How Does the Fleet Feet Triathlete Franchise Work?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Operating model

How does the Fleet Feet franchise operate after opening?

The 2026 U.S. FDD licenses one format: a Fleet Feet brick-and-mortar specialty running store. The franchisee staffs and manages the unit, buys approved inventory, delivers fit id® outfitting and training programs, records transactions in RICS POS, and markets locally. Fleet Feet, Incorporated controls products, brand standards, territory protections, technology, data access, and online channels; FFS Digital, LLC controls e-commerce.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Fleet Feet, Incorporated. The April 2, 2026 U.S. FDD covers one Fleet Feet brick-and-mortar retail format and does not disclose a separate “Fleet Feet Triathlete” format. Evidence comes from Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19, and 20, the Franchise Agreement, and the Fulfillment Service Provider Agreement.

Item 20 data ends December 31, 2025. Official pages, including the Fleet Feet U.S. franchise page, were checked July 26, 2026. Contractual FDD terms control conflicts.

Source: 2026 Fleet Feet FDD, issuance page; Item 1 (1–4); Item 20 (54–60); Exhibits A and K. No official public FDD link was verified.

1Disclosed store formatBrick-and-mortar specialty running retail.
+8Net outlets in 2025System total rose from 275 to 283.
≈200KTerritory populationSubject to a 25-mile radius cap.
Full-timeOn-site managerMust be identified and trained or waived.
≈100%Approved inventoryFDD estimate for initial and continuing inventory.
Offering and demand

What does the store sell, and who buys it?

The unit sells authorized specialty running footwear, apparel, accessories, training programs, and related services. Demand comes from runners, walkers, competitive athletes, fitness consumers, families, and people seeking comfortable footwear for work or daily activity; the sale is normally completed inside the accepted retail store.

Personalized outfittingThe official fit id® Outfitting Experience combines an Outfitter interview, 3D measurements, optional Dynamic Pressure Mapping, and footwear or gear recommendations.
Retail merchandiseThe franchisee carries approved footwear, apparel, accessories, and designated items. Fleet Feet may add, remove, recall, or require products and set inventory or launch rules.
Training programsOfficial Fleet Feet training programs cover goals such as 5K, half marathon, marathon, triathlon, specialty, and youth programs, subject to local availability.
Community channelsStores may use group runs, races, sponsorships, medical outreach, workplace fitting, and events. The official consumer overview identifies local owners, managers, employees, and Outfitters.

The FDD does not prescribe a mix among merchandise, training, events, and e-commerce-related payments. Gross Sales includes merchandise, services, race revenue, training-class revenue, and authorized event sales; Item 19 excludes online revenue-sharing payments from reported store sales.

Source: 2026 FDD, Items 1 (1–4), 6 (11–18), 16 (44–45), 19 (51–54); Franchise Agreement §§7.2, 7.4 (Exhibit A, 18–20).

Customer workflow

How does work move through a Fleet Feet unit?

The cycle links community demand to in-store assessment, approved product or program selection, POS capture, fulfillment, and follow-up. FFS Digital separately handles online checkout and may route orders to an approved franchisee for shipping or pickup.

Stage 1 · Generate demand

Local outreach and brand channels

Actor
Franchisee, store team, Fleet Feet marketing, local partners.
Action
Run approved local marketing, events, training promotions, referrals, and community programs.
Required system or asset
Approved materials, official Online Presence, local store page, accepted retail site.
Output
Store visit, fitting request, program inquiry, or online order.
Stage 2 · Assess needs

Outfitter interview and fit id®

Actor
Sales staff or Outfitter.
Action
Discuss goals and discomfort, take 3D foot measurements, and where available observe movement through pressure mapping.
Required system or asset
fit id® scanner, software subscription, product knowledge, fitting area.
Output
A fit profile and a narrowed recommendation set.
Stage 3 · Select the solution

Merchandise or program choice

Actor
Customer and store team; coach or program staff when applicable.
Action
Try approved footwear and gear or enroll in an authorized training program. Apply required promotions, return rules, and product restrictions.
Required system or asset
Approved inventory, program schedule, pricing rules, Brand Standards Manual.
Output
Chosen products or confirmed program enrollment.
Stage 4 · Record the transaction

Checkout, inventory, and customer data

Actor
Store employee under franchisee supervision.
Action
Process payment, gift cards, rewards, discounts, and receipts while updating inventory and customer history.
Required system or asset
RICS POS, approved payment terminal, gift-card program, designated forms.
Output
Completed sale, updated inventory, and Franchised Business Data.
Stage 5 · Fulfill or deliver

Product handoff, training, or online fulfillment

Actor
Store team, coaches or mentors, or a Fulfillment Service Provider.
Action
Hand off retail purchases, deliver training, or pick, pack, ship, and support an assigned FFS Digital order.
Required system or asset
Inventory, insurance, packaging, shipping standards, Online Store instructions.
Output
Product delivered, session completed, or online order shipped or picked up.
Stage 6 · Close the cycle

Returns, support, reporting, and replenishment

Actor
Franchisee and unit team; Fleet Feet or FFS Digital when applicable.
Action
Resolve returns, preserve records, review POS reports, replenish inventory, and submit monthly records.
Required system or asset
RICS reporting, Customer List, return standards, supplier accounts.
Output
Closed issue, customer data, replenishment order, and system reporting.

Source: 2026 FDD, Items 1 (1–4), 6 (11–18), 8 (21–25), 11 (27–36), 16 (44–45); Franchise Agreement Article 7 (Exhibit A, 18–31); Exhibit K §§3–4, 8 (2–5).

People and decisions

Who runs the store, and which decisions remain local?

A trained person must supervise the store on-site and full-time. The franchisee controls employment, local execution, and daily safety; Fleet Feet controls operating standards, the authorized offering, suppliers, technology, marketing approvals, and compliance remedies.

Owner participation

Item 15 permits a full-time trained general manager when an owner is not active and does not require manager equity. The official franchise page says Fleet Feet does not franchise with investment or absentee owners. The agreement permits manager-run supervision, while candidate selection favors hands-on owners; expected owner hours require written confirmation.

Franchisee decisions

Employment
Hiring, headcount, wages, benefits, schedules, training, discipline, and termination.
Daily management
Assignments, safety, maintenance, cash handling, inventory execution, and customer issues.
Local economics
Prices within Fleet Feet minimum, maximum, promotion, or account rules.

Fleet Feet controls

Brand system
Brand Standards Manual, products, services, promotions, forms, quality checks, and remedial training.
Inputs and channels
Approved suppliers, inventory, Online Presence, e-commerce, Territory, and off-site policy.
Oversight
Inspections, audits, POS access, data ownership, and compliance remedies.

Third-party dependencies

Technology suppliers
RICS POS, fit id®, payment equipment, internet, and designated systems.
Product suppliers
Approved merchandise and service vendors; FFSDC for gift cards.
Programs
FFS Digital for the Online Store; insurers and partners for training and events.

The FDD sets no headcount. Sales staff or Outfitters perform retail work, a full-time general manager may supervise, and training programs may use coaches or mentors. The franchisee chooses employees or contractors, subject to law, insurance, and Fleet Feet standards.

Source: 2026 FDD, Items 11 (27–36), 15 (43–44); Franchise Agreement §§7.4–7.6, 7.9 (Exhibit A, 19–22).

Inputs and information

Which suppliers, systems, and data controls are mandatory?

The store is supplier-restricted and technology-dependent. Operating inputs must come from Fleet Feet, affiliates, approved or designated suppliers, or compliant sources; the franchisee funds maintenance and upgrades while the franchisor retains broad system-access and data rights.

InventoryApproved footwear, apparel, accessories, and required products; minimum levels and launch requirements may change.
Retail systemsRICS POS for orders, sales, inventory management, transaction records, and business reporting.
Fit technologyfit id® 3D scanner, software subscription, and approved fitting procedures.
Shared programsDesignated gift-card supplier, Fleet Feet Milestones standards, approved returns, and required forms.

FFSDC operates the Distribution Center and is the exclusive supplier of Fleet Feet gift cards; other Distribution Center inventory is optional. No purchasing cooperative currently exists. Alternate products, services, or suppliers require discretionary approval, supporting specifications, and a written decision.

Technology requirement

Fleet Feet can require new hardware, software, cloud services, communications tools, security systems, and upgrades without a contractual timing or frequency limit. It may access computer systems remotely, potentially 24/7, and use Franchised Business Data and Customer List information; employee records remain locally controlled.

Customer records must use designated systems. The franchisee has a limited license to use Franchised Business Data and must follow Fleet Feet policies, PCI-DSS, privacy laws, breach-notification rules, and audits. The Fleet Feet Milestones page connects fit id® profiles, purchase history, rewards, the website, and the app.

Source: 2026 FDD, Items 8 (21–25), 11 (29–36); Franchise Agreement §§7.11–7.15 (Exhibit A, 22–31).

Territory and channels

How do store rights, off-site sales, and e-commerce interact?

The Territory protects the accepted site from another Fleet Feet-branded brick-and-mortar store, but it is not an exclusive market. Customer movement, internet sales, alternative channels, affiliate brands, and the separate Online DMA remain outside that narrow physical-site protection.

Accepted retail storeThe franchisee may sell to any visitor. The store appears in the Fleet Feet location network, and another Fleet Feet brick-and-mortar store cannot be placed inside the protected Territory while the franchisee complies.
Authorized off-site eventsCurrent policy permits approved sales at races or expos inside the Territory. There is no general right to market, solicit, or sell outside it, and Fleet Feet can change the policy.
FFS Digital Online StoreFFS Digital controls catalog, inventory mix, online pricing, checkout, payments, sales tax, and shipping expense. The Online DMA may differ from the Territory and can change or end.
Fulfillment Service ProviderA selected franchisee may pick, pack, ship, support, or provide pickup for assigned orders. FFS Digital may appoint competing providers in the same locality and terminate the Exhibit K arrangement.

Qualifying website purchases may be returned nationally or at a store under the Fleet Feet returns policy. This does not create an independent franchisee internet-sales right: FFS Digital controls online selling, and the store performs only authorized fulfillment roles.

Source: 2026 FDD, Items 12 (37–39), 16 (44–45); Franchise Agreement §§4.4, 5.8, 7.19; Exhibit K §§1–6 (1–4).

System footprint

What does Item 20 show about the operating network?

At December 31, 2025, Item 20 reported 283 U.S. outlets: 197 franchised and 86 company-owned. Item 1 clarifies that affiliates, rather than Fleet Feet, Incorporated itself, own and operate the company-owned stores, so the network combines independent franchisees with a material affiliate-operated base.

U.S. outlet composition
Item 20 reporting date: December 31, 2025
283 total outlets
Franchised197 · 69.6%
Company-owned86 · 30.4%
The network is majority franchised, while Fleet Feet affiliates operate roughly three in ten outlets.

Source: 2026 Fleet Feet FDD, Item 20, Table 1, p. 54. Calculation: 197 ÷ 283 = 69.6%; 86 ÷ 283 = 30.4%; counts reconcile to 283 and percentages reconcile to 100.0% after rounding.

From 2023 through 2025, franchised outlets increased from 167 to 197, while company-owned outlets moved from 87 to 86. During 2025, Item 20 recorded 12 franchised openings and five company-owned additions through openings or reacquisitions, alongside specified terminations, closures, and other cessations.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 20, Tables 1, 3, and 4 (54–59).

Buyer verification

Which operating questions still require written confirmation?

The FDD does not disclose store headcount, shift structure, the current mandatory SKU list, local training labor, the technology schedule, or whether a new unit will receive e-commerce fulfillment. Those points materially change daily work and require market-specific verification.

1
Owner-time expectationConfirm any weekly owner-hours rule beyond Item 15’s full-time trained-manager clause.
2
Current supplier fileObtain approved, designated, and exclusive suppliers; mandatory inventory; stock minimums; recalls; and alternate-source rules.
3
Technology baselineConfirm RICS POS, fit id®, payment, gift-card, security, integration, support, and upgrade requirements.
4
Territory and Online DMARequest both maps and written rules for races, expos, workplace fitting, medical outreach, and cross-territory activity.
5
E-commerce roleDetermine expected Fulfillment Service Provider status, service levels, routing, pickup, returns, and current fee schedule.
6
Training-program staffingVerify required programs, coach or mentor supervision, participant capacity, and insurance.
7
Manual changesReview the current 45-page Brand Standards Manual and its retail, marketing, e-commerce, fit id®, inventory, data, and quality updates.
Synthesis

What is the central operating-model conclusion?

Fleet Feet converts local demand into merchandise sales and training-program enrollment through staffed, technology-assisted retail. The franchisee must operate the accepted store, supervise the team, maintain approved inventory, and execute fit id®. Fleet Feet’s strongest controls cover suppliers, systems, data, products, and online channels. Territory protection applies to another Fleet Feet brick-and-mortar site, not the Online DMA. The largest open question is the exact owner-time, staffing, and fulfillment model for the proposed unit.