How Does Bahama Buck's Original Shaved Ice Company Franchise Work?

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Operating model in one view

Under the 2025 FDD, the core BAHAMA BUCK’S Store is a made-to-order dessert and beverage shop: trained unit employees take retail or digital orders, prepare authorized menu items with specified equipment and proprietary inputs, record the transaction in Revel POS, and hand off through the shop, pickup, delivery, catering, or an approved mobile/satellite channel.

Data basis

Legal franchisor: Bahama Buck’s Franchise Corporation. Evidence basis: U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued July 16, 2025; Items 1, 6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 16, 19 and 20; Franchise Agreement; Mobile/Satellite Sales Amendment; and Operations Manual table of contents. Item 20 ends December 31, 2024. Official pages were checked July 27, 2026. FDD citations are unlinked.

2025 FDD year Issued July 16 for the current U.S. store offer.
60 Fully operational hours Minimum weekly requirement unless the franchisor approves otherwise.
20 Participation hours Minimum weekly retail participation by the approved representative.
30-day Required inventory Minimum supply of specified concentrates and other required inputs.
2 Operating paths Approved retail store, plus optional mobile/satellite sales by amendment.
Offering and demand

What does a Bahama Buck’s unit sell, and who buys it?

The franchised business sells an authorized menu of gourmet shaved ice, island specialties, frozen dessert confections, coffee products and selected logo items to guests at an approved retail location.

The 2025 FDD describes the BAHAMA BUCK’S Store as a refreshment shop with in-store, walk-up and drive-up sales. The current official menu shows Sno®, Island Smoothies, Buck’s Bowls, Açaí Bowls, Bahama Sodas and Red Bull® Infusions, subject to authorization. The Franchise Agreement requires the complete approved menu and caps non-frozen ice dessert and coffee products at 50% of Gross Sales.

The public is called a guest in the Bahama Buck’s system. Item 12 says the brand primarily caters to family units and people under age 54. Bahama Buck’s Catering serves event organizers with party packs, smoothie packs, onsite service and event products. Catering labor and production procedures are not disclosed in the FDD.

Customer-to-reporting flow

How does an order move through the unit?

The disclosed workflow connects approved demand channels to order capture, made-to-order preparation, handoff, replenishment and franchisor reporting.

1

Demand enters the shop

Actor
Guest, franchisee and local marketing team.
Action
The guest visits an order point, orders through the app or website, requests catering, or uses an available delivery channel.
System or asset
Approved site, digital ordering, franchisor-approved advertising and local shop listing.
Output
A retail, pickup, delivery or event order enters the operating queue.
2

Order and payment are recorded

Actor
Avalanche Crew member or the approved digital ordering interface.
Action
The customer selects an authorized item, flavor, topping and add-on; payment or redemption is captured.
System or asset
Required Revel POS, payment processing and Surf Club Rewards where eligible.
Output
A production ticket and transaction record tied to sales, payment and customer data.
3

The product is prepared

Actor
Trained unit employees.
Action
Employees prepare the selected menu item under the Manual’s recipes, production specifications, sanitation and presentation standards.
System or asset
Specified equipment, required menu inputs and Trade Winds Distribution Ice Products.
Output
A completed, brand-standard dessert or beverage ready for handoff.
4

The order is handed off

Actor
Avalanche Crew member, delivery provider or approved mobile/satellite crew.
Action
The product is delivered at the interior counter, walk-up window, drive-through, pickup point, event or delivery handoff.
System or asset
Approved order point, packaging, customer receipt and any required event equipment.
Output
The transaction is completed and available for rewards, reporting and follow-up where applicable.
5

Inventory is replenished

Actor
Franchisee, Designated Representative or Retail Business Manager.
Action
The unit monitors stock, maintains required quantities and orders proprietary products before shortages affect the complete menu.
System or asset
Revel POS inventory functions, Manual thresholds, TWD ordering procedures and approved vendors.
Output
A maintained 30-day supply and continued ability to serve required products.
6

Results are reported and checked

Actor
Franchisee for reporting; Bahama Buck’s for access, review and inspection.
Action
The unit submits Gross Sales and operating reports, keeps records and permits audits, inspections, product sampling and secret-shopper checks.
System or asset
Revel POS server, electronic funds transfer, accounting records and Operations Manual.
Output
Royalty and Advertising Fund calculations, compliance evidence and corrective action when required.

Evidence: 2025 FDD, Items 1, 6, 8 and 11, pp. 1-2, 5-9, 15-19 and 21-26; Franchise Agreement §§ 7-10. Current digital ordering is described on the official Bahama Buck’s app page and the official shop locator.

Owner role and staffing

Can the store be manager-run?

Day-to-day supervision may be assigned to a Retail Business Manager, but the operating model is not disclosed as absentee: an approved Designated Representative remains primarily responsible and must participate in retail operations at least 20 hours each week.

If the franchisee is an entity, it appoints one Designated Representative who must complete initial training, act as the franchisor’s operating contact, devote full-time efforts to growth, promotion and administration, and meet the 20-hour retail participation requirement. Bahama Buck’s must approve that person. The franchisee may appoint a Retail Business Manager, but the franchisee trains the manager and remains responsible for performance.

The FDD does not prescribe a fixed headcount, shift pattern or labor ratio. It requires enough competent, trained employees to operate efficiently and to the System standards. The Operations Manual table of contents includes Staffing & Development, Basics of Scheduling, Level Testing/Trainer’s Guide/Staff Structure, production specifications and employee evaluations, indicating that detailed crew deployment sits in the Manual rather than Item 15.

Owner participation

A manager can supervise the retail business, but cannot replace the approved Designated Representative’s contractual role. A buyer should treat the 20-hour requirement, full-time-efforts language and primary-responsibility clause as concurrent obligations and confirm how Bahama Buck’s applies them to multi-unit ownership.

Responsibilities and dependencies

Who controls each part of the operating system?

The franchisee controls the local employer and daily execution; Bahama Buck’s controls the brand system, menu, specifications, data access and compliance; named suppliers and platforms control critical inputs and transaction infrastructure.

Franchisee

PeopleHires, schedules, pays and trains unit employees; appoints the Designated Representative and Retail Business Manager.
Daily executionMaintains hours, cleanliness, guest service, complete menu availability, inventory, local compliance and site condition.
Local decisionsSets retail prices, selects among permitted payment processors and proposes local advertising, vendors and mobile opportunities.

Bahama Buck’s

System standardsDefines required products, recipes, specifications, order points, operating procedures, signage and approved marketing.
OversightUpdates the Manual, accesses electronic information, audits records, inspects stores and mobile units, and may use secret shoppers.
SupportProvides help-line support, Manual updates, Advertising Fund administration and optional on-site or additional training.

Third parties

Trade Winds DistributionSole source for flavored and sugar-free concentrates, pre-made frozen confections, ice products and designated coffee products.
Revel POSRequired hardware and hosted system for cash register, point of sale, inventory, customer and employee information.
Other providersApproved or specification-compliant vendors, payment processors, delivery providers and optional real-estate services support defined tasks.

The official Support Team page identifies field operations, finance, internal operations, marketing, IT, research and development, project development, production and Trade Winds Warehouse functions. Those public role categories supplement, but do not expand, the assistance promised in Item 11.

Mandatory controls

Which suppliers, technology and operating decisions are restricted?

The strongest dependencies are the sole-source Ice Products supply chain, the required Revel POS environment, the Operations Manual and the franchisor’s power to change products, standards and technology.

Products and inventoryTWD is the sole supplier for defined Ice Products. The unit must maintain a 30-day supply of specified concentrates and other required inventory, and must store it under sanitary, first-class conditions.
Menu and product mixThe franchisee sells only authorized goods and services, must offer items designated as required, and can be required to introduce an additional product or service within no more than 60 days.
Technology and dataRevel POS is required. Bahama Buck’s has unlimited access to specified store data, may require upgrades on three months’ notice, and may add technology programs, fees and designated administrators.
Marketing and e-mediaLocal advertising requires prior approval. Brand-related websites, social accounts and other e-media require approval; the franchisor may own the accounts and system data and require permanent access.
Operating hours and order pointsThe store must be fully operational at least 60 hours per week, Monday through Saturday, unless approved otherwise. All customer order points must be open for time to count toward that threshold.
Technology requirement

The FDD names Revel POS but also lists legacy hardware. Contractually, the franchisee must use the POS and software specified in the Manual, permit access to system data, and implement required upgrades. Current hardware, integrations, online ordering and data-security requirements require direct verification.

Territory and channels

Where may the franchisee sell, advertise and use mobile equipment?

The store receives a protected geographic area around its approved site, but not an exclusive territory; solicitation is broad, while physical product sales outside the approved location require the Mobile/Satellite Sales Amendment.

The temporary reserved area may extend up to a three-mile radius during site search. After approval, the Territory generally surrounds the site with approximately 25,000 to 50,000 people. Bahama Buck’s agrees not to place another branded retail business there, subject to National Accounts and retained channels. Other franchisees may solicit guests, and the franchisor may make wholesale or Internet sales without compensating the unit.

Mobile/satellite sales are an add-on, not a standalone mobile franchise. An approved cart, trailer, truck or other unit may serve Special Events inside or outside the Territory without advance approval. Non-event sales in unassigned territory require prior written approval; sales in another franchisee’s territory are limited to qualifying Special Events. The franchisor may disapprove locations and inspect mobile equipment and operations.

The current franchise website markets inline, end-cap and freestanding site configurations. The FDD does not disclose different menus, staffing rules or territorial mechanics for those site configurations. The current Surf Club Rewards FAQ says traditional shops participate nationwide, while satellite-location transactions are currently excluded from earning and redeeming rewards.

System footprint

What does Item 20 show about the outlet base?

At December 31, 2024, the disclosed system had 115 outlets: 112 franchised and three company-owned, with no net outlet change during 2024.

System-wide outlet composition
December 31, 2024
115 total outlets
Franchised outlets 11297.39%
Company-owned outlets 32.61%
The system was overwhelmingly franchise-operated at the reporting date, while the three company-owned stores formed the corporate operating comparison group used in Item 19.

Source: 2025 FDD, Item 20, Table No. 1, p. 44. Counts reconcile to 115 and percentages to 100%. The current official franchise website reports 119 open locations without the current franchised/company-owned split; the snapshots use different reporting dates.

Buyer verification

Which operating questions remain open?

The FDD defines control and responsibility clearly, but several day-to-day mechanics remain in the 326-page Operations Manual or current vendor specifications.

1
Get the current technology schedule.

Confirm the current Revel POS hardware, digital ordering, delivery, loyalty, cybersecurity, camera, menu-board and back-office integrations, plus every mandatory third-party agreement.

2
Map the proposed order points.

Identify whether the site will have interior, walk-up and drive-through service, and confirm how seasonal hours or a closed order point affect the 60-hour rule.

3
Test the staffing model against the Manual.

Request current production standards, scheduling rules, level testing and manager coverage expectations rather than assuming a crew count from the store’s size.

4
Verify TWD replenishment mechanics.

Confirm order cutoffs, delivery cadence, freight, shortage allocation, rush ordering and how the required 30-day inventory is measured for the proposed market.

5
Reconcile territory and channel rights.

Review the exact Exhibit 1 map, National Account rights, current online-order routing, catering availability and any Mobile/Satellite Sales Amendment before relying on event demand.

Operating-model synthesis

What is the practical operating conclusion?

Bahama Buck’s converts guest demand into made-to-order dessert and beverage transactions through approved retail and digital channels. The franchisee’s central responsibility is to staff and supervise the shop, keep every required order point and menu item operational, maintain TWD-supplied inventory, and report complete sales and operating data.

The strongest franchisor controls are the Operations Manual, sole-source Ice Products, required Revel POS, data access, marketing approval and inspection rights. The decisive format distinction is between the approved retail store and mobile/satellite activity authorized by amendment. The largest unresolved operating question is the current labor-and-production model inside the Manual: exact crew coverage, prep standards and channel-specific fulfillment requirements are not disclosed in the FDD.