How Does the JEI Learning Center Franchise Work?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

JEI Learning Center operates as a director-led, commercial retail learning center that enrolls Pre-K through ninth-grade students into prescribed supplemental-education subjects. The 2026 FDD describes one brick-and-mortar format: local staff acquire families, administer diagnostic testing, deliver weekly instruction with JEI workbooks, monitor progress, record enrollment, and report subject counts through JEI-controlled systems.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: JEI Learning Centers, LLC. FDD issued April 14, 2026; evidence reviewed from Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19 and 20, the Franchise Agreement, and Operations Manual table of contents. Item 20 reports through December 31, 2025. The format is a commercial retail brick-and-mortar Franchised Center; approved conversions use that format, and Temporary Remote Learning is an ancillary written-authorized exception. Official pages were checked July 30, 2026; the public reference set includes the official U.S. franchise website.
Direct operating answer

How does a JEI Learning Center work after opening?

Central mechanism

The franchisee runs the center, trains personnel, sets customer prices, maintains the site, and converts approved marketing into enrollments. JEI Learning Centers, LLC controls the JEI Self-Learning Systems®, Proprietary Products, diagnostic and student-management environment, approved offerings, Internet presence, territory rules, operating standards, enrollment reporting, and audit access.

44 Franchised U.S. outlets At December 31, 2025.
0 Company-owned outlets Item 20 reports none in 2023–2025.
25+ Director hours weekly Contractual minimum for full-time management.
5:1 Typical class ratio Consumer FAQ, not a disclosed staffing guarantee.
1 hr Typical weekly subject session Students generally attend once per week.
Offering and demand

What does the center sell, and who buys it?

The Franchised Center sells authorized supplemental-education subjects to parents or guardians for Pre-K through ninth-grade students, who receive diagnostic assessment, prescribed workbooks, instruction, progress monitoring, and follow-on assignments.

Contractual program scope

The 2026 FDD identifies Mathematics, Korean language, Chinese characters (“Hanja”), English Language Arts, and Critical Thinking within the JEI Self-Learning Systems®. The current U.S. site presents JEI Math, JEI English, Reading & Writing, Problem Solving Math, and Brain Safari. The FDD controls.

Non-JEI Programs require written approval, cannot include unauthorized test preparation, may represent no more than 5% of total business operations, and may serve only students concurrently enrolled in JEI programs.

Customer and service structure

Buyer
Parent or guardian selecting and paying for authorized subjects.
Service recipient
Pre-K through ninth-grade student attending the Authorized Location.
Core input
Diagnostic results, Individual Progress Prescription Report, and JEI Proprietary Products.
Recurring cycle
Weekly subject session, workbook completion, interim or achievement testing, progress review, and reassignment.

The official JEI program overview lists the current consumer subjects; the Diagnostic System page explains the Individual Progress Prescription Report and prescribed starting point.

FDD basis: 2026 FDD Item 1 pp. 9–11; Item 16 pp. 42–43; Franchise Agreement §§13.1–13.3 pp. 28–30.

Verified service cycle

How does work move through a JEI Learning Center?

The cycle converts local or JEI-controlled demand into diagnostic and enrollment records, then repeats through weekly instruction, progress prescription, workbook replenishment, payment, and monthly reporting.

1

Generate and route an inquiry

Actor
Franchisee and JEI marketing functions.
Action
The franchisee conducts required local advertising with approved materials; JEI controls the brand website, center pages, social accounts, Brand Fund media, and any regional cooperative.
Required system or asset
JEI website, approved Internet-based channels, local advertising plan.
Output
A parent finds a center and schedules a visit or diagnostic appointment.
2

Assess the student

Actor
Center personnel using the JEI Diagnostic System.
Action
The center administers the evaluation; JEI’s computer process analyzes mastery and weakness by subject.
Required system or asset
Diagnostic testing tools, computer, high-speed Internet, authorized student-management environment.
Output
Individual Progress Prescription Report with the recommended starting point.
3

Consult and enroll

Actor
Center team member, parent or guardian, and student.
Action
The center reviews the Individual Progress Prescription Report, recommends authorized subjects, records enrollment, and collects the center-set tuition.
Required system or asset
Enrollment records, point-of-sale capability, approved credit-card arrangements.
Output
An active student-subject record that drives instruction, inventory, and JEI reporting.
4

Deliver weekly instruction

Actor
Trained center personnel, instructors, and academic advisor under the Director.
Action
Students generally attend once weekly for a typical one-hour session per subject. Personnel guide prescribed work, review completed material, and follow the JEI Self-Learning Method.
Required system or asset
Authorized Location, JEI workbooks, furniture, computer access, trained personnel.
Output
Completed assignments and evidence for the next progress decision.
5

Monitor and prescribe the next work

Actor
Academic advisor and center personnel.
Action
Progress is monitored through workbook performance and interim or achievement tests; the next study program is assigned according to student performance.
Required system or asset
Student record, diagnostic data, programmed workbooks, JEI study sequence.
Output
Updated prescription and workbook requirement for the next learning cycle.
6

Reconcile inventory, records, and fees

Actor
Franchisee or Director, with JEI billing and audit functions.
Action
The center maintains enrollment and financial records. JEI invoices from reported subject enrollment and replenishes workbooks from prior-month usage; JEI may access systems, inspect records, and correct discrepancies.
Required system or asset
Computer/POS data, accounting records, enrollment reports, Electronic Depository Transfer Account.
Output
Paid JEI invoice, updated inventory, retained records, and the next month’s operating base.

Public support: JEI Getting Started, Center FAQs, and the center locator. FDD basis: 2026 FDD Items 1, 6, 8 and 11 pp. 9–11, 15–20, 23–34; Franchise Agreement §§3.3–3.4, 12–13 pp. 8–9, 27–33.

Owner role and control map

Who performs each operating function?

A JEI Learning Center is not disclosed as an absentee model. The Director must provide full-time day-to-day supervision; the franchisee remains responsible for staff, local execution, legal compliance, records, and customer service even when an entity-owned center appoints a non-owner Director.

Franchisee and Director

  • Operate the Authorized Location and keep it open on required days and hours.
  • Devote at least 25 hours weekly to day-to-day management through the Director.
  • Hire, train, schedule, supervise, and pay personnel; complete required background and abuse-registry checks.
  • Set tuition and other customer prices, accept required payment methods, and handle complaints first.
  • Maintain enrollment, financial, payroll, tax, and student records.

JEI Learning Centers, LLC

  • Defines the System, Confidential Operations Manual, authorized products, services, and standards.
  • Supplies or designates the source of Proprietary Products and controls workbook procedures.
  • Approves local advertising and owns center-associated websites and social channels.
  • Sets Protected Territory boundaries and reserves direct Internet and alternative-channel rights.
  • Provides advice, training, visits, and corrections; accesses data, invoices by subject enrollment, and audits records.

Third-party dependencies

  • Landlord provides the commercial retail premises; the franchisee holds the lease.
  • Approved vendors provide equipment, signs, uniforms, services, and required payment-processing capability.
  • A-rated insurers provide required coverage and certificates naming JEI where required.
  • Local authorities govern zoning, permits, employment, safety, privacy, and education-related rules.
  • Authorized platforms support any JEI-approved Temporary Remote Learning.
Owner participation

If the franchisee is a single individual owner, that owner is the Director. An entity may appoint a non-owner Director, but the Key Person must own at least 51%. The Director must complete New Franchisee Training, remain identified to JEI, and supervise the center full time.

FDD basis: 2026 FDD Item 15 p. 42; Franchise Agreement §§13.5–13.7 pp. 30–31.

Inputs and infrastructure

Which suppliers and systems are mandatory?

JEI tightly controls educational inputs: Proprietary Products are sole-source, while equipment, insurance, uniforms, signs, and other services may come from approved or specification-compliant suppliers subject to review and revocation.

  • Proprietary ProductsCourse materials, workbooks, and related items must be obtained exclusively from JEI or its designated source. The center must maintain enough inventory for full-capacity operation.
  • Alternative suppliersThe franchisee may propose an unapproved product or vendor, but must provide specifications or samples, pay evaluation expenses, and wait for written approval. JEI may later revoke approval.
  • Computer and POSThe franchisee must purchase and use hardware and software meeting JEI specifications. The FDD does not name a required POS vendor, but JEI may mandate upgrades, replacements, or new specifications.
  • Diagnostic and student dataOfficial support materials describe scientific diagnostic testing and web-based student-management software for Directors. JEI has full access to computer/POS data and student-enrollment information.
  • Internet presenceJEI owns center-associated websites, Google Business Profile and social channels. Operational access requires written request and approval and may be revoked.

The official franchise support page identifies diagnostic testing, web-based student-management software, center visits, training, enrollment strategies, marketing templates, and social-media support. The 2026 FDD controls the scope and limitations of those services.

Technology requirement

The FDD gives JEI broad access and change rights but does not disclose the current name, integration map, support-level agreement, data-export process, or complete recurring cost of the student-management, diagnostic, POS, and social-channel stack. Those current operating details require document-level verification before signing.

FDD basis: 2026 FDD Item 8 pp. 23–26; Item 11 pp. 30–31; Franchise Agreement §§12.5, 13.1–13.2 pp. 28–30.

Territory and channels

What does the Protected Territory actually protect?

The franchisee receives a Protected Territory, not exclusivity. While the agreement remains in force and the franchisee is not in default, JEI will not establish or license another brick-and-mortar JEI Learning Center inside the mapped area, subject to extensive reserved rights.

Students may live anywhere and choose any center. The franchisee may not market inside another franchisee’s Protected Territory without approval or collaboration. JEI reserves Internet marketing, direct business, alternative channels, co-branding, virtual platforms, and other marks, including activity inside the Protected Territory without local compensation.

Territory limit

Protection attaches primarily to another brick-and-mortar JEI Learning Center, not to every customer, lead, digital channel, competitive brand, or remote transaction. The territory map, digital lead-routing rules, cooperative-marketing boundaries, and cross-territory exceptions should be read together.

FDD basis: 2026 FDD Item 12 pp. 34–36; Franchise Agreement §§2.5–2.6 pp. 6–7.

Item 20 system signal

What does the outlet record show about the operating system?

Item 20 reports a fully franchised U.S. footprint with no company-owned outlets during 2023–2025. End-of-year franchised outlets declined from 48 in 2023 to 46 in 2024 and 44 in 2025.

U.S. franchised outlets at year-end

Exact Item 20 counts; company-owned outlets were zero in each year.

50 46 42 48 46 44 2023 2024 2025

Interpretation: the year-end outlet count decreased by four centers across the two-year span, while the franchisor reported no company-owned operating benchmark.

Source: JEI Learning Centers, LLC 2026 FDD, Item 20, Table No. 1, page 51. Counts are U.S. system-wide outlets at each year-end.

For 2025, Item 20 also reports zero openings, one termination, one non-renewal, no franchisor reacquisitions, and three transfers to new owners. These counts do not explain why a specific outlet transferred, closed, or remained open.

Control versus discretion

Which decisions remain with the franchisee?

The franchisee controls local execution inside a specified framework. Pricing, personnel, permitted vendor selection, local relationships, and scheduling remain local only when they comply with the Franchise Agreement, Confidential Operations Manual, approved channels, and law.

  • Franchisee discretionCustomer prices; hiring and compensation; choice of compliant local vendors when JEI has not designated a source; local marketing mix within required spend and approval rules; and first-line customer service.
  • JEI approval requiredSite and relocation, local advertising materials, Internet activity, social-channel access, alternative suppliers, Non-JEI Programs, Temporary Remote Learning, logo-bearing uniforms, and material deviations from System standards.
  • JEI unilateral controlAuthorized offerings, Proprietary Products, Manual revisions, territory boundaries, brand media, system specifications, data access, audits, required corrections, and the right to require upgrades or discontinue previously authorized items.
What should a buyer verify in the current operating documents?
  • The current required days and hours in the Confidential Operations Manual.
  • The named diagnostic, student-management, POS, accounting, and communication platforms.
  • The exact workbook ordering, usage reconciliation, shipping, shortage, and overage process.
  • The Protected Territory map and current digital lead-routing and cross-territory marketing rules.
  • The actual staffing functions needed to maintain the typical 5:1 classroom ratio and weekly schedule.

FDD basis: 2026 FDD Items 11 and 16 pp. 27–34, 42–43; Franchise Agreement §§11–14 pp. 24–34.

Operating-model synthesis

JEI Learning Center’s customer mechanism is parent-funded enrollment in prescribed subjects delivered through a recurring diagnostic, workbook, instruction, assessment, and reassignment cycle. The franchisee’s central responsibility is staffing the center, converting approved demand, delivering the program, maintaining records, and reporting every enrolled subject accurately.

The strongest dependency is JEI’s control of Proprietary Products, approved offerings, Internet channels, standards, data access, and workbook-linked reporting. The Protected Territory limits additional brick-and-mortar JEI centers but does not reserve all customers or digital channels. The largest disclosed gap is the current technology stack and detailed daily procedures outside the FDD.