How to Start a Radiant Waxing Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Opening path

How long does it take to open a Radiant Waxing franchise?

9–12 months

Official FDD estimate. Radiant Waxing estimates approximately nine to 12 months from signing the Franchise Agreement until a new Salon begins operations. Opening still depends on site and lease approval, buildout, licensing, staffing, training, pre-opening marketing, and written franchisor authorization. A single-unit Salon must open within 12 months; an Area Development Agreement uses its individualized Development Schedule.

Data basis: Radiant Waxing Franchise, LLC; U.S. FDD issued April 1, 2026; new, Captive Market, existing-Salon, and Area Development paths. Timeline mode: Mode A—official total estimate. Evidence: FDD Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; attached Franchise Agreement and Area Development Agreement. Checked July 17, 2026. No verified franchise-controlled public FDD link was located, so FDD references are unlinked.
14
Calendar days Federal review period before signing or payment.
120
Days for site acceptance Measured from the Franchise Agreement effective date.
180
Days for lease delivery Executed Lease and Lease Rider must be delivered.
10 weeks
Training cutoff Required participants must finish before opening.
10 days
Grand-opening payment Triggered by an approved lease or resale possession.
Qualification

What must an applicant qualify for before approval?

The official sales process starts with an inquiry, franchise application, territory preferences, and a financial snapshot or Personal Financial Statement. The franchise website describes owner conversations, franchisee validation, financial pro forma work, a Denver Confirmation Day, executive approval, and signing. These are screening stages, not a promise of approval.

  • Financial capacity Provide the requested assets, liabilities, liquid capital, net worth, and credit information. A published threshold does not compel approval.
  • Management fit Prior waxing or beauty experience is not stated as necessary. The official profile emphasizes team management, organization, memberships, and local engagement.
  • Ownership structure An entity must identify an approved Operating Partner with at least 25% ownership and voting power. The entity generally may operate only approved Salons.
  • Full-time supervision The owner or Operating Partner supervises full-time unless an approved, trained Designated Manager runs daily operations.
  • Personal guaranties Required owners and other designated persons, potentially including spouses, must sign the Guaranty and Assumption of Franchisee’s Obligations.
  • State availability Territory interest is not an award. Registration, filing, exemption, and disclosure requirements must be satisfied before an offer can proceed where applicable.
Buyer verification

Radiant Waxing’s official pages publish conflicting financial screens. The current homepage shows $450,000+ liquid capital and $1.8 million+ net worth; the official investment and FAQ pages show lower figures tied to older data. The 2026 FDD states no contractual minimum. Obtain the current threshold, whose finances are tested, and any multi-unit requirement in writing. Compare the franchise homepage, investment page, and FAQ.

Verified sequence

What happens from inquiry to written opening authorization?

The process has eight dependency-based stages. Applicant approval and contract signing start the binding clocks; the franchisee then controls site pursuit, lease execution, buildout, staffing, licenses, and readiness, while Radiant Waxing controls specified approvals, training, and final written authorization.

  1. 1
    Submit the inquiry and financial application

    Action: Provide contact data, desired market, territory interest, financial snapshot, and Personal Financial Statement.

    Actor: Applicant; franchise development team reviews fit.

    Timing: No contractual application duration is disclosed.

    Next dependency: Financial and candidate screening.

    Official supplement: Radiant Waxing FAQ and Steps to Ownership.

  2. 2
    Review the FDD and complete mutual evaluation

    Action: Review all 23 Items, agreements, state addenda, franchisee contacts, and any updated disclosures; complete validation and Confirmation Day.

    Actor: Applicant, advisors, franchisor, current and former franchisees.

    Timing: At least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment.

    Blocker: Executive approval, state registration status, or unresolved agreement terms.

    Federal basis: FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise.

  3. 3
    Sign the governing agreements and guaranties

    Action: Sign one Franchise Agreement; an area developer signs the Area Development Agreement and first Salon Franchise Agreement concurrently.

    Actor: Approved franchisee, owners, guarantors, and Radiant Waxing Franchise, LLC.

    Timing: Initial Franchise Fee or Development Fee is due at signing and non-refundable.

    Next dependency: Search Territory and development kickoff.

    2026 FDD Item 5, pp. 6–8; Franchise Agreement §3.A; Area Development Agreement §3.

  4. 4
    Find and obtain acceptance of a site

    Action: Submit a Search Territory site report, site description, and letter of intent or comparable evidence.

    Actor: Franchisee finds the site; franchisor accepts or rejects it.

    Timing: Decision targeted within 30 days of a complete report; acceptance due within 120 days of the effective date.

    Blocker: Incomplete data, unsuitable location or demographics, or unavailable premises.

    2026 FDD Item 11, pp. 29–30; Franchise Agreement §2.A, pp. B-4–B-5.

  5. 5
    Secure lease approval and the Lease Rider

    Action: Obtain written approval of both site and lease terms before signing; have the landlord execute the required Lease Rider without unapproved changes.

    Actor: Franchisee and landlord negotiate; franchisor approves.

    Timing: Deliver the signed Lease and Lease Rider within 180 days after the effective date.

    Blocker: Landlord refusal, rider changes, or unacceptable lease terms.

    2026 FDD Item 11, p. 30; Franchise Agreement §2.B, p. B-5.

  6. 6
    Design, permit, construct, and install systems

    Action: Use approved architecture, engineering, design, signage, suppliers, plans, Operating Assets, Computer System, and Initial Opening Package.

    Actor: Franchisee, landlord, approved vendors, contractors, WAVE, utilities, and government authorities.

    Timing: No universal buildout or permit duration is disclosed.

    Blocker: Financing, permits, zoning, weather, materials, equipment, inspections, or unapproved plan revisions.

    2026 FDD Items 8 and 11; Franchise Agreement §§2.D–2.F.

  7. 7
    Complete training, hiring, and pre-opening activity

    Action: Finish training, hire licensed and background-checked staff, complete required events, and submit marketing materials.

    Actor: Owner or Operating Partner, Designated Manager, Waxologist Trainer, staff, trainers, and vendors.

    Timing: Training Program by 10 weeks before opening; Waxologist Trainer by one week before opening.

    Blocker: Failed training, credentials or staffing gaps, incomplete events, or agreed pre-sale targets.

    2026 FDD Item 11, pp. 36–40; Franchise Agreement §§4 and 9.A.

  8. 8
    Satisfy opening conditions and obtain written authorization

    Action: Deliver insurance certificates, inventory, lien waivers, regulatory approvals, staffing evidence, marketing deliverables, and all amounts due.

    Actor: Franchisee assembles readiness evidence; franchisor confirms standards and issues written authorization.

    Timing: Before serving clients and before the applicable opening deadline.

    Blocker: Any unmet condition, failed inspection, unpaid amount, or contractual default.

    2026 FDD Item 11, p. 30; Franchise Agreement §2.H, pp. B-7–B-8.

Contract clocks

Which deadlines run from the Franchise Agreement effective date?

Three major single-unit deadlines share the same contractual trigger: site acceptance, executed lease delivery, and opening. Missing the first two can compress construction and training time even though the final opening deadline has not yet arrived.

Effective-date deadline ladder
Single-unit new Salon; elapsed time from Franchise Agreement effective date
0 120 days 180 days 12 months Site accepted 120 days Lease + Rider delivered 180 days Salon open 12 months

Interpretation: site acceptance is due about four months into the contract and lease delivery about six months in, leaving the remaining window for buildout, systems, training, staffing, and authorization. The 12-month bar is scaled as approximately 365 days only for visual comparison; the contract’s “12 months” language controls.

Source: 2026 Radiant Waxing FDD Item 11, pp. 29–30; Franchise Agreement §§2.A, 2.B and 2.H, pp. B-5–B-8.

Responsibility

Who controls each opening dependency?

Radiant Waxing provides defined reviews, specifications, training, and authorization, but the franchisee remains responsible for most execution and third-party outcomes. Site assistance is not a warranty of suitability, and approval does not guarantee financing, landlord consent, legal compliance, permits, staffing, or profitability.

Applicant / franchisee

Financial disclosures, entity and guaranties; site search; lease negotiation; financing; plans and buildout; permits and licenses; approved purchases; insurance; employee background checks; licensed waxologists; inventory; pre-opening events; and readiness evidence.

Radiant Waxing

Candidate and executive approval; Search Territory agreement; site and lease review; design specifications and plan review; Operations Manual access; Training Program; Pre-Opening Training; standards inspection; and final written opening authorization.

Third parties

Landlord and Lease Rider; lender decisions; architect, engineer, contractor, signage and technology vendors; WAVE supply fulfillment; utilities; insurance carrier; and state or local licensing, zoning, building, health, and inspection authorities.

Third-party dependency

The FDD identifies financing, permits, zoning, weather, materials, equipment, fixtures, and signage as reasons the estimated opening period may be shorter or longer. Radiant Waxing does not offer financing and does not guarantee a note, lease, or obligation.

Format differences

How do the official development paths differ?

The 2026 FDD supports new single-unit Salons, Area Development Agreements, Captive Market Locations, and acquisitions of existing Salons. They do not share one identical signing or opening clock, so the buyer must identify the exact agreement path before relying on a deadline.

Path Agreement sequence Site / opening rule Distinctive point
New single unit One Franchise Agreement; Search Territory agreed before signing. Site acceptance in 120 days; Lease and Rider in 180 days; opening within 12 months. Initial Franchise Fee due at signing; written opening authorization required.
Area development Area Development Agreement and first Franchise Agreement signed concurrently; later Salons use the then-current Franchise Agreement after site acceptance. Individual Development Schedule controls; executed lease is due at least six months before each Development Deadline. Missed schedule or lease deadline may terminate or shrink/reconfigure the Development Area or schedule.
Captive Market Location Franchise Agreement unless another written arrangement is offered. May have a smaller footprint than a typical 1,200–1,800-square-foot traditional Salon. The FDD does not disclose a separate universal opening timeline for this format.
Existing Salon acquisition Transfer approval and Franchise Agreement requirements apply to the approved buyer. Training is tied to the first available program after signing, subject to a recent-training exception. Virtual initial support replaces the standard new-Salon support; re-opening activities and payment within 10 days of possession may apply.

Source: 2026 FDD Items 1, 5, 11, 12, 15 and 17; Franchise Agreement §2; Area Development Agreement §§1–2 and Exhibit A.

Opening readiness

What must be complete before the Salon can serve clients?

Construction completion alone is not opening approval. Radiant Waxing may authorize opening only after the Salon, management team, staff, systems, marketing work, insurance, payments, and regulatory status satisfy the agreement’s conditions.

  • Salon standards Written standards approval; approved plans, fixtures, furniture, signage, equipment, and décor installed.
  • Management training Owner or Operating Partner and Designated Manager complete training by the cutoff: 29.5 classroom/home-study hours plus 20 on-the-job hours.
  • On-site training Salon Management Team, Waxologist Trainer, and staff complete required Pre-Opening Training; failure can delay opening.
  • Licensed staffing At least one full-time waxologist equivalent per suite plus a Waxologist Trainer; required background checks and credentials completed.
  • Systems and supplies Computer System functioning; software configured; approved Operating Assets, Initial Opening Package, supplies, and inventory obtained.
  • Insurance and closeout Insurance certificates, contractors’ statements, lien waivers, permits, inspections, and professional requirements completed.
  • Pre-opening marketing Triggered payment made; at least 10 approved events, Sales Training Series, calls, trade-area survey, and marketing plan completed.
  • Final compliance Amounts due paid, any mutually set booking targets met, and no unresolved Franchise Agreement default.
Contractual deadline

What opening-deadline conflict must be resolved before signing?

The 2026 disclosure package contains a material internal inconsistency. Item 11 and the attached Franchise Agreement define a 12-month opening deadline, while the Item 17 summary describes failure to open “within six months” as a non-curable default.

Document locations: Item 11, page 30, and Franchise Agreement §2.H, page B-8, state 12 months. Item 17, page 52, summarizes a six-month failure-to-open default.

Buyer action: Request written clarification and any correction or amendment, then confirm the deadline in the completed Franchise Agreement and state addenda. An oral explanation does not amend the contract.

No automatic extension identified

The standard agreements disclose no general right to extend site, lease, opening, or Development Schedule deadlines. Document any accommodation before the deadline; a discretionary waiver is not an extension right.

Disclosure and verification

Which documents and facts should the buyer verify before committing?

Verify the completed deal documents, not only the sales process. The Search Territory, Protected Area, premises, ownership, guarantors, Lease Rider, Development Area, Development Schedule, state addenda, and any negotiated changes determine the buyer’s actual obligations.

  • Latest disclosure set Confirm the April 1, 2026 FDD remains current and obtain applicable updates, amendments, and state-specific disclosures.
  • Completed agreements Compare final agreements with FDD forms. A material franchisor-initiated change may trigger a separate seven-calendar-day review.
  • Territory definitions Distinguish Search Territory, Protected Area, and Development Area; they are not identical or fully exclusive.
  • State and local readiness Confirm franchise availability and location-specific zoning, building, health, licensing, sanitation, employment, and accessibility rules.
  • Lease protection Confirm the landlord will sign the Lease Rider and that lease, permit, financing, and construction contingencies fit the contract clocks.
  • Franchisee validation Contact Item 20 current, former, and sold-but-not-opened candidates about site, landlord, buildout, training, staffing, and authorization delays.

FTC guidance confirms 14 calendar days before signing or payment. A material agreement change initiated by the franchisor may require a separate seven-calendar-day review; prospect-requested negotiations and non-substantive fill-ins differ. See the FTC Amended Franchise Rule FAQs and Franchise Rule.

Final synthesis

What is the practical opening decision?

The verified path is application and financial review, FDD due diligence, approval and signing, site and lease acceptance, buildout, systems, training, staffing, marketing, readiness evidence, and written opening authorization.

The total timeline is an official nine-to-12-month estimate, not a guarantee. The applicant’s critical dependency is securing an accepted site and landlord package early enough for buildout and training. Franchisor and third-party reviews control site, lease, design, permits, suppliers, and authorization. Before signing, resolve the six-month versus 12-month inconsistency and confirm the financial screen, state availability, agreement path, and final deadline.