How to Start a Pump It Up Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Opening timeline

How long does it take to open a Pump It Up franchise?

9–18 months
Typical disclosed period

Pump It Up Holdings, LLC estimates approximately 9–18 months from Franchise Agreement signing to opening a new Pump It Up Business. That is an estimate, not the contractual deadline. The agreement separately requires the franchisee to secure an approved Premises within 12 months and open by the earlier of six months after securing the Premises or 18 months after the agreement’s Effective Date.

Data basis: Pump It Up Holdings, LLC; 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 20, 2026; standard one-location Franchise Agreement, with a separate transfer path for an existing Pump It Up Business; Timeline Mode A—official total estimate. Process evidence comes principally from Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20, plus Franchise Agreement Sections 5, 6, 11, 12, 14 and 19. Checked July 16, 2026. The official U.S. franchise site supplements, but does not replace, the 2026 FDD.
12 mo. Site and lease window From the Effective Date
30 days Site decision period After a complete package
6 mo. Lease-to-open deadline Earlier deadline may control
64.75 hr. Initial training total 40.75 classroom + 24 practical
15 days Start Up Package due After signing the Lease

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 29–32; Franchise Agreement §§5.A, 6.C–D and 11.A.

Candidate screening

What must an applicant qualify for before signing?

The current official application page generally recommends a minimum net worth of $500,000 and says candidates must have access to $200,000 in liquid funds or financing, reduced to $100,000 for an existing store purchase. The 2026 FDD does not state these as contractual financial minimums, and meeting them does not require PIU to approve or award a franchise.

The current franchise-ownership path places inquiry and an exploratory call before an NDA or Confidentiality Agreement, FDD review, territory analysis, financial worksheet, formal territory review, Discovery Day in Phoenix or by video, a yes/no decision, and Franchise Agreement execution. Its 30–60 day qualification estimate is an official website estimate, not an agreement deadline.

Qualification is not approval

PIU retains discretion to award or decline a franchise at any stage. Before PIU provides confidential System information, the applicant must sign the Confidentiality Agreement. No industry-experience, education, credit-score, citizenship or residency minimum is disclosed in the 2026 FDD.

Application to opening

What is the verified Pump It Up opening sequence?

1

Inquiry and financial screening

Action: Submit the inquiry and application worksheet; document available funds and ownership structure.

Actor: Applicant and PIU Franchise Development.

Timing: Website process begins before the 30–60 day qualification estimate.

Blocker: PIU may decline the candidate or territory.

2

Confidentiality, FDD review and award decision

Action: Sign confidentiality documents, review the FDD and attached agreements, complete territory and financial review, validation and Discovery Day.

Actor: Applicant and PIU.

Timing: The FDD must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before signing or payment.

Blocker: No franchise award or acceptable agreement terms.

3

Execute the Franchise Agreement

Action: Sign the one-unit Franchise Agreement and pay the Initial Franchise Fee. An Entity identifies its owners, Operating Principal and required guarantors.

Actor: Franchisee, PIU, owners and spouses where applicable.

Timing: Fee is due at signing.

Next dependency: Written site approval and site control.

4

Find and obtain written site approval

Action: Select a candidate site within the Site Selection Area and submit the As-Built plan, photographs, demographics, financial information and evidence of prospective site control.

Actor: Franchisee; PIU approves or rejects.

Timing: PIU uses reasonable efforts to decide within 30 days.

Blocker: Silence within the period counts as rejection.

5

Secure the Premises and satisfy lease conditions

Action: Execute an approved lease, purchase agreement or other site-control document. A lease normally must run at least 10 years, include required landlord protections and support the Collateral Assignment of Lease.

Actor: Franchisee, landlord and PIU.

Timing: Send PIU the executed lease within 10 days.

Blocker: Unacceptable lease terms or missed 12-month window.

6

Design, permit, insure and build

Action: Obtain PIU’s design non-objection, retain a state-licensed architect unless PIU gives a documented waiver, secure local approvals, construct to System Standards and install approved equipment and signs.

Actor: Franchisee, architect, contractor, government authorities and PIU.

Timing: FDD estimates 3–5 months after possession and required permits.

Blocker: Code, landlord, permit or specification delays.

7

Install systems, train and prepare the team

Action: Purchase the Start Up Package and approved equipment, install the POpS System and compliant network, hire and train staff, and complete mandatory initial training after the lease is signed.

Actor: Franchisee, PIU trainers and PIU Vendors.

Timing: Package payment is due within 15 days after lease signing.

Blocker: Failed training, incomplete systems or untrained staff.

8

Pass readiness review and receive authorization

Action: Deliver occupancy and operating approvals, insurance evidence, signed software and payment documents, proof of training and a compliant facility. Opening Training may occur in person or virtually.

Actor: PIU authorizes; franchisee and third parties complete prerequisites.

Timing: Open by the earlier contractual deadline.

Blocker: Any unmet condition or agreement default.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 1, 5, 8, 11, 12 and 15; Franchise Agreement §§5–6, 11, 12.J and 14.

Disclosure and signing

When may the applicant sign or pay?

Under the FTC Franchise Rule, the franchisor must furnish the FDD at least 14 calendar days before the prospect signs a binding agreement or pays money to the franchisor or an affiliate in connection with the proposed sale. The trigger is signing or payment—not the inquiry, exploratory call, application or Discovery Day. The FTC’s franchise buyer guide also recommends requesting the most recent FDD and updates before signing.

If PIU unilaterally inserts or changes a material agreement term that was not previously disclosed, the FTC’s Franchise Rule FAQs explain a separate seven-calendar-day review requirement for the revised agreement, subject to the Rule’s negotiation exception. A buyer should have franchise counsel determine how that rule applies to completed territory, fee or other material terms.

Site and buildout

What can delay site approval and construction?

The franchisee—not PIU—finds and investigates the site. The FDD describes a typical 9,000–11,000-square-foot retail, light-industrial or commercial facility with two Arenas and two or three party rooms; Arena ceilings should be at least 18 feet. An older official FAQ mentions 16 feet, so the current FDD’s 18-foot language should be confirmed in PIU’s written site criteria before committing to a location.

Written site approval does not establish profitability, create the later Protected Area or approve the lease, plans, permits or opening. The Protected Area is defined around the approved Premises after other obligations are completed, while the Site Selection Area governs the pre-site search. PIU’s current territory page indicates market availability, but availability and final boundaries still require PIU confirmation.

Site approval is not territory protection

Do not treat a territory discussion, Site Selection Area, approved site, accepted lease, Protected Area and opening authorization as the same approval. Each has a different trigger and decision-maker under Items 11–12 and Franchise Agreement Sections 3, 5 and 6.

Day-based process periods are separate, not additive
0 10 20 30 days PIU site decision after complete package 30 Start Up Package after Lease signing 15 Executed Lease delivered to PIU 10 Insurance evidence before construction 10

These periods start from different events. They should be tracked as separate controls and never summed into a claimed opening duration.

Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 8 and 11; Franchise Agreement §§5.A–B, 6.C and 12.J.

Responsibility map

Who controls each critical opening dependency?

Franchisee controls

Application accuracy, Entity structure and Operating Principal designation
Site search, lease negotiation, funding and local professionals
Permits, construction, equipment, hiring, employee training and insurance

PIU controls

Candidate award decision and Site Selection Area
Written site decision, design review and System Standards
Initial training completion standard and final opening authorization

Third parties control

Landlord delivery, lease consent and tenant-improvement obligations
Lender approval, contractor performance and supplier lead times
Zoning, permits, inspections, certificate of occupancy and local licenses

Interpretation: PIU assistance does not guarantee a site, lease, financing, permit, contractor schedule or government approval.

Training and readiness

What must be completed before PIU authorizes opening?

Initial training consists of 40.75 classroom hours and 24 hours of on-the-job training. For a new location, the franchisee or Operating Principal and managerial personnel must satisfactorily complete training after the Lease is signed and before opening. The Opening Training window may cover up to three days before public opening and the first two public days, although PIU may deliver assistance virtually or change its format.

The franchisee must install a Computer System that runs the POpS System, maintain high-speed internet and a network compliant with PIU and payment-card requirements. The FDD points franchisees to the PCI Security Standards Council’s merchant resources, but responsibility for network compliance remains with the franchisee.

Facility: Constructed, renovated, equipped and signed substantially to PIU specifications.
Government approvals: Certificate of occupancy plus required state and local permits, licenses and staff certifications.
People: Staff hired and trained; franchisee or Operating Principal and management have passed initial training.
Documents: Lease, electronic transfer documents, software licenses and other pre-opening agreements signed.
Insurance: Required policies in force and certificates delivered before construction and opening.
Account status: Initial fee and other due amounts paid; no default with PIU, affiliates or PIU Vendors.

Source: Franchise Agreement §6.D(3), §11 and §12.J; 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 30–32.

Format difference

How does buying an existing Pump It Up Business differ?

Opening issue New location Existing-business transfer
Financial screen Official page says access to $200,000 liquid funds or financing Official page states $100,000
Site and construction Site approval, lease, plans, permits and buildout required Transferee must secure possession and may have to correct deficiencies or remodel
Training timing Complete before opening Complete within 60 days after beginning operations unless PIU specifies otherwise
Insurance evidence At least 10 days before construction Agreement requires at least 10 days before transfer
Approval documents Franchise Agreement and related opening documents Transfer approval, current FDD receipt, training, fees, guaranty and PIU-required agreement

Sources: current official application page; 2026 FDD, Items 11 and 17; Franchise Agreement §§11.A, 12.J and 16.B.

Deadline risk

What happens if the site or opening deadline is missed?

Failure to locate and secure an approved Premises within 12 months, failure to open within the Section 6.D period, or failure to complete initial training are listed as defaults that can support termination. The agreement does not disclose an automatic extension right. Any waiver or extra time should therefore be documented in writing rather than assumed from construction, landlord, permit or financing delays.

The Initial Franchise Fee is not generally refundable. PIU may, in its reasonable discretion, refund up to 50% only if the franchisee made a good-faith effort but could not secure an acceptable lease or lender financing within one year, requested the refund in writing before the first anniversary, and signed a voluntary termination and general release. This is a discretionary, conditional refund—not an automatic entitlement.

Buyer verification

Use the current and former franchisee contacts identified through Item 20 and Exhibit I to ask how long site search, landlord delivery, permitting, buildout and training scheduling actually took; whether PIU granted extensions in writing; and which readiness items delayed opening authorization.

Verified opening path: qualify and receive an award; complete the federal FDD review period; sign and pay; obtain written site approval; secure an acceptable Premises; complete design, permits, insurance and buildout; purchase required systems and equipment; complete training; then satisfy PIU’s opening conditions.

The 9–18 month total is an official estimate. The applicant-controlled critical dependency is securing and developing an approved site without missing the 12-month and lease-to-open deadlines. The largest outside dependencies are landlord delivery, government approvals and PIU’s written approvals. Before signing, verify the exact Site Selection Area, Protected Area language, lease form, construction schedule and whether PIU will grant any written waiver or extension.