How to Start a SUPERGLASS WINDSHIELD REPAIR Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

How does the SuperGlass Windshield Repair opening process work?

3–6 weeks Typical time from signing to opening The 2026 FDD gives this as a typical estimate, not a promise. The path is a single-unit, primarily mobile franchise: complete the pre-sale review and signing stage, secure approval of a business address or physical site, satisfy insurance, licensing, equipment and training requirements, then obtain the franchisor’s approval to commence operations.
Data basis: legal franchisor SuperGlass Windshield Repair, Inc.; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 7, 2026; single-unit Franchise Agreement with a protected Territory and an Approved Location that may be a home address where lawful. Timeline mode: official total timeline because Item 11 discloses a typical 3–6 week signing-to-opening period. Key evidence: 2026 FDD Items 5–12, 15–17 and 20; Franchise Agreement §§ II, IV–V, VII–IX, XII–XIV and Exhibits 1–3. Checked July 19, 2026.
14 calendar days Minimum federal FDD review period before signing or payment.
4 weeks address/site approval deadline Measured from franchisor execution of the Franchise Agreement.
5 days pre-opening training Management and technical training run concurrently.
5 business days Disclosed response time on a proposed physical site.
6 months stricter disclosed opening deadline Item 11 and the Agreement use six months; Item 5 says one year.

The FTC says a prospect must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement with, or paying money to, the franchisor or its affiliate. That waiting period is not the application timeline and does not predict when SuperGlass will approve a candidate. See the FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise and the FTC Franchise Rule page.

Contractual deadline The 2026 FDD is internally inconsistent on the outside opening deadline. Item 5 says the franchisor may terminate if the franchise is not opened within one year of the Franchise Agreement’s Effective Date, while Item 11 and Franchise Agreement §VII(A) use six months after execution, and §IX(A) also uses a six-month limit tied to the Commencement Date and approval. A buyer should obtain written clarification of the controlling trigger before signing and plan against the stricter six-month language.
QUALIFICATION

What must an applicant qualify for before signing?

The 2026 FDD refers to “qualified purchasers” but does not disclose a universal minimum net worth, liquid-capital threshold, credit score, education requirement, or prior automotive-industry requirement. The brand’s current official FAQ states that prior windshield-repair experience is not required because training is provided.

Qualification still involves franchisor judgment. The FDD references an initial franchise application, makes a material misrepresentation on that application a termination issue, and states that a conditional franchise offer can be revoked if the trainee does not complete training to the franchisor’s satisfaction or is found unfit to represent the brand. No disclosed threshold guarantees approval. 2026 FDD, Items 11 and 17; Franchise Agreement §V.

If the franchisee is a corporation, LLC, or partnership, the governing documents and ownership information must be furnished as required, and the owners must sign the applicable Entity Rider and guaranty obligations. Exhibit 2 restricts ownership transfers without prior written consent; Exhibit 3 contains the Unconditional Guaranty of Franchisee’s Undertakings. The FDD says each equity owner of a legal-entity franchisee personally guarantees the franchisee’s obligations, while a spouse who is not an equity owner is not required by Item 15 to sign that guaranty.

APPLICATION TO OPENING

What are the actual steps from inquiry to opening?

1

Submit an inquiry and complete the candidate review

Action: Provide truthful applicant information and discuss territory availability.

Actor: Applicant and franchisor.

Timing: No approval duration is disclosed.

Blocker: The FDD gives no automatic qualification right; franchisor acceptance remains a gate.

2

Receive and review the current FDD

Action: Review all 23 Items, the Franchise Agreement, entity documents, guaranty and state addenda.

Actor: Applicant.

Timing: At least 14 calendar days before binding signing or payment.

Next: Resolve contract conflicts and state-specific changes before execution.

3

Execute the Franchise Agreement and required ownership documents

Action: Sign the single-unit agreement and applicable entity/guaranty documents; the Initial Franchise Fee and Start-Up Package payment are triggered at signing.

Actor: Franchisee and franchisor.

Timing: After the federal pre-sale review period.

Blocker: Do not assume franchisor financing; Item 5 and Item 10 conflict on whether any is offered.

4

Finalize the Territory and obtain Approved Location approval

Action: Identify the primary business address inside the Territory; it may be a lawful home address, office suite, or commercial site.

Actor: Franchisee selects; franchisor approves.

Timing: Approval must be obtained within four weeks after franchisor execution.

Blocker: A proposed physical site can be rejected.

5

Complete location, vehicle, insurance and legal setup

Action: If using commercial premises, close or lease after location approval and complete any required buildout. Obtain required business licenses, permits, insurance, vehicle setup, telephone and invoicing-compatible tablet.

Actor: Franchisee and third parties.

Timing: Before opening.

Blocker: Landlord, insurer, supplier and government timelines are not controlled by the franchisor.

6

Complete management and technical training

Action: At least one approved individual must complete management and technical training to the franchisor’s satisfaction; anyone performing windshield repairs must complete technical training.

Actor: Franchisee/manager/technicians and franchisor trainers.

Timing: Five-day pre-opening program, typically in Orlando.

Blocker: Unsatisfactory completion can prevent opening and trigger termination rights.

7

Finish the pre-opening readiness checklist

Action: Use approved suppliers; receive required equipment and inventory; obtain insurance; complete setup to Manual specifications; secure licenses; execute required covenants; prepare approved marketing.

Actor: Franchisee, suppliers and authorities.

Timing: All must be complete before operations begin.

Next: Submit for franchisor approval to commence operations.

8

Obtain opening approval and commence operations

Action: Receive the franchisor’s approval to commence operations, then open the Unit.

Actor: Franchisor authorizes; franchisee opens.

Timing: Typical signing-to-opening estimate is 3–6 weeks, subject to dependencies.

Blocker: Opening approval is distinct from training completion, site approval, permits and construction completion.

The brand’s current franchise information page provides an inquiry form and markets several package labels, but the 2026 FDD governs the contractual opening path described here. The FDD grants one Unit under one Franchise Agreement and does not disclose a separate area-development agreement or multi-unit development schedule. The agreement also states that the one-unit license does not itself grant a right to acquire additional Units.

TERRITORY AND SITE APPROVAL

Does a mobile franchise still need an approved location?

Yes. Even for a mobile operation, the Franchise Agreement requires a primary Approved Location inside the Territory. It may be a home address where lawful, an office suite, or a commercial site. The franchisee bears the responsibility for identifying it. If a physical site is proposed, the FDD says SuperGlass will notify the franchisee of approval or disapproval within five business days after receiving notice.

Site approval is not the same as territory protection. The 2026 FDD calls the Territory “protected” but explicitly says it is not exclusive. As long as the franchisee remains compliant, the franchisor says it will not operate or grant a similar SuperGlass franchise inside the Territory, subject to reserved rights including National Accounts and alternative distribution channels. The current public franchise page uses “exclusive territory” in package marketing; buyers should reconcile that wording with Item 12 and Franchise Agreement §II before signing. Available-market context can be checked on the official locations and territories page.

Site approval is not opening authorization A home address can remove the need for a commercial lease and buildout, but it does not remove the Approved Location requirement, local-law compliance, insurance, training, supplier, equipment, licensing, covenant, or final opening-approval gates. For a commercial site, SuperGlass may assist with layout, but the franchisee remains responsible for the lease, construction, code compliance, permits and costs. 2026 FDD, Item 11; Franchise Agreement §§VII and IX.
TRAINING

What training must be finished before the franchise can open?

The contractual baseline is a five-day pre-opening program combining management and technical training, with at least one approved individual completing both to the franchisor’s satisfaction. The FDD’s training table shows 40 classroom hours for management training plus 24 hours of field training in the franchisee’s Territory; the 35.5-hour technical curriculum is included within management training. Every person who performs windshield repair must successfully complete technical training.

Management training: how the 40 classroom hours are allocated

The bars reconcile to the 40 classroom hours disclosed in Item 11; the separate 24 field-training hours are not included in the bars.

Technical aspects / equipment 33.0 h Marketing / support 1.5 h Bookkeeping / records 1.0 h Daily operations 1.0 h Testing 1.0 h Other disclosed modules 2.5 h

Interpretation: the classroom schedule is overwhelmingly technical. The 24 hours of field training therefore matter as a separate sales-and-market setup component rather than as a substitute for technical completion.

Source: 2026 SuperGlass Windshield Repair FDD, Item 11, management-training table, p. 21. “Other disclosed modules” equals 0.5 + 0.2 + 0.2 + 0.2 + 0.6 + 0.3 + 0.5 hours.

There is a disclosed inconsistency about post-opening or on-site assistance. Item 5 and portions of Item 11 describe three days, while Franchise Agreement §V(B) describes a five-day post-opening assistance program and §V(A)(5) describes three days. The public franchise page currently advertises four days of Orlando training for some packages and optional city setup. The contractual article therefore uses the FDD’s five-day pre-opening requirement as the opening gate and flags the on-site assistance duration for written confirmation.

RESPONSIBILITIES

Who controls the critical opening dependencies?

Opening responsibility matrix

The parties do not share every obligation: several critical tasks remain solely with the franchisee or outside parties.

Applicant / Franchisee

Truthful application; contract and entity documents; Approved Location proposal; lease or purchase if used; local compliance; licenses and permits; required insurance; vehicle, telephone and tablet; approved products; trainee attendance; pre-opening covenants; readiness completion.

Franchisor

FDD disclosure; candidate acceptance; Territory and Approved Location approval; system standards; required equipment/supply package; initial training; approved-supplier rules; marketing approvals; pre-opening assistance described in the agreement; final approval to commence operations.

Third Parties

Landlord or seller if commercial premises are used; insurer; approved vendors and carriers; contractor if buildout applies; lender if financing is independently arranged; and federal, state or local authorities responsible for applicable registrations, licenses, permits and inspections.

Source: 2026 FDD Items 8, 9 and 11; Franchise Agreement §§VII–IX and XIII–XIV.

OPENING READINESS

What must be verified before SuperGlass authorizes operations?

✓ The Franchise Agreement, Exhibit 1, Territory description, Approved Location, entity documents and guaranties match the ownership structure actually being used.
✓ The primary business address has written approval, and any commercial lease or purchase is completed only after the location approval sequence required by the Agreement.
✓ Required insurance is active, SuperGlass is named as an additional insured where required, and evidence of coverage has been delivered as the Agreement requires.
✓ All applicable licenses, permits, registrations, bonds or certificates required for the actual state and locality have been obtained; the FDD does not create one universal municipal checklist.
✓ Required equipment, proprietary products, repair chemicals, inventory, vehicle signage, tablet/invoicing compatibility, phone and other opening supplies are in place from approved sources.
✓ At least one approved individual has completed management and technical training, and every technician who will repair windshields has completed the technical program.
✓ Any planned advertising, signs or promotional materials have the required approval, and the franchisee is not relying on the franchisor to perform marketing it has not contractually promised.
✓ The franchisor has expressly approved commencement of operations; training completion or receipt of equipment alone is not the same as opening authorization.
Buyer verification Before signing, reconcile three disclosed conflicts in writing: the six-month versus one-year opening deadline; the three-day versus five-day on-site/post-opening assistance language; and Item 5’s statement that the franchisor may finance the Initial Franchise Fee versus Item 10’s statement that it offers no direct or indirect financing. Also confirm how many training seats are included in the selected package. The official SuperGlass contact page provides the current franchisor contact channel.
RESALE PATH

Is buying an existing SuperGlass franchise a different opening path?

Yes. A transfer is not the same as opening a new Unit. The 2026 FDD reports four franchise transfers in 2025. Under Franchise Agreement §XIX, a transferee must satisfy the franchisor’s then-current requirements, may need to sign the then-current Franchise Agreement and guaranty, must complete required training, and cannot take the transfer without prior written franchisor consent. Existing-site and operational transition tasks do not eliminate approval and training gates.

Bottom line: the verified new-unit path is inquiry and candidate review → FDD receipt and federal review period → Franchise Agreement and ownership documents → Territory and Approved Location approval → licenses, insurance, equipment and any site work → required management/technical training → pre-opening readiness → franchisor approval to commence operations.

The total timeline is an official typical estimate of 3–6 weeks from signing to opening, not a guaranteed completion date. The most important applicant-controlled dependency is completing the Approved Location, local compliance, insurance, equipment and training work on time. The most important franchisor/third-party dependencies are location approval, training satisfaction, supplier delivery and any landlord or government timing. The key unresolved contractual issue is the FDD’s conflicting six-month versus one-year opening deadline, which should be clarified in writing before execution.