How Much Does a JEI Learning Center Franchise Cost?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Verified cost answer

How much does a JEI Learning Center franchise cost?

The April 14, 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $85,000 to $139,000 to open one JEI Learning Center in the United States. The range applies to the disclosed commercial retail, brick-and-mortar Franchised Center, generally 800 to 1,200 square feet. JEI permits an approved conversion of an existing supplemental education business, but Item 7 does not publish a separate conversion range.

2026 estimated initial investment
$85,000–$139,000

This Item 7 total includes the $22,500 Initial Franchise Fee, a $5,500 JEI Initial Inventory Deposit, a $500 JEI Initial Marketing Fee, premises and build-out costs, the $6,000 grand-opening requirement, and $8,000 to $18,000 of Additional Funds for the early operating period. Source: 2026 JEI Learning Centers FDD, Item 7, pp. 20–23.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: JEI Learning Centers, LLC. FDD issuance date: April 14, 2026. Applicable format: one commercial retail JEI Learning Center; no separate Item 7 range is disclosed for an approved conversion or an additional center. Cost evidence reviewed: Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 15 and 17. Information checked July 18, 2026. The FDD is cited by Item and page because no matching 2026 FDD was located on an official franchise-controlled public website.

Official supplemental pages used here include JEI’s U.S. franchise information. The FTC’s franchise buying guide explains why the FDD and Franchise Agreement should be reviewed before paying the franchisor.

Source conflict

As checked July 18, 2026, JEI’s official investment page displayed $69,500 to $115,000 and a $4,500 workbook deposit. Those figures conflict with the newer April 14, 2026 FDD, which discloses $85,000 to $139,000 and a $5,500 deposit. This article uses the current FDD figures.

Capital snapshot

Which numbers matter before a buyer compares funding options?

The six figures below answer different questions. The Initial Franchise Fee is only one part of the Item 7 total; the amount due to JEI at signing is different from Additional Funds, Liquid Assets and Net Worth.

Initial Franchise Fee $22,500 Paid when the Franchise Agreement is signed; non-refundable.
Paid to JEI at signing $28,500 Franchise fee, inventory deposit and initial marketing fee.
Additional Funds $8,000–$18,000 Item 7 allowance for 1–3 months; JEI recommends coverage for the first 3 months.
Royalty rate $23–$35 Per enrolled subject per month, based on the applicable subject-count tier.
Liquid Assets $75,000 Current official franchise-site qualification; not the Item 7 total.
Minimum Net Worth $150,000 Current official franchise-site qualification; not cash available to spend.
Item 7 investment

What is included in the $85,000 to $139,000 range?

The 2026 Item 7 range contains 15 disclosed expenditure categories. The first three payments go to JEI when the Franchise Agreement is signed; most remaining costs are paid to third parties before opening or during the initial operating period.

Contract payments and premises costs

Item 7 expenditure Amount When paid FDD reference
Initial Franchise Fee $22,500 Upon signing; ACH or wire to JEI Item 7, pp. 20–22
JEI Initial Inventory Deposit $5,500 Upon signing; ACH or wire to JEI Item 7, pp. 20–22
JEI Initial Marketing Fee $500 Upon signing; ACH or wire to JEI Item 7, pp. 21–22
Real Estate/Rent $3,500–$6,000 As arranged, before operations Item 7, pp. 21–22
Real Estate Security Deposit $5,500–$12,000 As arranged, before operations Item 7, pp. 21–22
Leasehold Improvements $8,000–$24,000 As arranged, before operations Item 7, pp. 21–22
Interior Design Build-Out $15,000–$20,000 As arranged, before operations Item 7, pp. 21–22

The low Leasehold Improvements estimate assumes a landlord build-out allowance. The separate Interior Design Build-Out line includes a required center design package estimated at $1,000 to $2,000. Lease terms, location condition, local labor and material costs can move the official range; the FDD does not provide a location-specific construction budget.

Equipment, opening and working-capital costs

Item 7 expenditure Amount When paid FDD reference
Office Supplies, Hardware, Software, Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment $4,000–$6,000 Before operations Item 7, pp. 21–23
Insurance $2,500–$4,500 Before operations Item 7, pp. 21–23
Travel for Initial Training $250–$2,500 During training Item 7, pp. 21–23
Signage $1,500–$7,000 Before operations Item 7, pp. 21–23
Grand Opening and Initial Marketing Expense $6,000 From 3 months before through 3 months after grand opening Item 7, pp. 21–23
Legal & Accounting $1,500–$3,000 Before beginning business Item 7, pp. 21–23
Licenses & Permits $750–$1,500 Before beginning business Item 7, pp. 21–23
Additional Funds (1–3 months) $8,000–$18,000 As necessary after opening Item 7, pp. 21–23

Item 11 estimates approximately $1,000 for the required computer hardware and software, within the broader equipment category. Initial training tuition is included and JEI does not charge for the initial program, but the franchisee pays transportation, meals and lodging. Additional Funds are already included in the $85,000 to $139,000 total; they should not be added a second time.

Largest disclosed Item 7 range drivers

These floating bars compare selected variable categories on a common $0 to $24,000 scale. They show official low and high bounds, not a buyer-specific forecast.

Interpretation: Leasehold Improvements create the widest single low-to-high spread among the selected categories, while Interior Design Build-Out starts from a higher fixed base. Source: 2026 JEI Learning Centers FDD, Item 7, pp. 20–23.

FDD caveat

The Additional Funds line names rent, utilities and employee salaries for the first three months, but the FDD does not say that owner compensation is included. It also states that more working capital may be needed if sales are low or operating costs are high. The $5,500 workbook deposit may be refundable after termination or expiration only if return and de-branding conditions are met; missing or damaged workbooks are charged at $5 each. Initial and ongoing shipping costs are not separately quantified in Item 7.

Payment timing

When is the money paid?

The first $28,500 is due to JEI when the Franchise Agreement is signed. The larger premises, equipment and opening costs follow as the site is leased, approved and built out; the $6,000 opening-marketing obligation spans the three months before and three months after grand opening.

  1. Before signing or paying JEI

    The franchisor must provide the FDD at least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment. This waiting period is explained in the FTC Franchise Rule.

  2. At Franchise Agreement signing

    Pay $22,500 for the Initial Franchise Fee, $5,500 for the JEI Initial Inventory Deposit and $500 for the JEI Initial Marketing Fee. Item 7 specifies ACH or wire, for a combined $28,500 paid to JEI.

  3. During site approval and build-out

    Arrange rent, the security deposit, Leasehold Improvements, Interior Design Build-Out, equipment, insurance, signage, professional fees and permits. JEI states that the typical period from signing or first payment to opening is four to five months or more, and the Center must open within 240 days. The official franchise support page describes site-selection and training support.

  4. Approximately four weeks before opening

    The designated director must complete the New Franchisee Training program to JEI’s satisfaction. Initial training has no tuition charge for the director and one optional assistant, but travel and living expenses are the franchisee’s responsibility.

  5. Before and after grand opening

    Spend at least $6,000 on approved grand-opening advertising from three months before through three months after opening. Use the $8,000 to $18,000 Additional Funds allowance as operating expenses arise during the disclosed 1–3 month period.

  6. After the first three operating months

    Item 11 requires $1,000 per month in local advertising for the next six months, followed by $500 per month for the remaining Franchise Agreement term. These later local-marketing amounts are ongoing operating obligations, not extra line items inside the opening total unless incurred during the Item 7 period.

Subject-based fees

Which fees continue after the Center opens?

JEI’s main ongoing charge is a monthly Royalty Fee based on the number of enrolled subjects, not a percentage of gross sales. A student may take more than one subject, so student count and subject count are not interchangeable.

How does the Royalty Fee change with subject count?

The applicable Subject Fee declines as the Center’s total enrolled subjects move into higher tiers. The chart shows the exact monthly fee per subject from the 2026 Item 6 schedule.

Interpretation: the rate declines from $35 to $23 per subject as enrollment moves through the disclosed tiers. New franchisees become subject to a minimum Royalty Fee based on 40 subjects after two years of operation; using the current 31–60 tier, that is a derived $1,280 monthly minimum. Item 6 generally applies the minimum immediately at renewal; its 90-day issuance-linked exception had elapsed by July 18, 2026. Source: 2026 JEI Learning Centers FDD, Item 6, pp. 15–16.

Core recurring and enrollment-related obligations

Fee or spending obligation Amount or basis Timing Source
Royalty Fee $23–$35 per subject Monthly Item 6, pp. 15–16
Enrollment Fee $15 per student At initial enrollment or re-enrollment after a 90-day gap Item 6, p. 16
Brand Fund Contribution Currently $1; up to $3 per subject Monthly; 30 days’ notice before an increase Items 6 and 11, pp. 16 and 29–30
Cooperative Advertising $100–$300 Monthly if established for the region Items 6 and 11, pp. 16 and 29–30
Local Advertising $1,000 monthly, then $500 monthly $1,000 for months 4–9; $500 thereafter Item 11, pp. 28–29
Extra Inventory Usage Fee $5 per extra workbook, plus shipping As required; invoiced with Royalty Fee Item 6, p. 17
Non-JEI Program Operating Fee $300 per month Starting in month 3 after fewer than 75 subjects for 2 consecutive months while offering approved Non-JEI Programs Items 6 and 16, pp. 19 and 43
Cost implication

The royalty and Brand Fund formulas use enrolled subjects, while the Enrollment Fee uses students. Because one student may register for multiple subjects, the franchisee must model each basis separately. Converting these fees to an annual dollar estimate would require an enrollment assumption that the FDD does not provide.

Conditional obligations

Which event-triggered fees can raise the cost after opening?

Item 6 contains a broad set of conditional charges tied to late payment, training, supplier approval, system changes, attendance, transfer, renewal and termination. They are not part of the standard Item 7 opening total unless the triggering event occurs during that period.

Operations, compliance and support triggers

  • Audit Expenses: all audit costs plus 150% of funds owed if subjects were underreported; payable on demand when an understatement is found.
  • Late Fees: $50 for $1–$999.99 unpaid, $100 for $1,000–$1,999.99, $150 for $2,000–$2,999.99, $200 for $3,000–$3,999.99 and $300 for $4,000 or more. Item 6 also states 18% annual interest or the maximum lawful rate; its California note identifies a 10% annual maximum.
  • Insufficient Funds: $50 when funds are unavailable for a scheduled payment.
  • Evaluation of Products or Suppliers: $500 to $1,000 at evaluation for a proposed unapproved product or supplier.
  • Insurance Reimbursement: unpaid premiums plus JEI’s reasonable expenses if required insurance is not maintained and JEI obtains coverage.
  • Special Chargeable Items: prices published as items such as apparel, supplemental instructional material or promotional products become available.
  • System Modifications: not more than $10,000 at any one time for required equipment, fixtures, software, Marks or other System changes.
  • Customer Service: all costs JEI incurs if it determines direct assistance to students is necessary.
  • Substitute, New Director or Additional Training: $1,250 per person, plus JEI’s expenses and attendee expenses.
  • Additional Operations Assistance: $250 per day plus JEI’s expenses when extra assistance is requested.
  • Annual Franchise Conference Non-Participation: $900; a separate Meeting Non-Attendance Fee is $300 for failure to attend at least 75% of required meetings.
  • Temporary Management Assistance: JEI’s expenses for each applicable month after a breach, death or incapacity event.

Transfer, renewal and exit triggers

  • Transfer Fee: currently $9,000 for transfers to third parties or among owners, subject to the disclosed exception for certain owner-to-entity transfers.
  • Renewal Fee: currently $1,000 at renewal, plus the cost of upgrading the Center to then-current standards. The initial term is five years with a possible five-year Successor Term.
  • Early Termination Fee: $2,500 with 180 days’ advance notice when the franchisee is not in default; add $500 if notice is less than 90 days.
  • Cost of Enforcement: all costs, including attorneys’ fees, if JEI prevails in enforcing Franchise Agreement obligations.
  • Signage Removal Fee: $500 plus removal costs if required de-branding is not completed within 14 days after termination or expiration.
  • Removing Signage Before the Official Termination Date: $1,500 if signage is removed early without approval.
  • Workbook return exposure: $5 for each missing or damaged workbook; amounts can exceed the $5,500 deposit.
  • Transfer upgrades or relocation: a transferee may have to bring the Center to current standards, and JEI may require relocation before approving the transfer.
  • Relocation: no relocation fee is charged, but every relocation cost is the franchisee’s responsibility.

Source: 2026 JEI Learning Centers FDD, Item 6, pp. 15–20; Item 12, p. 35; Item 17, pp. 43–50. Item 6 states that fees payable to JEI are uniformly imposed and non-refundable unless otherwise noted, and requires pre-opening authorization for automatic debits from the franchisee’s business checking account.

Funding qualifications

How do Liquid Assets and Net Worth differ from the investment range?

JEI’s official franchise website currently lists at least $75,000 in Liquid Assets and a $150,000 minimum Net Worth. These are qualification thresholds, not replacements for the 2026 FDD’s $85,000 to $139,000 Estimated Initial Investment.

Estimated Initial Investment
$85,000–$139,000. The Item 7 range for opening the disclosed retail Center, including Additional Funds.
Liquid Assets
$75,000. The current official franchise-site threshold for accessible assets; it does not mean the Center can be opened for $75,000.
Net Worth
$150,000. The current official franchise-site threshold for assets minus liabilities; Net Worth is not the same as cash available for construction and operations.

The qualification figures appear on JEI’s official franchise FAQ, checked July 18, 2026. The FDD’s Item 10 states that JEI offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation. Financing approval from a third party is therefore separate from franchisor approval.

Personal guarantee

When the franchisee is a business entity, Item 15 requires each owner to sign an Unlimited Guaranty and Assumption of Obligations. This is a liability commitment rather than an additional fixed cash line, but it affects the buyer’s exposure beyond the opening budget.

Format and credits

Which cost obligations vary by format or circumstance?

The 2026 FDD provides one Item 7 range for the commercial retail Center. It does not provide separate totals for a conversion, a second Center or a virtual-only operation, so those situations cannot be assigned their own official investment ranges from this document.

Standard retail Center versus approved conversion

The disclosed Center generally occupies 800 to 1,200 square feet in a visible commercial retail location with parking and an in-suite restroom. An existing supplemental education business may convert with JEI’s approval, but the FDD does not disclose a conversion credit, reduced build-out range or separate equipment schedule. A conversion buyer should obtain a written category-by-category reconciliation against Item 7 rather than assuming the low end applies.

Additional Centers

For a qualifying additional Franchised Center, JEI states that it will reduce the Initial Franchise Fee by $5,000 when the new franchise has the required common majority ownership and the first Center paid the full, non-discounted fee. The FDD does not disclose an area-development fee or a separate multi-unit Item 7 total. Expansion eligibility also depends on JEI’s then-current criteria.

Opening incentives

Item 5 says JEI may offer incentives from time to time in the amount of $8,500 to $12,000 to help cover opening costs. A separate official page advertised up to $12,000 in signage, interior branding, furniture, paint/labor and limited opening credits, but its stated expiration was June 30, 2026. Because that date has passed, the incentive should not be deducted from the Item 7 range without a current written offer. The expired terms remain visible on JEI’s official incentive terms page.

Buyer verification

Ask JEI to identify which current incentive, if any, applies to the proposed Center, whether it is a reimbursement or statement credit, the proof-of-payment requirements, the deadline, and the Item 7 categories it offsets. A credit against one category does not reduce rent, deposits, professional fees, Additional Funds or every other opening cost.

Before commitment

What should a prospective franchisee verify in the current documents?

The highest-value review is a line-by-line reconciliation of the proposed site and lease against the 2026 Item 7 categories, followed by confirmation of the subject-based fees and every conditional obligation that could apply to the ownership plan.

  • Confirm the FDD version. Use the April 14, 2026 U.S. FDD or a later properly issued amendment, and compare every changed page before signing.
  • Reconcile the premises budget. Separate Real Estate/Rent, the Real Estate Security Deposit, Leasehold Improvements and Interior Design Build-Out; identify any landlord allowance in writing.
  • Confirm the $28,500 signing payment. Ask whether initial shipping or taxes are invoiced separately from the $5,500 inventory deposit and $500 marketing fee.
  • Model subject-based fees correctly. Use subjects for the Royalty Fee and Brand Fund Contribution, but students for the $15 Enrollment Fee.
  • Verify working-capital assumptions. Determine whether $8,000 to $18,000 covers the proposed location’s rent, utilities and employee salaries for three months, and budget owner compensation separately unless JEI confirms inclusion.
  • Document any conversion or multi-center adjustment. The FDD gives no separate investment range for either situation.
  • Obtain written incentive terms. Do not rely on the expired June 30, 2026 promotion or subtract a possible incentive from the official total before eligibility and payment mechanics are confirmed.
  • Review renewal, transfer and exit costs. Include the $1,000 Renewal Fee, current-standard upgrades, the $9,000 Transfer Fee, de-branding expenses and any applicable Early Termination Fee.
Capital takeaway

What is the practical cost conclusion?

The verified 2026 starting range is $85,000 to $139,000 for one commercial retail JEI Learning Center. Of that amount, $28,500 is due to JEI at signing, while the largest disclosed sources of variation are Leasehold Improvements, Additional Funds, the Real Estate Security Deposit, Signage and Interior Design Build-Out.

The official investment range is not the same as JEI’s $75,000 Liquid Assets or $150,000 Net Worth qualifications. After opening, the buyer must separately account for the subject-based Royalty Fee, Brand Fund Contribution, local and cooperative advertising, workbook shipping and usage charges, and the conditional fees created by training, system changes, transfer, renewal or termination. The main unresolved cost question is the proposed site: without a lease, landlord allowance and approved build-out scope, the official range cannot identify the buyer’s exact cash requirement.