How much does a Fantastic Sams franchise cost?
The April 29, 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $162,500 to $453,000 to open one new Fantastic Sams Salon under an individual Franchise Agreement. The separate three-Salon Multi-Unit Development Agreement requires $182,500 to $473,000 to sign the development agreement and commence operation of the first Salon. Those are distinct Item 7 ranges and should not be blended.
Estimated Initial Investment for one new Salon in the 2026 FDD. The total includes the $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee and $30,000 to $50,000 of Additional Funds for a three-month start-up phase. Source: 2026 Fantastic Sams Franchise Corporation FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–13.
Standard new-franchisee fee, paid in a lump sum when the Franchise Agreement is signed.
Included in Item 7 for payroll, rent, utilities and other start-up expenses over three months.
For the first 26 weeks, the greater of 6% of Gross Sales or $150 per week.
Current NAF Fee in the 2026 FDD, collected weekly and subject to adjustment.
Paid at signing; it replaces the Initial Franchise Fees otherwise due under the development agreement.
Official-site minimum net worth / liquid capital language checked July 14, 2026; not an Item 7 total.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Fantastic Sams Franchise Corporation, a Delaware corporation. FDD issuance date: April 29, 2026. Formats analyzed: one Salon under a Franchise Agreement and a Multi-Unit Development Agreement for three Salons. Primary cost disclosures: Item 5, pp. 6–7; Item 6, pp. 7–10; Item 7, pp. 11–14. Cost-relevant provisions were also checked in Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Information checked July 14, 2026.
A matching 2026 FDD was not located on a public franchise-controlled webpage, so FDD references in this article are intentionally unlinked. The brand's official U.S. franchise information is linked only for current supplemental context.
What is included in the $162,500 to $453,000 range?
The 2026 Item 7 total combines the Initial Franchise Fee, training travel, premises work, rent and deposits, inventory, equipment, signage, grand-opening advertising, insurance and three months of Additional Funds. The largest uncertainty is Leasehold Improvements, not the franchise fee.
Contract, training and premises payments
These costs arise at signing, during training or before the Salon opens. The FDD assumes a typical 1,000-to-1,400-square-foot Salon, usually in a multi-unit commercial property such as a strip center.
| Item 7 category | 2026 amount | When due | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $35,000 | When signing the Franchise Agreement | Fantastic Sams Franchise Corporation |
| Travel and Living Expense for New Owner On-Boarding and Training | $1,500–$3,000 | During training, as incurred | Third-party suppliers |
| Leasehold Improvements, including architectural fees | $30,000–$250,000 | Before opening, as incurred | Third-party suppliers |
| Rent | $2,500–$8,000 | Before opening | Landlord |
| Utility Deposit | $500–$1,500 | Before opening | Utility company |
Opening assets, marketing and working capital
The equipment estimate is for an eight-station Salon. The inventory estimate covers three months of the expanded retail product line, while the Grand Opening Marketing Plan must begin no later than six weeks before opening and continue for approximately 90 days after opening.
| Item 7 category | 2026 amount | When due | Payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Salon Supply Haircare Product Inventory | $10,000–$15,000 | Before opening, as incurred | Third-party suppliers |
| Salon Equipment | $30,000–$50,000 | Before opening | Third-party suppliers |
| Other Equipment, Fixtures and Furnishings | $2,000–$4,000 | Before opening | Third-party suppliers |
| New Salon Exterior Signage | $7,500–$15,000 | Before opening | Third-party suppliers |
| Grand Opening Marketing Plan / Advertising | $10,000–$15,000 | Before opening and for 90 days after | Third-party suppliers |
| Insurance | $3,500–$6,500 | As incurred | Chosen insurance provider |
| Additional Funds | $30,000–$50,000 | As arranged during the start-up phase | Employees, third-party suppliers and utilities |
Source: 2026 Fantastic Sams Franchise Corporation FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–13. The official total is $162,500 to $453,000; line items should not be recombined into a different estimate.
Derived spread equals the disclosed high amount minus the disclosed low amount for the single-Salon format.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–13. Chart values are derived calculations from official low and high bounds, not additional franchisor estimates.
The $220,000 Leasehold Improvements spread explains most of the total-range width. Item 7 assumes net rent of $30 to $68 per square foot, but net rent excludes common-area maintenance, real estate taxes and insurance. The FDD also says landlord allowances or rent amortization can change when build-out cash is paid.
Which fees are paid directly to the franchisor before opening?
The standard Initial Franchise Fee is $35,000 at signing, but Item 5 also discloses a lower fee for an existing Fantastic Sams owner, a one-time veteran reduction and a separate three-Salon Development Fee. These alternatives change the payment to the franchisor; they do not automatically reduce third-party build-out, equipment, rent or working-capital costs.
| Payment | Amount | Timing and application |
|---|---|---|
| Standard Initial Franchise Fee | $35,000 | Lump sum when a new franchisee signs the Franchise Agreement. |
| Existing-owner additional Salon fee | $10,000 | Available when an existing Fantastic Sams owner buys an additional Salon; paid at signing. |
| Qualified veteran Initial Franchise Fee | $26,250 | 25% reduction from the standard fee for an honorably discharged veteran who qualifies; usable once. |
| Three-Salon Development Fee | $55,000 | Paid when the Multi-Unit Development Agreement is signed; replaces the Initial Franchise Fees for Salons developed under that agreement. |
| Opening-date extension fee | $500 | May be charged if the franchisor grants an extension of the required opening date. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 6–7; Franchise Agreement fee attachment. Initial Franchise Fees and Development Fees are non-refundable and payable in a lump sum.
How does the three-Salon development agreement change the entry cost?
The 2026 FDD discloses $182,500 to $473,000 to enter the Multi-Unit Development Agreement and open the first Salon. The difference from the single-Salon range is $20,000 at both ends because the $55,000 Development Fee replaces the $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee.
Both ranges use the same first-Salon operating assumptions; the multi-unit range substitutes the $55,000 Development Fee for the $35,000 Initial Franchise Fee.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 13–14. Scale runs from $0 to $500,000. No midpoint or “typical” amount is implied.
The Development Fee is a substitution, not an extra first-Salon franchise fee
A buyer should not add both $55,000 and $35,000 to the first-Salon budget. The Multi-Unit Development Agreement uses the $55,000 Development Fee instead of the Initial Franchise Fees otherwise payable for the three committed Salons.
The FDD warns that second and later Salons may cost more because of inflation and other economic changes. Their future opening costs are not included in the $182,500 to $473,000 first-Salon entry total. See the official multi-unit ownership information for current supplemental format context.
When is the money paid?
Most capital is committed before opening, but the Grand Opening Marketing Plan extends for 90 days after opening and the Additional Funds reserve is intended for the first three months of operations. The FDD expects a new Salon to open in approximately two to six months, depending on site, lease, build-out, permits, financing, staffing and equipment installation.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–13; Item 11, pp. 19–27. The franchisor's official ownership process describes the prequalification, FDD review, agreement-signing, onboarding and opening sequence.
Which fees continue after the Salon opens?
The main recurring obligations are the Weekly Franchise Fee, National Advertising Fund Fee, any applicable Regional Advertising Fund Fee and the Technology Fee. They are generally due each Monday or on another weekly collection day prescribed by the franchisor.
| Ongoing obligation | 2026 basis | Timing and qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Weekly Franchise Fee | Greater of 6% of Gross Sales or $150/week for first 26 weeks; 6% thereafter | Weekly automatic draft beginning when the Salon opens. |
| National Advertising Fund Fee | Currently $147.49/week | May be adjusted no more than annually using the Consumer Price Index for Personal Care Services. A Brand Building Fund may replace it but may not exceed the NAF Fee. |
| Regional Advertising Fund Fee | Currently $15–$175/week where an RAF exists | No RAF payment until one is formed for the Regional Marketing Area. Annual adjustments may reach $200 without a majority-approved higher amount. |
| Technology Fee | Currently $8.75/week | Weekly; increases are capped at 20% per year. |
| Local advertising | Recommended: not less than 5% of gross revenues | Item 6 describes this as a recommendation, not the National Advertising Fund Fee or Regional Advertising Fund Fee. |
- Gross Sales basis
- All revenue or consideration from operating the Salon, including cash, card, barter, trade credit and business-interruption insurance proceeds, less qualifying sales, use or service taxes collected and paid to the taxing authority.
- Collection period
- The Weekly Franchise Fee and National Advertising Fund Fee are collected for the Franchise Agreement term or for as long as the System or Marks are used, whichever is longer.
- Regional variation
- The Regional Advertising Fund Fee depends on whether a fund exists in the Salon's Regional Marketing Area, and an RAF may assess additional promotional fees after the required vote and approval process.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–10; Item 11, pp. 22–25.
Which fees apply only after a transaction, compliance problem or default?
Several Item 6 charges are not part of the initial investment because they arise only after a transfer, renewal, relocation, resale-assistance request, reporting failure, bank return, noncompliance or contract default.
Planned transaction and support fees
| Trigger | Amount | When payable |
|---|---|---|
| Transfer to an existing Fantastic Sams franchisee | $7,500 | On transfer or assignment of the Franchise Agreement. |
| Transfer to a buyer new to the system | $30,000 | On transfer or assignment of the Franchise Agreement. |
| Renewal | $1,000 | Before signing the Renewal Franchise Agreement. |
| Relocation | $1,000 | After approval and before relocating. |
| Training / Conference Fees | Currently $500/day plus franchisor expenses | When incurred; the fee increase is capped at 20% per year. |
| Resale Assistance Agreement | $75 listing + 3% of sale price + $50/month after 90 days | Under the Resale Assistance Agreement. |
The FDD does not provide an Item 7 purchase-price range for a resale Salon. The price is negotiated with the seller, while the applicable transfer fee and modernization conditions remain separate. The official resale information likewise describes the purchase price as dependent on the existing owner's business.
Compliance and default triggers
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–10; Item 17, pp. 31–35. Item 17 also requires modernization as a renewal or transfer condition, but it does not state a fixed remodel amount.
How much liquid capital and net worth does Fantastic Sams require?
The franchisor's official FAQ, checked July 14, 2026, states a minimum net worth of $300,000 and at least $50,000 in liquid capital. These are prequalification thresholds, not substitutes for the $162,500 to $453,000 Item 7 investment range.
The official franchise FAQ is the public source for those thresholds. The 2026 FDD does not state a separate non-borrowed-funds minimum in Items 5, 6 or 7. Item 15 requires owners to personally guarantee the franchisee's obligations and permits the franchisor to require a spouse's guarantee when financial or management qualifications are not otherwise satisfied.
Item 10 states that Fantastic Sams Franchise Corporation does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. References on the official website to banks, lenders or financing options do not change that disclosure and do not guarantee approval.
The franchisor's public investment page, checked July 14, 2026, still says its table is based on a 2024 FDD. Its older web table should not replace the April 29, 2026 Item 7 disclosure used throughout this article.
Which costs does the official range not fully resolve?
Item 7 is an official estimate, not a site-specific construction quote or financing plan. The buyer still has to resolve occupancy charges, local approvals, technology changes, supplier pricing and the adequacy of working capital for the selected location.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 11–14; Item 8, pp. 14–16; Item 11, pp. 25–27; Item 17, pp. 31–35. The Federal Trade Commission's Franchise Rule Compliance Guide provides federal disclosure context; it does not verify this franchisor's estimates.
What capital figure should a prospective buyer use?
Use $162,500 to $453,000 as the verified 2026 FDD range for one new Fantastic Sams Salon, or $182,500 to $473,000 for the three-Salon development commitment and first Salon. Keep those totals separate from the $300,000 net-worth and $50,000 liquid-capital screening thresholds, and budget recurring fees independently after opening.
The principal unresolved variable is the premises: Leasehold Improvements range from $30,000 to $250,000, net rent excludes several occupancy charges, and extraordinary site work is outside the estimate. The next document-specific questions are the selected site's construction scope, landlord concessions, approved-supplier quotes, applicable Regional Advertising Fund Fee and whether three months of Additional Funds is sufficient for the planned capitalization.