How much does an Ace Sushi franchise cost?
Ace Sushi has separate cost ranges for three traditional U.S. franchise programs. The 2026 Ace Sushi Traditional FDD discloses $18,275 to $119,650 for a new Main Sushi Bar under the Single Unit Program, $19,275 to $124,650 for a Main Sushi Bar with one Satellite Store, and $71,150 to $389,500 for the Area Development Program. A purchase of an existing Ace Sushi Bar raises the applicable single-unit range to $19,275 to $219,650, or $20,275 to $224,650 when one Satellite Store is included.
These are format-specific Item 7 ranges, not one blended Ace Sushi budget. The FDD covers traditional Host Venues. It states that universities, colleges, hospitals, and other Non-Traditional Host Venues are offered under a different disclosure document.
Source: 2026 Ace Sushi Traditional FDD, Item 7, pages 17–25; cover page. Existing-bar figures include an additional $1,000–$100,000 purchase amount.
Data basis. Legal franchisor: Ace Sushi Franchise Corporation. Document: 2026 Ace Sushi Traditional FDD, issued April 13, 2026 and amended April 28, 2026. Core cost evidence: Item 5, pages 6–10; Item 6, pages 11–17; Item 7, pages 17–25. Information checked July 15, 2026.
The FDD citations are unlinked because no matching 2026 FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled public page. The franchisor identifies Ace Sushi’s official website on the FDD cover.
Capital snapshot
Each bar starts at the official low estimate and ends at the official high estimate. The scale runs from $0 to the $389,500 Area Development Program maximum.
Official figures: 2026 Ace Sushi Traditional FDD, Item 7, pages 17–25. Bar positions are derived only to place the disclosed endpoints on a common $389,500 scale. The Area Development Program range is not the total cost of opening every committed bar.
What is included in the Single Unit Program range?
The $18,275 to $119,650 Single Unit Program range combines the initial franchise relationship payments, permits and insurance, opening inventory and supplies, equipment and technology, possible leasehold improvements, expenses before opening, and a three-month Working Capital Reserve. The official total already includes the $5,000 to $10,000 Additional Funds estimate, so it should not be added a second time.
Rights, permits, inventory, and operating setup
| Item 7 category | Disclosed amount | When paid | FDD page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Application Fee | $125 per application | Upon submission of the franchise application | 17 |
| Initial Training Fee | $500 per attendee | When the Initial Training Agreement is signed | 17 |
| Initial Franchise Fee | $6,000–$15,000 | At Franchise Agreement signing, or through agreed deductions/installments | 17 |
| Licenses | $100–$1,300 | As incurred before opening | 17 |
| Insurance | $400–$4,100 | Annually, as arranged | 17 |
| Initial Food Inventory | $2,500–$25,000 | Before opening or through deductions from Commissions | 17 |
| Initial Marketing, Small Wares, Supplies, Uniforms and Other Non-Food Items | $1,000–$4,000 | Before opening or through deductions from Commissions | 17–18 |
| Equipment Purchase/Rental | $50–$500 | Monthly deductions when required by the Venue Owner | 18 |
Equipment, premises, and startup reserve
| Item 7 category | Disclosed amount | Cost interpretation | FDD page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Label Machine | $500 one time | Separate $135 monthly lease and $10 maintenance fee continue for 48 months | 18 |
| Sushi Robot | $0–$17,025 | Optional purchase; shipping is additional | 18, 24 |
| Computer System | $100–$600 | Laptop or tablet; maintenance and technical support are excluded | 18–19, 25 |
| Onsite Training Fee | $1,500–$6,000 | At signing or through deductions from Commissions | 19 |
| Leasehold Improvements | $0–$30,000 | Applies when build-out or renovation is required | 19, 25 |
| Expenses Before Opening | $500–$5,000 | Professional advisers, training food, and other pre-opening costs | 19, 25 |
| Additional Funds, Working Capital Reserve | $5,000–$10,000 | For the first three months of operation | 19, 25 |
The three-month Working Capital Reserve is an estimate, not a guarantee. Item 7 says the reserve is intended to support payroll, inventory, and supplies to the extent they are not covered by Commissions, and that more funds may be necessary. The disclosure does not state that owner compensation is included.
-
Hot Food Program.
The high inventory estimate includes about $350 of extra initial food inventory; the high smallwares estimate includes about $50 of additional supplies.
-
Satellite Store.
Initial Food Inventory increases by $1,000 to $5,000 per Satellite Store, and automobile liability coverage of at least $500,000 is required.
-
Build-out required by the location.
Leasehold Improvements can move from $0 to $30,000 when construction, furniture, fixtures, or equipment are required.
-
Existing Ace Sushi Bar.
The purchase amount adds $1,000 to $100,000 for the bar, assets, equipment, and established-market value determined by the franchisor.
Sources: 2026 Ace Sushi Traditional FDD, Item 5, pages 9–10; Item 7, pages 17–25; Item 8, pages 25–28.
How is the Initial Franchise Fee calculated?
The 2026 Initial Franchise Fee for a Main Sushi Bar is $6,000 to $15,000, and Ace Sushi Franchise Corporation selects the tier using the mean household income within a three-mile Market Area. The FDD says it uses the most recent U.S. Census statistics, or a substitute or successor source if necessary. The underlying public demographic tool is the U.S. Census Bureau data portal.
Main Sushi Bar fee schedule
| Mean household income in Market Area | Initial Franchise Fee | Payment basis |
|---|---|---|
| Less than $75,000 | $6,000 | Per Main Sushi Bar |
| $75,000–$99,999 | $7,500 | Per Main Sushi Bar |
| $100,000–$149,999 | $10,000 | Per Main Sushi Bar |
| $150,000 or more | $15,000 | Per Main Sushi Bar |
A Satellite Store fee equals 10% of the Main Sushi Bar Initial Franchise Fee: $600, $750, $1,000, or $1,500. It is due when the Satellite Store Addendum is signed.
Source: 2026 Ace Sushi Traditional FDD, Item 5, pages 8–9. The fee is fixed when the Franchise Agreement is signed; later Market Area income changes do not create a refund or additional charge.
When does an Ace Sushi franchisee pay the startup costs?
The required cash is paid in stages, not as one check. The application and Initial Training Fee come first; the Initial Franchise Fee follows when the Franchise Agreement is signed; licenses, insurance, inventory, equipment, technology, training, and premises costs are paid before opening or through approved deductions; the Working Capital Reserve is used during the first three months.
Submit the application
Pay the $125 Application Fee for each franchise application. It covers processing, credit and background checks, and testing described in Item 7.
Sign the Initial Training Agreement
Pay $500 per attendee. For the Single Unit Program, the fee may be refunded only if training is completed successfully and Ace cannot offer a Main Sushi Bar location within 12 months.
Sign the Franchise Agreement
Pay the $6,000 to $15,000 Initial Franchise Fee. Ace may agree to two to 12 equal monthly payments; the disclosure does not promise installment approval.
Fund the pre-opening categories
Pay permits, annual insurance, opening inventory, smallwares, computer hardware, label-machine setup, Onsite Training Fee, and any Leasehold Improvements. Some amounts may be deducted from Commissions if Ace offers financing.
Maintain the startup reserve
Use the included $5,000 to $10,000 Additional Funds estimate during the first three months and maintain adequate reserves for obligations and contingencies.
The federal disclosure waiting period is separate from Ace Sushi’s payment schedule. The FDD states that a prospect must receive the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. The governing federal text is available in 16 CFR Part 436, and the FTC franchise buying guide explains how to use the disclosure period.
Which fees continue after opening?
Ace Sushi’s principal continuing percentage charge is called Compensation to Ace, not “royalty” in the 2026 FDD. It is typically 8% to 15% of Gross Sushi Sales and is calculated monthly from the prior month. The Administration Fee is 2.88% of Gross Sushi Sales. A 2% Marketing Fund Contribution becomes payable only if Ace establishes the Marketing Fund; the FDD says it had not been established as of the latest fiscal year end.
Purchases from Ace, AMG, or approved suppliers also vary with demand and can include Proprietary Products, freight, insurance charges, equipment, and services. Those purchase obligations are separate from the percentage and fixed charges below.
| Continuing charge | Amount or basis | Timing or condition | FDD page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compensation to Ace | Typically 8%–15% of Gross Sushi Sales | Monthly, based on prior-month Gross Sushi Sales | 11, 16 |
| Administration Fee | 2.88% of Gross Sushi Sales | Deducted before payment of Commissions | 11 |
| Marketing Fund Contribution | 2% of Gross Sushi Sales | Only when and if the Marketing Fund is established | 11, 33–34 |
| Equipment Purchase/Rental | $50–$500 monthly | When refrigeration equipment is required by the Venue Owner | 11 |
| Label Machine Lease and Maintenance | $135 + $10 per machine monthly | For a 48-month lease; replacement may be required | 11–12 |
| Management and Dashboard Controls Fee | $50 monthly | Payable monthly | 14 |
| Website Usage Fee | $99.99 monthly | Deducted before payment of Commissions | 15 |
| Third-Party Customer Insights Fee | $25–$100 monthly | Upon demand when the provider is used | 15 |
The payment flow is unusual. The Host Venue collects customer payments and typically retains 15% to 30% of Gross Sushi Sales. Ace or AMG then calculates Food Costs, Freight Charges, Insurance Charges, Equipment Charges, other Expenses, Commissions, and Compensation to Ace. Buyers should review a sample monthly statement to see the order of deductions without converting any percentage into an unsupported annual dollar estimate.
Event-triggered and end-of-term charges
-
Renewal Fee.
100% of the then-current Initial Franchise Fee at renewal; Ace may offer a discretionary discount of up to 50%.
-
Administrative Transfer Fee and Costs.
$2,500 per location plus out-of-pocket transfer costs, including attorneys’ fees; specified family and controlled-entity transfers can be exempt.
-
Early Cancellation Fee.
$3,500 if Ace accepts a request to end the Franchise Agreement before expiration.
-
Default Compliance Fee.
Up to $1,000 for each default, plus other remedies and related costs.
-
Customer Satisfaction Fee.
$100 to $1,000 per complaint under the Single Store Program; waived under the Area Development Program.
-
Inspection or Reinspection Fee.
The greater of $1,000 or actual administrative and out-of-pocket costs.
-
Additional or Remedial Training.
$500 per trainee per day, with travel, lodging, meals, materials, and wages added where applicable.
-
Late, audit, enforcement, and indemnity costs.
Interest, audit expense, attorneys’ fees, reimbursement, gross-up taxes, and indemnification vary by the triggering event.
Other Item 6 charges that depend on a specific event
| Trigger | Disclosed charge | When it applies |
|---|---|---|
| Insurance obtained by Ace | $100 + 15% of insurance cost | Insurance Processing Administration Fee |
| Special pricing labels | About $500 per changed item | When different prices require computer reprogramming and label printing |
| Third-party sampling service | $15–$20 per hour | Reimbursement for sampling at the bar |
| Proposed supplier review | $200–$600 per item | Supplier Approval Fee |
| Food-safety assessment | $50–$250 per assessment | Third-party food-safety audit |
| Mobile ordering setup | $0–$500 one time | Third-party application setup and license |
| Ace operates a bar during default | $500 per employee per day | Plus employee travel and lodging |
| Lost Confidential Operations Manual | $1,000 | Upon demand |
| Overdue payment | Lesser of 18% yearly or legal maximum | Interest on the overdue amount |
| Audit, enforcement, reimbursement, taxes, or indemnity | Varies; some estimates reach $25,000+ | Includes Audit Expenses, Gross-Up Fees, attorneys’ fees, and related costs |
Sources: 2026 Ace Sushi Traditional FDD, Item 6, pages 11–17; Item 17, pages 43–48.
How does the Area Development Program change the capital commitment?
The Area Development Program requires a commitment to develop 5, 10, or at least 40 Ace Sushi Bars. The Development Fee is paid in one lump sum when the Area Development Agreement is signed. It is fully earned and nonrefundable. Each Ace Sushi Bar still requires a separate Franchise Agreement, and the FDD warns that later locations may cost more because of inflation and other changing conditions.
The columns compare the fixed Development Fee disclosed for each commitment level. The 40-or-more program also requires applicable prepaid Initial Franchise Fees for additional committed bars.
Official figures: 2026 Ace Sushi Traditional FDD, Item 5, pages 9–10. Column heights are normalized to the $300,000 maximum; the dollar labels are the official Development Fees.
| Commitment | Development Fee | Initial Franchise Fee treatment | Training treatment |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 Ace Sushi Bars | $59,500 | First Main Sushi Bar fee waived; $2,500 credited for each remaining required Main Sushi Bar | No additional charge for two people |
| 10 Ace Sushi Bars | $112,000 | First Main Sushi Bar fee waived; $2,500 credited for each remaining required Main Sushi Bar | No additional charge for two people |
| 40 or more Ace Sushi Bars | $300,000 plus applicable prepaid fees | First five Main Sushi Bar fees waived; credits capped at $1,250 per Main Sushi Bar and $500 per Satellite Store | No additional charge for four people |
The $71,150 to $389,500 Area Development Program Item 7 range should not be read as the all-in cost to open every committed unit. It covers the disclosed Area Development Program investment framework and first-location categories. Separate Franchise Agreements and location-specific costs apply as the development schedule proceeds.
Does Ace Sushi disclose financing, liquid capital, or net worth requirements?
The 2026 Traditional FDD does not state a fixed minimum Liquid Capital or Net Worth threshold in Items 5 through 7. It does require adequate reserves and Working Capital sufficient for at least three months, reflected in the $5,000 to $10,000 Additional Funds estimate. A financially qualified guarantor may be required when the franchisee is an entity or Ace determines that the credit report is insufficient.
Ace may, in its discretion, finance specified startup items by deducting payments from Commissions. This is not guaranteed approval, and the FDD says Ace does not offer other direct or indirect financing or guarantee third-party obligations.
-
Initial Franchise Fee financing
Item 10 lists $6,000 to $16,500, generally over two to six months, with no required down payment.
-
Onsite Training Fee financing
$1,500 to $6,000, generally over two to six months.
-
Inventory, equipment, marketing, smallwares, and supplies
Up to $31,500, generally over two to six months.
-
Label Machine setup
$500 per machine, generally over one to two months.
-
Sushi Robot
$16,575 to $17,025 plus shipping; installment plans can run up to nine months and include processing charges.
-
Existing Ace Sushi Bar purchase
$1,000 to $100,000, generally over one to 12 months.
Sources: 2026 Ace Sushi Traditional FDD, Item 7, page 25; Item 10, pages 30–31; Item 15, page 42.
Which cost questions remain location- or contract-specific?
The official ranges do not resolve every buyer-specific amount. The largest open variables are the Host Venue’s equipment and build-out requirements, the Market Area tier used for the Initial Franchise Fee, the optional Sushi Robot, insurance placement, the number of Satellite Stores, existing-bar valuation, and the actual amount of reserve needed beyond three months.
-
Confirm the correct disclosure document.
Use the Traditional FDD only for the traditional Host Venue offer. Request the separate disclosure document for a Non-Traditional Host Venue.
-
Obtain a written Market Area fee calculation.
Verify the three-mile household-income data and the resulting $6,000, $7,500, $10,000, or $15,000 Initial Franchise Fee.
-
Request the Venue Owner equipment list.
Identify who supplies display cases, refrigeration, work surfaces, storage, construction, fixtures, and signs before relying on the $0 Leasehold Improvements minimum.
-
Separate one-time and continuing equipment costs.
Distinguish the $500 Label Machine payment from the 48-month lease and maintenance charges, and distinguish the Sushi Robot price from shipping and processing fees.
-
Review a sample deduction statement.
Confirm the order in which Host Venue compensation, Food Costs, Freight Charges, Insurance Charges, Equipment Charges, Administration Fee, other Expenses, and Compensation to Ace are applied.
-
Check the current state filing status.
Registration requirements vary by state. California prospects can use the California DFPI franchise information; other buyers should use the regulator identified for their state.
Item 7 excludes computer maintenance agreements and technical support, does not quantify owner compensation, does not guarantee that three months of Additional Funds will be sufficient, and does not establish a single all-unit capital total for an Area Development Program commitment.
What is the practical Ace Sushi cost conclusion?
A buyer should treat Ace Sushi as a format-dependent capital commitment. A new traditional Main Sushi Bar has an official 2026 Item 7 range of $18,275 to $119,650; adding one Satellite Store changes the range to $19,275 to $124,650; purchasing an existing bar can add as much as $100,000; and the Area Development Program creates a separate $71,150 to $389,500 investment framework plus future location obligations.
The Initial Franchise Fee, Additional Funds, and ongoing percentage charges answer different questions. The Initial Franchise Fee buys the Main Sushi Bar franchise right and varies by Market Area. Additional Funds are included in Item 7 for the first three months. Compensation to Ace, the Administration Fee, possible Marketing Fund Contribution, equipment charges, technology fees, product purchases, and event-triggered fees continue or arise after opening.