Direct trade-off answer
What are the verified pros and cons of a Caring Transitions franchise?
C.T. Franchising Systems, LLC is the legal franchisor. The analysis uses the U.S. FDD issued April 1, 2026 and amended June 3, 2026, including the Franchise Agreement, Website Terms of Use Agreement, Personal Guaranty, Restrictive Covenant Agreement, and Right of First Refusal. The offer is one Caring Transitions territory, with a home office permitted when local law allows.
Item 19 supplies 2022-2025 gross-receipts and gross-profit-percentage data; Item 20 supplies 2023-2025 outlet movement. Contract facts control where current marketing differs. Supplemental context was checked July 29, 2026 against the official U.S. franchise website, the official consumer services page, and the FTC franchise buyer guide.
Sources: 2026 Caring Transitions FDD, cover; Items 1, 19-22; Exhibits F-K; state-effective-date and receipt pages.
Metric sources: 2026 FDD, Items 6-7, 17, 19-20, pp. 6-11 and 25-40.
The Item 19 “Gross Profit” measure equals Gross Receipts minus direct costs. It does not disclose owner compensation, indirect payroll, debt service, taxes, depreciation, or all overhead. Treat the figures as operating evidence to test, not as owner-income projections.
Evidence-led decision factors
How do the main Caring Transitions features cut both ways?
The seven factors below preserve the relationship between each verified feature and its limiting condition. Their importance depends on a buyer’s capital structure, territory, management plan, digital-control preferences, and likely exit path; the number of favorable or unfavorable effects is not an overall score.
Item 19 gives broad evidence, but not owner earnings
Verified fact: Item 19 reports 2025 gross receipts and gross profit percentages for 307 full-year-reporting territories; 116 operating territories were excluded for opening during 2025 or missing monthly reports.
A defined four-year, quartile-based dataset gives evidence-oriented buyers useful system-specific operating benchmarks.
Gross profit omits indirect expenses and owner labor, while the excluded population may differ materially.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 27-34.
CTBids expands the service channel while concentrating platform dependence
Verified fact: Franchisees use CTBids, Seller.CTBids.com, approved payment processing, the Communication and Information System, and a franchisor-controlled buyer’s-premium policy; participation in the premium declines by agreement year.
The shared online-auction channel can extend estate-liquidation reach beyond a local in-person sale.
Platform outages, processor holds, changing tools, premium rules, and required upgrades sit outside local control.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 6 and 11, pp. 6-9 and 15-20; Franchise Agreement §§5.7, 7.15, 9.3; Website Terms of Use. See the official Caring Transitions business model and CTBids consumer channel.
Postal-code protection has explicit customer and referral exceptions
Verified fact: The Franchise Agreement bars another substantially similar Caring Transitions business in the territory, but excludes National Accounts, Shared Referral Sources, certain pre-existing clients, and differently branded systems.
A defined postal-code grant limits direct same-brand outlet duplication after training and operational launch.
Referral institutions and National Accounts may be pursued or allocated without territorial exclusivity.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 12, pp. 20-23; Franchise Agreement §§1.2-1.10.
Structured onboarding carries hard launch conditions
Verified fact: Initial preparation includes onboarding, 35 Cincinnati classroom hours, and five regional on-site days; training must begin within 90 days and opening within 90 days after completion.
Named modules, business-plan work, and field exposure create a concrete pre-opening sequence for new operators.
The buyer funds travel and wages; missed deadlines or unsatisfactory training can end the agreement without refund.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 15-21; Franchise Agreement §§6.2, 7.1 and 7.6. The official franchise process page describes the current recruitment sequence; the FDD controls contractual timing.
Home office still requires active management
Verified fact: A home office is permitted when lawful, but each business requires full-time trained supervision, a dedicated business-development representative, and a salesperson hired within 90 days for at least 15 hours weekly.
A buyer may avoid a prescribed retail build-out while organizing field work from a compliant office.
Staff recruitment, referral selling, scheduling, and client-property handling create active management demands.
Source: 2026 FDD, Items 7, 11 and 15, pp. 8-11, 15-21 and 24; Franchise Agreement §§7.6 and 15.1.
Marketing brings layered payment minimums
Verified fact: The agreement requires a 6% royalty, 2% National Branding Fee, monthly minimums, local marketing, and a possible cooperative contribution; Gross Receipts are calculated before client distributions and business costs.
The National Branding Fund finances system advertising, web programs, materials, public relations, and National Account solicitation.
Minimum payments continue at low sales, and fund spending need not benefit a territory proportionately.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 6 and 11, pp. 6-9 and 18-20; Franchise Agreement §§5.1-5.2 and 11.1-11.12. The official investment page supplies current marketing context; contractual amounts come from the FDD.
Long term, constrained exit
Verified fact: The initial term is 10 years, with two conditional successor terms; transfer requires approval and substantial fees, while default-based early termination can trigger remaining-term liquidated damages and post-term covenants.
Qualified operators can plan around a stated initial horizon and two potential renewal periods.
Then-current renewal terms, personal guarantees, Ohio dispute provisions, transfer conditions, and two-year restrictions reduce exit flexibility.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 17, pp. 25-29; Franchise Agreement §§2.2, 12.2-12.3, 13.5, 15.3-15.4 and 16.2-16.6; Personal Guaranty.
System direction
What does Item 20 show about the Caring Transitions network?
Item 20 shows a franchised-only system at each year-end from 2023 through 2025. End-of-year territories increased from 314 to 423, but this is a count of operating territories rather than evidence that an individual territory met a revenue or profit target.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 20, Tables 1-4, pp. 34-40. Reporting dates: December 31, 2023, 2024 and 2025.
The 2026 FDD also reports 423 territories owned by 296 franchise owners at December 31, 2025. That ownership concentration shows multi-territory participation exists, but it does not disclose why buyers added territories or whether multi-territory economics match a first-territory buyer.
Performance evidence quality
How representative is the 2025 Item 19 territory dataset?
The 2025 territory-level table includes 307 of 423 operating territories, or 72.6%. The remaining 116 territories comprise 65 that opened during 2025 and 51 that did not report gross proceeds in every month, so exclusion does not carry one uniform explanation.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 19, pp. 27-34. Formula: 307 ÷ 423 = 72.6%; 116 ÷ 423 = 27.4%.
Territory decision visual
Which market rights are protected, shared, or controlled centrally?
The territory is meaningful but not equivalent to exclusive ownership of every lead source or customer relationship. Buyers whose acquisition strategy relies heavily on senior communities, attorneys, trust departments, real estate professionals, or regional accounts should map these contract categories before valuing the postal-code grant.
Protected core
No other substantially similar Caring Transitions business may be established or franchised inside the defined postal-code territory after training and operational launch.
Shared or allocated
National Accounts, Shared Referral Sources, and certain pre-existing client relationships are excluded from ordinary territorial exclusivity and may be assigned or pursued under system rules.
Reserved control
C.T. Franchising Systems, LLC decides National Account status, resolves Shared Referral Source disputes, and may suspend exclusivity during an uncured default.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 12, pp. 20-23; Franchise Agreement §§1.2-1.10.
Buyer verification
What should a buyer verify before signing?
Use the FDD facts as the starting point, then obtain territory-specific evidence and written answers. The FTC Franchise Rule materials explain the disclosure framework, while the following questions address Caring Transitions-specific mechanisms.
- Confirm every ZIP code, population calculation, excess-population franchise fee, and prior-franchisee history for the proposed Exhibit B territory.
- Request the current National Account and Shared Referral Source practices, local lead-allocation rules, and examples of disputes in the target market.
- Obtain Item 19 written substantiation and interview comparable current and former owners about direct costs, indirect payroll, owner hours, and missing-month reporting.
- Model the royalty, National Branding Fee, local marketing, technology, call-center, EstateSales.org, meeting, certification, insurance, and possible cooperative obligations monthly.
- Test CTBids payment-processor eligibility, fund-hold procedures, local auction licensing, buyer’s-premium settings, outage response, and the franchisee share by agreement year.
- Document who will complete training, supervise full time, perform business development, recruit field staff, conduct background checks, and cover payroll during ramp-up.
- Review ownership of client data, email, telephone numbers, domains, advertising materials, and required system upgrades with privacy, cyber, and employment counsel.
- Have franchise counsel analyze the Personal Guaranty, transfer fee, right of first refusal, liquidated damages, Ohio forum, one-year claim limit, and state-specific riders.
Conditional buyer fit
Which buyer profiles align with these trade-offs?
Caring Transitions combines service delivery, property handling, online auctions, local referral development, and contractually centralized systems. Fit therefore turns less on a generic preference for a home-based business and more on the buyer’s willingness to manage people, data, compliance, and relationship-driven sales within prescribed rules.
More aligned profile
A buyer may experience less friction when prepared to operate through a full-time trained manager, fund a dedicated sales function, follow standardized technology and data practices, and develop referral relationships with senior-care, estate, and real-estate professionals. Financial capacity should cover minimum fees and staffing without assuming Item 19 gross profit equals distributable income.
Higher-friction profile
Friction is more likely for a buyer seeking passive ownership, unrestricted use of local websites and client data, exclusive control of major referral institutions, a low fixed-payment floor, or a simple early exit. The transfer conditions, personal guaranty, post-term covenants, data ownership, and remaining-term liquidated-damages formula require specific legal review.
The FDD states that C.T. Franchising Systems, Inc. converted to C.T. Franchising Systems, LLC on May 27, 2026, and CTFS Buyer, LLC acquired the membership interests on May 29, 2026. The attached audited statements cover the predecessor through December 31, 2025. Buyers should verify post-acquisition personnel, budgets, Item 8 supplier policies, technology priorities, and support delivery rather than assuming continuity or change.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 1, pp. 1-3; Item 21 and Exhibit C.
Conditional synthesis
The strongest verified structural advantage is a defined postal-code territory supported by a multi-service system and the CTBids channel. The most material burden is the combined management, staffing, data-control, recurring-payment, and exit framework. The model is more aligned with an active operator who accepts centralized systems and relationship selling; it is more likely to frustrate a passive or autonomy-focused buyer. The highest-priority pre-signing check is whether comparable territory-level cash flow covers full staffing and all minimum obligations after indirect costs.