How long do you have to open a Huntington Learning Center?
A New Franchisee must open within 270 days after the Agreement Date. A one-time extension of at most 90 days is discretionary and requires a release; it is not an automatic right. Seven HLCs opened in 2022–2025 averaged 7.0 months, with a 4.1–11.8 month range, so the historical sample is context rather than an opening promise.
What must an applicant qualify for before an award?
Huntington’s current franchise FAQ states minimum liquidity of $110,000 and minimum net worth of $200,000. Those are public qualification gates, not promises of approval, and the page does not specify whether they are measured per signer or across an ownership group. The franchisor retains discretion to stop discussions or decline an award at any stage.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 1 pp. 1–4 and Item 15 p. 36; official franchise application requirements.
What happens between inquiry, approval and signing?
The official discovery sequence describes inquiry, an introductory call, a confidential application, FDD review, conversations with franchise owners and Team Huntington Day. These are separate from contractual approval: completing discovery does not require Huntington to award a franchise.
Before signing or paying Huntington or an affiliate, the prospect must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days in advance. Under the FTC Franchise Rule, the count starts the day after delivery and signing or payment can occur on day 15. This is not a business-day rule or the total application timeline. A franchisor-initiated material change to the disclosed agreements can trigger a separate seven-calendar-day review period under the FTC’s compliance guidance.
At signing, a New Franchisee executes the Franchise Agreement and relevant exhibits, verifies the Site Selection Area, entity and ownership data, and provides required Owner and Guarantor signatures. The 2026 FDD states that $104,707 is payable to Huntington at signing for a standard new unit, including the $42,000 initial franchise fee; the initial franchise fee is fully earned and nonrefundable. State financial-assurance conditions can alter timing in particular states.
FDD receipt is disclosure, not approval. Team Huntington Day is a discovery event, not the Franchise Agreement. Site Selection Area language is signed before an approved Premises establishes the Exclusive Area. Payment, agreement execution and the Agreement Date must be tracked separately because the Agreement Date starts the 90-day and 270-day clocks.
What is the evidence-based opening sequence?
The sequence below follows the New Franchise dependencies disclosed in the 2026 FDD and Franchise Agreement. Several workstreams can overlap, but site control, approved plans, training, insurance and local approvals can each block opening.
How do site selection, lease approval and territory rights differ?
Before signing, Huntington and the prospect agree on a Site Selection Area: a one-mile-radius circle centered on an agreed address. After signing, the franchisee identifies the Premises and sends the requested site information. The standard Premises must be at least 1,200 usable square feet, not residential or month-to-month, and meet disclosed access, floor, bathroom, signage, parking and single-use criteria.
Huntington’s approval confirms that the proposed Premises meets its standards; it does not review the lease for the franchisee’s benefit. The Exclusive Area is a separate contract concept, and national digital marketing, eTutoring, Contract Services and other reserved channels can remain nonexclusive.
The franchisee hires the licensed architect, adapts Huntington’s prototype specifications, secures permits and pays the landlord, architect, contractor and licensing expenses. The public market-availability page does not publish guaranteed territories; availability and the actual Exclusive Area must be verified in the signed exhibits.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 11 pp. 23–24 and Item 12 pp. 31–33; Franchise Agreement §§4.1–4.4, pp. 15–17.
What training and personal participation are required?
The Primary Owner must be a natural person who owns an interest in the Franchisee, speaks English, manages the Franchised Business and completes Franchisee Initial Training before a New Franchise opens. For the first two full years after opening the first center at the Premises, that Primary Owner must work full-time, year-round during all open hours and cannot hold another full- or part-time job.
The 2026 FDD describes FIT as FIT-1 for one week, FIT-2 for two weeks and FIT-3 for two weeks through the Online Training Facility, totaling 147 hours. Full-time staff must attend Huntington Initial Training. Teachers must hold a bachelor’s degree from an accredited four-year college; teacher training is due before the earlier of 90 days after hire or performing any Huntington activity, with state certification or Huntington teacher certification required for Learning Center teachers.
The official support page markets “three weeks of training,” while the detailed 2026 FDD identifies three FIT components spanning five scheduled weeks and 147 hours. For the opening obligation, the current FDD and signed Franchise Agreement control; confirm the actual calendar, attendees and completion standard in writing.
What must be installed, obtained and verified before operations begin?
Huntington supplies specifications and designated or approved sources, but the franchisee buys, installs and uses the required fixtures, furnishings, signage, equipment, software, technology, curricula, testing materials and opening supplies. The Start-up Package includes marketing, educational and IT components; delivery does not transfer installation, site or permit responsibility to Huntington.
The 2026 FDD does not identify a separate document formally titled an “opening authorization.” The defensible readiness test is completion of the disclosed prerequisites: written Premises and plan approvals, compliant buildout, training, insurance, required systems, qualified staff and applicable governmental approvals.
Which clocks can delay or default the opening?
The site clock expires far earlier than the opening clock, so a lease delay can create default-fee exposure even while buildout time remains.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11 p. 23; Franchise Agreement §§4.3 and 4.5, pp. 16–17. Extensions are one-time, discretionary, and conditioned on a signed release where lawful.
If the lease or opening deadline is missed after any granted extension, the Franchise Agreement allows a non-monetary default fee after written notice for each day the failure continues. Item 17 also lists failure to locate a Premises, sign a lease or open within the required time as a default that can support termination. An extension request is therefore not a substitute for written approval.
Track the Agreement Date, not the applicant’s inquiry date, Team Huntington Day or the date the applicant signs. The FDD defines Agreement Date as the date Huntington signs the Franchise Agreement. The lease, opening and extension records should identify that trigger expressly.
How do transfers, additional centers and MicroSchools differ?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a Development Agreement or Area Development Agreement for a new multi-unit schedule. Additional centers are governed through separate Franchise Agreements, with a management plan required before acquisition and multi-center training if Huntington is offering it.
| Path | Agreement structure | Opening-process difference |
|---|---|---|
| New Franchise | Franchise Agreement and exhibits | 90-day Premises clock; 270-day opening clock; Primary Owner completes FIT before opening. |
| Transfer or company-center acquisition | Transfer Franchise under the current Franchise Agreement form | Existing Premises is required by Agreement Date; operation begins on the effective date; Primary Owner FIT is due within 90 days. |
| Additional center | Separate Franchise Agreement for each center | Advance management plan and any offered multi-center training; do not assume one agreement creates development rights. |
| MicroSchool | MicroSchool Amendment for an Existing Franchisee | Operates within an existing Premises; requires separate MSA accreditation and private-school regulatory compliance. |
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 1, 5, 11 and 15; Franchise Agreement §§4.3, 4.5 and 7.2; MicroSchool Amendment.
Who controls each opening dependency?
Huntington provides defined assistance and approvals, but the Franchise Agreement places the Premises, lease, financing, buildout, employment and local-compliance burden on the franchisee. Third-party timing remains outside both parties’ direct control.
What should be verified before the Agreement Date starts the clocks?
What is the verified Huntington Learning Center opening path?
The verified New Franchise path is application and discretionary qualification, current-FDD review, signing and payment, approved Premises, lease or acquisition, approved design and buildout, FIT and staffing, insurance and local approvals, then commencement of operations.
The total timeline is an official contractual deadline: 270 days after the Agreement Date, not a promised completion estimate. The most important applicant-controlled dependency is securing an approved Premises and lease within 90 days. The most important external dependency is coordinated approval by Huntington, the landlord, professionals, suppliers and government authorities. Before signing, verify the exact Agreement Date trigger, territory exhibits and the conditions for any discretionary extension.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Huntington Learning Center Franchise?
- How Does the Huntington Learning Center Franchise Work?
- How Does the Huntington Learning Center Franchise Work?
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Huntington Learning Center Franchise?
- How Much Does a Huntington Learning Center Franchise Owner Make?