How does the Tire Pros opening process work?
Tire Pros uses one Franchise Agreement for a start-up Center or the conversion of an existing retail tire sales and service store. The 2026 FDD expects opening in less than 30 days after signing and requires operation within 30 days after the Agreement’s Effective Date unless the franchisor agrees otherwise. The explanation is most clearly tied to conversion stores, so a start-up applicant must verify that its site, lease, equipment, permits, insurance, and suppliers can fit that deadline.
Evidence: 2026 Tire Pros FDD, cover; Items 1, 9 and 11; Franchise Agreement §§1.1–1.3 and Schedule B. The official Tire Pros franchise page is the public inquiry channel, but the FDD and signed Agreement control contractual obligations.
What must an applicant qualify for before signing?
The 2026 FDD does not publish a minimum net worth, liquid-capital amount, credit score, education level, citizenship rule, application fee, or required years of tire-industry experience. Meeting any informal screening standard therefore does not guarantee approval. The disclosed operating qualifications focus on the site, the Designated Operator, ownership records, credit-history requirements within the marketing program, and the ability to satisfy a compressed opening schedule.
Present either an existing retail tire sales and service store for conversion or a workable start-up Center plan.
The Franchise Agreement grants rights for one specific address and provides no protected territory.
This full-time supervisor must have substantial operating experience, strong management ability, no competitor relationship, and franchisor approval.
The ownership schedule must identify all owners and interests; the franchisor may request governing and organizational documents.
The franchisee, owners, Designated Operators, and Center managers must execute the prescribed Non-Disclosure Agreement.
The Marketing Program requires compliance with credit-history requirements, but the FDD gives no numerical threshold.
Evidence: 2026 Tire Pros FDD, Items 11 and 15, pp. 19–21 and 29–30; Franchise Agreement §§1.1, 2.4, 2.6 and 2.11; Schedules A and C.
What are the actual steps from inquiry to opening?
Action: Explain whether the proposal is a conversion or start-up and identify the ownership group, operator, market, and proposed location.
Actor: Applicant.
Timing: Not disclosed.
Blocker: Tire Pros does not disclose its application documents, internal approval sequence, or response time.
Action: Submit the site’s physical characteristics, parking, traffic, zoning, competition, demographics, household income, and material lease terms.
Actor: Applicant proposes; franchisor approves.
Timing: No site-review period is disclosed.
Blocker: The Agreement identifies a specific address, so resolve site approval before executing a noncontingent lease or signing.
Action: Review all 23 Items, the Franchise Agreement, State Addenda, ownership schedule, Work List, NDA, and Lease Rider.
Actor: Franchisor delivers; applicant reviews.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing or making a covered payment.
Next dependency: Resolve state deferrals and any updated disclosure before signing.
Action: Fill every blank, confirm the Center address, execute Schedule A, the Identification Work List, and required NDAs, and pay the Initial Franchise Fee unless state law defers it.
Actor: Franchisee and franchisor.
Timing: Effective Date starts the 30-day opening clock.
Blocker: The fee is generally non-refundable.
Action: Obtain equipment, POS capability, internet and email, insurance, required products, warranty-program materials, approved suppliers, inventory, signage approval, and applicable permits.
Actor: Franchisee, insurer, suppliers, contractors, and authorities.
Timing: Before operation where required.
Blocker: Tire Pros does not provide equipment, sign, fixture, inventory, or supply procurement assistance before opening.
Action: Participate through ATD in the Continental GOLD Program, join at least one additional approved manufacturer or supplier program, execute required program documents, and prepare Required Warranty Programs.
Actor: Franchisee, ATD, manufacturers, and program providers.
Timing: Readiness dependency; exact enrollment lead time is not disclosed.
Blocker: Third-party approval, product availability, and document processing.
Action: Deliver insurance certificates, notify the planned commencement date, and receive the franchisor’s prior approval before operating under the Tire Pros Marks.
Actor: Franchisee submits; franchisor approves.
Timing: Open within 30 days after the Effective Date unless otherwise agreed.
Blocker: Missing insurance, unauthorized location, incomplete readiness, or delayed permits and signage.
Action: Permit the 32-hour New Dealer Onboarding and Program Training at the Center, complete the Ad Plan, submit the signed Lease Rider, and finish exterior identification.
Actor: Franchisee, required trainees, landlord, and franchisor trainers.
Timing: 60, 90, and 90–120-day deadlines apply.
Blocker: Training failure can support termination and may limit access to System elements.
Sequence derived from the 2026 Tire Pros FDD, Items 5, 8, 9 and 11; Franchise Agreement §§1.2–1.3, 2.1–2.4, 3.1, 4.2, 5.1 and 6.1; Schedules A–D. The FDD does not disclose a separate Development Agreement or area-development schedule.
Does site approval create a protected Tire Pros territory?
No. The Franchise Agreement permits operation only from the approved Center address and prohibits relocation without prior written approval, but it grants no exclusive territory, protected area, customer allocation, first-refusal right, or conflict-resolution mechanism. Other Tire Pros Centers, affiliated channels, internet sales, or competing outlets may operate near the approved site.
Tire Pros evaluates the building, parking, traffic, zoning, competition, population density, household income, and material lease terms. That approval confirms suitability under the System; it does not restrict where another Center or channel may compete.
The FDD recommends, rather than mandates, a building of approximately 8,000–10,000 square feet with 6–10 service bays, preferably in a retail-heavy area; a stand-alone site may provide greater visibility. The franchisee locates and evaluates the premises. Tire Pros may provide a local market study and operational business analysis after signing if requested, but it does not promise to find the site, negotiate the lease, secure zoning, or obtain permits.
Evidence: 2026 Tire Pros FDD, Items 7, 11 and 12, pp. 10–13 and 19–26; Franchise Agreement §§1.1 and 2.1(b).
How do the conversion and start-up paths differ?
Both paths use the same Franchise Agreement and 30-day opening requirement, but their third-party dependencies differ. A conversion begins with an operating tire store and focuses on re-identification, product alignment, supplier enrollment, warranty programs, systems, and approved signage. A start-up must also have a usable facility, shop equipment, furniture, opening inventory, lease arrangements, and operating infrastructure ready quickly enough to meet the Agreement.
| Decision point | Existing-store conversion | Start-up Center |
|---|---|---|
| Premises | Existing retail tire store; site still requires approval. | Approved existing facility suitable for a new operation; ground-up construction is not budgeted. |
| Pre-opening work | Re-identify interior/exterior, adjust products, install approved signage, enroll programs. | Complete the same brand work plus equipment, furniture, inventory, utilities, and operating setup. |
| Inventory | May need product-line changes before opening. | Opening inventory and Continental GOLD opening order must be available. |
| Primary timing risk | Sign permits, vendor scheduling, product alignment, and logo approval. | Lease, equipment, contractor, permit, utility, supplier, and staffing lead times. |
The Work List allows 90–120 days for exterior Tire Pros signage, and initial training occurs within 90 days after opening, yet the Center must begin operating within 30 days of the Effective Date. Opening therefore can precede completion of these post-signing identification and training milestones; verify the minimum conditions Tire Pros will require for opening approval.
Which disclosed deadlines control the opening sequence?
The FTC review period is calendar days; the Tire Pros Agreement states “days” without labeling them business days. Triggers appear beneath each label.
Interpretation: the opening deadline is the earliest contract clock; landlord paperwork, training, and full exterior identification continue after the Center can begin operating.
Source: FTC Franchise Rule timing as summarized by the FTC franchise buyer guide; 2026 Tire Pros FDD, Item 11, pp. 19–21; Franchise Agreement §§1.2–1.3, 3.1 and Schedule B. The FTC Franchise Rule FAQs explain additional review timing when material agreement terms change.
Who is responsible for each opening dependency?
The franchisee controls most readiness work; Tire Pros controls brand, site, advertising, and opening approvals; third parties control several lead times. Franchisor assistance is limited and should not be read as a promise to obtain real estate, financing, equipment, inventory, permits, employees, or construction completion.
The parent and primary distributor relationship is described in the FDD and on the official American Tire Distributors site. Payment systems must satisfy the Agreement and applicable card-network requirements; the PCI Security Standards Council’s PCI DSS page is the official standard reference.
What must be complete before Tire Pros can authorize operation?
The Agreement does not publish a single opening certificate or exhaustive inspection checklist. It does expressly require an approved location, prior notice and approval of the commencement date, compliant insurance certificates, and operation under the System. The following items are evidenced readiness dependencies, but the buyer should obtain Tire Pros’ current written opening checklist because the Manual can add Brand Standards.
Evidence: 2026 Tire Pros FDD, Items 8, 11, 15 and 16; Franchise Agreement §§1.2–1.3, 2.1–2.3, 2.16–2.17, 4.1–4.2 and 5.6.
What should be verified before the Agreement is signed?
The FDD highlights financial-condition and going-concern risks concerning the franchisor’s ability to provide services and support. Because Tire Pros places initial onboarding within 90 days after opening, verify the current personnel, scheduling, and resources available for that training and other opening support before signing.
What evidence supports this opening roadmap?
What is the verified Tire Pros opening path?
The verified path is inquiry and format selection, candidate and site review, FDD receipt, Agreement execution, readiness setup, supplier and warranty enrollment, opening notice and approval, then post-opening training and identification deadlines. The FDD provides an official expected sign-to-opening period of less than 30 days and a contractual 30-day commencement deadline, but the explanation is strongest for conversion stores.
The most important applicant-controlled dependency is securing an approved, operational site with insurance, equipment, systems, products, landlord documents, and permits ready before the Effective Date clock expires. The most important external dependency is Tire Pros’ site and opening approval combined with landlord, insurer, supplier, contractor, and government timing. Before signing, resolve in writing how the 30-day deadline applies to a start-up and what minimum conditions permit opening before the 60-day Lease Rider, 90-day training, and 90–120-day signage milestones are complete.