How Does the Huntington Learning Center Franchise Work?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Operating answer

How does a Huntington Learning Center operate after opening?

Central operating mechanism

A franchised HLC converts parent or school inquiries into Academic Evaluations, enrollment conferences, individualized tutoring or Test Prep, scheduled instruction, progress reporting, and follow-up. The franchisee supplies the Premises, employees, local execution, and records; Huntington Learning Centers, Inc. supplies the Huntington System, required technology, curricula, Call Center, standards, and oversight.

The 2026 FDD describes a brick-and-mortar Franchised Business with in-center and online capabilities, optional Contract Services, and an optional MicroSchool Amendment.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Huntington Learning Centers, Inc. FDD issued April 16, 2026; Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19, and 20; Franchise Agreement Sections 1, 5, 8, 10–12; MicroSchool Amendment; and Huntington Manuals table of contents. Item 20 reports through December 31, 2025. The official U.S. franchise website and operational pages were checked July 27, 2026. No franchise-controlled public 2026 FDD was located, so FDD citations are unlinked.
3 Core service lines Learning Center Service, Subject Tutoring, and Test Prep.
3 Delivery methods In-center, eTutoring, and a hybrid of both.
2 years Full-time owner period The Primary Owner must work all open hours.
1,200 Minimum square feet Contiguous usable space on one floor for the standard form.
430+ Online training modules Hosted in the required Online Training Facility.
Offering and demand

What does the franchisee sell, and who buys it?

The required private-pay business serves parents or guardians of school-aged students. The franchisee must offer Huntington Services and eTutoring, may elect Contract Services, and may not sell unapproved offerings. The consumer journey starts with an Academic Evaluation and moves to a personalized plan, instruction, and progress communication through the Huntington Method.

Required

Learning Center Service

In-person tutoring at the Premises in reading, phonics, study skills, mathematics, and related areas. It uses an Academic Evaluation, parent conference, and individualized instruction, normally at a 1-to-1 or up to 4-to-1 ratio. See the official K–12 tutoring services.

Required

Subject Tutoring

In-person tutoring in junior-high and high-school subjects, college mathematics and science, and other subjects Huntington specifies. It uses a parent consultation and 1-to-1 instruction under the Brand Standards Manual and approved curricula.

Required

Test Prep

Preparation for state and standardized entrance examinations, including the SAT and ACT, plus other approved exams. The official Test Prep program page shows the current consumer-facing exam menu; the FDD controls what a franchisee is authorized or required to deliver.

Optional channel

Contract Services

Tutoring or Test Prep paid fully or partly by an approved Public Entity. Delivery may occur at the Premises, the Public Entity’s location, or online. The franchisee finds opportunities, contracts, obtains Huntington approval, and bears performance responsibility. See official school and community partnerships.

Format difference

A MicroSchool is not the standard HLC format. It requires a MicroSchool Amendment, separate accreditation, a Syllabus, in-person instruction, and additional regulatory compliance. The 2026 FDD contains inconsistent grade descriptions: Item 1 says grades 2–8, while the MicroSchool Amendment defines kindergarten through grade 8. Current permitted grades should be confirmed in writing.

Customer-to-service flow

How does work move through the center?

The Brand Standards Manual separates initial inquiry, Academic Evaluation, Initial Conference, Interim Conference, and program completion; LCOS and eCenter connect the commercial and instructional records.

Generate and capture an inquiry

Actor
Franchisee, CoOp, brand funds, and Call Center agents.
Action
Run approved local marketing; receive phone, website, referral, and campaign responses.
System/asset
eve marketing portal, MCP, official center page, 800 CAN LEARN, Call Center, LCOS.
Output
Inquiry data and, when qualified, a scheduled Academic Evaluation.

Assess the student

Actor
Trained center test administrator; Virtual Testing if and when introduced.
Action
Conduct approved assessments and record strengths, weaknesses, test results, and needs.
System/asset
Testing Materials and Curricula, student testing folders, LCOS, eCenter.
Output
Evaluation record and information required for the Initial Conference.

Conference and enroll

Actor
Primary Owner or trained full-time staff, supported by Coaching or Virtual Conferencing.
Action
Explain results, recommend an approved program, discuss schedule and payment, and enroll.
System/asset
Conference Services Standards, LCOS, approved forms, curricula prescription.
Output
Enrolled student, personalized plan, billing setup, and tutoring schedule.

Deliver instruction

Actor
Employee teachers and tutors meeting Huntington qualification and training standards.
Action
Provide Learning Center Service, Subject Tutoring, or Test Prep in-center, online, or hybrid.
System/asset
Proprietary programs, eCurricula, Video Chat Software, Chromebooks, tablets, approved materials.
Output
Attendance, completed lessons, instructional records, and progress data.

Manage progress and retention

Actor
Primary Owner, trained staff, teachers, parents, and—with permission—school personnel.
Action
Review progress, hold Interim Conferences, adjust the plan, and manage completion or re-enrollment.
System/asset
LCOS, eCenter, progress reports, MCP client and referral campaigns.
Output
Updated plan, parent communication, follow-up, and next service decision.

Bill, report, and preserve records

Actor
Franchisee and designated accounting personnel.
Action
Record billing, payments, attendance, receivables, revenue, expenses, and required reports.
System/asset
LCOS, QuickBooks Essentials, Core Payroll, ProfitKeeper, daily LCOS backup.
Output
Operational records, financial reports, royalty basis, and audit-ready data.

Evidence: 2026 FDD Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 15, and 19; Franchise Agreement definitions and Section 8; Huntington Manuals, Volume 5. Official operational context: in-person and online tutoring.

People and accountability

Who performs each function?

The franchisee controls employment decisions within Huntington’s qualification rules. Every worker must be an employee, not an independent contractor. Teachers need a bachelor’s degree, required Huntington training, and either state certification or Huntington certification for Learning Center instruction.

Franchisee and Primary Owner
  • Manage marketing, sales, enrollment, operations, personnel, maintenance, and local compliance.
  • Hire, compensate, schedule, supervise, and discharge employees.
  • Maintain the Premises, technology, insurance, books, reports, and customer obligations.
  • Research and contract with approved Public Entities for optional Contract Services.
Huntington Learning Centers, Inc.
  • Licenses the Huntington System, Marks, LCOS, eCenter, curricula, and Training and Technology Services.
  • Provides Call Center, Conference Services, operating advice, training, marketing portal, and Help Desk.
  • Sets Brand Standards, service menu, teacher standards, approved inputs, and technology requirements.
  • Accesses data, reviews reports, conducts audits, and requires correction of deficiencies.
Required third parties
  • Designated Vendors supply electronic tests, advertising, curricula, accounting, and payroll inputs.
  • Intuit provides required QuickBooks Essentials and Core Payroll; ProfitKeeper receives selected data.
  • Middle States Association accreditation applies to HLCs and separately to an approved MicroSchool.
  • CoOps coordinate local-area advertising under their bylaws and Huntington’s geographic rules.
Owner participation

The FDD does not describe the model as absentee or semi-absentee. For the first two full years, the Primary Owner must work full-time, year-round during all open hours and may not hold another job. After that period, the Primary Owner remains responsible for managing the Franchised Business; the FDD does not specify a standard manager-run structure or staffing count.

Evidence: 2026 FDD Items 8, 11, and 15; Franchise Agreement Sections 8.4 and 8.5. Official support description: training, technology, Call Center, coaching, and franchise business consulting.

Mandatory operating infrastructure

Which systems, suppliers, and assets are required?

Huntington is the sole approved supplier, as of the FDD date, for Training and Technology Services, Call Center, Conference Services, certain curricula and student materials, and the Start-up Package. Designated Vendors control electronic testing, advertising, eCurricula, accounting, and payroll.

Student and center operations
LCOS + eCenter

Required proprietary Software supports inquiries, scheduling, student information, evaluations, instruction, attendance, billing, cash receipts, accounts receivable, curricula management, and management reports.

Lead handling and enrollment support
Call Center + Conference Services

Call Center agents answer routed inquiries and attempt to schedule Academic Evaluations. Conference Services provides Coaching and Virtual Conferencing for Initial Conferences. Both are mandatory under the 2026 agreement.

Accounting and reporting
QuickBooks Essentials + Core Payroll + ProfitKeeper

The franchisee must use Huntington’s chart of accounts, connect QuickBooks to ProfitKeeper, and maintain records that support reporting and audit rights.

Hardware and connectivity
IT Start-up Package + primary and backup Internet

Required categories include computers, monitors, Chromebooks, tablets, printers, firewall, wireless access, security and charging equipment, virus protection, cameras, telecommunications, and daily LCOS backup.

Technology requirement

Huntington may modify Software, eCurricula, hardware, telephone systems, the Platform, and Added Software without contractual limits on frequency, extent, or cost. The FDD says an AI-avatar Platform was planned for 2026 and Virtual Testing for 2026 or 2027; each becomes mandatory when introduced. Current deployment status and specifications require confirmation.

Demand, territory, and control

What does Huntington control, and what remains a franchisee decision?

The franchisee executes locally, while Huntington controls the licensed operating envelope. Marketing must use approved materials and remain within the applicable CoOp area or Territory. The official consumer website supplies each center page; the franchisee maintains it but may not operate another Marks-based website.

Huntington controls or may change

  • Required and prohibited services, products, curricula, testing materials, and suppliers.
  • Brand Standards, Huntington Manuals, prices or price limits where legally permitted, and operating hours.
  • Technology, data access, required upgrades, official websites, Call Center routing, and marketing approvals.
  • Site approval, relocation, Exclusive Area dimensions, quality audits, reporting, and deficiency correction.

Franchisee decides within those rules

  • Whom to hire, employee pay, schedules, supervision, and local employment practices.
  • How to execute approved local marketing and manage inquiries, conferences, instruction, and follow-up.
  • Whether to pursue Contract Services and which Public Entities to approach, subject to approval.
  • Which compliant vendors to use in unrestricted categories and whether to request an alternative supplier review.
Territory limit

A New Franchisee receives an Exclusive Area with a radius between zero and three miles; zero is expressly possible. Exclusivity does not cover eTutoring, Contract Services with Public Entities, national digital marketing, Call Center lead handling, national accounts, technology, or specified remote services. Huntington and affiliates reserve broad rights to sell educational products and services through other channels inside the area.

A franchisee with an Exclusive Area may solicit within its CoOp area; an older Territory limits solicitation to that Territory. Huntington Services occur at the Premises, while eTutoring and Contract Services follow separate U.S.-location rules. Home Tutoring is excluded. Exclusive Area continuation is tied to the stated Huntington Services and eTutoring Gross Revenue threshold after the first anniversary.

Evidence: 2026 FDD Items 11, 12, and 16; Franchise Agreement Sections 8, 10, and 12. Official channel context: online tutoring and the official franchise FAQ.

System footprint

What does Item 20 show about the operating network?

Item 20 shows a predominantly franchised U.S. network and a declining outlet count over the three reported year-ends. The chart uses mutually compatible end-of-year counts and separates franchised HLCs from Company-Owned Centers operated by the affiliate Huntington Learning Corporation.

End-of-year U.S. center count, 2023–2025
Franchised Businesses and Company-Owned Centers; fiscal year-end December 31
0 100 200 300 273 6 2023 Total 279 260 4 2024 Total 264 243 2 2025 Total 245
Franchised Businesses Company-Owned Centers
The reported network ended 2025 with 34 fewer centers than at the end of 2023, while remaining almost entirely franchised.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 20, Table 20.1, pages 47–48. Reconciliation: 273 + 6 = 279; 260 + 4 = 264; 243 + 2 = 245.

Buyer verification

Which operating questions remain unresolved?

The FDD does not disclose a standard headcount, wage structure, shift pattern, teacher utilization rate, or post-year-two management design. Several technology changes were planned rather than confirmed as live.

1
Current technology status. Confirm whether the Platform, Virtual Testing, or Added Software is operational, mandatory, and fully priced for the specific center.
2
Post-year-two owner role. Ask what management structure Huntington will approve after the full-time Primary Owner period and which duties remain personal to that Owner.
3
Territory map and lead routing. Obtain the exact Exclusive Area radius, CoOp boundary, neighboring HLCs, digital-lead rules, and current Call Center routing logic.
4
Staffing reality. Validate the required mix of full-time staff, test administrators, and employee teachers against current franchisee schedules; the FDD gives qualifications but no standard headcount.
5
Optional formats. Resolve the MicroSchool grade-range inconsistency and verify accreditation, Syllabus, facility, calendar, and local private-school requirements before treating it as an available operating path.
Operating-model synthesis

What is the practical operating conclusion?

The central customer and revenue mechanism is enrollment into paid tutoring or Test Prep, funded primarily by families and optionally by approved Public Entities. The franchisee’s most important responsibility is converting evaluations into well-run instruction through qualified employees while maintaining customer, financial, and instructional records.

The strongest dependency is Huntington’s control of the service menu, Brand Standards, Call Center, Conference Services, curricula, LCOS/eCenter, supplier categories, data access, and required technology changes. The main territory distinction is that an Exclusive Area protects only limited physical-center rights and excludes major digital, public-pay, national-account, and alternative-distribution channels. The largest operational unknown is the staffing and management model Huntington will approve after the Primary Owner’s first two full-time years.