How much does a Mr. Electric franchise cost?
Mr. Electric SPV LLC discloses an Estimated Initial Investment of $159,500 to $357,425 for one U.S. Mr. Electric Business. The 2026 FDD applies the range to the single-business offer, including a startup or an approved conversion of an existing electrical-services business. The stated total does not absorb every territory or premises variable: additional territory above the minimum population adds to the Initial Franchise Fee, and the real-estate treatment inside Item 7 needs written clarification.
Data basis: legal franchisor Mr. Electric SPV LLC; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 1, 2026; startup, conversion and PE Owner Development Agreement paths; Items 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 17; checked July 19, 2026.
The franchisor does not publish a matching public copy of the 2026 FDD on its franchise-controlled website. FDD references in this article therefore remain unlinked by Item and exact page. The official U.S. Mr. Electric franchise information and the official investment page independently identify the current offer and the same $159,500 to $357,425 range.
Capital snapshot
The six figures below separate the upfront fee, working-capital allowance, current liquid-capital qualification and core continuing charges. None is interchangeable with the Total Initial Investment.
Item 7 lists a $0 to $6,000 Real Estate line and says the high estimate includes three months of rent, while its total row and the official investment page also warn that real estate costs are not included. Treat premises cost as unresolved until Mr. Electric SPV LLC states in writing what rent, deposits and improvements are inside your quoted total.
What is included in the $159,500 to $357,425 range?
The 2026 Item 7 range combines the Initial Franchise Fee with a vehicle, equipment, insurance, marketing, training travel, permits, professional services, a limited Real Estate allowance and three months of Additional Funds. The low end assumes substantial existing assets; the high end assumes a new compliant vehicle and more startup purchases. Item 7, pp. 31–34.
| Item 7 category | Disclosed amount | When paid | Primary payee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial Franchise Fee | $42,500 + territory charge | At Franchise Agreement signing | Mr. Electric SPV LLC |
| Vehicle | $3,500–$80,000 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Equipment, Supplies & Inventory | $4,500–$8,000 | As incurred | Third parties and ZorWare |
| Insurance | $5,000–$7,500 | When arranged | Third parties or franchisor |
| Advertising, Marketing & Promotional Spending | $40,000–$80,000 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Training, Travel, Lodging & Food | $8,000–$16,000 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Deposits, Permits & Licenses | $6,000–$12,000 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Professional Fees | $0–$5,000 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Real Estate | $0–$6,000 | As incurred | Third parties |
| Additional Funds — 3 months | $50,000–$100,000 | As incurred after opening | Third parties and franchisor |
Additional Funds and marketing create the largest fixed-dollar ranges; the vehicle range changes sharply depending on whether a compliant vehicle already exists.
Why can an existing electrical business land nearer the low end?
A conversion can use existing assets only when they meet Mr. Electric standards. Item 7 explicitly bases the $3,500 vehicle low estimate on branding an existing compliant vehicle and bases the $4,500 equipment low estimate on an existing similar business already owning much of the necessary equipment, supplies and inventory. The franchisor's official conversion information confirms that converting an existing electrical business is a current development path.
The $197,925 disclosed spread is asset-sensitive
$3,500 reflects applying the Marks to an existing compliant vehicle; $80,000 reflects acquiring and branding a vehicle.
$4,500 assumes an existing similar business owns much of what is needed; $8,000 assumes more initial purchases.
The Business may operate from a home within the Territory if zoning permits, or from existing premises; rented space introduces unresolved rent and deposit exposure.
Derived calculation: $357,425 − $159,500 = $197,925. The calculation measures the disclosed range width; it is not a typical-cost estimate.
A conversion is not assigned a separate Item 7 total. The same official range is adjusted through its assumptions. Buyers should document which existing vehicles, tools, inventory, office assets and customer systems the franchisor accepts before relying on the lower bounds.
When is the money paid?
The largest fixed payment to Mr. Electric SPV LLC is due at Franchise Agreement signing; most third-party startup costs are paid as arranged or incurred. The FDD must be delivered before a binding agreement or franchise-related payment under the federal disclosure timetable. The FTC Franchise Rule is the governing federal disclosure framework.
Receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or making a franchise-related payment to the franchisor or an affiliate. FDD cover.
Pay the Initial Franchise Fee in full, unless approved financing applies, and pay the $1,250 Software System enrollment fee per license by automatic bank draft. Item 5, pp. 15 and 18.
Pay vehicle, equipment, insurance, marketing, training travel, permits, professional services and premises costs as arranged or incurred. Item 7, pp. 31–34.
License Fee and MAP Fee reporting begins under the Franchise Agreement and is settled weekly based on the prior week's Gross Sales. The $270 monthly Technology Package fee starts in the earlier month of opening or first software setup. Item 6, pp. 19–30.
Use the included $50,000 to $100,000 Additional Funds during the first three months, while separately satisfying the first- and second-year marketing obligations and the required BackOffice program for 24 months.
The Additional Funds line is already part of the $159,500 to $357,425 total. Do not add it again. By contrast, continuing marketing, technology, call-center, license and MAP obligations extend beyond the three-month Item 7 period.
Which fees continue after opening?
The core continuing charges are the License Fee, MAP Fee, software costs, Call Center Program Fees, BackOffice HelpDesk Fees and local marketing obligations. The standard License Fee is 6% of weekly Gross Sales and the MAP Fee is 2% of weekly Gross Sales. Certain qualifying roll-in conversions receive temporary special License Fee rates, but Minimum License Fees still apply as disclosed in Item 6, pp. 27–30.
| Continuing obligation | Amount or basis | Timing | Important qualifier |
|---|---|---|---|
| License Fee | 6% of Gross Sales | Weekly, Wednesday | Greater of percentage fee or applicable Minimum License Fee; special roll-in schedules may apply. |
| MAP Fee | 2% of Gross Sales | Weekly, Wednesday | Separate from local marketing spending. |
| Local Marketing Group | Up to 3% of Gross Sales | As set for the group | Only if designated; counts toward Minimum Local Marketing Spending. |
| Technology Package | $270/month + add-ons | Monthly by ACH | Email, portal and QuickBooks tiers can add monthly charges. |
| ServiceTitan | $151–$241/user/month | Monthly | Per service-professional user; exact rate depends on user count. |
| Call Center Program | $349.99–$449.99/month + $25/booking | Monthly in arrears | Required for rollover and out-of-hours calls. |
| BackOffice HelpDesk | $400/month for 6 hours; $75/additional hour | Monthly | Required for the first 24 months. |
| Annual Reunion | Up to $1,000 + expenses | When billed | Annual attendance required; nonattendance may cost $2,000 pro rata. |
How much local marketing is required in the first two years?
The Franchise Agreement requires $60,000 of Initial Marketing Spend during the first 12 months and $75,000 during months 13–24. After that period, Mr. Electric SPV LLC may require annual Minimum Local Marketing Spending equal to the greater of $55,000 or 8% of the prior year's Gross Sales. These amounts are separate from the 2% MAP Fee, although qualifying local expenditures and Local Marketing Group contributions can count toward the local-spending requirement.
The second 12-month period requires $15,000 more local marketing spending than the first.
The marketing contract extends well beyond the three-month Additional Funds period. A buyer's cash plan should map the Item 7 marketing allowance against the $60,000 and $75,000 operating-period requirements instead of treating all three figures as automatically additive.
Which fees arise only after a trigger or transaction?
Item 6 contains event-driven costs that are not part of the ordinary weekly fee stack. They become relevant when the franchise renews, transfers, requests extra services, misses payments, fails an audit requirement or participates in specified work programs.
Due on renewal. The initial term is 10 years with one additional 10-year renewal opportunity if Item 17 conditions are met. The then-current agreement may have materially different fees.
Due before transfer. A Development Agreement transfer is $15,000, and fees can also apply to Franchise Agreements transferred with it.
Applies only when seller and buyer request training before the transfer closes under a Buyer Commitment Agreement.
$10 per day on overdue Franchise Agreement fees, $25 per month for Software System fees more than 30 days late, $50 for a dishonored check or ACH draft, plus 12% annual interest on unpaid balances.
Audit cost, expenses, underpayment, interest and late fees if Gross Sales are understated by at least 2% or requested information is not provided; $500 per missing document up to $2,500 per audit.
$300 Amendment Fee; additional training currently up to $5,000 plus associated expenses.
Up to 5% of Gross Sales related to covered Key Account work, plus possible third-party billing, referral, dispatch or software fees that the FDD cannot estimate.
Variable reimbursement obligations may include specified taxes, attorneys' fees, court costs and other losses arising under the Franchise Agreement.
How can territory size, discounts or an expansion option change the upfront fee?
The Minimum Initial Franchise Fee is $42,500 for a territory of up to 100,000 population. Additional territory costs $425 per additional 1,000 population, prorated for a partial 1,000. The franchisor generally uses U.S. Census Bureau population estimates, but retains discretion to use a successor source. Item 5, p. 15.
| Item 5 program | Potential fee effect | Core condition |
|---|---|---|
| Rural Franchise pricing | $20,000 Initial Franchise Fee | Qualified 40,000–100,000 territory; geographic tests, no broker and at least 30% down for financing. |
| Roll-In Discount | 10%–50% | Existing similar business with at least $250,000 annual Gross Sales rolled into the Business. |
| Multi-Unit Franchisee Discount | 5%–20% + possible 5% cash discount | Existing Mr. Electric franchisee for at least two years buying additional territory; combination limits apply. |
| Additional Concept Discount | 10% | Franchisee of a specified affiliate for at least two years. |
| HIRE Discount | 10%–25% | Qualified employee of a franchisee with two or more consecutive years of employment. |
| VetFran Discount | 20% off $42,500 | Qualified honorably discharged U.S. or Canadian veteran with required ownership control. |
The official Neighborly veteran program provides current program context; the controlling Mr. Electric amount and eligibility language are in 2026 FDD Item 5, p. 17. Most discount combinations are restricted, and most programs cannot reduce the fee below $42,500. The stated exceptions are VetFran and qualified Rural Franchise pricing. Item 5 also references a Public Protectors discount in its rural-pricing combination rule but does not state an amount in the disclosed Item 5 program descriptions, so the amount should be verified in writing rather than inferred.
What does an option for additional territory cost?
A qualified franchisee may pay a nonrefundable deposit equal to 10% of the Initial Franchise Fee for the option territory when purchasing the initial franchise. The deposit is credited to the purchase if the option is exercised within 18 months; otherwise it is not refunded. Item 5, p. 18.
Item 5 says a territory's maximum population is generally 300,000, subject to exceptions, while Item 7 says a territory will generally range from 100,000 to 1,000,000. Do not model the territory charge from either description alone. Obtain the awarded population, source date and exact Initial Franchise Fee in the Franchise Agreement.
What changes under the Development Agreement?
The Development Agreement is available only when the owner is a qualifying private equity firm and Mr. Electric SPV LLC approves a commitment to develop two to five Businesses. The Development Fee equals 10% of the Initial Franchise Fees for all committed Businesses, is paid when the Development Agreement is signed and is credited toward each later Initial Franchise Fee. Item 5, p. 18; Item 7, pp. 34–35.
- Development Fee
- $8,500 to $21,250 in the Item 7 illustration, based on two to five Businesses with 100,000-population territories.
- Displayed total
- $163,750 to $374,000, combining the Development Fee with the first Business's investment after removing the 10% Initial Franchise Fee credit already included in the Development Fee.
- Signing event
- The first Franchise Agreement is signed at the same time as the Development Agreement, and its Initial Franchise Fee is due then.
- Opening deadline
- At least the first Business must incur its full opening cost within six months of the Development Agreement date.
- Not included
- The displayed total is not the complete cost of opening all two to five committed Businesses. Each additional Business creates its own Initial Franchise Fee and opening investment.
What financing and financial qualifications are disclosed?
The current official investment page states that a candidate needs at least $65,000 in liquid capital. It does not publish a net-worth threshold, and the 2026 FDD does not state a minimum net worth or a minimum non-borrowed-funds requirement. Liquid Capital is therefore a qualification threshold, not a substitute for the $159,500 to $357,425 Total Initial Investment.
Item 10 says Mr. Electric SPV LLC has no obligation to finance a purchase, but may finance part of the Initial Franchise Fee for qualified prospects. Standard financing is up to 70% of the Initial Franchise Fee and may reach 80% at the franchisor's discretion, subject to a separate cap that the financed amount remain below 50% of the Business's total equity, debt and other financial support. Broker-involved transactions are excluded. Item 10, pp. 42–44.
| Credit score | Disclosed annual interest rate | General repayment framework |
|---|---|---|
| Under 600 | 12% | Down payment at signing; monthly installments begin about two months after Phase I Training; typical term is up to five to nine years depending on loan amount. |
| 600–649 | 11% | |
| 650–699 | 10% | |
| 700 or more | 9% |
Franchisor financing requires a security interest in the Business and may require additional collateral. Owners of a legal entity must personally guarantee the debt, and a spouse's guaranty may be required. Third-party financing may be available, but approval is not guaranteed. The SBA 7(a) loan program is one public financing resource, not an endorsement or approval of this franchise.
The official investment page's financing section still contains a reference to the 2025 FDD, while the same page identifies the 2026 Item 7 investment range. For financing terms, use the April 1, 2026 FDD Item 10 rather than the older webpage reference.
What does the official range not fully resolve?
The official range is a disclosure framework, not a site-specific budget. The most important unresolved items are premises cost, exact territory population, the treatment of two-year marketing spending, local licensing, vehicle count, supplier pricing and the cash needed after the three-month Additional Funds period.
Identify rent, security deposit, improvements, utilities and zoning costs, and determine which amount—if any—is already reflected in Item 7.
Obtain the population source, source date, minimum population and additional $425-per-1,000 calculation in writing.
Reconcile the $40,000–$80,000 Item 7 marketing line with the $60,000 first-year and $75,000 second-year contractual spending requirements.
Count technicians, vehicles, ServiceTitan users, email accounts, portal users, QuickBooks tier and Call Center booking volume.
Additional Funds exclude personal living expenses, owner salary, debt, ongoing working capital, accounts-receivable financing and some Reunion costs.
Item 7 does not replace state or local electrical-license, business-license, insurance or permit requirements.
Required Software System, Call Center and approved-supplier costs may change. The official ProTradeNet information explains the vendor-relations program, while Item 8 governs required sources and rebate treatment.
The FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise explains how to use the FDD and why updated disclosures, the Franchise Agreement and professional review matter before payment.
What capital distinction matters most?
The verified 2026 single-business investment is $159,500 to $357,425, but the minimum Initial Franchise Fee, liquid-capital qualification and ongoing fee stack are separate concepts. The largest disclosed startup variables are Additional Funds, marketing and the vehicle. A conversion may reduce asset purchases, while a PE Owner Development Agreement adds a multi-business commitment that the displayed $163,750 to $374,000 range does not fully fund.
The buyer's most important unresolved cost question is the cash schedule after opening: the three-month Additional Funds allowance ends before the two-year marketing and BackOffice obligations do, and the FDD's Real Estate language is internally inconsistent. Those items should be reconciled against the specific Territory, premises plan, staffing model and software-user count before signing.
Mr. Electric franchise information and investment disclosures, U.S. Census Bureau population estimates, FTC franchise-disclosure materials, SBA loan-program information, and Neighborly's veteran and supplier-program pages. The controlling financial figures above are attributed to the April 1, 2026 Mr. Electric SPV LLC FDD by Item and page.