That is a defensible independent manager-run scenario range for a U.S. Fleet Feet brick-and-mortar store, before financing interest and principal and before personal income taxes. The central analytical case is approximately $123,000. Fleet Feet's 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports Gross Sales, not store profit or owner compensation, so none of these earnings figures is an official Item 19 result.
Legal franchisor: FLEET FEET, INCORPORATED, a North Carolina corporation. Item 19 status: the 2026 FDD discloses 2025 Gross Sales for mature franchisee-owned and affiliate-owned stores, plus first-year Gross Sales for small new-store cohorts; it does not disclose cost of sales, operating expenses, royalties, advertising fees, store profit, EBITDA, Net Income, Owner Compensation, or cash flow. Applicable offer: a single-unit Fleet Feet brick-and-mortar specialty running and fitness retail store. The FDD does not identify a separate “Fleet Feet Triathlete” franchise format. Benchmark: Hibbett, Inc. fiscal 2024 operating margin and U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics retail-supervisor wage data. Date checked: July 14, 2026.
FDD-anchored scenario estimate: official Fleet Feet revenue anchors, FDD recurring-fee facts, and an external operating-margin proxy.
The current FDD provides a broad mature-store sales cohort but no same-brand expense or profit statement, making the operating margin the largest unresolved modeling input.
2025 franchisee-owned stores open at least 24 months; 167 stores reported.
Hibbett fiscal 2024 operating income as a percentage of net sales; not Fleet Feet economics.
4% royalty plus the currently stated 0.25% Marketing Fund contribution.
The Item 19 franchisee-owned cohort used for the mature-store revenue distribution.
May 2023 annual mean wage for first-line retail supervisors in shoe retailers; benefits are not included.
What does Fleet Feet Item 19 actually measure?
Officially, Item 19 measures Gross Sales—not owner earnings. For calendar 2025, the 2026 FDD reports results for franchisee-owned stores that had been open at least 24 months as of December 31, 2025. The applicable population is the mature U.S. Fleet Feet brick-and-mortar format, and the franchisee-owned cohort contains 167 reporting stores.
The FDD defines Gross Sales for this table as average annual store sales excluding sales tax and excluding online sales transacted through FFS Digital's revenue-sharing program. Item 19 expressly says the results do not reflect cost of sales, operating expenses, royalties, advertising fees, or other costs. Therefore, the median of $1,552,312 and average of $1,687,240 are revenue measures, not salary, cash flow, EBITDA, or distributions.
| Official Item 19 statistic | 2025 Gross Sales | Population | Interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| 25th percentile | $1,056,898 | 167 stores | One-quarter of the cohort was at or below this sales level. |
| Median | $1,552,312 | 167 stores | The middle reported mature franchisee-owned store. |
| Average | $1,687,240 | 167 stores | 46% of the cohort exceeded the average, showing that the mean is not the midpoint store. |
| 75th percentile | $2,084,607 | 167 stores | One-quarter of the cohort was at or above this sales level. |
Source: Fleet Feet 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pages 51–52. Gross Sales are historical store revenue and exclude the costs required to produce those sales.
Does Item 19 show a first-year earnings figure?
No; the official first-year disclosure is also Gross Sales only. For stores opened during 2023 or 2024, Item 19 reports a $624,164 median for eight new franchisee-owned single-unit locations and a $727,505 median for 16 new franchisee-owned locations opened by multi-unit operators. Conversions were excluded. These small cohorts describe first-year revenue, not first-year profit, and should not be blended with the mature-store earnings scenarios.
How is the annual owner-earnings range calculated?
The estimated manager-run range is calculated by multiplying official mature-store revenue quartiles by a benchmark operating-margin sensitivity band. The Conservative scenario uses Fleet Feet's 25th-percentile revenue and a 4.9% margin; the Base scenario uses median revenue and a 7.9% margin; the Upside scenario uses 75th-percentile revenue and a 10.9% margin. The revenue points are official 2025 Item 19 observations. The margins are independent analytical assumptions for a mature store, not FDD-reported Fleet Feet margins or probabilities.
- Revenue anchors are not forecasts.The 25th percentile, median, and 75th percentile describe the 2025 mature franchisee-owned distribution. They do not assign probabilities to a new buyer's result.
- The 7.9% margin is an external proxy.Hibbett, Inc. reported a 7.9% operating margin for the fiscal year ended February 3, 2024. Hibbett was a much larger company-operated athletic footwear, apparel, and equipment retailer, so its economics are directionally relevant but not directly comparable to one franchised Fleet Feet store.
- The margin band is editorial sensitivity.The 4.9% and 10.9% margins are the 7.9% proxy minus and plus three percentage points. This tests how a modest margin change compounds with lower or higher Item 19 revenue.
- Franchise fees are not subtracted twice.Because the benchmark is an all-in operating margin, the model assumes Fleet Feet's recurring royalty, Marketing Fund contribution, and normal store costs are embedded within the scenario margin. Actual Fleet Feet expense ratios could be higher or lower.
| Scenario | Revenue anchor | Margin assumption | Manager-run owner earnings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $1,056,898 | 4.9% | $51,788 |
| Base | $1,552,312 | 7.9% | $122,633 |
| Upside | $2,084,607 | 10.9% | $227,222 |
Estimated annual pre-tax owner earnings for a mature store, before financing interest and principal and before personal income taxes.
Interpretation: revenue position and operating margin interact. The range does not imply that $122,633 is the most likely result; it is the central analytical case tied to the official median revenue and the external benchmark margin.
Sources: Fleet Feet 2026 FDD, Item 19, pages 51–52; Hibbett fiscal 2024 Form 10-K. Calculations: $1,056,898 × 4.9%; $1,552,312 × 7.9%; $2,084,607 × 10.9%. Rounded to the nearest dollar.
How does owner involvement change the result?
As an independent owner-role scenario, active owner operation can increase the owner's total economic benefit by replacing part of a paid manager's labor, but it does not automatically increase store profit. Item 15 of the 2026 FDD encourages personal owner supervision but permits the business to be managed on-site and full-time by a trained general manager who does not own equity. The FDD also warns that an owner who does not devote full-time effort may experience lower sales and higher costs.
For an owner-operator illustration, this analysis adds $43,040 to each manager-run residual. That figure is the May 2023 BLS annual mean wage for First-Line Supervisors of Retail Sales Workers in shoe retailers. It is a labor-value proxy, not a Fleet Feet salary requirement, and it excludes employer benefits. The resulting figure is labeled estimated owner-operator benefit because it combines residual business earnings with compensation for work performed.
| Scenario | Manager-run residual | Owner labor value | Owner-operator benefit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | $51,788 | +$43,040 | $94,828 |
| Base | $122,633 | +$43,040 | $165,673 |
| Upside | $227,222 | +$43,040 | $270,262 |
Each horizontal bar separates estimated manager-run residual from the $43,040 owner labor-value proxy.
Interpretation: the owner-operator increment is compensation for management work, not passive business profit. A local market may require higher pay, benefits, bonuses, or a more experienced manager than the BLS shoe-retailer average.
Sources: Fleet Feet 2026 FDD, Item 15, page 43; BLS May 2023 wage profile for First-Line Supervisors of Retail Sales Workers, including the shoe-retailer industry estimate.
Which FDD fees can materially affect earnings?
The clearest recurring percentage burden is the 4% Royalty Fee plus the currently stated 0.25% Marketing Fund contribution. These official 2026 FDD rates apply to Gross Sales, so they rise automatically with revenue. At the $1,552,312 mature-store median, 4.25% equals approximately $65,973 before any other recurring fees, but this is a fee illustration—not an additional deduction from the scenario results because the all-in operating margin already assumes normal operating costs.
- Royalty Fee — 4% of Gross Sales.Official recurring FDD obligation. It is payable even when a store's other expenses produce little or no owner residual.
- Marketing Fund — currently 0.25% of Gross Sales.The 2026 FDD permits the rate to rise to 2%, which would reduce the operating margin if no offsetting sales or expense improvement occurred.
- E-Commerce Fee — currently $100 per month.The FDD also states a current 7% commission on qualifying e-commerce sales and permits higher monthly fee levels within the disclosed maximum.
- Technology Fee — currently not collected.The FDD permits up to $1,000 per month, creating a future cost sensitivity that is not reflected as a separately modeled current charge.
- Initial investment is not an annual expense.The FDD's $352,000 to $651,500 initial investment range belongs to Item 7. It should not be subtracted from one year of Gross Sales to estimate annual profit.
Sources: Fleet Feet 2026 FDD, Items 6 and 7, pages 11–20. The fee illustration uses $1,552,312 × 4.25% = $65,973.26, rounded to the nearest dollar.
What about debt service and taxes?
For the 2026 U.S. single-unit offer, debt service and personal taxes must be modeled separately. Item 10 states that FLEET FEET, INCORPORATED does not offer direct or indirect financing. The scenario earnings figures are before financing interest and principal and before personal income taxes. Interest is also outside the operating-margin benchmark. A buyer's cash available for distributions can therefore be materially lower after loan interest, principal amortization, required reinvestment, and owner-specific tax obligations.
How much confidence should a buyer place in the range?
Confidence is limited, even though the revenue anchors are strong. The 167-store mature franchisee-owned cohort gives a useful sales distribution for 2025, but the current FDD supplies no store-level cost structure or earnings measure. The scenario's most important uncertainty is whether a Fleet Feet store's all-in operating margin resembles the external athletic-retail benchmark after local rent, payroll, inventory shrink, markdowns, royalties, required marketing, and manager compensation.
Item 20 provides some system context: franchised outlets increased from 167 at the start of 2023 to 197 at the end of 2025, while total outlets reached 283. That outlet count does not prove profitability. Openings, transfers, closures, reacquisitions, and confidentiality provisions can affect how representative franchisee interviews and disclosed cohorts are.
| Uncertainty | Why it matters | Evidence treatment |
|---|---|---|
| Store-level gross margin | Product mix, vendor terms, markdowns, and shrink determine how much Gross Sales remains after merchandise cost. | Not disclosed in Item 19. |
| Labor and owner role | A manager-run store bears management payroll; an owner-operator receives labor value but performs the work. | BLS proxy, not a Fleet Feet requirement. |
| Occupancy and local economics | Rent, common-area charges, wage rates, and local demand vary substantially by market. | Buyer-specific verification required. |
| Benchmark comparability | Hibbett was a large company-operated chain, not a single franchised specialty-running store. | External proxy with ±3-point sensitivity. |
| Financing and reinvestment | Interest, principal, remodels, equipment replacement, and working capital reduce distributable cash. | Excluded from the published operating estimate. |
What should a buyer verify before relying on any estimate?
A buyer should replace the external proxy with current Fleet Feet store-level evidence wherever possible. The most useful work is to reconcile actual revenue, gross margin, payroll, occupancy, recurring fees, manager compensation, debt service, and owner hours for stores that match the proposed market and operating model.
- Request Item 19 substantiation.Confirm the exact store list, reporting period, Gross Sales definition, exclusions, and whether the 167-store cohort changed after any amendment.
- Interview comparable franchisees.Prioritize mature single-unit owners in similar rent, wage, climate, and competitive markets; ask separately about revenue, store operating profit, owner salary, distributions, and owner hours.
- Rebuild a store-level income statement.Use product gross margin, payroll burden, occupancy, local advertising, Royalty Fee, Marketing Fund, technology, e-commerce charges, insurance, shrink, and other operating costs.
- Price the owner role explicitly.Compare a qualified manager's local salary, payroll taxes, benefits, and incentives with the owner's expected weekly workload and opportunity cost.
- Separate operating earnings from cash distributions.Add loan interest and principal, capital expenditures, inventory working capital, and reserves after the store-level operating analysis.
- Test the downside below the 25th percentile.The official mature-store range extends below the first quartile; a scenario set is not a floor or guarantee.
What is the strongest decision-useful answer?
The strongest defensible annual range is approximately $52,000 to $227,000 of estimated pre-tax manager-run owner earnings per mature Fleet Feet store, with a central analytical case near $123,000. It is scenario-based, not an official FLEET FEET, INCORPORATED earnings disclosure. An actively operating owner could receive an estimated total economic benefit of roughly $95,000 to $270,000 under the same scenarios, but $43,040 of each owner-operator figure represents a wage proxy for work performed rather than passive profit.
The dominant earnings driver is the interaction between store sales and the all-in operating margin. The largest unresolved uncertainty is Fleet Feet's actual store-level expense structure, which Item 19 does not disclose. Before making a decision, a buyer should verify the current Item 19 substantiation, reconstruct comparable franchisee income statements, distinguish owner salary from distributions, and interview both owner-operated and manager-run franchisees about payroll, occupancy, inventory economics, financing, and weekly owner involvement.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to Fleet Feet and the Fleet Feet Triathlete Franchise?
- How Does the Fleet Feet Triathlete Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Fleet Feet, Fleet Feet Triathlete Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- How Does the Fleet Feet Triathlete Franchise Work?
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Fleet Feet Triathlete Franchise?