How much does a Bento Sushi franchise cost?
The 2025 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $20,200 to $145,550 for a Bento Sushi On-Site Location or Commissary Location. A Satellite Location has a separate $1,300 to $7,000 range, but it is an add-on format available only to a franchisee that already owns an On-Site Location or Commissary Location.
The Item 7 total covers the pre-opening period through the first three months of operation. Of this range, $13,950 to $123,150 is payable to Bento Sushi Franchise, Inc. or its affiliates. The separate Satellite Location range is $1,300 to $7,000, including $100 to $750 payable to the franchisor or its affiliates. 2025 FDD, cover; Item 7, pp. 17-21.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Bento Sushi Franchise, Inc., a Delaware corporation. FDD issuance date: November 27, 2025. The document identifies On-Site Location, Commissary Location and Satellite Location formats; Indiana's state effective date was amended December 17, 2025. Cost analysis uses Items 5, 6 and 7, with cost-relevant provisions from Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Information and public-source availability were checked July 17, 2026.
The current FDD references are unlinked because no matching 2025 copy was located on an official franchise-controlled public domain. Current brand information is available on the official U.S. franchise information page. A Wisconsin government registration record lists the legal franchisor, a registered filing and December 2025 amendments.
Key cost figures
Why are there two very different investment ranges?
The lower Satellite Location range is not a lower-cost substitute for the main operating format. A Satellite Location receives food made at the franchisee's On-Site Location or Commissary Location, has no employees at the Satellite counter and does not require a second Bento Operating Tablet, opening inventory, training, permits, ServSafe certification, manual, background checks or uniforms. 2025 FDD, Item 1, pp. 3-4; Item 7, pp. 18-20.
| Unit format | Item 7 total | Paid to franchisor or affiliates | Cost condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| On-Site Location | $20,200-$145,550 | $13,950-$123,150 | Customer-facing counter with on-site production inside a Host Facility. |
| Commissary Location | $20,200-$145,550 | $13,950-$123,150 | Production and packaging location without a customer-facing Sushi Counter. |
| Satellite Location | $1,300-$7,000 | $100-$750 | Self-service add-on supplied by the franchisee's existing On-Site or Commissary Location. |
Both bars use the same $0 to $145,550 scale. The Satellite bar is small because it is an add-on counter rather than a standalone production format.
Interpretation: The range difference is contractual and operational, not a choice between two comparable standalone units. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17-21. Values are official FDD ranges; bar positions are proportional calculations from those endpoints.
A buyer cannot use the $1,300 Satellite minimum as the entry price for a new Bento Sushi relationship. The FDD makes Satellite eligibility dependent on ownership of an On-Site Location or Commissary Location.
What is included in the $20,200 to $145,550 range?
The On-Site or Commissary range combines the negotiated Initial Franchise Fee, required equipment and technology, opening inventory, training and compliance costs, and Additional Funds for the first three months. The official total reconciles to the listed low and high line items. 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17-21.
Agreement, equipment and opening supply costs
| Item 7 expenditure | Disclosed range | When payable | Payment recipient |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $2,000-$100,000 | When the Franchise Agreement is signed | Bento Sushi Franchise, Inc. |
| Small Equipment, Signage, Furniture and Fixtures | $2,000-$5,000 | As agreed and incurred | Affiliate or Approved Suppliers |
| Computer System and Bento Operating Tablet | $1,900-$3,500 | As agreed and incurred | Franchisor or affiliate |
| Initial Inventory | $5,500-$15,000 | As agreed and incurred | Affiliate, Approved Suppliers or Designated Suppliers |
| On-Site Training Fee | $2,000 | Two days before training begins | Bento Sushi Franchise, Inc. |
| Professional Fees | $500-$1,500 | As incurred | Attorney or accountant |
| Business License Fees and Permits | $100-$1,000 | As incurred or arranged | Regulatory agency or franchisor |
Compliance items and operating runway
| Item 7 expenditure | Disclosed range | What the range assumes | Format note |
|---|---|---|---|
| ServSafe Food Protection Manager Training and Certification | $150-$400 | One or two people at $150-$200 each | Not required as a separate Satellite cost |
| Initial SOP/HACCP Manual Lease Fee | $500 | Deducted from the first payment; refundable when the manual is returned in good condition at termination or expiration | Not required for Satellite |
| Background, Credit and Drug Test | $250-$500 | One or two people, if requested | Not required for Satellite |
| Uniforms | $200-$400 | Two uniforms for one or two workers | Not required for Satellite |
| Branded Signage and Point-of-Sale Items | $100-$750 | Order-dependent | Included in both format tables |
| Additional Funds, first three months | $5,000-$15,000 | Opening cash, employee salaries excluding the owner, supplies, insurance, administration and ongoing inventory | $1,000-$5,000 for Satellite |
| Total Estimated Initial Investment | $20,200-$145,550 | Pre-opening through first three months | On-Site or Commissary |
Additional Funds do not include an owner salary or draw, and the FDD says the franchisee should have separate resources for personal living expenses. It also warns that the first three months may not be enough to reach break-even and that more operating capital may be required. This article does not estimate that additional amount.
Why does Item 7 show $0 for rent and leasehold improvements?
The Host Facility generally owns or leases the premises, performs the build-out and usually purchases major display and preparation equipment. Item 7 therefore lists $0 for the franchisee's Security Deposit, Rent, Leasehold Improvements and Utilities. That does not eliminate occupancy economics: the Host Facility is compensated through sales-based deductions disclosed in Item 6 and the applicable Host Facility Agreement. 2025 FDD, Item 7, pp. 17-19; Item 11, pp. 27-29.
The model replaces a conventional lease payment with Host Facility terms and a centralized settlement flow.
- Wonderfield Distribution
- The designated supplier for food ingredients other than fresh produce, packaging, labels and uniforms.
- Bento Operating Tablet
- Required for each On-Site Counter and purchased from the franchisor; the disclosed tablet estimate is $1,900 to $3,000.
- Computer maintenance
- The franchisee is responsible for repair, maintenance and replacement, estimated at $50 to $150 per year. A Satellite does not require an additional tablet or computer.
- Relocation
- Any approved relocation is at the franchisee's sole expense, but the FDD does not disclose a relocation amount. 2025 FDD, Items 8, 11 and 12, pp. 22-24 and 31-34.
The $0 premises line should be read together with the Host Facility Margin, Host Facility Rebate and weekly payment mechanics. It is not evidence that location occupancy is costless.
When is the startup money paid?
Cash is not paid in one installment. The Initial Franchise Fee is due at signing, several required purchases are paid as ordered or billed, the On-Site Training Fee is due two days before training, and Additional Funds are consumed during the first three months. The exact calendar depends heavily on location identification, permits and Host Facility readiness. 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 8-10 and 17-21.
The FTC requires the FDD at least 14 calendar days before the prospect signs a binding agreement or pays the franchisor or an affiliate. Bento's official franchise process places disclosure before the Franchise Agreement, and the FTC buyer guide explains the federal timing rule.
The negotiated $2,000 to $100,000 Initial Franchise Fee is paid in a lump sum for an On-Site or Commissary Location. Requested background, credit and testing costs of $250 to $500 are also tied to signing. Satellite Location franchisees pay no Initial Franchise Fee.
Inventory, small equipment, the Bento Operating Tablet, uniforms, signage, ServSafe certification and professional fees are paid as incurred or agreed. If the franchisor obtains licenses and permits, Item 5 says reimbursement is due at least 14 days before business begins.
The $2,000 On-Site Training Fee is due two days before training. The $500 SOP/HACCP Manual Lease Fee is deducted from the first payment remitted to the franchisee.
Item 7 includes $5,000 to $15,000 of Additional Funds for an On-Site or Commissary Location and $1,000 to $5,000 for a Satellite. Item 6 states that the first Adjusted Net Sales payment may not arrive until 42 days after opening.
The official franchise page says a retail-hosted opening is typically completed in less than 60 days, while 2025 FDD Item 11 gives a broader two-week to 12-month estimate. The FDD explains that location identification, licenses, Host Facility timing, build-out, deliveries and training can extend the schedule. The longer FDD range is the safer contractual basis until the actual location is confirmed.
Which Bento Sushi fees continue after opening?
The central ongoing charge is a 10% Royalty Withholding on weekly Gross Sales. The system also deducts the Host Facility Margin, a current 0.75% Insurance Withholding, any Host Facility Rebate, produce costs and other amounts owed before remitting Adjusted Net Sales. Gross Sales means receipts, sales and revenues from products sold at the Sushi Counter, excluding sales taxes, credits and refunds. 2025 FDD, Item 6, pp. 11-16.
Bars show the stated maximum rate on a common 0% to 50% scale. They should not be added into a universal rate because Host Facility terms vary and the National Marketing Fund is not currently imposed.
Interpretation: Host Facility economics can be the largest percentage-based deduction, even though Item 7 lists $0 for rent and leasehold improvements. The Host Facility Rebate is currently 3% to 5% but may be up to 10%; the National Marketing Fund may be created on 30 days' notice and may not exceed 2%. Source: 2025 FDD, Item 6, pp. 11-16; Item 11, pp. 29-31. Values are official percentages; bar lengths are proportional calculations.
| Operating fee or deduction | Amount or basis | Timing | What changes the amount |
|---|---|---|---|
| Host Facility Margin | Up to 50% of Gross Sales | At completion of each week's sales | Formula in the Host Facility Agreement and Franchise Agreement addendum |
| Host Facility Produce Withholding | Actual cost | At completion of each week's sales | Applies when produce is purchased directly from the Host Facility |
| Ingredient and Supply Purchases | Varies | When billed | Food, packaging, labels and other purchases from the franchisor or designated sources |
| Royalty Withholding | 10% of Gross Sales | Deducted weekly | Applies to all Bento Sushi Counters, including Satellites |
| Insurance Withholding | Current rate 0.75% of Gross Sales | Deducted weekly | Group-policy rate may be revised |
| Host Facility Rebate | Currently 3%-5%; up to 10% | Deducted weekly | Host-specific addendum |
| Website and Data Fee | $100 per month per location | Monthly | Fixed per operating location |
| National Marketing Fund | Up to 2% of Gross Sales | Weekly if implemented | Not currently required; may be formed on 30 days' notice |
Item 11 also permits future advertising cooperatives, with the franchisee's contribution determined by the cooperative's operating procedures. Outside a National Marketing Fund or cooperative, the FDD states that there is no required minimum advertising spend. The FTC Franchise Rule explains why ongoing and conditional fees belong in the disclosure document rather than only in sales materials.
How much liquid capital does Bento Sushi require?
The current official U.S. franchise page asks for proof of $5,000 to $25,000 in non-borrowed funds. The 2025 FDD does not disclose a separate minimum Net Worth threshold. The website figure is a candidate qualification, not a replacement for the $20,200 to $145,550 Item 7 investment range. Official U.S. financial qualification information.
Ask Bento Sushi Franchise, Inc. to identify the exact non-borrowed-fund threshold for the proposed location and format. The published $5,000 to $25,000 band overlaps only part of the Item 7 range and does not establish that the remainder will be financed.
What financing does the 2025 FDD disclose?
Bento Sushi Franchise, Inc. may finance up to 100% of the Initial Franchise Fee and initial inventory order for qualified franchisees. Approval is not guaranteed, and financing does not reduce the Total Estimated Initial Investment; it changes the timing and source of payment. 2025 FDD, Item 10, p. 26; Item 7, p. 21.
- Down Payment
- $2,000.
- Interest Rate
- 7.5% per annum.
- Term
- Four to 30 weeks, with weekly payments based on the amount financed.
- Administrative Charge
- The greater of 10% per month of the amount due until the note is paid or $100 total, excluding late charges and Default Interest.
- Guarantee and Security
- All owners must sign a Personal Guaranty; the note states no security. Prepayment is allowed without penalty.
- Default Terms
- 15% annual default interest, collection costs and a 10% late charge on an overdue weekly payment not received within five days.
Which fees can arise after opening, transfer or termination?
Item 6 includes fixed change-of-ownership fees, a variable Renewal Fee and a broad set of compliance, assistance and reimbursement charges. These amounts are not part of the initial Item 7 total unless a specific initial payment is already listed there. 2025 FDD, Item 6, pp. 12-16; Item 17, pp. 40-42.
| Contract event | Disclosed charge | When due | Key condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Renewal Fee | Greater of initial fee paid or then-current new-location fee; cap $100,000 | Upon renewal | Renewal requires good standing and other contractual conditions |
| Third-party Transfer Fee | $1,000-$10,000 per location | When consent is requested | Paid for each transferred location |
| Transfer to an entity controlled by the franchisee | $250 | Upon request | Applies to a newly formed controlled entity |
| Early Termination Fee | $10,000 per location | On demand | Triggered by abandonment, ceasing operations or termination for cause before expiration |
| Additional Operating Assistance | $250 per day per representative, plus expenses | Upon request | Additional agreed on-site training |
| Management Fee | $250 per day per representative, plus expenses | Upon request | When the franchisor must operate or manage the business |
- Training, manuals and uniformsFailure to attend scheduled training without 48 hours' notice: $250. Lost Manual Fee: $500. Additional uniforms: $100 each. Additional branded signage and point-of-sale materials: $100 to $750.
- Customer, compliance and quality eventsCustomer Satisfaction Fee: up to $1,000. Default Charge Fees: $200 to $1,000 per hour, day or violation. The default schedule includes $1,000 per day for failure to open, $500 food-safety or recordkeeping charges, and $200-per-day or per-hour operating violations. Lab and QA Test Fees: up to $350 per location.
- Supplier and operating requestsRequest for approval of a new product or supplier: $200 to $500. Local Business License and Permit reimbursement: $100 to $1,000 when handled by the franchisor, plus a 10% Administrative Fee where applicable. Ingredient and Supply Purchases vary when billed.
- Late payment, tax and audit exposureLate Fee: 10% of past-due amounts. Interest: 15% per annum or the maximum allowed by law, whichever is lower. Audit Costs include reimbursement plus 10% of taxes paid on the franchisee's behalf. A separate 10% Administrative Fee applies to taxes or insurance premiums paid on the franchisee's behalf.
- Reimbursement and legal costsReproduction, service and handling: up to $100 per shipment. Attorney's Fees and Indemnification are stated as actual costs when the contractual trigger occurs.
What should a buyer verify before fixing a capital budget?
The official range is broad because the Initial Franchise Fee and Host Facility deductions are location-specific, while the Satellite estimate depends on existing production capacity and vehicle access. A final budget should preserve the distinction between the Item 7 investment, the non-borrowed-fund qualification, any financed amount and ongoing deductions.
- Exact Initial Franchise FeeConfirm the negotiated amount in the final Franchise Agreement. The FDD says it depends on counter type, non-traditional venue, geography, population, traffic, demographics and other characteristics.
- Host Facility AddendumObtain the precise Host Facility Margin and Host Facility Rebate formula instead of using the Item 6 caps as a prediction.
- Opening payment scheduleMap invoice dates for inventory, equipment, the Bento Operating Tablet, permits, training, signage and the first manual deduction.
- Working-capital delayTest the first-three-month Additional Funds against the disclosed possibility that the first Adjusted Net Sales payment may take up to 42 days after opening.
- Owner living costsKeep personal living expenses outside Item 7 because the Additional Funds estimate excludes the owner's salary or draw.
- Satellite transport assumptionsThe $100 vehicle low assumes access to an existing vehicle and fuel cost only; the $750 high assumes a rental. Automobile liability insurance is also required for a Satellite Unit.
- Current disclosure and state addendaRequest the most recent FDD, quarterly updates and the addendum applicable to the buyer's state before signing. The FTC's FDD review guidance explains this document-level due diligence.
The verified entry range is $20,200 to $145,550 for an On-Site or Commissary Location, with a separate $1,300 to $7,000 Satellite add-on range. The largest unresolved variables are the negotiated Initial Franchise Fee, Host Facility terms, opening inventory and the amount of cash needed beyond the first three months. The 10% Royalty Withholding, sales-based insurance, Host Facility deductions and $100 monthly Website and Data Fee continue after opening.