How long does it take to open a Weathersby Guild franchise?
The 2026 FDD estimates 30 to 60 days from execution of the single-unit Franchise Agreement to opening. The contract separately requires all preparations within 60 days and deems the business opened when the Initial Training Program is completed. This is not a total inquiry-to-opening promise because the FDD gives no duration for application, qualification, approval, or territory discussions.
Measured from Franchise Agreement execution.
Item 11 schedule; contract permits 14 or more days.
Calendar days before signing or franchisor payment.
No development agreement is disclosed.
What must an applicant qualify for before signing?
The 2026 FDD does not publish a new-unit minimum net worth, liquid-capital threshold, credit score, education level, prior furniture-repair experience, or formal application timetable. Meeting an undisclosed screening standard cannot be assumed from the investment range. The applicant should request the current application, approval criteria, available Territory map, and written decision sequence through the official contact channel.
The Franchise Agreement does impose a financial certification at signing: the franchisee certifies that it reviewed the disclosed startup costs and has sufficient cash resources to meet them. Weathersby Guild does not offer financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or other obligation. An applicant using an entity must also prepare for owner guarantees and entity-document restrictions.
The agreement states explicit educational, managerial, business, moral-character, reputation, credit-rating, aptitude, and capital standards for a transferee buying an existing business. Those transfer standards should not be presented as published minimums for a new-unit applicant. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 17, pp. 19-20; Franchise Agreement Section XIX.A, agreement pp. 25-26.
What happens between inquiry and opening?
The FDD begins the enforceable chronology at disclosure and signing, not at first inquiry. The roadmap therefore labels the early candidate stage as an unresolved duration and uses the contract's actual dependencies after execution.
Actor: Applicant and Weathersby Guild.
Timing: Not disclosed.
Blocker: Current application standards, approval sequence, and Territory availability are not stated in the FDD or reviewed public pages.
Actor: Franchisor furnishes; applicant reviews.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing or paying the franchisor or affiliate.
Next: Compare the completed agreement, Territory exhibit, state addenda, and any guaranty with the disclosed forms.
Actor: Approved applicant and Weathersby Guild, Inc.
Timing: Starts the 60-day preparation period.
Blocker: Entity owners must accept personal guarantees; the Initial Franchise Fee becomes fully earned and nonrefundable upon payment.
Actor: Franchisee.
Timing: During the post-signing preparation window.
Blocker: Satisfactory office and storage space and applicable local governmental requirements; out-of-Territory activity requires written consent.
Actor: Franchisee buys; franchisor supplies specifications.
Timing: Before opening.
Blocker: Required standards, eStatus, the approved accounting system, and any alternate-product request; an alternate-supplier decision may take up to 60 days.
Actor: Franchisee, government authorities, and insurer.
Timing: Insurance certificates are due before opening.
Blocker: Local approvals vary; the carrier must meet contractual standards and Weathersby Guild must be named as an additional insured.
Actor: Proposed manager, all technicians, and franchisor-designated trainers.
Timing: Within 60 days after signing and before operations.
Blocker: Each required attendee must complete the applicable portion to the franchisor's satisfaction.
Actor: Franchisee, with franchisor satisfaction required by the agreement.
Timing: No later than 60 days after execution unless a written change is agreed.
Next: The contract deems the Business opened upon training completion; no separate opening certificate is disclosed.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 8, 10-12 and 15, pp. 2, 6-16 and 18; Franchise Agreement Sections V-X and XVII.A, agreement pp. 3-12 and 20.
Does Weathersby Guild approve the site or provide buildout support?
No. The FDD says Weathersby Guild provides no site-selection assistance, has no site-selection criteria beyond requiring the Business to be in its Territory, and does not approve a site located inside that Territory. This is a service business needing small office and storage space rather than a disclosed retail prototype, but the franchisee remains responsible for any lease, renovation, utilities, zoning, licenses, and permits that apply locally.
The Territory itself is different from the premises. It is identified in the Franchise Agreement, controls where the franchisee may operate and solicit, and generally prevents another Weathersby Guild business from being licensed inside it while the franchisee complies. The agreement contains service-level language that should be reviewed with counsel because inadequate service may allow another operator into the Territory on a case-by-case basis.
A premises inside the Territory does not require the franchisor's site approval, but that does not remove landlord, insurer, utility, or government dependencies. Obtain the exact Territory exhibit before signing and verify that the proposed office, storage arrangement, vehicle use, and customer-service area are workable. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 7, 11 and 12, pp. 5, 11-12 and 15-16.
Who must train, and what must they complete?
The proposed manager must satisfactorily complete management training, and every technician who will perform services must satisfactorily complete technical training. Classroom work is in Peachtree City, Georgia; on-the-job work occurs at customer locations in the Atlanta area or with qualified franchise-owner trainers. Travel, lodging, meals, wages, and other attendance expenses remain the franchisee's responsibility.
The Item 11 curriculum separates classroom instruction from supervised field training.
Interpretation: Field instruction is the larger training component, so every technician's availability is a critical-path dependency. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 12-14. Percentages are calculated from 31 and 73 disclosed hours.
The documents use different duration language. Item 11 first describes 19 to 21 days and later states a 19-calendar-day schedule without weekend training; Franchise Agreement Section XVII.A permits a minimum of 14 days or a longer period the franchisor considers necessary. Ask for the dated training calendar, required attendees, completion standard, and any written individualized change before booking travel.
Which opening dependencies belong to the franchisee, franchisor, or third parties?
Applicant or franchisee
Accurate application and financial certification.
Office, storage, vehicle, tools, supplies, inventory, staff, travel, and local marketing.
Permits, insurance, compliant systems, and completion within 60 days.
Weathersby Guild, Inc.
FDD delivery, approval decision, Franchise Agreement, and Territory grant.
Specifications, Operations Manual, required training, and advertising review.
Alternate-supplier decisions within the disclosed 60-day review period.
Third parties
Government authorities issue applicable licenses, permits, and registrations.
Insurers bind coverage and provide acceptable certificates.
Landlords, utilities, vendors, lenders, and travel providers control their own timing.
The franchisor's assistance is limited to what the FDD and agreement state. It does not guarantee premises, financing, supplier delivery, government approval, employee availability, or a particular opening date.
Does buying an existing Weathersby Guild business follow the same process?
No. The current offer is a single new Business under one Franchise Agreement, but an existing franchise can be transferred subject to the franchisor's written approval. A buyer of an existing operation should not use the 30-to-60-day new-unit estimate without written confirmation because transfer approval, landlord consent, upgrades, current-form agreements, and transferee training add different dependencies.
| Path | Governing documents | Decision-critical difference |
|---|---|---|
| New single Business | Franchise Agreement, Territory exhibit, state addenda, and Guaranty if the buyer is an entity. | Preparations are due within 60 days; opening is tied to satisfactory training completion. |
| Existing-business transfer | Franchisor approval, assumption/current-form franchise documents, release, transfer documents, and lease assignment if applicable. | Transferee qualifications, training, upgrades, fees, seller compliance, and landlord approval may control closing and operating continuity. |
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 17, pp. 19-20; Franchise Agreement Section XIX.A, agreement pp. 25-26. The official domestic member directory can help identify operating territories, but it is not a substitute for the contract's Territory exhibit or Item 20 franchisee contacts.
What should be verified before signing and before opening?
What is the verified Weathersby Guild opening path?
The verified path is: complete the undisclosed candidate-screening stage; receive and review the 2026 FDD; sign the single-unit Franchise Agreement and Territory exhibit; establish office and storage arrangements; obtain compliant tools, systems, permits, and insurance; train the manager and every technician; and complete all preparations to Weathersby Guild's satisfaction.
The only official total is a 30-to-60-day post-signing estimate, not an inquiry-to-opening guarantee. The most important applicant-controlled dependency is assembling trained personnel and compliant operating assets within the 60-day contractual window. The main franchisor/third-party dependencies are training scheduling, insurer and government approvals, and any supplier review. Before signing, verify the unpublished approval criteria, exact Territory, final training duration, and whether any separate opening-authorization step applies.