How does the Proforma franchise opening process work?
The 2026 Proforma FDD does not disclose one total inquiry-to-opening timeline. It says franchise owners typically commence business 10 to 45 days after signing, while the Franchise Agreement requires commencement within 45 days after PFG Ventures, L.P. signs it. The verified roadmap is therefore milestone-based, with qualification, federal disclosure, contract execution, training, office readiness, insurance, and system onboarding as separate gates.
- Legal franchisor:
- PFG Ventures, L.P.
- FDD basis:
- Issued May 7, 2026
- Formats reviewed:
- Relevant Industry Experience, Conversion, Safeguard conversion, and Franchise Owner-Affiliate Option paths
- Timeline mode:
- Milestone-only roadmap; official 10–45 day post-signing range
- Core evidence:
- FDD Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; Franchise Agreement; Guaranty; Receivables and Security Agreement; software and Safeguard amendments
- Date checked:
- July 20, 2026
Who can qualify to open a Proforma franchise?
Proforma is not presented as an entry-level franchise for applicants without relevant industry history. The 2026 FDD identifies four candidate paths, and PFG Ventures retains approval discretion. Meeting one stated profile does not guarantee a franchise award, credit approval, supplier advances, or acceptance of a proposed operator.
| Candidate path | Evidence the applicant must be ready to provide | Opening-process difference |
|---|---|---|
| Relevant Industry Experience | At least $500,000 of relevant product sales in the prior 12 months; or three years of qualifying full-time sales or support work within the prior five years; or other experience accepted in PFG Ventures’ sole discretion. | Standard Franchise Agreement; pre-existing significant customers may be listed on Schedule 1. |
| Conversion Franchise | Controlling interest in an existing relevant business operating for at least 12 consecutive months, plus proof of at least $500,000 in qualifying sales. | Existing entity, customers, records, systems, and permitted trade name must be reconciled with the Proforma System. |
| Safeguard conversion | Status as a current Safeguard franchisee or qualifying former Safeguard employee involved in distribution. | Additional amendment, transition documents, and temporary Deluxe purchasing restrictions may apply. |
| Franchise Owner-Affiliate Option | Work for an experienced Proforma franchise owner and at least $1,000,000 in annual Gross Volume of Business generated for serviced customers. | Eligibility is tied to demonstrated production inside the Proforma network. |
The FDD does not publish a universal minimum net worth, liquid-capital figure, credit-score threshold, education requirement, or application fee. It does state that PFG Ventures must be satisfied with the applicant’s credit and may require personal guaranties, a spouse or other creditworthy guarantor, and additional collateral before granting the franchise or advancing supplier payments.
What must happen between inquiry and opening?
The sequence below separates applicant actions, PFG Ventures approvals, federal disclosure timing, contract execution, third-party setup, training, and opening authorization. It is derived from the 2026 FDD and agreements; it is not a promise that every candidate will move through each stage at the same speed.
Identify the correct candidate path
- Action:
- Submit an initial ownership inquiry and disclose whether the case is relevant-industry, conversion, Safeguard, or affiliate-program based.
- Actor:
- Applicant.
- Timing:
- No contractual inquiry duration disclosed.
- Blocker:
- An applicant who cannot document a qualifying path may not proceed.
Document experience, sales, customers, and entity
- Action:
- Provide sales records, employment or ownership history, existing-business documents, and significant pre-existing customer data when Schedule 1 applies.
- Actor:
- Applicant and accounting or legal advisers.
- Timing:
- Before final approval and agreement preparation.
- Blocker:
- Unsupported sales history or an unsuitable ownership structure.
Complete credit and guaranty review
- Action:
- Satisfy PFG Ventures’ credit requirements and provide requested personal financial information, guaranties, or collateral documentation.
- Actor:
- Applicant, guarantors, and franchisor.
- Timing:
- No published approval period.
- Blocker:
- Insufficient security may prevent approval or discretionary supplier advances.
Receive and review the FDD
- Action:
- Review the FDD, state addenda, Franchise Agreement, Guaranty, receivables documents, software agreement, and any format-specific amendment.
- Actor:
- Applicant and advisers.
- Timing:
- At least 14 calendar days before signing or payment under the federal rule.
- Blocker:
- Material unilateral contract changes can trigger a separate seven-calendar-day review period.
Execute the applicable agreement stack
- Action:
- Sign through the registered corporation, partnership, or LLC; execute the Guaranty, Receivables and Security Agreement, UCC documents, and software terms. Safeguard paths add Exhibit A-1 or A-2 and, for former employees, a Term Note.
- Actor:
- Franchisee entity, principals, guarantors, and PFG Ventures.
- Timing:
- The Agreement becomes effective when PFG Ventures signs.
Build the operating foundation
- Action:
- Register and maintain the business entity, select a home or commercial Premises, obtain applicable licenses, install Internet and antivirus protection, establish a dedicated business telephone line and Proforma email, and secure compliant insurance.
- Actor:
- Franchisee and local third parties.
- Timing:
- Before commencement where required.
- Blocker:
- Missing insurance evidence, permits, hardware, or connectivity.
Complete training and system onboarding
- Action:
- Complete mandatory customized training, receive electronic Manual access and a software license, upload required data, and practice the Proforma order, proposal, billing, and receivables workflow.
- Actor:
- Franchise owner, approved employees, and Proforma trainers.
- Timing:
- Before opening authorization; disclosed schedules vary by onboarding type.
- Blocker:
- Incomplete training or unresolved system setup.
Obtain authorization and commence business
- Action:
- Confirm readiness with PFG Ventures and begin operating under the Agreement.
- Actor:
- Franchisee and franchisor.
- Timing:
- Typically 10–45 days after signing; no later than 45 days after PFG Ventures signs.
- Blocker:
- Failure to commence within 45 days is a contractual default; prescribed software must be in use within 15 days after commencement.
Which disclosed clocks can affect the opening schedule?
The day counts below use different triggers and must not be added together. The 14-day federal disclosure period precedes signing, the 10–45 day range begins around signing, the approval and software clocks begin only when their specific triggering events occur, and the seven-day period applies only to certain unilateral material changes to the agreement package.
Horizontal scale: calendar days, except where the governing document specifies otherwise. Range bar shows 10 to 45 days.
Interpretation: the critical post-signing constraint is the 45-day commencement deadline, not the sum of all displayed periods. Sources: 2026 Proforma FDD, Item 11, pp. 20 and 32–34; Franchise Agreement §§7(h), 13(a)(iii), and 18(a); 16 CFR §436.2.
Who controls each opening dependency?
PFG Ventures provides specified training, electronic Manual access, and one proprietary software license, but the franchisee controls most readiness tasks. Local authorities, insurers, landlords, technology vendors, and professional advisers can delay commencement even when PFG Ventures has approved the applicant.
A responsibility assignment, not a promise that another party will complete the work.
Does Proforma require a site or protected territory?
No exclusive territory or fixed site is granted. A Proforma Franchised Business may generally operate from a home office, a commercial office, or multiple U.S. locations. The franchisee must inform PFG Ventures of each location and relocation, but ordinary relocation does not require approval. A Proforma retail store is different: it requires prior written approval and any conditions PFG Ventures imposes.
The standard Proforma license has no protected radius, population, account size, or exclusive market area. PFG Ventures has no contractual duty to find a site, negotiate a lease, obtain permits, conform Premises to codes, or construct and decorate an office. A home-based operator must independently verify zoning, landlord, association, insurance, and local licensing restrictions.
What training must be completed before opening?
Initial training is mandatory for every new franchise owner and must be successfully completed before operating authorization. The FDD discloses three days of initial instruction, while its volume-based onboarding table shows a 2–5 day Concierge program for $500,000 to $2 million in historical sales and a 10-day White Glove program above $2 million. The buyer should obtain written confirmation of which schedule, location, attendees, and completion standard apply.
The listed curriculum totals 27 classroom hours when the disclosed modules are added: prospecting and sales, Owner Store resources, financial systems, 16 hours of proprietary business management software, marketing, business development, and supplier sourcing. Training may be remote, at the franchisee’s location, or at support centers in Cleveland or Tampa. Proforma pays instructors, facilities at its site, and required materials; the franchisee pays attendee wages, travel, meals, lodging, and additional materials.
What must be verified before the Business Commencement Date?
The readiness file should prove that the franchisee can lawfully operate, access the Proforma System, protect customer data, route orders and receivables correctly, and satisfy the insurance and operator requirements. The FDD does not state that training completion alone automatically authorizes opening.
Which applicants face additional contracts or opening conditions?
The standard operating model is the same, but the contract stack differs. The 2026 FDD does not disclose an Area Development Agreement, multi-unit development schedule, or protected-territory program. The material opening variations concern conversion documentation, pre-existing customers, and the 2026 Safeguard transition.
| Path | Additional document or condition | Opening issue to verify |
|---|---|---|
| Relevant Industry Experience | Schedule 1 may identify significant customers served before the Effective Date. | Which customer accounts are excluded from later account-acquisition restrictions. |
| Conversion Franchise | Proof of controlling ownership, 12 months of operation, and qualifying sales. | How existing trade names, websites, suppliers, records, and customer accounts move into the Proforma System. |
| Former Safeguard franchisee | Exhibit A-1 plus transition and release documents; certain Deluxe purchase obligations through March 2, 2029. | Customer lists, affected products, exemptions, reporting, and transition effective date. |
| Former Safeguard employee | Exhibit A-2 and a secured, interest-free Term Note unless default occurs. | Customer-base price, four-year maturity, annual repayment mechanics, guaranties, collateral, and cross-default exposure. |
Failure to commence business within 45 days after PFG Ventures signs the Franchise Agreement is listed as a default. The documents do not provide a general contractual extension right for this opening deadline. Any requested accommodation should therefore be obtained in a signed writing rather than inferred from training scheduling, informal communications, or franchisor assistance.
What should a buyer verify before signing?
A practical verification list should focus on unresolved approval criteria and the clocks that begin at signing. Ask PFG Ventures to identify the exact candidate category, required proof, credit and guaranty package, training track, approved operator, document stack, expected Effective Date, and objective evidence required for opening authorization. Conversion and Safeguard candidates should request a written customer-account schedule and a document-by-document transition checklist.
Prospects can compare the contract package with Proforma’s official ownership inquiry information and official join information, but the signed agreements control contractual duties. The FTC Franchise Rule and the FTC’s consumer guide to buying a franchise explain disclosure and due-diligence concepts. Entity, permit, tax, and employer setup varies by jurisdiction; the U.S. Small Business Administration launch guide provides a federal starting point, not local approval.
- Official Proforma ownership website
- Official Proforma business-support overview
- Federal Trade Commission Franchise Rule
- 16 CFR §436.2 disclosure obligations
Verified opening-path synthesis
The Proforma path is qualification-first: document an eligible industry or conversion profile, pass PFG Ventures’ credit and guaranty review, receive the 2026 FDD, observe the federal waiting period, execute the correct agreement stack, establish the entity and operating infrastructure, complete mandatory training and onboarding, and commence within 45 days after franchisor signature.
The total inquiry-to-opening duration is undisclosed; only the typical 10–45 day post-signing range and the 45-day contractual commencement deadline are official. The most important applicant-controlled dependency is assembling credible sales, customer, credit, entity, insurance, and readiness evidence. The principal franchisor or third-party dependency is approval of the candidate and operator plus timely completion of training, insurance, licensing, and technology setup. The buyer should verify in writing which onboarding schedule applies and whether any extension of the 45-day deadline is available.