Opening path
How does opening a Regal Nails Salon & Spa franchise work?
1–2 years
Party-tenant average only
For a location leased by Regal Nails, Salon & Spa, LLC and subleased to the franchisee, the 2026 FDD reports an average of about one to two years from Franchise Agreement signing to Grand Opening. The FDD gives no complete total for a direct-lease location, so the overall article uses a milestone-only roadmap and keeps landlord, construction, licensing, training, and opening approvals separate.
Legal franchisor: Regal Nails, Salon & Spa, LLC, a Nevada limited liability company.
Disclosure basis: 2026 U.S. FDD issued March 30, 2026; checked July 14, 2026.
Formats covered: franchisor-as-tenant sublease, franchisee direct lease, and Exchange concession location.
Evidence used: Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; Franchise Agreement; Site Deposit Addendum; lease documents; Exchange Addendum; Franchise Commencement Agreement.
Brand reference: official Regal Nails website. Federal disclosure timing: 16 CFR 436.2, the FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide, and the FTC’s franchise buyer guidance.
14
calendar days
Federal FDD review period before a binding agreement or payment.
60
days for direct site
Select, obtain approval, and secure the site after signing.
10
days to confirm
Party-tenant Confirmation Fee deadline after notice.
8
weeks before opening
Training attendance timing stated for new franchisees.
3
training days
Mandatory Baton Rouge program for required attendees.
Format identity
Which location and agreement path applies?
The controlling path depends on who holds the premises agreement. Most disclosed salons are in Wal-Mart or another big-box setting where Regal Nails, Salon & Spa, LLC is a party tenant and the franchisee subleases through the Franchise Agreement. The FDD says fewer than 1% of franchisees historically leased directly from their landlord.
| Official path |
Site responsibility |
Governing documents |
Opening consequence |
| Franchisor-as-tenant |
Regal attempts to lease a mutually selected site offered by a big-box landlord; the landlord controls availability and timing. |
Franchise Agreement, Site Deposit Addendum, Sublease Schedule, applicable master lease, and sometimes Franchise Commencement Agreement. |
Landlord confirmation triggers the 10-day Confirmation Fee deadline; the retailer may set the Grand Opening date. |
| Franchisee direct lease |
The franchisee identifies the site, obtains Regal approval before leasing, negotiates the lease, and secures the premises. |
Franchise Agreement, landlord lease, and Regal lease rider signed by franchisee and landlord. |
The site, approval, and secured lease must be completed within 60 days after signing, or the disclosed payment and termination consequences may apply. |
| Exchange concession |
Regal locates a site for approval and connects the applicant with the Army and Air Force Exchange Service for the ECC. |
Franchise Agreement, Exchange Concessionaire Contract, and Exchange Addendum. |
The ECC controls if it conflicts with the Franchise Agreement and adds venue-specific operating and employee conditions. |
Site approval is not territory protection
The granted “Territory” is generally the four walls of the approved salon. A General Vicinity in the Site Deposit Addendum is not a territory, and the FDD expressly states that the franchisee does not receive an exclusive territory. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 12, pp. 49–51; Site Deposit Addendum §§2–4, Ex. A pp. A64–A65.
Application
What must the applicant qualify for and sign?
The FDD does not publish a numeric net-worth minimum, liquid-capital threshold, credit-score cutoff, education requirement, or new-applicant salon-experience minimum. The Franchise Agreement instead requires representations of good moral character, good credit, financial capability, and competent business qualifications. Meeting those representations does not require Regal Nails, Salon & Spa, LLC to approve an applicant.
Use the current disclosure packageConfirm the March 30, 2026 FDD, state addenda, receipts, and all contracts match the offered site and ownership entity.
Observe the federal timing ruleReceive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate.
Submit the applicationThe FDD says the application follows holding the disclosure document for at least 14 days and includes a $250 non-refundable Application Fee.
Identify every ownerEach individual with an ownership interest must sign the Franchise Agreement and the Non-Competition and Confidentiality Agreement.
Select an operating structureIf an entity will be franchisee, identify the principal owner; one owning at least one-third is treated as the principal owner for training purposes.
Plan active supervisionPersonal daily operation is not mandatory, but an absentee owner must inspect weekly and maintain a trained, state-licensed on-premises manager.
Match the real-estate documentsUse the Site Deposit Addendum and sublease path, the direct-lease rider path, or the Exchange Addendum and ECC—never a blended assumption.
Review state-specific changesState addenda can alter payment timing, dispute provisions, termination rights, or other terms; verify the addendum effective for the salon state.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, pp. 6–12; Item 15, pp. 53–54; Franchise Agreement §§2, 12, 15 and 19; state-specific addenda. The federal 14-day trigger is described in 16 CFR 436.2.
Verified roadmap
What are the actual steps from inquiry to Grand Opening?
1
Define the offered format
Action: Confirm the state, ownership entity, General Vicinity or proposed site, and whether Regal or the franchisee will hold the premises agreement.
Actor: Applicant and Regal Nails, Salon & Spa, LLC.
Blocker: Treating a possible big-box site as available or protected before landlord confirmation.
2
Complete disclosure review and application
Action: Review the FDD and agreements, then submit the application and disclosed Application Fee.
Timing: Federal review period precedes binding agreement or payment; the FDD separately states the application follows a 14-day holding period.
Blocker: Incomplete ownership, licensing, credit, financial-capability, or qualification information.
3
Execute the correct contract set
Action: Sign the Franchise Agreement and owner covenants; add the Site Deposit Addendum, Sublease Schedule, lease rider, or Exchange Addendum as applicable.
Actor: Approved applicant, all owners, Regal, landlord or Exchange where required.
Next: The premises path must be legally matched before site commitments proceed.
4
Secure and confirm the site
Action: Party-tenant applicants accept a landlord-confirmed offered site; direct-lease applicants find, obtain approval for, and secure a site.
Timing: 10 days for the Confirmation Fee after party-tenant notice; 60 days after signing for the direct-lease site package.
Blocker: Landlord rejection, unavailable space, missing lease rider, or missed payment/site deadline.
5
Finalize lease and commencement terms
Action: Confirm premises, term, rent-related obligations, square footage, commencement, and expiration. Execute a Franchise Commencement Agreement when those terms were still undetermined at signing.
Actor: Regal, franchisee, and landlord.
Blocker: Prime-landlord approval or a lease/ECC term inconsistent with the required franchise documents.
6
Build, equip, stock, and inspect
Action: Regal arranges an approved contractor, buildout, permits for the premises, Snow White Package delivery, furnishing, stocking, and testing.
Actor: Regal and approved contractor; franchisee supplies access and communicates known deadlines at least two months ahead.
Blocker: Landlord, contractor, permit, zoning, labor, material, or weather delay.
7
Complete licensing, insurance, systems, and staffing
Action: Obtain salon and professional licenses, required insurance, designated merchant-services hardware and tablet, internet access, qualified staff, and manager documentation.
Actor: Franchisee, state/local authorities, insurer, vendor, and landlord.
Blocker: Unlicensed personnel, incomplete insurance, missing background checks for Wal-Mart personnel, or unavailable local approval.
8
Finish training and obtain opening readiness
Action: The franchisee or principal owner and manager attend and satisfactorily complete the three-day Baton Rouge program, train employees, finish pre-opening marketing, inspect the delivered salon, and resolve deficiencies.
Timing: Training is stated to occur at least eight weeks before Grand Opening.
Next: Open on the date agreed by Regal, franchisee, and landlord—or designated under the contract.
Roadmap basis: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 8, 9 and 11–12; Franchise Agreement §§18–21, Ex. A pp. A22–A28; Site Deposit Addendum §§5–10, Ex. A pp. A64–A65.
Site approval
How are site, lease, buildout, inspection, and opening approval separated?
Each milestone answers a different question. Regal’s site approval means the proposed location meets its minimum system criteria; it is not a promise of sales or profitability. Lease approval addresses required lease terms, while Regal’s construction review focuses on design, trade dress, progress, and Grand Opening—not legal or structural compliance.
Territory
The designated salon address or four walls; non-exclusive under Item 12.
Site approval
Regal confirms minimum salon-location criteria; direct-lease consent is required before acquisition.
Premises agreement
Sublease, direct lease plus rider, or Exchange ECC establishes occupancy rights and venue rules.
Buildout & inspection
Approved contractor completes the salon; franchisee inspects on possession and reports defects.
Grand Opening
Date is agreed among the parties or set under the Franchise Agreement; landlord timing can control.
Third-party dependency
Regal says it will work with the contractor to facilitate a timely opening but disclaims liability for delays outside its control. For party-tenant locations, the big-box retailer controls whether space is offered and can determine both the required opening date and the store Grand Opening. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 45–46; Franchise Agreement §18.A.
Deadline chart
Which verified pre-opening time windows matter most?
Pre-opening windows and deadlines
All values use days for comparison, but each begins from a different stated trigger and they must not be added together.
Initial training program
3 days
Confirmation Fee after party-tenant notice
10 days
Federal FDD review before agreement/payment
14 days
Grand Opening designation notice if no agreement
30 days
Training attendance before Grand Opening
56 days
Direct-lease site approval and securing deadline
60 days
The critical planning conflict is the direct-lease path: the franchisee must secure the approved site within 60 days while also preserving enough lead time for licensing, buildout, staffing, and training. The chart is a trigger comparison, not an official total opening duration.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 11; Franchise Agreement §18.A.4 and §19; Site Deposit Addendum §5;
16 CFR 436.2. Eight weeks is shown as 56 calendar days solely for unit comparison.
Responsibility map
Who controls each dependency before opening?
Applicant / franchisee
Submit accurate application and ownership information.
Secure the direct-lease site when Regal is not tenant.
Obtain professional and salon licenses and comply with local law.
Hire licensed staff, maintain the manager, complete training, and train employees.
Provide site access, inspect delivery, report defects, and meet payment triggers.
Regal Nails, Salon & Spa, LLC
Approve the applicant, attendees, proposed site, and required lease terms.
For party-tenant sites, attempt to lease and sublease an acceptable location.
Arrange approved buildout, furnishing, initial inventory, equipment, stocking, and testing.
Provide the three-day operating program and lend the Confidential Operations Manual after satisfactory completion.
Assist at Grand Opening as stated, without guaranteeing timing or results.
Landlord / authorities / vendors
Landlord confirms space, lease terms, access, construction timing, and venue requirements.
Government authorities issue licenses, permits, inspections, and professional credentials.
Approved contractor performs the buildout and addresses construction deficiencies.
Insurance carrier and designated technology vendor complete required coverage and systems.
Wal-Mart or the Exchange may impose background, operating, promotional, or opening-date conditions.
Operational safety and hiring verification should be checked against the applicable regulator, including the official OSHA nail salon resources and USCIS Form I-9 guidance, plus the relevant state cosmetology board and local authorities.
Opening readiness
What must be complete before the salon begins operations?
Opening assistance is not the same as automatic opening authorization. Before operations, the salon must be delivered, set up, stocked, tested, insured, staffed with properly licensed personnel, connected to the required merchant-services solution, and ready to operate under the Confidential Operations Manual, lease or ECC, and applicable law.
Premises and documentsConfirmed address, signed occupancy document, lease rider or sublease terms, any Franchise Commencement Agreement, utilities, access, and landlord requirements.
Construction and deliveryApproved buildout, Snow White Package, required furnishings, signage, initial inventory, equipment testing, possession inspection, and documented deficiency list.
Licensing and insuranceSalon establishment approval, professional licenses displayed, required CGL and professional liability coverage, workers’ compensation where applicable, and any local inspection release.
People and systemsApproved owner/principal and manager training, licensed technicians, employee training, Wal-Mart background checks when applicable, merchant-services hardware, tablet, internet, and reporting access.
Opening date and marketingAgreed or designated Grand Opening date, landlord timetable, required pre-opening promotions, approved advertising, and any venue-specific opening-hour or customer-service rules.
Payment and refund statusConfirm every trigger, whether a payment is credited or refundable, and the consequence of a missed 10-day or 60-day deadline before funds are released.
Buyer verification
What should a prospective franchisee verify before signing?
Ask Regal Nails, Salon & Spa, LLC to identify the exact offered format, current state addendum, proposed landlord, General Vicinity or approved address, required contract set, current training calendar, and the party who controls the proposed Grand Opening date. Request written clarification for any timing or service not stated in the FDD or agreements.
Current site pipelineIs a specific site already offered by the landlord, merely discussed, or not yet available?
Refund mechanicsWhich Site Deposit Addendum event applies, what written request is required, and when does the refund request expire?
Construction scopeWhat is included in the Snow White Package, what is site-specific, and which contractor or landlord work remains outside Regal’s control?
Licensing calendarWhich state board credentials are required for the owner, on-premises manager, salon, and each technician before opening?
Training capacityWhich bi-monthly session is available, who is approved to attend, and can the eight-week lead time be met?
Franchisee referencesUse Item 20 and Exhibits I and J to contact current and former franchisees, especially those who opened through the same landlord and format.
System-development check
Item 20 reports 513 franchised outlets at year-end 2025, 15 signed agreements for outlets not yet opened, and four projected new franchised outlets for the next fiscal year. Those figures do not predict approval or opening time, but they give buyers a concrete basis for asking existing franchisees how landlord confirmation, construction, training, and Grand Opening worked in practice.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 20, pp. 74–85 and Exhibits I–J. Contact lists should be used as disclosed and checked for the same site type, state, and opening period.
Synthesis
What is the verified path to opening?
The verified path is: establish the correct premises format; complete FDD review and application; obtain approval; sign the Franchise Agreement and format-specific documents; secure and confirm the site; finalize occupancy terms; complete buildout and the Snow White Package; obtain licenses, insurance, systems, manager, and staff; complete mandatory training; inspect the salon; and open on the agreed or contractually designated Grand Opening date.
The overall timeline is milestone-only because the FDD does not disclose one total for every format. It does disclose an average of about one to two years from signing to Grand Opening for party-tenant locations. The most important applicant-controlled dependency is completing the correct site, licensing, staffing, and training requirements without missing the 10-day or 60-day trigger. The most important external dependency is landlord and contractor timing. The unresolved issue to verify in writing is the site-specific opening date and which party has final control over it.