How much does a Firehouse Subs franchise cost?
The 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $405,350 to $1,577,750 to develop and open one Firehouse Subs Restaurant, depending on the Traditional Facility configuration. The lowest disclosed range applies to an Inline Restaurant; the highest applies to a Free-standing Restaurant with Drive Thru. The official totals exclude the cost of real estate.
2026 FDD Item 7, pages 25–31. The range spans three separate formats and already includes $10,000 to $45,000 of Additional Funds for the first three months. The cover identifies $26,200 within each format as payable to the franchisor or its affiliates. Real estate is not estimated.
- Legal franchisor
- Firehouse of America, LLC, a Florida limited liability company and an indirect subsidiary within Restaurant Brands International. The parent-company relationship is also reflected on the official RBI overview.
- Disclosure basis
- 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document, issued March 25, 2026; Items 5, 6 and 7, pages 16–31.
- Formats analyzed
- Inline; Inline End Cap with Drive Thru; Free-standing with Drive Thru.
- Information checked
- July 17, 2026, including current Firehouse Subs U.S. franchise information.
- Public FDD link
- No matching 2026 FDD was located on a franchise-controlled public website, so FDD Item and page citations in this article are intentionally unlinked.
As checked July 17, 2026, the official investment page still displayed lower ranges attributed to the 2025 FDD. This article uses the later March 25, 2026 FDD totals and does not blend the two years.
Capital snapshot
The most useful summary separates the opening contract payment, the working-capital allowance, the sales-based recurring charges and the current financial screening thresholds.
Why does the investment range change by restaurant format?
The drive-thru configurations carry higher 2026 Item 7 ranges because the FDD assigns them larger leasehold-improvement, site-work, signage, technology and equipment amounts. Firehouse of America, LLC does not provide one blended “average” for all formats, so each range should be evaluated separately.
Each floating bar starts at the disclosed low amount and ends at the disclosed high amount. Scale: $0 to $1,577,750.
Interpretation: the Free-standing with Drive Thru format has both the highest starting point and the highest disclosed ceiling, while the Inline format has the lowest range. Source: 2026 FDD Item 7, pages 26–28. Bar positions are scaled from the official low and high amounts.
The 2026 Item 7 tables disclose only these three Traditional Facility configurations. Firehouse Subs’ official inquiry page also asks about non-traditional development, but this FDD does not provide a separate non-traditional Item 7 range. A buyer considering an airport, university, convenience-store or similar venue should obtain a format-specific written cost disclosure rather than reuse a traditional range.
What is included in the estimated initial investment?
The 2026 Item 7 totals combine franchise payments, design and training, premises work, equipment, opening inventory, insurance, professional fees and three months of Additional Funds. Real estate is listed as “Note 5” rather than a dollar range, and the FDD states that the total investment excludes the cost of real estate.
Franchise, design and pre-opening services
These categories are paid at application, contract signing, ordering or as training and professional work occurs; most are similar across formats, while design and technology amounts rise for drive-thru configurations.
| Item 7 category | Inline | End Cap + Drive Thru | Free-standing + Drive Thru |
|---|---|---|---|
| Background Check Fee | $0–$450 | $0–$450 | $0–$450 |
| Initial Franchise Fee | $20,000 | $20,000 | $20,000 |
| Mural | $3,500–$6,000 | $3,500–$6,000 | $3,500–$6,000 |
| Training | $7,000–$26,000 | $7,000–$26,000 | $7,000–$26,000 |
| Market Introduction Fee | $5,000 | $5,000 | $5,000 |
| Architectural & Engineering Fees | $11,000–$20,000 | $12,000–$21,000 | $16,000–$25,000 |
| POS System / Technology | $5,000–$7,500 | $7,500–$10,000 | $7,500–$10,000 |
Premises, signage and equipment
Construction is the principal source of disclosed variation. Site condition, drive-thru work, landlord allowances, signage requirements and equipment scope determine where a project falls inside the applicable range.
| Item 7 category | Inline | End Cap + Drive Thru | Free-standing + Drive Thru |
|---|---|---|---|
| Real Estate | Not estimated | Not estimated | Not estimated |
| Real Property Improvements | $0–$10,000 | $0–$40,000 | $30,000–$97,000 |
| Leasehold Improvements | $210,000–$459,000 | $296,000–$508,500 | $490,000–$940,000 |
| Deposits and Prepaid Expenses | $2,500–$21,500 | $1,650–$75,000 | $1,500–$6,600 |
| Exterior Signs | $4,500–$21,900 | $10,600–$27,500 | $26,500–$34,500 |
| Interior Branding & Graphics | $7,000–$16,000 | $7,000–$20,000 | $7,000–$20,000 |
| Equipment and Fixtures | $105,000–$169,000 | $132,000–$240,000 | $126,500–$290,000 |
Opening and working-capital items
These amounts cover the final purchases and reserves needed to reach opening and support the initial operating period; they do not convert the disclosure into a guarantee that no further cash will be needed.
| Item 7 category | Inline | End Cap + Drive Thru | Free-standing + Drive Thru |
|---|---|---|---|
| Opening Inventory | $12,000–$25,000 | $12,000–$25,000 | $12,000–$25,000 |
| Business Licenses | $650–$14,900 | $903–$5,600 | $750–$11,000 |
| Insurance | $500–$1,500 | $1,306–$4,800 | $3,000–$9,000 |
| MIS System Fee | $1,200 | $1,200 | $1,200 |
| Legal, Accounting and Professional Fees | $500–$6,000 | $500–$6,000 | $500–$6,000 |
| Additional Funds — 3 months | $10,000–$45,000 | $10,000–$45,000 | $10,000–$45,000 |
| Total Estimated Initial Investment | $405,350–$875,950 | $528,159–$1,087,050 | $767,950–$1,577,750 |
Maximum amounts only, selected from the Inline column. This is not an average, a recommended allocation or a sum.
Interpretation: for an Inline Restaurant, the upper end of Leasehold Improvements is the dominant disclosed construction line, while the unestimated real-estate obligation remains outside the chart and the official total. Source: 2026 FDD Item 7, pages 26–31. Bar lengths are scaled to the $459,000 maximum.
Item 5 says the current Background Check Fee may be up to $500, while Item 7 estimates $0 to $450. A prospective franchisee should confirm the exact application charge in writing before payment rather than assuming the Item 7 high amount is the contractual cap.
What the official total does not fully resolve
The disclosed total is a planning range, not a site-specific quote. Several obligations remain dependent on property terms, local approvals, staffing decisions and the duration of the opening period.
- Real estate
- Item 7 does not estimate the cost of purchasing land or a building or the cost of acquiring or leasing the Restaurant site. Deposits and Prepaid Expenses are still included as a separate line.
- Government charges
- Impact fees and some permit costs can vary by site and may be outside the disclosed estimates.
- Training payroll
- The $7,000 to $26,000 Training range covers stated travel and living assumptions but excludes employee salary and benefits during training.
- Working-capital duration
- Additional Funds cover an estimated three months; Item 7 expressly says more working capital may be necessary during that period or later. The document does not state that owner compensation is included in this allowance.
- Construction variability
- Leasehold Improvements depend on site condition, landlord allowances, local requirements, contractor pricing and whether drive-thru work is required.
When is the money paid?
The cash obligation begins before the Franchise Agreement is signed and continues through application, development commitments, contracting, construction, pre-opening purchases and the first three operating months. The 2026 FDD does not present one single deposit date for the full investment.
- Application and background reviewItem 7 estimates $0 to $450 at application submission; Item 5 states that certain candidates may be charged up to $500.
- Development Agreement, when usedThe standard Prepaid Franchise Fee is generally $10,000 multiplied by the number of Restaurants in the development schedule. Incentive-program Development Agreements require $20,000 per committed Restaurant. The payment is made at signing and is credited against later Initial Franchise Fees.
- Franchise Agreement signingThe standard $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee is due in a lump sum, less prepaid amounts or deposits already credited. The $5,000 Market Introduction Fee is also due at signing.
- Design, ordering and constructionThe mural, POS System / Technology, Interior Branding & Graphics, architecture, improvements, signs, equipment and fixtures are paid at order, through deposits and final payments, or as incurred.
- Before openingOpening Inventory, Business Licenses, insurance, the MIS System Fee and other amounts due to the franchisor, landlord, government authorities and suppliers must be paid before the Restaurant may open. The official franchise process also places the Development Agreement before site control, build-out and opening.
- First three monthsThe $10,000 to $45,000 Additional Funds line supports payroll, uniforms, supplies and miscellaneous operating expenses. It is already included in the Item 7 total rather than added on top.
A buyer should separate the total project range from the cash needed at each milestone. The FDD may allow later payments to contractors and suppliers, but the franchisor’s initial fees are generally fully earned and non-refundable when paid.
Which fees continue after opening?
The main recurring obligations in the 2026 FDD are a 6% Royalty Fee on Gross Sales, a current 5% System Fund Contribution on Gross Sales, an annual $1,200 MIS System Fee, and a Digital Technology Fee of $150 per month plus 1% of Digital Sales. Several other charges depend on delivery orders, co-op decisions, technology use or later events.
| Recurring fee | Amount and basis | Timing | Key condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6% of Gross Sales | Third day of each Accounting Period | Accounting Period is currently seven days for royalty calculations. |
| System Fund Contribution | Currently 5% of Gross Sales; not to exceed 5% | Third day of each Accounting Period | Paid to the system-wide marketing fund. |
| MIS System Fee | $1,200 per Restaurant per year | On demand | Payable even if the Restaurant has not opened. |
| Digital Technology Fee | $150 per Restaurant per month plus 1% of Digital Sales | On demand, based on prior-month Digital Sales | Digital Sales use the specific Item 6 definition and exclude third-party ordering-platform sales. |
| Delivery Guest Support Services Fee | $0.25–$0.75 per qualifying delivery order; currently $0.25 | Invoiced for the prior month | Applies to delivery orders placed through the Firehouse Subs app or website; the guest charge is collected by the Restaurant. |
| Special Co-Op Contribution | None currently; may be up to 4% of Gross Sales | Weekly if imposed | Applies only if the Co-Op requires participation. |
| Other Technology Fees | None currently; may range from $0 to $1 per transaction | As incurred | May apply to technology services the franchisor elects to provide. |
Technology costs disclosed outside the Item 6 fee table
Item 11, page 43, estimates required hardware and software upgrades at $500 to $12,000 per year, POS subscription and help-desk support at about $300 per month for a normal two-POS system, required back-office software at about $129 per Restaurant per month, and high-speed broadband at $50 to $175 per month. These amounts are separate from the Digital Technology Fee. The official training and support page describes the operational systems and training context, while the FDD supplies the cost figures.
Which later events can create additional charges?
Charges outside the regular payment schedule arise only when a stated event occurs, such as extra training, a transfer, renewal, late payment, failed inspection, supplier review or delayed renovation.
At current rates, adding the 6% Royalty Fee and 5% System Fund Contribution produces an 11% combined charge on Gross Sales; that is a derived sum, not a separate FDD fee. Technology, delivery support, co-op charges and supplier or compliance events use different denominators and triggers.
Can a development incentive reduce the cash burden?
Qualified franchisees may receive cash contributions ranging from $75,000 to $150,000 per Restaurant under the 2026–2028 Development Incentive Programs, and one program includes a potential $500,000 tenth-Restaurant contribution. These payments are conditional, may arrive after construction or opening milestones, can be repayable, and should not be subtracted automatically from Item 7.
Firehouse Subs incentive paths disclosed for 2026–2028
The available paths differ by the number and timing of openings, operator eligibility and approved market; none automatically changes the official opening-cost range.
Source basis: 2026 FDD Item 5, pages 16–20, and the official March 31, 2026 incentive announcement.
The 2026–2028 DIP and Veteran and First Responder Development Incentive Program require a Development Agreement signed by December 31, 2026 and prepaid franchise fees of $20,000 per committed Restaurant. By contrast, the ordinary Development Agreement structure outside those programs generally uses a $10,000 Prepaid Franchise Fee per scheduled Restaurant, credited against half of the later Initial Franchise Fee.
The accelerated markets named in Item 5 are New York, Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, Philadelphia, Seattle, Washington, D.C., Minneapolis, San Diego, Detroit, Indianapolis and Providence, with market boundaries determined by the franchisor.
An incentive is a separate conditional cash-flow arrangement, not a revised Item 7 estimate. Verify the Development Agreement schedule, payment date, opening deadline, repayment clause, stacking restriction and exact royalty treatment before treating any contribution as available capital.
How much liquid capital and net worth are required?
Firehouse Subs’ current official U.S. franchise FAQs state a minimum of $150,000 in available liquid capital and at least $300,000 in net worth. These are screening qualifications, not substitutes for the 2026 Item 7 investment range, and the official site does not state that $150,000 is sufficient to fund the entire opening.
The official financial qualification FAQs also require an actively involved Managing Owner with at least 10% equity who lives near the Restaurant. The 2026 FDD requires owner guarantees in specified circumstances, so personal exposure can extend beyond the equity invested in the franchise entity.
Does Firehouse Subs offer financing?
No direct or indirect financing is disclosed. Item 10, page 37, says Firehouse of America, LLC does not offer financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. Any outside lender approval would be separate from franchisor approval and would not change the Item 7 estimate.
What should a prospective franchisee verify before signing?
The central cost question is not only whether the buyer can meet the $150,000 liquid-capital screen, but whether the buyer can fund the applicable 2026 format range, unestimated real estate, milestone payments and continuing fees without relying on an incentive that may be delayed or repayable.
- Confirm the format. Match the site to Inline, Inline End Cap with Drive Thru or Free-standing with Drive Thru; do not use a traditional range for a non-traditional venue without written format-specific terms.
- Reconcile property costs. Obtain site-specific lease, purchase, deposit, tenant-improvement allowance, impact-fee and permit figures because the FDD does not estimate real estate.
- Build a payment calendar. Separate Development Agreement prepayments, Franchise Agreement fees, vendor deposits, construction draws, pre-opening purchases and the three-month Additional Funds reserve.
- Confirm every fee basis. Gross Sales, Digital Sales, delivery orders, transactions and event-triggered charges use different definitions and payment schedules.
- Test the incentive contract. Review opening deadlines, contribution timing, repayment triggers and non-stacking rules before reducing the amount of cash reserved.
- Request the latest disclosure before payment. The FTC franchise-buying guide explains Items 5–7 and the federal 14-calendar-day disclosure period. State registration rules may also apply; the California DFPI franchise guidance is one official example.
Bottom line: the verified 2026 Firehouse Subs Estimated Initial Investment is $405,350 to $875,950 for Inline, $528,159 to $1,087,050 for Inline End Cap with Drive Thru, and $767,950 to $1,577,750 for Free-standing with Drive Thru. The largest disclosed variable is usually premises construction, while real estate remains unestimated; liquid capital, net worth and ongoing percentage fees are separate obligations.