How long does it take to open a Mr. Electric franchise?
This is derived from disclosed process periods, not an opening promise. The 2026 FDD says Phase II Training generally occurs 1–3 months after the Franchise Agreement is signed, and franchisees typically open within 30 days after completing Phase II. The contract separately requires opening within 6 months, subject to satisfactory training and all other pre-opening obligations. Licensing, zoning, financing, or training availability can still delay readiness.
The derived 1–4 month range and the 6-month contractual deadline answer different questions. Licensing, zoning, financing, insurance, training availability, site approval, and required systems can control the actual date. The FTC consumer guide to buying a franchise confirms that the federal disclosure period is a pre-signing protection, not an opening timeline.
What must a candidate qualify for before signing?
The official Mr. Electric franchise opportunity page invites prospects to submit information for a one-on-one discussion. The 2026 FDD does not publish a universal net-worth floor, liquid-capital minimum, education requirement, or electrical-industry-experience minimum for ordinary applicants; no stated profile itself guarantees approval.
An individual franchisee must directly perform or supervise the Business unless Mr. Electric SPV LLC consents otherwise, and must maintain immigration status allowing the person to live, work, own, and operate a U.S. business. For an entity, a trained principal owner generally provides direct on-site supervision unless a manager structure is approved; owners with at least a 5% interest must personally guarantee Franchise Agreement obligations. A qualified PE Owner may use an approved, trained managing principal.
What is the evidence-based sequence from inquiry to opening?
The sequence below follows disclosed dependencies rather than a generic franchise checklist. The 2026 FDD does not disclose a fixed duration for candidate screening or award, so those stages remain unresolved rather than being assigned invented dates.
Action: Start through the official franchise channel and provide accurate information.
Actor: Applicant.
Timing: No contractual screening period disclosed.
Blocker: Franchisor must decide to continue evaluating the candidate.
Action: Review all 23 Items and attached agreements before any binding commitment.
Actor: Applicant and advisors.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing or paying the franchisor or affiliate.
Blocker: The federal waiting period and any applicable state requirements.
Action: If approved and awarded a franchise, confirm the Territory, operating path, entity, guarantors, and governing agreements.
Actor: Franchisor and applicant.
Timing: After disclosure timing is satisfied.
Blocker: Unresolved territory, ownership, financing, or agreement terms.
Action: Sign the Franchise Agreement; the minimum initial franchise fee is due in full at signing and is fully earned and non-refundable. PE development adds a Development Agreement and PE Addendum.
Actor: Franchisee and Mr. Electric SPV LLC.
Timing: Signing starts the 6-month opening clock.
Blocker: Required guaranties or financing documents.
Action: Select a home base or office inside the Territory and submit evidence that it meets site and zoning criteria.
Actor: Franchisee selects; franchisor approves against guidelines.
Timing: Target decision within 10 business days after complete submission.
Blocker: Zoning, lease terms, or failure to meet site guidelines.
Action: Obtain required licenses and permits, insurance, approved vehicles and supplies, required software, call-center setup, accounting support, and other Manuals-based setup.
Actor: Franchisee with suppliers and government authorities.
Timing: Before operations begin.
Blocker: Third-party approvals, insurance evidence, technology, or procurement.
Action: Complete Phase I, Phase II, Mentor Training and the disclosed field-training requirement as applicable.
Actor: Required owner and manager attendees.
Timing: Phase II generally occurs 1–3 months after signing.
Blocker: Training schedule or failure to complete training to the franchisor's satisfaction.
Action: Confirm all pre-opening obligations are complete and use franchisor opening support as provided.
Actor: Franchisee; franchisor provides disclosed support.
Timing: Typically within 30 days after Phase II, and contractually within 6 months of signing.
Blocker: Any incomplete pre-opening obligation.
How do Territory, site approval, zoning, and a lease fit together?
The Franchise Agreement specifies a Territory with limited protection, while the franchisee is responsible for finding the Franchise Location. A home-based location is permitted if the residence is inside the Territory and local zoning allows it; leasing office space is optional. The franchisor says it will approve a site that meets its guidelines and will attempt to approve or disapprove a complete submission within 10 business days.
Site approval is separate from lease negotiation, zoning approval, electrical licensing, and Territory protection. The franchisee is solely responsible for any lease or purchase agreement, while local approvals remain third-party dependencies. Source: 2026 FDD Item 11, pp. 52–53; Item 12, pp. 56–61; Franchise Agreement Section 5A.
What training must be completed before opening?
At least one owner or designated manager must complete Phase I, Phase II, and Mentor Training to the franchisor's satisfaction. For Phase II, an owner and any manager of a location must attend and complete training. Phase I generally lasts 2.5 days; Phase II generally lasts 5 days at the franchisor's Waco, Texas offices or another designated location; the FDD also requires a 2–3 day field visit to a designated existing Mr. Electric business.
Comparable duration bars from the 2026 FDD; the field component is disclosed as a 2–3 day range.
Interpretation: Phase II is the longest disclosed classroom component; training completion, not elapsed classroom time alone, gates opening. Source: Mr. Electric 2026 FDD, Item 11, pp. 53–56. The FDD also names Mentor Training; buyers should verify whether the 2–3 day field visit constitutes all or part of that Mentor Training for their cohort.
What must be in place before the Business can start operating?
Opening readiness is broader than finishing training. The franchisee must obtain applicable governmental approvals, including an electrician license if required locally; purchase required insurance; equip the Franchise Location to system standards; acquire compliant vehicles; use approved supplies; install the required Computer System; license ServiceTitan and the Technology Package; participate in the Call Center Program for rollover and after-hours calls; and use BackOffice HelpDesk or HelpDesk Plus for the first 24 months.
The Franchise Agreement requires evidence of insurance at least 5 days before commencement. The FDD also requires a current-model iPad for each technician, a dedicated business email account, required internet capability, QuickBooks Online through the designated channel, and compliance with approved-supplier rules. The franchisor provides lists, specifications, Manuals, training, and opening support, but it does not deliver or install the required items and does not assume responsibility for local licensing, the lease, or third-party financing.
How do start-up, conversion, resale, and PE development paths differ?
The governing path changes the documents and pre-opening duties: new start-up, approved conversion of an existing similar business, resale/transfer, or qualified PE development for 2–5 Businesses. Each path has distinct approval or agreement requirements.
| Path | Key documents | Opening-specific difference | Deadline to verify |
|---|---|---|---|
| New start-up | Franchise Agreement + schedules | Build the operating setup from the franchisor's approved standards and systems. | Open within 6 months of signing. |
| Existing-business conversion | Franchise Agreement; Roll-In Addendum or approved Excluded Services Addendum as applicable | Existing operations may be rolled into the franchise or, only with franchisor consent, certain existing activity may be excluded. | Same Franchise Agreement opening clock unless transaction documents state otherwise. |
| Resale / transfer | Then-current Franchise Agreement; transfer documents; possible Buyer Commitment Agreement | Buyer must qualify, arrange training, assume customer obligations, and complete initial training; training may be modified in specified circumstances. | Transaction-specific closing and training dates. |
| Qualified PE development | Development Agreement + PE Addendum + separate Franchise Agreement for each Business | 2–5 Businesses; first Franchise Agreement signed with the Development Agreement; later units follow Schedule B. | First Business within 6 months; later Opening Deadlines are deal-specific. |
For the PE path, a missed Development Schedule deadline can trigger default. The Development Agreement provides 120 days after written notice to cure a schedule default to the franchisor's satisfaction; failure can terminate future development rights without terminating already-signed Franchise Agreements. Source: 2026 FDD Item 12, pp. 60–61; Development Agreement Sections 1–5 and Schedule B.
Who controls the critical dependencies before opening?
Provide accurate application information and establish the approved ownership structure.
Select the site or home base, negotiate any lease, obtain licenses and permits, and secure financing.
Buy approved equipment and vehicles, implement required systems, obtain insurance, and complete training.
Determine whether to approve and award the franchise and define the Territory in the governing agreement.
Evaluate a complete site submission against guidelines, with a disclosed 10-business-day target.
Provide approved-supply information, Manuals, training, and disclosed opening support.
Government authorities control zoning, permits, electrical licensing, and other legal approvals.
Landlords control lease acceptance; insurers issue required coverage; lenders control third-party financing.
Designated suppliers and platforms provide ServiceTitan, technology, call-center, and other required services.
Franchisor assistance does not guarantee a site, license, permit, lease, loan, supplier delivery, or opening date. The FTC Franchise Rule governs federal disclosure; local operating approvals vary by jurisdiction.
Which deadlines and failure consequences matter most?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose an automatic extension of the ordinary 6-month opening deadline. Any requested extension should be verified in writing, and state-specific franchise-sale requirements should be checked against the applicable addenda and regulator rules. Federal disclosure guidance appears in the FTC's buyer guidance.
What should a prospective franchisee verify before committing?
Use the official Mr. Electric franchise opportunity guide and official U.S. website only as supplements. The 2026 FDD, signed agreements, state addenda, and transaction-specific schedules control contractual requirements.
What is the practical opening path for Mr. Electric?
The verified path is: inquiry and candidate evaluation; current FDD receipt and the federal 14-calendar-day review period; approval/award; territory and agreement execution; site or home-base approval; licensing, insurance, systems, suppliers, vehicles and other pre-opening setup; required training; then opening only after pre-opening obligations are satisfied. The strongest derived planning range is about 1–4 months from signing, while the contract requires opening within 6 months.
The most important applicant-controlled dependency is completing licensing, site, insurance, technology, equipment, and training work on schedule. The most important franchisor or third-party dependency is the combination of training availability, site approval, and government licensing or zoning. The key unresolved issue to verify is the current readiness sign-off and any written extension process if the 6-month deadline is threatened.