How Much Does a Beef Jerky Outlet Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

2026 COST ANSWER

How much does a Beef Jerky Outlet franchise cost?

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $191,450 to $406,900 for one Beef Jerky Experience or Peanut Butter Shoppe Store. A two-Store Multi-Unit Operator commitment is disclosed at $196,450 to $411,900. These are total initial investment ranges, not the cash-only franchise fee and not the franchisor's separate financial qualification thresholds.

$191,450-$406,900One Store
$196,450-$411,900Two-Store Multi-Unit Operator

The one-Store range covers the Item 7 categories for either brand and the FDD states that the same table applies to stand-alone and Fueling Station Store models. The separate two-Store range uses a Multi-Unit Operator development-fee structure. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14-20.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: The Beef Jerky Outlet Franchise, Inc. Issuance date: February 1, 2026. Cost analysis uses FDD Items 5, 6 and 7, plus cost-relevant provisions in Items 8, 10, 11 and 17. Applicable offers: Beef Jerky Experience, Peanut Butter Shoppe and the two-Store Multi-Unit Operator path. Information checked July 21, 2026.

The brand's official U.S. franchise information confirms that both Beef Jerky Experience and Peanut Butter Shoppe are being offered. No matching 2026 FDD was located on a franchisor-controlled public page during this check, so FDD Item and page citations in this article are unlinked.

Capital snapshot

Initial Franchise Fee $49,900 First Store; lump sum at Franchise Agreement signing.
Paid to Franchisor/Affiliate $66,600-$81,900 Included within the one-Store total investment.
Additional Funds $10,000-$20,000 Three months; excludes owner draw or salary.
Royalty Fee 6% Gross Sales; paid weekly by Electronic Fund Transfer.
Brand and Technology Fee 2% Gross Sales; may rise to 4% with 30 days' notice.
Official-Site Qualifications ~$125K / ~$400K Approximate liquid capital / net worth; not Item 7 costs.
ITEM 7 INVESTMENT

What is included in the $191,450 to $406,900 range?

The one-Store Item 7 total combines the Initial Franchise Fee with premises, build-out, Fixtures, Furnishings and Equipment, Signage, Initial Inventory, technology, training travel, permits, professional fees and three months of Additional Funds. The range assumes leased space; a real-property purchase is not estimated.

Premises and physical build-out

Item 7 category Low High Payment timing
Rent - 3 Months $7,500 $40,000 Per lease
Leasehold Improvements - Materials $3,500 $35,000 As agreed
Leasehold Improvements - Demo/Space Rehab $10,000 $50,000 As agreed
Leasehold Improvements - Architect $2,500 $6,000 As agreed
Fixtures, Furnishings and Equipment $60,000 $106,000 As agreed
Signage $5,000 $12,500 As agreed
Security Deposits $4,000 $10,000 As agreed

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14-16. The FDD describes a typical Store as approximately 800 to 1,200 square feet and states that local labor, premises condition, union requirements and major-mall or downtown conditions can change build-out costs.

Opening assets, fees and initial operating funds

Item 7 category Low High Payment timing
Initial Franchise Fee $49,900 $49,900 Franchise Agreement signing
Initial Inventory $30,000 $50,000 As agreed
Insurance - 3 Months $750 $3,000 As agreed
Business Kickstart Assets and Technology Fee $1,200 $4,500 Franchise Agreement signing
Franchisor Travel and Living Expenses for On-site Training $3,000 $7,500 As agreed
POS / Back Office Computer Equipment and Supplies $3,000 $7,500 As agreed
Permits/Licenses and Professional Fees $1,100 $5,000 As incurred / agreed
Additional Funds - 3 Months $10,000 $20,000 As incurred

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 14-19. The combined permits/licenses and professional-fee row is a derived presentation of two disclosed categories: $100-$2,500 and $1,000-$2,500.

COST IMPLICATION

Fixtures, Furnishings and Equipment is the largest single disclosed line-item range at $60,000 to $106,000. Leasehold Improvements are split into materials, demolition/rehabilitation and architect fees, so the premises-related exposure is spread across several rows rather than one build-out number.

Initial Inventory is broader than the required pre-opening purchase from Paul Lyons Enterprises, Inc. for Beef Jerky Experience Stores or preferred vendors for Peanut Butter Shoppe Stores. Item 5 estimates the required portion at $12,500 to $20,000, while Item 7 estimates total Initial Inventory at $30,000 to $50,000. Item 8 states that required or designated sources represent approximately 90% to 100% of establishment purchases.

MULTI-UNIT STRUCTURE

Why is the two-Store range only $5,000 higher?

The 2026 FDD calculates the two-Store Multi-Unit Operator range with a $52,400 Development Fee, a $2,500 balance for the second Store's reduced Initial Franchise Fee and an “Other Expenditures” range of $141,550 to $357,000.

How the FDD reconciles the two-Store total

$52,400Development Fee at Multi-Unit Operator Agreement signing
$2,500Balance when the second Franchise Agreement is signed
$141,550-$357,000Other Expenditures for the first and second Stores
$196,450-$411,900Official two-Store total

The arithmetic reconciles exactly to the FDD's total. The development fee is non-refundable, and the franchisor reserves the right to adjust the formula based on the area's size and the Multi-Unit Operator's financial ability. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7, pp. 8, 19-20.

FDD CAVEAT

The $5,000 difference between the one-Store and two-Store endpoints should not be read as a $5,000 second-store budget. Item 7 says the Multi-Unit Operator “Other Expenditures” range is the same as the one-Store range less the Initial Franchise Fee, even though it describes that range as building out the first and second Stores. A buyer should obtain a written explanation of how second-store rent, build-out, equipment, inventory and working capital are reflected.

FORMAT-SPECIFIC PAYMENT

Which format changes the Business Kickstart payment?

The overall one-Store Item 7 range is not separated by brand or location model, but the Business Kickstart Assets and Technology Fee changes by first versus additional location and by Permanent/Flex-Seasonal versus Fueling Station format.

EXCLUDED FROM PACKAGE

Fueling Station models must purchase and maintain a data-sync platform. The FDD says that supplier cost varies and is not included in the $4,500 first-location or $1,200 additional-location package.

The FDD also recognizes Pop-Up locations after the first single franchise location opens, but it does not provide a separate Pop-Up Item 7 total. The designated POS System applies to Pop-Up and Flex/Seasonal locations. The official training and support page describes opening support, while the cost contract remains in the 2026 FDD.

PAYMENT TIMING

When is the money paid?

Cash is not paid at one moment. The 2026 FDD creates a sequence from an optional territory reservation through signing, site development, opening and the first three operating months.

Optional territory reservation

A new candidate may pay a $10,000 Reservation Fee for a six-month Reserved Territory. It is credited to the Initial Franchise Fee if a Franchise Agreement is signed. Refund amounts depend on the approval outcome; extending the reservation for another six months makes the fee non-refundable.

Agreement signing

The first-Store Initial Franchise Fee is $49,900, reduced by any credited Reservation Fee. The Business Kickstart Assets and Technology Fee of $1,200 to $4,500 is also due. A two-Store Multi-Unit Operator pays the $52,400 Development Fee when signing the Multi-Unit Operator Agreement and the first Franchise Agreement.

Lease, build-out and procurement

Rent, deposits, Leasehold Improvements, Fixtures, Furnishings and Equipment, Signage, POS equipment, permits, insurance and Initial Inventory are paid to landlords, utilities, suppliers, government agencies and professional advisers as agreed or incurred.

Training and opening readiness

The franchisee pays the travel and living expenses for two BJOF Home Office individuals providing on-site training. Before opening, required training must be complete, all amounts due must be paid, the Store must be built out and stocked, insurance certificates must be delivered, and permits and licenses must be in place. The Store generally must open within one year after signing.

First three operating months

Additional Funds of $10,000 to $20,000 cover initial operating expenses, including payroll but excluding owner draw or salary, plus Royalty Fees and Brand and Technology Fees. The Item 7 total already includes this Additional Funds line; it should not be added twice.

The FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains that the FDD must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before a prospective franchisee signs a binding agreement or pays the franchisor or an affiliate.

VETERAN FEE REDUCTION

A qualified U.S. veteran receives a 20% reduction on the first-Store Initial Franchise Fee only. Applied to $49,900, that is $39,920, a derived calculation rather than a separate FDD table amount. The discount does not reduce rent, equipment, inventory, working capital or ongoing fees. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 7; the official franchise page also states that veteran franchise discounts are offered.

ONGOING AND CONDITIONAL FEES

Which fees continue after opening?

The main continuing percentage fees are the 6% Royalty Fee and 2% Brand and Technology Fee. Both are based on Gross Sales for the prior week ending Sunday and are withdrawn by Electronic Fund Transfer on Tuesday, or the next business day. The franchisor may raise the Brand and Technology Fee to a maximum of 4% of Gross Sales with 30 days' notice.

Continuing cost entity Amount or basis Timing Payee / qualification
Royalty Fee 6% of Gross Sales Weekly Franchisor by EFT
Brand and Technology Fee 2% of Gross Sales; up to 4% with notice Weekly Brand and Technology Fund
POS System support and maintenance $39-$350 Monthly Designated supplier
Unifi bookkeeping after first six months Not disclosed in Item 7 after the included period Direct billing after month six Unifi
Technology Subscription, Loyalty/Gift Card connection, maintenance and support Exact range is not reliably readable in the printed Item 6 table Monthly Franchisor
SMS Text Marketing and Email Marketing Varies with usage and database size Monthly as incurred Franchisor
Continuing Product Purchases Varies with inventory turnover; shipping varies by distance As incurred Approved or authorized vendors

Source: 2026 FDD, Items 6, 7, 8 and 11, pp. 8-14, 17-18, 20-23 and 28-32. “Gross Sales” generally includes all Store-related revenue and business-interruption proceeds, less stated exclusions for sales taxes and customer refunds or adjustments.

Item 11 states that there is no designated local advertising spend requirement. That is separate from the Brand and Technology Fee. The official process and investment page also displays the 6% Royalty Fee and 2% Brand and Technology Fund contribution.

Fees triggered by events, transactions or noncompliance

Training, meetings and assistance

  • Periodic Conference: up to $499, plus attendee travel and living expenses.
  • New or additional trainee program: $500 per day per person, plus expenses.
  • Additional on-site training: $500 per day per trainer, plus expenses.
  • Customer Service intervention: $600 per day, plus representative travel and living expenses.

Renewal, transfer and relocation

  • Renewal Fee: $2,500 when the renewal Franchise Agreement is signed.
  • Franchise Agreement transfer: $10,000.
  • Multi-Unit Operator transfer involving two or more Stores: $15,000.
  • Internal franchisee-to-franchisee transfer: $5,000 per location.
  • Relocation Assistance: reimbursement of costs estimated at $750 to $1,500.

Compliance and payment defaults

  • Audit: estimated $1,500 to $5,000 when a stated trigger applies, including a Gross Sales understatement of 3% or more.
  • Interest: lower of 1.5% per month or the highest lawful rate; NSF charge: $35 per occurrence.
  • Prohibited Product or Service Fee: $250 per day of unauthorized use.
  • Noncompliance Fee: $500 for the first offense and $1,000 for each later offense.
  • Insurance obtained by franchisor: reimbursement plus a 10% administrative fee.

Operational intervention and end-of-term exposure

  • Management Fee: $600 per day per representative, plus expenses.
  • Store Refresh, repair, maintenance and remodeling: variable; a required remodel will not occur more often than every five years.
  • Indemnification, attorneys' fees and enforcement costs: variable under the circumstances.
  • Early-termination loss-of-bargain damages: present value of calculated Royalty Fees for the lesser of the remaining term or 104 weeks.
BUYER VERIFICATION

Item 6's audit remark refers to failure to conduct a “minimum local marketing requirement,” while Item 11 says no designated local advertising amount is required. The Franchise Agreement and current fee schedule should clarify whether any separate local-marketing standard exists and when audit reimbursement can be charged.

FINANCIAL QUALIFICATIONS

How much liquid capital and net worth are required?

The official franchise website states approximate candidate thresholds of $125,000 in liquid capital and $400,000 in net worth. These are qualification measures, not substitutes for the $191,450 to $406,900 one-Store Item 7 range. Liquid Capital is cash or readily available funds; Net Worth includes assets minus liabilities and is not the same as deployable cash.

The figures appear on the official franchise financial FAQ and were checked July 21, 2026. The 2026 FDD does not state these thresholds in Items 5-7.

Does the franchisor finance the investment?

No. Item 10 states that The Beef Jerky Outlet Franchise, Inc. does not offer direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or other obligation. Item 7 likewise states that the franchisor does not finance any portion of the initial investment. Any lender approval, down payment or collateral requirement remains separate from the franchise disclosure.

The SBA Franchise Directory is a lender eligibility tool, not an endorsement and not a guarantee that this franchise, a specific borrower or a specific loan will qualify.

EXCLUSIONS AND CONFLICTS

What costs are not fully resolved by the official range?

The Item 7 total is an official estimate, but it does not resolve every buyer-specific obligation. The largest uncertainty centers on premises, second-store treatment, format-specific systems and amounts that are variable or internally inconsistent.

Real property. Buying land or a building raises the investment above the disclosed range, and the FDD does not estimate the increase.
Construction and difficult sites. Additional labor, permits, architectural work and major-mall or downtown build-out can exceed the listed estimates.
Owner compensation. The three-month Additional Funds estimate excludes owner draw or salary.
Fueling Station data sync. The required platform cost varies by supplier and is excluded from the format package.
Shipping and supplier testing. Freight varies with distance, and a franchisee may bear third-party testing costs for a proposed product or supplier.
Technology subscription. The printed Item 6 amount contains overprinted digits and should be confirmed in a clean current fee schedule.
Second Store build-out. The Multi-Unit Operator table needs written reconciliation because its total is only $5,000 above the one-Store range.
State status. Franchise registration or exemption can vary by state and date; a state filing search should be checked before a transaction.
SOURCE CONFLICT

The franchisor's process and investment page currently lists a one-unit total of $196,700 to $404,850, while the February 1, 2026 FDD lists $191,450 to $406,900. This article uses the newer verified FDD figure for FDD-governed costs. A prospective franchisee should request a written reconciliation of the website's Kickstart, training-travel and POS assumptions before relying on either presentation.

The FTC Franchise Rule describes the required 23-item disclosure framework. For state-level status and filed documents, the Minnesota Department of Commerce franchise registration search is one example of an official state verification tool.

CAPITAL DECISION

What amount should a buyer distinguish before signing?

The controlling cost distinctions are: $191,450 to $406,900 as the 2026 one-Store Estimated Initial Investment; $49,900 as the first-Store Initial Franchise Fee; approximately $125,000 as the website's Liquid Capital threshold; approximately $400,000 as the website's Net Worth threshold; and the ongoing 6% Royalty Fee plus 2% Brand and Technology Fee. These amounts answer different questions and should not be combined or substituted for one another.

The main unresolved cost questions are how the FDD's two-Store range captures the second Store's premises and operating capital, what clean monthly Technology Subscription amount applies, and why the current official website total differs from the February 1, 2026 FDD. Those points are material because they affect cash timing after the Initial Franchise Fee is paid.

Official documents and verification tools