How to Start a SVN Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

PROCESS & TIMING

How long does it take to open an SVN franchise, and what has to happen first?

10–90 days
Official typical sign-to-open estimate. The 2026 SVN Franchise Disclosure Document estimates 10 to 90 days from signing the Franchise Agreement to opening. That is an estimate, not a promise. The Franchise Agreement separately requires the Franchise Business to open within 120 days of its Effective Date. Site acceptance, insurance, the office transition, licensing compliance, and third-party dependencies can affect the actual date.
Legal franchisorSVN International Corp., a Delaware Public Benefit Corporation.
Disclosure basis2026 FDD issued March 31, 2026; amended June 3, 2026.
Current opening pathsNew SVN Franchise or conversion of an existing commercial real estate firm; one agreement covers one location.
Timeline evidence modeOfficial 10–90 day typical estimate; separate 120-day contractual opening deadline.
Primary evidenceFDD Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; Franchise Agreement §§2.3, 5.1–5.2, 6.1–6.6, 9.4, 11.3, 14.1.
CheckedJuly 18, 2026. Public context: SVN's U.S. franchise page and the FTC Franchise Rule.
14 days
Federal FDD review period
At least 14 calendar days before signing or paying. FTC; FDD cover.
120 days
Contractual opening deadline
Measured from the Franchise Agreement Effective Date. Agreement §6.1.
90 days
SVN transition deadline
Calendar days to transition Marks, d/b/a, licenses, phones and signs. §6.2.1.
24.75 hrs
Initial MDX training
Approximately three online training days. FDD Item 11.
9 months
Training completion deadline
Required attendees must complete MDX to SVNIC's satisfaction. §5.1.3.
FEDERAL TIMING CONFLICT TO VERIFY SVN's hosted “5 Easy Steps” page mentions a seven-day waiting period. The 2026 FDD cover and current FTC buyer guidance require at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding franchise agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate. Follow the current FDD and FTC rule, and verify any revised agreement timing separately.
QUALIFICATION

What must an SVN applicant qualify for before signing?

Before signing, the prospective franchisee must be licensed by the applicable state as a real estate broker. If the SVN Franchise Business has multiple owners, at least one owner must hold that license. A licensed Broker in Charge must remain in place at all times.

The FDD does not disclose a universal net-worth, liquid-capital, credit-score, education or prior-ownership minimum. SVN's hosted sales page describes an application, background authorization, credit, criminal and reference investigation, and Executive Management Selection Committee review; these are supplemental process statements, not contractual minimums.

Real estate broker license is in place before Franchise Agreement execution.
If there are multiple owners, at least one owner is the licensed real estate broker.
A licensed Broker in Charge is identified and can remain in place continuously.
Entity owners are prepared to sign the Franchise Agreement and Schedule B Guaranty.
Applicant can devote the full-time attention required by the Franchise Agreement and Item 15.
Any application, background, credit and reference review requested by SVNIC is complete.
VERIFIED ROADMAP

What is the opening sequence from inquiry to launch?

SVN's public sales material supplies the inquiry and application sequence; the 2026 FDD and Franchise Agreement control contractual steps after disclosure and signing.

Explore and qualify
1

Start with discovery

Action: Discuss business needs, current operations, growth goals and cultural fit through SVN's hosted franchise-development process.Actor: Applicant and SVN franchise-development team.Timing: Before application review; no contractual duration is disclosed.Blocker / next dependency: SVN continues the prospect into diligence; no franchise award is promised.
2

Receive and review the FDD

Action: Receive the 2026 FDD and review the Franchise Agreement, Guaranty, Intranet Services Agreement and applicable state addenda before signing or paying.Actor: Franchisor delivers; applicant reviews.Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate.Blocker / next dependency: The federal disclosure period or applicable state conditions remain unresolved.
3

Complete diligence and application review

Action: Complete customized diligence, the franchise application and background authorization; SVN's hosted process says review includes credit, criminal and reference investigations.Actor: Applicant supplies information; SVNIC decides whether to approve.Timing: Before agreement execution; no contractual application-review duration is disclosed.Blocker / next dependency: Approval is discretionary, and meeting disclosed requirements does not guarantee acceptance.
4

Lock in licensing and ownership structure

Action: Satisfy the broker-license gate and confirm the signing entity. If there are multiple owners, at least one owner must be the licensed broker; entity owners sign the Guaranty.Actor: Applicant, owners and state licensing authority.Timing: Broker licensing must be in place before Franchise Agreement execution.Blocker / next dependency: The personalized agreement package cannot be completed until licensing and ownership are settled.
Contract and setup
5

Execute the Franchise Agreement and related documents

Action: Sign the Franchise Agreement and related documents, then follow the payment trigger that applies under the FDD and any state-specific addendum.Actor: Approved franchisee and SVNIC.Timing: After the federal disclosure period and any applicable state-law conditions.Blocker / next dependency: A state fee-deferral condition or incomplete agreement package can change the payment sequence.
6

Confirm the Primary Market Area and office location

Action: Confirm the nonexclusive Primary Market Area and, if no location already exists, submit the proposed office for SVNIC acceptance. Home or virtual operation requires SVNIC's discretion.Actor: Franchisee selects the location; SVNIC accepts or rejects it.Timing: Item 11 says SVNIC tries to respond within 30 days after site submission.Blocker / next dependency: A rejected site, lease timing, zoning or local requirements can delay setup.
7

Complete the SVN transition and operating setup

Action: Complete compliant d/b/a and licensing changes, branding, phones, signs, required equipment, broadband, SVN email accounts, required systems, approved-source purchases and insurance.Actor: Franchisee, approved suppliers, insurer and government authorities.Timing: Transition to SVN Marks and System within 90 calendar days; a conversion's required insurance is due within 21 days and before using the SVN name.Blocker / next dependency: Supplier, insurer, licensing or local-approval delays can block readiness.
8

Begin onboarding and required training

Action: Begin the three-month online onboarding program and schedule the MDX Accelerator 2.0 initial program, approximately 24.75 online hours, for all required attendees.Actor: SVNIC provides training; the franchisee and required attendees complete it.Timing: MDX must be completed to SVNIC's satisfaction within nine months of signing; the FDD does not make full MDX completion a stated pre-opening condition.Blocker / next dependency: Missing the nine-month deadline may lead to termination, although SVNIC may grant more time.
Open and document readiness
9

Open within the contractual window

Action: Open to the public when licensing, insurance, approved-location and contractual setup requirements are ready; the FDD does not disclose a separate formal opening-authorization certificate.Actor: Franchisee controls readiness; SVNIC performs its disclosed pre-opening obligations.Timing: The FDD estimates 10–90 days as typical; the Agreement requires opening within 120 days of the Effective Date.Blocker / next dependency: Third-party delays can affect timing; failure to open by day 120 may permit termination and retention of amounts paid.
NOTICE OF COMPLETION After SVNIC says its pre-opening obligations are complete, it may ask the franchisee to sign a Notice of Completion. Under Franchise Agreement §5.2.3, the franchisee has five days to sign it or identify specific Remaining Obligations in writing. Failing to respond on time can be treated as confirmation that SVNIC's pre-opening obligations were met.
FORMAT DIFFERENCES

How does opening a new SVN office differ from converting an existing firm?

The 2026 FDD presents two establishment paths: a new SVN Franchise and conversion of an existing commercial real estate firm, both under the same single-location Franchise Agreement. Item 20 says legacy satellite-location addenda are no longer offered; Item 22 lists no current Development Agreement or Area Development Agreement.

Opening issue New SVN Franchise Conversion What to verify
Office New office, executive suite, co-working, or approved home/virtual setup. May continue from an existing office if it meets SVNIC Policies. Written site acceptance and PMA fit.
Insurance Required coverage in place before opening. Within 21 days after signing and before conducting business under the SVN name. Manual limits, endorsements and insurer timing.
Brand transition Complete setup before launch and within the Agreement's 90-day transition requirement. Convert d/b/a, licenses, cards, stationery, phones, office signs and property signs. Any local filing or sign approval dependencies.
Additional office Inside the PMA requires prior written consent and related amendments/addenda; outside the PMA requires a separate SVN Franchise and Franchise Agreement. No assumption of multi-unit rights.
SITE APPROVAL IS NOT TERRITORY PROTECTION Acceptance of an office location does not create exclusivity. The Primary Market Area is expressly nonexclusive, and SVNIC may permit other SVN offices in the same PMA. A buyer should therefore verify the proposed business address, PMA description and any nearby office overlap as separate questions before signing.
Opening-related timing windows in the 2026 SVN documents

These periods use days as the unit but do not share one trigger, so they should not be added together.

0 30 60 90 120 days Typical signing → opening estimate 10–90 Conversion insurance after signing 21 Site response target after submission 30 Transition to SVN Marks/System 90 Open to the public after Effective Date 120

Interpretation: the 10–90 day range is an official estimate, the 30-day site response is a stated target (“try to approve or reject”), and the 90- and 120-day periods are agreement deadlines. The 21-day insurance rule applies to conversions. Source: 2026 FDD Items 7 and 11; Franchise Agreement §§6.1–6.2.

RESPONSIBILITIES

Who controls each part of the SVN opening process?

The applicant controls much of the critical path, while SVNIC and third parties control specific approvals and dependencies. Franchisor assistance does not replace the franchisee's licensing, lease, insurance, supplier or legal responsibilities.

Opening responsibility matrix

Applicant / Franchisee

Before signing: broker license, application information, ownership structure, FDD review.
Setup: select site, obtain insurance, licenses, equipment, signs, d/b/a, systems and staffing.
Deadline: complete transition and open within the Agreement's time limits.

SVN International Corp.

Decision: applicant approval and site acceptance or rejection.
Pre-opening: Manuals access, exemplar artwork and three-month onboarding program.
Training: provide MDX program and determine satisfactory completion.

Third parties

Government: broker licensing and other applicable business or service licenses.
Landlord / vendors: lease timing, signage, equipment, connectivity and office readiness.
Insurer: required policies and endorsements before applicable operating milestones.
OPENING READINESS

What should be complete before an SVN office goes live?

The 2026 FDD does not provide a stand-alone opening certificate or final inspection checklist. Readiness instead comes from the Franchise Agreement, FDD obligations, applicable licenses, insurance, approved location and required systems.

Approved Franchisee Business Address, or written permission for a home or virtual office.
Licensed Broker in Charge in place; franchisee and Authorized Salespersons properly licensed.
Required commercial general liability, E&O, auto and applicable workers' compensation coverage active.
Required d/b/a, state/local business and real estate-license changes completed for the SVN identity.
Compliant business cards, stationery, signs and other branded materials obtained from required or approved sources.
Broadband, telephone, computer equipment, SVN platform access and svn.com email accounts operational.
Franchisee Intranet Services Agreement and any required user agreements executed.
Any Ancillary Service is listed in Schedule C or separately approved in writing before being offered.
Three-month onboarding program has been provided; MDX training is scheduled to meet the nine-month deadline.
Any requested Notice of Completion is signed or disputed with specific Remaining Obligations within five days.
BUYER VERIFICATION

What should a prospective SVN franchisee verify before signing?

Reconcile the personalized Franchise Agreement and state addendum against the 2026 FDD. Confirm the Effective Date, payment timing, PMA, business address, Broker in Charge, owner guaranties, any home/virtual approval, and current Manual requirements affecting insurance, equipment, suppliers or branding.

Verify the front-end sales process. SVN's hosted five-step page describes background, credit and reference investigations and committee approval, but its seven-day statement conflicts with the current 14-calendar-day federal disclosure rule. Confirm the forms, investigations and approvals currently used.

Use Item 20 and Exhibit G to ask current and former franchisees about site-response timing, conversion work, onboarding, insurance setup and actual Effective-Date-to-opening timing. The Join SVN page and franchise inquiry page provide current contact paths; the FDD and signed agreements control contractual obligations.

Federal references: FTC Franchise Rule, FTC FAQs, and Compliance Guide. Contractual references are the 2026 SVN FDD and attached Franchise Agreement; no verified franchise-controlled public FDD copy was identified.

Bottom line: the verified SVN path is diligence, FDD review, application approval, broker-license and ownership confirmation, agreement execution, PMA/site setup, SVN transition, onboarding and opening. The FDD gives an official 10–90 day typical estimate; the Agreement imposes a 120-day opening deadline. Applicant-controlled dependencies center on licensing and setup; SVNIC/third-party dependencies include site acceptance, insurance and government timing. Verify the applicable state fee-deferral addendum and unresolved readiness items before signing.