How Much Does a Bruster's Real Ice Cream Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Bruster’s Real Ice Cream franchise cost?

For one U.S. Bruster’s Real Ice Cream store, the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document gives two different Item 7 ranges: $414,900 to $1,143,700 for an end-cap store where the franchisee leases the real estate, and $1,215,120 to $2,669,060 for a free-standing store where the franchisee buys the real estate. A three-store end-cap development agreement has a separate disclosed range of $1,244,700 to $3,391,100. 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 12–17.

Single-store investment span
$414,900–$2,669,060

The low end applies to a leased end-cap; the high end applies to a free-standing location with land purchase. The range already includes the Initial Franchise Fee, three months of Additional Funds, opening inventory, equipment, technology, signage, training travel, insurance and other Item 7 allowances. It is not the same as the liquid-capital or net-worth qualification.

Data basis: Bruster’s Limited Partnership; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 24, 2026; single-store end-cap, single-store free-standing and three-store development formats; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10 and 17; checked July 19, 2026. The current FDD is not publicly linked on a verified franchise-controlled domain, so FDD figures below are cited in plain text by Item and page. Current format and qualification language was checked against the official U.S. store-format information.

FDD CAVEAT

The 2026 FDD cover states an end-cap high of $1,244,700, but Item 7 Table 2 on page 15 totals the end-cap range at $414,900 to $1,143,700. The official format page also uses the $1,143,700 high. Item 7 Table 3 is titled as three leased end-cap stores and is built from three times Table 2, although the explanatory note on page 18 calls the locations “free standing.” This article follows the Item 7 table headings and totals while treating both descriptions as internal inconsistencies. A buyer should request written clarification and any later amendment before signing.

CAPITAL SNAPSHOT

Which cost figures matter first?

The decisive figures are the format-specific total investment, the Initial Franchise Fee, the three-month Additional Funds allowance and the two required percentage fees that begin after opening. These amounts come from the 2026 FDD and must not be blended with the separate financial qualification thresholds published on the franchisor’s website.

End-cap liquid capital $150,000 Current official website screening threshold.
Free-standing liquid capital $350,000 Current official website screening threshold.
Initial Franchise Fee $20,000–$40,000 The lower amount requires a disclosed discount; non-refundable.
Additional Funds $20,000–$40,000 Included in Item 7 for three months after opening.
Royalty Fee 5% Of Gross Sales; paid every seven-day Period.
Marketing Fund 3% Of Gross Sales; paid with the Royalty Fee.
2026 Item 7 total investment ranges by official format

Scale runs from $0 to the highest disclosed total, $3,391,100. Each floating bar begins at the official low and ends at the official high.

Interpretation: real-estate responsibility changes the single-store capital contract materially; the three-store range is a development commitment, not a third single-unit design. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, Tables 1–3, pp. 12–17. Official figures; bar positions are proportional visual calculations.

ITEM 7 BREAKDOWN

What is included in the initial investment?

The official total combines the franchise payment, premises, construction, technology, equipment, inventory, training-related travel and wages, opening promotion, professional services and startup working capital. The standard Initial Franchise Fee is $40,000; the $20,000 amount applies to the disclosed U.S. military veteran or additional-store discount, and only one discount program may be used. The largest difference between the two single-store formats is the premises contract: the end-cap estimate assumes a lease, while the free-standing estimate assumes land purchase plus civil engineering and site development.

Cost category Leased end-cap Free-standing with land purchase When paid
Initial Franchise Fee $20,000–$40,000 $20,000–$40,000 At Franchise Agreement signing
Lease or Land Purchase $11,200–$41,600 lease allowance $275,000–$750,000 land purchase Before opening, as incurred
Architect, civil engineering and site development $7,500–$17,000 architect $10,000–$25,000 architect; $20,000–$60,000 civil; $375,000–$637,000 site Before opening, as incurred
Construction Costs $267,200–$633,600 $406,120–$735,560 Before opening, as incurred
Computer Hardware & Software $26,000–$68,000 $26,000–$68,000 Before opening, as incurred
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment $25,000–$216,000 $25,000–$216,000 Before opening, as incurred
Signage $7,000–$30,000 $7,000–$40,000 Before opening, as incurred
Initial Inventory $12,500–$18,000 $12,500–$18,000 Before opening, as incurred
Expenses for Initial Training $3,000–$6,000 $3,000–$6,000 Before opening, as incurred

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, Tables 1–2 and Notes 1–10, pp. 12–20. The table preserves separate FDD categories; amounts shown in the same cell are not summed into a new franchisor estimate. The training estimate assumes two attendees for approximately nine days and includes transportation, lodging, meals and wages.

What smaller allowances are also inside Item 7?

Several lower-dollar categories are still part of the official total and can create timing pressure because most are paid before opening.

Utility Deposit: $500–$1,000 Paid before opening as incurred. The estimate excludes utility tap fees, which the FDD says are typically covered by the landlord.
Licenses and Permits: $500–$2,500 Covers business, health, occupancy, food-handling and other local requirements; the FDD says the list is not comprehensive.
Business Insurance: $5,000–$7,500 An estimate for six months of required coverage, spanning time before and after opening.
Grand Opening Marketing: $7,000–$10,000 Required spending may run from 60 days before opening through no later than 60 days after opening.
Professional Fees: $2,500–$10,000 Legal, accounting, administrative, demographic and other advisory costs before opening.
Post-Opening Support: $0–$2,500 Travel and related costs if the franchisor requires extra on-site support during the first 30 operating days.
Additional Funds: $20,000–$40,000 Included in the total for payroll, utilities and other ongoing expenses during the first three months.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, Tables 1–2 and Notes 3, 6, 7 and 11–14, pp. 12–21.

COST IMPLICATION

The free-standing range is not simply a larger building allowance. It adds a $275,000–$750,000 Land Purchase, $20,000–$60,000 Civil Engineering and $375,000–$637,000 Site Development Costs. A buyer comparing formats should separate these land-and-site obligations from the equipment package, which has the same $25,000–$216,000 range in both single-store tables.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

The capital is not paid as one check. The Franchise Fee or Development Fee is due at signing, while most property, design, construction, equipment and opening costs are paid to third parties as incurred before the store opens. Working capital and some support costs occur after opening. Fees paid to Bruster’s Limited Partnership or its affiliates are non-refundable; the FDD does not estimate whether third-party payments may be refunded.

  1. Receive and review the current FDD. The FTC Franchise Rule requires delivery at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement is signed or money is paid to the franchisor or an affiliate. The FTC consumer guide explains the review period and Items 5–7.
  2. Pay the Initial Franchise Fee or Development Fee at signing. The $20,000–$40,000 Initial Franchise Fee is a non-refundable lump sum. A development fee is also paid in one non-refundable lump sum.
  3. Fund site control and construction before opening. Lease or land, utility deposits, architecture, civil engineering, site work, construction, licenses and insurance are paid as incurred to landlords, sellers, authorities and other third parties.
  4. Pay operating-package costs before opening. Initial Inventory, Computer Hardware & Software, Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment, Signage, training travel and Professional Fees are paid before opening. Grand Opening Marketing begins before opening and may continue after launch.
  5. Reserve cash for the first operating months. Item 7 includes $20,000–$40,000 of Additional Funds for three months. Post-Opening Support can add up to $2,500 if the franchisor requires extra on-site support.
  6. Begin recurring electronic payments. The Royalty Fee and Marketing Fund Contribution are due on the third day of each seven-day accounting Period and are collected through electronic funds transfer.

Sources: 2026 FDD cover; Item 5, pp. 6–7; Item 6, pp. 7–11; Item 7, pp. 12–21. The FTC Franchise Rule describes the federal disclosure framework.

ONGOING FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

The two routine percentage obligations are a 5% Royalty Fee and a 3% Marketing Fund Contribution, each calculated on the FDD definition of Gross Sales. The FDD encourages, but does not require, an additional 3% to 5% of Gross Sales for local store marketing. It also reserves a future Technology Fee and discloses several event-triggered charges.

Required recurring percentage fees on Gross Sales

The 8% center value is a derived sum of the two required percentages with the same Gross Sales basis; it is not presented in the FDD as a single fee.

Bruster’s required recurring percentage fees A donut chart showing a five percent royalty and three percent marketing fund contribution, totaling eight percent of Gross Sales. The royalty is 62.5 percent of the combined required percentage fees and marketing is 37.5 percent. 8% combined
Royalty Fee: 5% of Gross Sales62.5% of the derived 8% combined required percentage fees.
Marketing Fund Contribution: 3% of Gross Sales37.5% of the derived 8% combined required percentage fees.

Interpretation: both fees use the same Gross Sales basis and are paid together, but they remain separate obligations. The chart excludes encouraged local marketing, vendor charges and conditional fees. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–11. The 8%, 62.5% and 37.5% figures are derived calculations.

Payment cadence The two required percentage fees are due on the third day of each seven-day accounting Period and collected by electronic funds transfer.
Local store marketing The FDD encourages an additional 3%–5% of Gross Sales but does not make that spending mandatory.
Reserved future technology charge No Technology Fee is currently charged. If instituted after notice, it would be $150 per month with no more than a 5% annual increase.
Vendor technology services Services beyond any franchisor technology charge are billed at actual vendor cost as incurred.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 7–11. The disclosed sales base includes store-related revenue, approved delivery and off-site sales, and excludes sales taxes remitted to taxing authorities.

Which conditional fees can be triggered later?

These are not routine monthly costs, but they can become material when a transfer, relocation, compliance issue, missed meeting or temporary management event occurs.

  • Transfer Fee: $20,000. Due at transfer. For a transfer following death or disability of the principal, the FDD substitutes reimbursement of reasonable out-of-pocket review and documentation costs.
  • Relocation Fee: $10,000. Due if the franchisee proposes to relocate the franchised business.
  • Securities Offering Fee: $10,000 or reasonable costs if higher. Due when the franchisee or an affiliate conducts a securities offering.
  • Interest: 1.5% per month. Applies to missed, overdue or insufficient payments, subject to any lower state-law maximum.
  • Supplier approval and testing costs. Actual inspection, testing and related expenses apply when a franchisee proposes an unapproved supplier or product.
  • Inspection or Audit costs. Actual costs can be charged when reports are late, records are unavailable, or an inspection finds sales understated or Royalties underpaid by 2% or more.
  • Convention and meeting nonattendance. $2,000 for missing the convention, $300 for missing a regional or other meeting, and $200 for missing a scheduled operations meeting.
  • Insurance procurement. Actual costs plus the franchisor’s expenses if required coverage lapses and the franchisor elects to procure coverage.
  • Temporary Management Fee. 6% of Gross Sales, in addition to the Royalty Fee and Marketing Fund Contribution, plus direct out-of-pocket costs when the franchisor temporarily operates the store after owner incapacity.
  • Enforcement, defense and indemnification. Amounts vary and can include accounting costs, attorneys’ fees and other expenses when the contractual triggers apply.
  • Inflation adjustments. Fixed-dollar amounts under the Franchise Agreement, other than the Initial Franchise Fee, may be adjusted using the disclosed CPI-U mechanism.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 8–11.

FINANCIAL QUALIFICATIONS

How much liquid capital and net worth does Bruster’s require?

The current official opportunity page gives format-specific qualification thresholds: an end-cap candidate needs at least $150,000 in liquid capital and $500,000 net worth; a free-standing candidate needs at least $350,000 in liquid capital and $800,000 net worth. These are screening qualifications, not Item 7 cost categories and not substitutes for the total investment.

Leased end-cap candidate

Liquid Capital$150,000
Net Worth$500,000

Free-standing candidate

Liquid Capital$350,000
Net Worth$800,000

The franchisor’s official financial qualifications by store format were checked July 19, 2026. Its general inquiry page also states a minimum $500,000 net worth and $150,000 liquidity threshold for candidates using the official franchise inquiry form.

BUYER VERIFICATION

Liquid Capital means accessible funds; Net Worth is assets minus liabilities. Neither number is the total cash price of a store. The 2026 FDD does not state a separate non-borrowed-funds threshold, and Item 10 says Bruster’s Limited Partnership offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. 2026 FDD, Item 10, p. 26.

MULTI-UNIT COMMITMENT

How does a three-store development agreement change the upfront cost?

A three-store end-cap development agreement carries an Item 7 total of $1,244,700 to $3,391,100. Instead of paying three separate Initial Franchise Fees, the developer pays a non-refundable Development Fee at signing; that fee is credited against the Initial Franchise Fee obligations for stores opened on schedule while the developer remains compliant.

Three-store Development Fee ladder

The standard example totals $80,000; the qualified U.S. military veteran example totals $60,000. A franchisee may use one discount program, not both.

First store$40,000
Second store$20,000
Third store$20,000

Veteran example: $20,000 for each of three stores, or $60,000 total. The initial fee discount for qualified veterans and the 50% subsequent-store discount are also described on the franchisor’s official fee-discount information.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 6–7; Item 7, Table 3 and Note 1, pp. 16–18.

SUPPLIERS AND TECHNOLOGY

Which required purchases can move the range?

The FDD estimates that required Proprietary Products, approved-supplier purchases and specification-controlled purchases represent approximately 90% to 95% of the total cost to establish the business and approximately 90% to 95% of ongoing operating expenses. That is not a separate fee; it describes how much spending may be constrained by the approved purchasing system. 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 20–23.

Initial Inventory is $12,500 to $18,000 and includes food and beverage supplies, paper goods, packaging and uniforms. The low estimate assumes a fall or winter opening; the high estimate assumes a spring or summer opening. Item 5 separately says grand-opening mix inventory is typically 33 cases at an average $50 per case, or $1,650, subject to seasonality and commodity prices. Mix is purchased from Titusville Dairy Products Co.; the FDD discloses that founder Bruce Reed owns 33% of that supplier and that franchisees pay shipping charges.

The Computer Hardware & Software range is $26,000 to $68,000. It includes the required POS system, digital menu boards, third-party delivery and network security services, and an optional self-order kiosk estimated at $4,000 to $5,000. The 2026 FDD identifies NCR Aloha Cloud, or the approved current model when purchased, as the required register system. 2026 FDD, Item 7, Note 9, p. 19.

UNRESOLVED COSTS

What does the official range not fully resolve?

The Item 7 totals are estimates, not caps. Site conditions, lease terms, construction requirements, opening season, wage rates, insurance risk and financing terms can push actual cash needs outside the stated range.

  • Resolve the end-cap total conflict. Obtain written confirmation that $1,143,700 is the current Item 7 high and ask whether the cover-page $1,244,700 figure has been corrected by an amendment.
  • Price the actual site contract. The leased end-cap assumption includes four months of rent for a 1,400–1,600 square-foot space at $24–$78 per square foot per year; the FDD warns that local pricing may fall outside the range.
  • Reconcile the construction scope. The end-cap estimate assumes an average 1,600 square-foot retrofit; the free-standing estimate uses a 1,420 square-foot prototype and separate site-development work.
  • Test the three-month working-capital allowance. Additional Funds cover payroll, utilities and other startup expenses for three months, but the FDD says more working capital may be needed during or after that period.
  • Account for pre-opening labor. The FDD estimates about 235 staff hours before opening but does not assign a dollar amount because local wage rates vary.
  • Separate owner living costs from store capital. The Additional Funds note does not state that owner compensation or personal living expenses are included.
  • Confirm current technology specifications. Determine whether the optional kiosk remains optional and obtain current vendor quotes for POS, menu boards, delivery integration, network security and ongoing vendor services.
  • Budget for renewal refurbishment. Item 6 does not list a separate renewal fee, but Item 17 requires refurbishment to then-current standards and signing the then-current Franchise Agreement. The FDD summary and attached agreement conflict on the number of successor terms, so the operative contract should be confirmed.

The franchisor’s official discovery process identifies FDD review as a distinct stage. Wisconsin’s active franchise registration list showed Bruster’s Limited Partnership with an April 24, 2027 expiration when checked July 19, 2026; registration does not mean the state recommends or verifies the offering.

DECISION SUMMARY

What capital distinction should a buyer keep clear?

The cost decision turns on format: a leased end-cap and a land-owning free-standing store have different premises and construction contracts. The Initial Franchise Fee is only one component of the applicable total. Website liquidity and net-worth thresholds are qualification screens, not a promise that those amounts will fund the project. After opening, the routine percentage charges continue on the disclosed sales base, while technology, transfer, relocation, compliance and contract events can create additional obligations.