's Share are reconciled monthly, with inventory purchases, freight and other amounts deducted as applicable before the Franchisee Share is paid.
The federal FTC Franchise Rule governs pre-sale disclosure, and the rule text is available in 16 C.F.R. Part 436. The 2026 FDD states that a prospective franchisee must receive the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate in connection with the proposed sale.
Which FujiSan fees continue after opening?
The central continuing charge is not presented as one uniform royalty percentage. The 2026 FDD calls it the Franchisor's Share: the percentage varies by kiosk and is typically 15% of Gross Revenues or Wholesale Gross Revenues, but it can be higher or lower. The Premises Host Share is typically 20% and may also vary. The applicable Kiosk Addendum controls both percentages.
| Continuing cost entity | Amount or basis | Timing | Key qualification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Franchisor's Share | Typically 15% of Gross Revenues or Wholesale Gross Revenues | Monthly reconciliation | Negotiated by kiosk; may be higher or lower. |
| Premises Host Share | Typically 20% | Deducted before the Franchisor's Share | Host-specific; may be higher or lower. |
| Technology Fee | $51 per month per Kiosk currently; up to $109 depending on host | First of each month | One host currently imposes an additional $58 per month. |
| Point-of-sale promotion and materials | $100–$200 per month | As incurred | Required promotional participation and materials. |
| Marketing Fund Fee | Currently none; 2% if established, up to 3% | Twice monthly if activated | Based on Gross and/or Wholesale Revenue; 30 days' notice. |
| Local Marketing Co-op | Currently none; 3% if established | Monthly if activated | In addition to a Marketing Fund and other program costs. |
| Freight | Currently $300–$700 per pallet | Deducted at reconciliation | Varies with shipments and market conditions. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pages 7–15. Gross Revenues and Wholesale Gross Revenues are defined in Item 6; no annual dollar conversion is made because the FDD discloses percentage bases, not projected sales.
A buyer should not model a fixed “15% royalty plus rent.” The contractual economics are a host-location revenue-sharing arrangement. The controlling inputs are the Franchisee Share, Premises Host Share, Franchisor's Share, Wholesale Price where applicable, and deductions written into the specific Kiosk Addendum.
Which costs arise only under particular circumstances?
Item 6 contains several charges that may never appear in an ordinary month but can become material after a compliance problem, transfer, renewal, supplier request or early closure. These amounts are outside the opening-cost headline unless Item 7 expressly includes an initial payment.
Item 17, page 53, says a renewal request must be accompanied by a $1,000 renewal fee, while Item 6, page 10, lists format-specific renewal fees of $3,750, $1,000 and $500. The 2026 FDD does not reconcile those statements. A buyer should obtain written confirmation of the controlling renewal amount before relying on either provision.
Does FujiSan disclose a liquid-capital requirement, net-worth requirement or financing?
The 2026 FDD does not state a minimum Liquid Capital, Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. That absence does not reduce the Item 7 investment or replace the need to fund opening obligations. Additional Funds are a first-three-month operating-cost estimate inside Item 7, not a liquidity qualification.
A financing disclosure is not a commitment to finance the full Estimated Initial Investment. Item 10 states that the franchisor provides no other direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a franchisee's obligations to third parties. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 10, pages 34–37.
Which cost terms should be confirmed before signing?
The official Item 7 range is the starting point, but the exact Kiosk Addendum and host arrangement determine several recurring deductions and format assumptions. The most important checks are those the FDD leaves variable or internally inconsistent.
Match the format: confirm whether the offer is Traditional, Reduced Operating Hours or Satellite and ensure every estimate uses that one format.
Read the Kiosk Addendum: verify the Franchisee Share, Premises Host Share, Franchisor's Share, Wholesale Price and all reconciliation deductions.
Verify host-specific technology charges: determine whether the current extra $58 monthly Premises Host fee applies to the proposed location.
Reconcile direct purchases: map the Item 5 initial purchase invoice to the Item 7 equipment, tablet, uniforms, branded items, packaging and supply categories to avoid double counting.
Test exclusions: add only buyer-specific obligations that Item 7 excludes, such as a Satellite delivery vehicle, owner compensation, debt service or taxes—not a second copy of Additional Funds.
Resolve the renewal-fee conflict: obtain the controlling amount in writing and compare Item 6, Item 17 and the then-current Franchise Agreement.
Document any financing: confirm financed categories, down payment, deduction schedule, interest, personal guarantee and default consequences in the signed documents.
What is the clearest capital takeaway?
The verified 2026 investment must be read by kiosk format rather than as one universal FujiSan figure. Opening food inventory, opening supplies and Additional Funds create much of the disclosed variation, while the Premises Host model removes a separate disclosed storefront leasehold-improvement budget. The Initial Franchise Fee is only $500 to $3,750 depending on format and should not be confused with total capital. After opening, the decisive cost variables are the host-specific revenue shares, monthly Technology Fee, required purchases and event-triggered charges.