How much does a Caring Transitions franchise cost?
The 2026 Caring Transitions Franchise Disclosure Document estimates $75,760 to $123,150 to begin operating one U.S. territory-based franchise. That range applies to the single Item 7 format disclosed for a base territory with 175,000 to 200,000 people. A territory above 200,000 raises the Initial Franchise Fee, and therefore the total cash requirement, by $500 for all or part of each additional 1,000 people.
2026 FDD Item 7, pp. 9–11. The range includes the $58,900 base Initial Franchise Fee and $4,000 to $38,000 of Additional Funds for the first six months, but excludes personal living expenses, owner labor, finance charges, debt service and losses beyond the disclosed operating-capital allowance.
The franchisor's official U.S. investment page currently repeats both headline FDD figures and states a separate $80,000 minimum liquid-capital qualification. That qualification is not a substitute for the Item 7 range and is not a promise that $80,000 will fund every opening scenario.
The two endpoints should be read as boundaries of a disclosed estimate, not as a prediction of what a typical owner will spend. The lower endpoint assumes the low amount for every variable line, while the upper endpoint assumes the high amount for every variable line. A buyer may land between them, but the document does not publish a midpoint, average or most-common opening budget. The range also assumes the base population band. Once a larger territory is selected, the population adjustment must be added before comparing available cash with the opening plan. This distinction matters because the number shown on marketing pages can look like a complete ceiling even though the contract contains a formula that can move the signing-day obligation upward.
- Legal franchisor
- C.T. Franchising Systems, LLC, a Delaware limited liability company; parent: CTFS Buyer, LLC.
- Document basis
- 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 1, 2026, as amended June 3, 2026.
- Cost sections used
- Item 5, pp. 4–5; Item 6, pp. 5–9; Item 7, pp. 9–11; plus cost-relevant portions of Items 1, 8, 10, 11, 15 and 17.
- Unit structure
- One territory-based service franchise. The franchisor recommends a home office, while rented office or warehouse space is permitted; Item 7 does not publish separate ranges for those choices.
- Checked
- July 16, 2026. Official franchise information was checked through the Caring Transitions U.S. franchise website. No matching 2026 FDD was located on a franchisor-controlled public webpage, so FDD references below are unlinked and identified by Item and page.
Capital snapshot
The capital snapshot separates the signing-day fee, the six-month operating allowance, the official liquidity qualification and the ongoing royalty basis. The total range remains in the answer band above rather than being repeated as another oversized metric.
Due at signing for 175,000–200,000 people.
Included in Item 7; first six months.
Current official-site qualification; not an Item 7 total.
Gross Receipts; $300 monthly minimum for 12 months, then $500.
There are three separate capital questions behind these figures. First is the amount payable before the business can open. Second is the reserve available to absorb costs during the early operating period. Third is the applicant qualification used during the award process. Those amounts overlap in purpose but are not interchangeable. Readily available cash can be used to pay expenses, while a qualification only indicates that the applicant meets a stated screening threshold. Likewise, a broad balance-sheet measure may include assets that cannot be used quickly without sale, borrowing or tax consequences. Keeping these layers separate prevents a common error: assuming that meeting one threshold proves the entire launch is funded.
The upfront fee represents most of the low end, but the high end is driven primarily by the six-month operating allowance. A buyer therefore needs to test both the signing-day payment and the six-month operating-capital assumption rather than treating the franchise fee as the required cash total.
What is included in the official investment range?
The 2026 Item 7 total combines the Initial Franchise Fee with equipment, technology hardware, training travel, deposits, pre-opening promotion, required professional training, insurance, selected subscriptions and Additional Funds. It does not disclose construction or leasehold-improvement spending because the model can be operated from home and the franchisor does not impose a separate storefront buildout format.
Contract, equipment and pre-opening payments
These Item 7 lines are paid at signing, during training or before the business commences, with insurance and the Grand-Opening Promotion carrying the largest non-fee maximums in this phase.
| Item 7 category | Amount | When due |
|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $58,900 | Upon signing the Franchise Agreement |
| Furniture and Equipment | $500–$1,000 | Before commencing business |
| Computer System | $1,000–$3,000 | Before commencing business |
| Travel & living expenses while training | $2,000–$4,000 | Before or during training |
| Initial Rent Deposit, Telephone, Bank and Other Deposits | $350–$2,000 | Before commencing business |
| Grand-Opening Promotion | $3,000–$4,000 | One to two months before opening |
| Insurance | $2,000–$5,000 | Before the policy effective date |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 9–11. Insurance requirements are expanded in Item 8.
Opening support, subscriptions and working capital
This phase contains the widest variable range: Additional Funds cover six months of specified operating costs, while the remaining lines address staffing, office rent, professional training, memberships and required online services.
| Item 7 category | Amount | When due |
|---|---|---|
| Additional Funds — six months | $4,000–$38,000 | As operating expenses are incurred |
| Sales employee | $2,500 | As incurred; salesperson required within 90 days of training |
| Web hosting service | $100 | Monthly, beginning with business commencement |
| Monthly Office Rental Payment | $200–$1,000 | Monthly; depends on lease terms |
| Certified Relocation Transition Specialist Training and Test | $650–$3,000 | One to two months before opening |
| Membership and Association Fees | $500 | One to two months before opening |
| EstateSales.org Elite Package | $60–$150 | One month before opening |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 9–11. The Item 7 line for association fees is $500; Item 6 separately lists $1,500 as an ongoing/as-incurred Membership and Association Fees amount. Buyers should reconcile which memberships and timing apply to their award package.
The six-month allowance is already inside the official total. It should not be added a second time when preparing a summary. It covers operating costs only to the extent receipts do not cover them during that period, and its unusually broad span explains most of the gap between the two endpoints. The disclosure names payroll, utilities, advertising, taxes and similar items, while also warning that legal, accounting, permit and authorization expenses can vary considerably by area. The estimate therefore provides a planning envelope rather than a local quotation. A buyer should map each expected expense to a disclosed line, identify anything that falls outside the table and avoid creating a second reserve category that duplicates money already counted.
Bars use each category's maximum, not an average or expected budget. The exact FDD range remains visible beside each bar.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 7, pp. 9–11. Interpretation: the maximum Additional Funds allowance is substantially larger than any other variable line shown.
When is the money paid?
The largest fixed payment is due when the Franchise Agreement is signed, while the rest of the disclosed investment is spread across training, pre-opening preparation, the launch period and the first six months. The franchisor's official ownership process places FDD review before the franchise award and training; the contract's payment dates remain the controlling timing terms.
Optional territory reservation
A prospective franchisee may reserve a territory for up to 30 days with a $5,000 deposit. The deposit is fully earned and non-refundable when received but is credited toward the Initial Franchise Fee. Reserving a second territory requires a $10,000 deposit.
Franchise Agreement signing
Pay the $58,900 base Initial Franchise Fee, adjusted for any credited deposit, written discount and population surcharge. All initial fees are non-refundable under Item 5.
Onboarding and training
The buyer pays the disclosed travel, lodging, food and employee costs for training. The designated operator must begin initial training within 90 days after signing. The FDD says initial training itself has no additional tuition fee.
One to two months before opening
Fund the Grand-Opening Promotion, professional training and test, applicable membership costs and required subscriptions at their Item 7 amounts.
Opening and first six months
Pay equipment, computer, deposit and insurance costs by their stated due dates, then draw on the disclosed six-month operating allowance as payroll, utilities, advertising, taxes and similar expenses arise. Item 11 says franchisees typically open two to six months after signing and must open within 90 days after completing training.
Sources: 2026 FDD Item 5, pp. 4–5; Item 7, pp. 9–11; Item 11, pp. 19–20.
The sequence also affects risk. Money paid at signing is described as fully earned and non-refundable, while many third-party expenses are incurred later as the opening plan advances. The optional reservation payment does not create a separate cost if the transaction proceeds because it is credited against the signing payment; it does create exposure if the candidate reserves a territory and does not complete the purchase. Training, insurance and promotion expenses then arrive before the business has a normal operating history. For cash planning, the useful question is not only “How much?” but also “What must be liquid on each date, and which payment can no longer be recovered once made?”
Which fees continue after opening?
Caring Transitions charges percentage-based Royalty and National Branding fees with monthly minimums, plus fixed or variable technology, call-center, web-hosting, association, certification and marketing obligations. Percentage fees are calculated only on the FDD's defined Gross Receipts basis; the FDD does not convert them into an annual dollar estimate.
| Ongoing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | Cost interpretation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Royalty Fee | 6% of Gross Receipts; $300 monthly minimum for 12 months, then $500 | By the 5th day of each month | Greater of the percentage or minimum for the preceding month |
| National Branding Fee | 2% of Gross Receipts; $350 monthly minimum | By the 5th day of each month | Separate from local marketing and cooperative advertising |
| Local Marketing | At least $399/month for 12 months; 4% of Gross Receipts annually thereafter | Monthly, then annual measurement | Required spend with a designated supplier during the first year |
| Technology/Software License Fee | $250/month | Monthly | May increase under the limits and vendor-change provisions in Item 6 |
| Call Center | $100–$500/month | Monthly | Depends on volume of use |
| EstateSales.org Elite Package | $60–$150/month | Monthly | Required subscription; negotiated rate may change |
| Web hosting service | $100/month | Monthly | For a URL made available by the franchisor |
| Local Cooperative Advertising | Up to 3% of Gross Receipts unless members approve more | Monthly if a cooperative exists | No cooperative had been established as of the 2026 FDD date |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 5–9. Gross Receipts are defined broadly as cash-basis revenue arising from operation before client distributions and other business-cost deductions.
The percentage charges and the monthly dollar figures answer different questions. A minimum is the least amount due under the stated condition; it is not a forecast of the actual bill. When the percentage calculation is higher, the percentage controls. The local spending requirement is also economically different from a payment remitted to the franchisor because it is money the owner must spend in the market through the specified channel. Cooperative spending is conditional on a group being established, and the document said none existed on its issuance date. For budgeting, each line should therefore be tagged by payee, calculation basis, start date and trigger rather than combined into one misleading “monthly fee” number.
The start dates are not fully synchronized. Some obligations begin with business commencement, some follow completion of training, and others are measured over the first year of operation. This can create a short opening period in which subscriptions and local spending are active before the first percentage-based minimum is due. The timing should be reconciled against the actual training completion date and planned launch date, especially when the one-month extension conditions might apply. The table identifies the contract basis; the buyer's cash calendar should translate those rules into specific expected payment dates without changing the disclosed amounts.
Bars use the stated fixed amount, minimum or top of a disclosed monthly range. They are not summed, because percentage fees may exceed their minimums and some obligations vary by use.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 5–9. Interpretation: the first-year monthly cash obligations contain several separate floors before any percentage-based amount above those floors.
The Minimum Royalty and National Branding Fee generally begin onthe fifth day of the second month after the month in which initial training is completed. The FDD allows a one-month extension when specified opening standards, compliance and release conditions are satisfied. Local Marketing follows a different clock: at least $399 per month during the first 12 months of operation.
How does territory population change the franchise fee?
The $58,900 Initial Franchise Fee is tied to a territory with 175,000 to 200,000 people. For a territory above 200,000, the fee increases by $500 for all or part of each 1,000-person increment. This is a direct addition to upfront cash and can move the buyer's total above the headline Item 7 range.
Population surcharge mechanics
Item 5 uses a ceiling calculation: any partial 1,000-person increment counts as a full increment.
Source: 2026 FDD cover and Item 5, p. 4; Item 7, pp. 9–10.
Population should be confirmed before relying on a fee quote. Because the calculation rounds any partial increment upward, a territory just over an increment boundary produces the same adjustment as one at the top of that increment. The buyer should obtain the population figure and boundary map used by the franchisor, reproduce the calculation and confirm that the resulting amount appears consistently in the payment schedule and agreement. This is not a separate unit format; it is a pricing formula within the single disclosed territory model. It also means that two candidates receiving the same headline range may face different signing amounts solely because their awarded territories contain different populations.
Which discounts can reduce the fee?
Item 5 discloses a 10% discount on the then-current Initial Franchise Fee for qualifying additional franchises purchased during the first 24 months, provided the entire fee is paid at signing. It also offers qualifying veterans up to a 10% Initial Franchise Fee discount through the VetFran Program. Only one discount or referral fee may apply to a franchise purchase.
The International Franchise Association's Caring Transitions profile confirms a 10% veteran incentive, and the VetFran program page explains the program framework. Eligibility and the written franchise documents control the actual reduction.
The Winners' Circle is a conditional post-opening rebate program, not a signing-day reduction. Item 5 requires later performance and compliance conditions and can require returned rebates after early termination. A buyer should budget the full fee due at signing unless a written discount applies.
How much liquid capital is required, and is financing offered?
The official franchise investment page states a minimum of $80,000 in liquid capital. The 2026 FDD does not state a separate prospective-franchisee Net Worth or Non-Borrowed Funds threshold. Liquid Capital means readily available funding capacity; it is distinct from Net Worth and from the $75,760 to $123,150 Estimated Initial Investment.
- Estimated Initial Investment
- The Item 7 cost range for establishing and initially operating the franchise: $75,760 to $123,150 before any territory-population surcharge.
- Liquid Capital
- The official website's current qualification: $80,000. It is an applicant threshold, not an Item 7 cost category.
- Net Worth
- No separate buyer Net Worth minimum was disclosed in the reviewed 2026 FDD or the official investment page.
- Personal Guaranty
- If the franchisee is an entity, each owner must personally guarantee the franchisee's obligations. A spouse is not required to sign unless the spouse owns an interest. FDD Item 15, p. 26.
- Financing
- Item 10 states that the franchisor offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a note, lease or obligation.
The official investment page says Caring Transitions may introduce candidates to third-party financial institutions, but an introduction is not approval, a guaranteed loan amount or a change to Item 10. The franchisor's business-model page describes the home-based operating model that can limit premises cost, while the FDD still permits rented office or warehouse space and leaves those terms to the franchisee.
A liquidity test is generally concerned with access, while a balance-sheet test is concerned with overall financial position. The public page states only the former, so it would be inaccurate to invent a separate wealth requirement or assume that an illiquid asset satisfies the same purpose. The disclosure also permits funding capacity through cash, a line of credit or assets that can be liquidated or borrowed against for certain personal and operating needs, but that statement does not promise lender approval or define favorable borrowing terms. A candidate using debt should model the excluded interest and repayment obligations separately because they are not built into the opening estimate.
Third-party introductions should be treated as a sourcing channel rather than financing supplied by the franchise system. A lender may apply its own credit, collateral, guaranty, down-payment and documentation standards. The absence of direct financing also means there is no disclosed franchisor note to compare with bank terms. The practical reconciliation is to place the lender's proposed proceeds and closing date beside the contract payment schedule, then identify any gap that must be covered from readily available funds. Approval timing matters because the document links opening speed partly to financing availability.
Which costs can arise after opening or during a later transaction?
Several Item 6 charges are event-driven rather than part of a normal opening budget. Their timing depends on a transfer, territory change, default, audit, late payment, customer refund or other circumstance. These obligations should not be added to the Item 7 total as though every buyer will incur them.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 6, pp. 6–9; Item 11, pp. 19–20; Item 17, pp. 26–27.
These charges belong in a contingency review, not in a universal startup subtotal. A transfer-related amount matters to an exit or ownership-change scenario; a late-payment amount matters only after a missed deadline; an audit amount depends on the stated recordkeeping or understatement conditions. The right approach is to identify which events the buyer can control, which events require prior approval and which amounts are open-ended because they include legal, administrative or reimbursed expenses. Open-ended language can be more important than a fixed number because it prevents the buyer from knowing the maximum exposure in advance.
Renewal presents a different form of uncertainty. The current document describes eligibility conditions and the possibility of different economic terms in a successor agreement rather than publishing a fixed renewal charge. That means a buyer cannot responsibly convert renewal into a present dollar amount. The cost decision is instead whether the long-term plan can tolerate future changes to percentages, training requirements and other system standards. The same principle applies to relocation: approval may be possible, but the document leaves the actual cost to the circumstances at that time.
What does the official total not resolve?
Item 7 is a franchisor estimate, not a cap. The disclosed range does not resolve personal living costs, owner compensation, financing costs, local licensing variability, operating losses beyond the stated Additional Funds allowance or the effect of choosing rented premises instead of the recommended home office.
The exclusion review is where a buyer turns a national disclosure into a local capital plan without replacing the official estimate. Obtain actual quotes only for the buyer's intended circumstances: insurance coverage, travel party, workspace, licenses, professional advice and any financing structure. Those quotes can be compared with the applicable disclosed line, but they should not be presented as franchisor figures. If a local quote falls outside the range, preserve both records and ask whether the difference reflects geography, changed supplier pricing, a different operating choice or a newer required specification.
Personal reserves require a separate worksheet because the table expressly excludes them. Housing, health coverage, household debt and other private obligations are not business opening categories, yet they can determine how long the owner can support the launch. The document also warns that operating losses may require resources beyond the stated early-period allowance. This does not establish that losses will occur or how long they may last; it establishes that the published total is not a complete household funding plan. Combining personal and business cash in one unlabeled number would obscure that distinction.
Before signing, reconcile the territory population, home-office or leased-premises choice, current third-party subscription prices, insurance quote, required memberships, training travel party and the buyer's personal living reserve. The FTC's franchise buying guide explains why Items 5, 6 and 7 should be reviewed together and why costs outside those tables still require investigation.
What is the practical capital takeaway?
The verified 2026 starting range is $75,760 to $123,150 for the base Caring Transitions territory, with a $58,900 Initial Franchise Fee due at signing and $4,000 to $38,000 of Additional Funds already included for six months. A larger territory adds $500 per 1,000 people or partial increment above 200,000. The official website's $80,000 Liquid Capital requirement is a separate qualification, while Royalty, National Branding, Local Marketing, Technology and other Item 6 obligations continue after opening. The most important unresolved buyer-specific variables are territory size, premises choice, third-party pricing and the personal cash reserve excluded from Item 7.
Related Blogs
- What Are Some Alternatives to the Caring Transitions Franchise?
- How Does the Caring Transitions Franchise Work?
- How to Start a Caring Transitions Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist
- What are the Pros and Cons of Owning a Caring Transitions Franchise?
- How Much Does a Caring Transitions Franchise Owner Make?