How Does Menchie's Franchise Work?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Menchie’s operates as a self-serve frozen-dessert retail store: the franchisee keeps approved Menu Items, toppings, equipment and staff ready for guests, completes checkout through the required POS System, and maintains the records behind each sale. Menchie’s Group, Inc. controls the menu, operating standards, sourcing, technology and channel rules; the franchisee controls local employment and, generally, store-level pricing within those rules.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Menchie’s Group, Inc., a California corporation. FDD issuance date: April 10, 2026. This analysis uses 2026 FDD Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19 and 20 plus the Franchise Agreement and Operations Manual table of contents. Item 19 treats the offered Store as a traditional location; the system also references non-traditional locations and “Special Sites.” Item 20 covers 2023–2025, with current composition measured at December 31, 2025. Official web pages were checked August 9, 2026, including the Menchie’s U.S. franchise site.

Operating model in one statement

The MENCHIE’S Store is a controlled retail system built around self-service product selection and unit-level execution: the franchisee runs people, local promotion, inventory and guest service, while Menchie’s Group, Inc. prescribes the authorized Menu Items, suppliers, recipes, POS System, brand standards, reporting and distribution boundaries.

296
U.S. outlets
295 franchised, 1 company-owned at Dec. 31, 2025.
2 mi.
Typical territory
Typical Designated Territory radius, subject to exclusions.
5%
Operating Partner minimum
Minimum equity and voting rights in an entity franchisee.
295
Manual pages
Operations Manual length disclosed in Item 11.
2
Current POS suppliers named
Shift 4 and Franpos are identified in the 2026 FDD.
Offering and demand

What does a Menchie’s Store sell, and who buys it?

The 2026 FDD defines Menu Items as premium frozen yogurt, ice cream, dessert items, beverages and other authorized products sold to the general public. The core in-store transaction is self-serve: guests build a cup from flavors and toppings, then pay by weight; frozen-yogurt cakes create a separate prepared-order path.

Menchie’s consumer pages describe the self-serve flow and current product range, while the FDD requires the Store to offer all required Menu Items and prohibits unauthorized products or services. The official froyo and toppings page also identifies customizable frozen-yogurt cakes, and the official FAQs state that online cake orders require at least 48 hours before pickup.

Demand can arrive in-store, through approved cake ordering, or through authorized catering and delivery paths. Those channels are not franchisee-owned rights: Item 16 and Franchise Agreement §VI.K require catering and delivery to follow Menchie’s published protocols, and Item 12 reserves other distribution channels to the franchisor. The current Swirl Club rewards program adds a repeat-purchase mechanism at participating stores.

Evidence: 2026 Menchie’s FDD, Item 1, pp. 1–2; Item 12, pp. 20–22; Item 16, p. 25; Exhibit C, Franchise Agreement §VI.A, §VI.K and §VIII.F.

Store workflow

How does work move through a Menchie’s Store?

The operating cycle combines franchisor-funded brand demand, franchisee local demand generation, self-service product assembly, employee checkout, controlled replenishment and required reporting. Cake, catering and delivery orders are branches of the same Store operation only when Menchie’s has authorized the channel and procedure.

1

Demand reaches the Store

Actor: Menchie’s Group, Inc. and franchisee.
Action: The Marketing Fund supports system marketing; the franchisee executes approved local promotion, community activity and fundraising.
Required system/asset: Approved brand materials and authorized online presence.
Output: In-store visit, approved order, fundraiser or other permitted inquiry.
2

Guest builds or places the order

Actor: Guest, supported by Store employees.
Action: Self-serve guests select approved flavors and toppings; cake customers place an approved order for Store preparation.
Required system/asset: Frozen-yogurt machines, approved ingredients, cups, toppings and cake-production supplies.
Output: Finished self-serve cup or a scheduled special-order fulfillment task.
3

Checkout records the transaction

Actor: Store employee.
Action: Weigh the self-serve purchase, take payment and apply eligible loyalty activity when used.
Required system/asset: Required POS System and designated payment processing; every sale must be recorded.
Output: Completed sale and transaction data available for Store and franchisor reporting.
4

Inventory and quality are reset

Actor: Operating Partner, manager and Store employees.
Action: Replenish inventory, maintain equipment and sanitation, and keep Menu Items within prescribed recipes, portions, appearance and packaging.
Required system/asset: Approved Supplies, Approved Suppliers, Operations Manual and food-safety procedures.
Output: Store ready for the next service cycle and inspection.
5

Sales and records flow back

Actor: Franchisee or Operating Partner.
Action: Maintain books, certify required weekly, monthly and annual reports, and support electronic funds transfer and audits.
Required system/asset: POS data, approved accounting records, bank account and franchisor-accessible reporting.
Output: Verified operating data, remittance support and audit trail.
6

Repeat demand is managed

Actor: Menchie’s rewards system and local Store.
Action: Eligible guests identify themselves at checkout and redeem rewards under the current loyalty rules; local stores may also run approved fundraising or community programs.
Required system/asset: Swirl Club/app, gift-card or loyalty equipment when required.
Output: Recorded loyalty activity and potential repeat visit.

Evidence: 2026 Menchie’s FDD, Item 6, pp. 4–7; Item 8, pp. 11–13; Item 11, pp. 15–20; Exhibit C, Franchise Agreement §§VI–IX. Official supplemental context: Menchie’s consumer site and Menchie’s fundraising page.

Owner role and staffing

Who is responsible for running the unit?

Day-to-day operations must be managed by the franchisee or an Operating Partner. For an entity franchisee, the Operating Partner must own and control at least 5% of the equity and voting rights, complete Menchie’s initial training, have authority to bind the franchisee, and maintain primary involvement in direct management and supervision.

The Franchise Agreement requires enough competent, trained employees to provide efficient customer service, but it does not disclose a required headcount, labor ratio or shift structure. The franchisee alone hires, fires, trains, schedules and supervises Store employees and sets their wages and benefits. Menchie’s may require managers and key employees to complete training, and a person who has not completed required training may not regularly manage the Store.

Owner participation

Item 19 uses the phrase “semi-absentee operations” when defining a labor-cost measure, but Item 15 still requires day-to-day management by the franchisee or a qualifying Operating Partner. The FDD therefore does not support treating Menchie’s as a fully absentee model.

The official careers page separately confirms that employment at franchised locations is handled by the independently owned Store rather than Menchie’s Global Headquarters.

Evidence: 2026 Menchie’s FDD, Item 15, p. 24; Item 19, p. 31; Exhibit C, Franchise Agreement §VII.A–D.

Inputs and technology

Which suppliers and systems are mandatory?

Menchie’s controls the operating inputs through Approved Supplies and Approved Suppliers lists that it may revise. Certain products can be sole-source. Menchie’s itself is the only approved supplier for specified trademarked retail items and uniforms, while frozen-yogurt-making machines must come from a required supplier.

Item 8 also requires insurance through Gaspar Insurance and permits Menchie’s to designate the source for products, equipment and other supplies. A franchisee may propose alternatives, but cannot use them until approved; Menchie’s can require samples, testing and supplier inspections and can later revoke supplier approval. This makes sourcing an operating dependency rather than an open-market purchasing decision.

The Store must use an approved POS System, currently sourced through Shift 4 and Franpos according to Item 11. All sales must be recorded through the POS System. Menchie’s can remotely access and use Store data, require designated information, change software annually, require a changed or enhanced POS System, and generally gives the franchisee 30 days to install a designated change.

POS and payment layerRequired point-of-sale hardware/software, designated payment processing, PCI compliance and full franchisor data access.
Connectivity layerApproved high-speed Internet, Store email and other communications required for system access and reporting.
Management layerThe Technology Fee supports one user of franchise management software, email accounts, email marketing and technology administration.
Record layerDetailed daily sales, cost-of-sales and other records must be retained for at least five years and made accessible for audit.

Evidence: 2026 Menchie’s FDD, Item 8, pp. 11–13; Item 11, pp. 17–20; Exhibit C, Franchise Agreement §VI.C–D and §IX.I–J.

Control and discretion

What does Menchie’s control, and what can the franchisee decide?

The franchisor controls the MENCHIE’S System and the boundaries of acceptable operation; the franchisee controls the business decisions that the Franchise Agreement expressly leaves local. The practical dividing line is strongest in menu, sourcing, technology, brand standards and channels, while local employment and ordinary pricing remain franchisee functions.

Franchisee / Operating Partner

Runs day-to-day Store operations and maintains required staffing.
Selects and supervises employees; sets schedules, wages and benefits.
Finds a proposed site and manages local business execution after approval.
Generally establishes Menu Item prices unless Menchie’s exercises its reserved pricing right.

Menchie’s Group, Inc.

Defines Menu Items, recipes, portions, packaging and Operations Manual standards.
Approves suppliers, equipment, POS System, advertising, site, plans and relocation.
Controls Marketing Fund use, online brand participation, inspections and audits.
May modify System standards and reserve minimum/maximum pricing to the extent legally permitted.

Required third parties

Approved or designated suppliers provide ingredients, equipment, merchandise and operating supplies.
Shift 4 and Franpos are the current POS suppliers named in the FDD.
Gaspar Insurance is the required insurance source identified in Item 8.
Authorized delivery/catering providers may participate only under Menchie’s protocols.
Territory limit

A Designated Territory is typically a two-mile radius, and while the franchisee is compliant Menchie’s says it will not establish another company-owned or franchised MENCHIE’S Store inside it. That is not an exclusive territory: Special Sites are excluded, Menchie’s reserves non-restaurant and Internet channels, and the franchisee has no independent right to use other distribution channels. Customer solicitation itself is not restricted.

Evidence: 2026 Menchie’s FDD, Item 11, p. 15; Item 12, pp. 20–22; Item 16, p. 25; Exhibit C, Franchise Agreement §VI.K–O and §VII.D.

System footprint

What does Item 20 show about the U.S. system?

At December 31, 2025, Item 20 reports 296 U.S. outlets: 295 franchised outlets and one company-owned outlet. End-of-year totals were 296 in 2023, 295 in 2024 and 296 in 2025, so the three-year count is essentially flat while remaining overwhelmingly franchised.

U.S. outlet composition at December 31, 2025
Item 20, Table 1 • 296 total outlets
296 total outlets Franchised 295 • 99.66% Company-owned 1 • 0.34%
295 franchisedFranchisees operate 99.66% of the reported U.S. outlet base.
1 company-ownedMenchie’s Group, Inc. reports 0.34% of the U.S. outlet base as company-owned.

Interpretation: the operating system is franchisee-executed at nearly every U.S. outlet, while the contractual operating standards remain centralized.

Source: 2026 Menchie’s FDD, Item 20, Table 1, p. 32. Calculation: 295 ÷ 296 = 99.66%; 1 ÷ 296 = 0.34%; percentages reconcile to 100.00%.

Buyer verification

Which operating details should be verified before relying on the model?

The FDD establishes the control structure, but several live operating inputs sit outside the disclosure document. A buyer should verify the current Store-specific documents that determine day-to-day sourcing, staffing, channels and territory before treating the written model as the exact operating plan for a location.

✓
Current Approved Supplies and Approved Suppliers lists. Confirm the named ingredient, machine, packaging, merchandise and service vendors now required for the proposed Store.
✓
Current POS System configuration. Confirm whether Shift 4 and Franpos remain the designated sources, which software modules are mandatory, and what replacement or integration work is currently required.
✓
Schedule A territory. Map the actual Designated Territory, Special Sites, nearby stores, online ordering, catering and delivery rules rather than relying on the typical two-mile radius.
✓
Current Operations Manual procedures. Review the mandatory daily-operations, customer-service, inventory, cash, personnel, scheduling, equipment, safety and emergency procedures summarized in Exhibit D.
✓
Owner and manager coverage. Match the proposed ownership structure to the 5% Operating Partner requirement and determine how trained management will cover all required operating hours without inventing a headcount the FDD does not disclose.

What is the Menchie’s operating-model bottom line?

The central transaction is a controlled self-serve frozen-dessert sale, supplemented by authorized cakes, loyalty, fundraising, catering or delivery channels. The franchisee’s most important job is maintaining trained day-to-day Store execution; Menchie’s strongest dependency is its control of Menu Items, sourcing, Operations Manual standards and POS data. The key boundary is that a Designated Territory does not grant unrestricted channel rights. The largest operating question not fully disclosed is the current vendor-by-vendor Approved Supplies list and the detailed live procedures inside the Operations Manual.