How to Start a Medicap Pharmacy Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

OPENING PROCESS

How do you open a Medicap Pharmacy franchise in the United States?

Official timelines disclosed Mode A — separate start-up and conversion paths

The 2025 Medicap Pharmacy FDD gives defined signing-to-opening ranges for a new pharmacy and for converting an operating pharmacy. The practical path is to receive and review the FDD, execute the applicable agreements, secure franchisor site approval before acquiring or developing a site, complete pharmacy licensing and operating setup, join the required pharmacy network, and commence operations before the applicable contractual outside deadline.

6–12 mo. Typical new-store opening window From Franchise Agreement signing to opening.
2 wk.–3 mo. Typical conversion window For an operating pharmacy being converted.
30 days General site-decision timing After Medicap receives all required site information.
14 days Federal FDD review minimum Calendar days before signing or related payment.
90d / 12mo Outside opening deadlines Existing business / start-up after franchise grant.

Legal franchisor: Medicap Pharmacies Incorporated, an Iowa corporation.

FDD basis: 2025 FDD issued September 18, 2025.

Opening paths: new store, conversion of an existing pharmacy, transfer/acquisition where applicable, and approved co-brand use by addendum.

Timeline mode: official total timing ranges, kept separate from contractual opening deadlines.

Primary evidence: Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; Franchise Agreement; Guaranty; Inventory Purchase Addendum; Co-Brand Addendum; Exhibit B enrollment materials.

Date checked: July 17, 2026.

The current official Medicap Pharmacy franchise page describes opportunities to open a new pharmacy, acquire an existing operation, or use a co-brand offering. Contractual opening requirements below follow the 2025 FDD and attached agreements where the marketing page is broader.

QUALIFICATION

What must a prospective Medicap Pharmacy franchisee qualify for?

The 2025 FDD does not disclose a universal minimum net worth, liquid-capital threshold, minimum credit score, pharmacy-ownership experience requirement, or education requirement for every new applicant. Meeting any informal screening standard therefore should not be treated as approval. The FDD does disclose stricter qualification language for a buyer taking over an existing Medicap franchise: the proposed transferee must be acceptable to Medicap as to character and reputation, credit rating, financial capability, and competent business qualifications.

Operational eligibility is different from applicant approval. The franchisee must keep a valid pharmacy business license, maintain required state and federal licenses for controlled substances and related regulated items, and ensure the pharmacy is always supervised by a licensed pharmacist. The owner is not required by Item 15 to work personally in the pharmacy every day, but the franchisee remains responsible for the business, employees, and compliance.

Buyer verification Ask Medicap to identify the current application, screening, background, credit, and financial review criteria in writing before spending materially on a site. Those general applicant thresholds are not stated in the 2025 FDD; transfer-buyer standards in Franchise Agreement §VIII should not be silently applied to every new-store applicant.

Sources: 2025 FDD, Item 1 p. 1; Item 15 p. 35; Item 17 pp. 36–39; Franchise Agreement §§II.A and VIII.A.

PROCESS ROADMAP

What is the verified sequence from inquiry to opening?

The evidence supports eight major stages. The order below follows contractual dependencies rather than FDD Item numbering; steps involving landlords, regulators, lenders, contractors, insurers, suppliers, and network onboarding can overlap, but each can still delay opening.

1

Choose the correct transaction path

Action: Identify whether the deal is a new pharmacy, conversion of an independent operating pharmacy, purchase of an existing Medicap business, or an approved co-brand arrangement.

Actor: Applicant and Medicap.

Blocker: Transfer approval and co-brand consent are separate from a standard new-store grant.

2

Receive the FDD and preserve the review period

Action: Review the current FDD and attached agreements before becoming bound.

Actor: Franchisor delivers; applicant reviews.

Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate in connection with the sale.

3

Resolve the agreement package and ownership structure

Action: Execute the Franchise Agreement and location Rider; complete a Guaranty when required for entity owners; sign the Business Associate Agreement and required pharmacy-network documents. Use the Inventory Purchase Addendum or Co-Brand Addendum only if that optional path is chosen and approved.

Next dependency: The signed structure must match the actual owner and operating location.

4

Obtain Medicap site approval before acquisition or development

Action: The franchisee selects the site and submits the information Medicap requests.

Actor: Franchisee selects; Medicap approves or disapproves.

Timing: No contractual response deadline; Item 11 says a decision is generally made within 30 days after a complete submission.

Blocker: No approved site means no opening.

5

Secure the premises and complete regulated site work

Action: After site approval, finalize lease or acquisition, financing if needed, zoning/building approvals, buildout or conversion work, signs, utilities, and required pharmacy licenses.

Actor: Franchisee, landlord, lender, contractors, and government authorities.

Blocker: Medicap does not contractually take responsibility for site finding, lease negotiation, permits, or construction timing.

6

Install systems, insurance, inventory, and network access

Action: Meet system specifications, maintain an internet-connected computer, arrange POS/pharmacy management systems, obtain required insurance, source opening inventory, and complete required pharmacy-network participation.

Actor: Franchisee with insurers, vendors, suppliers, and network administrators.

Blocker: Supplier credit/regulatory standards apply if the optional Inventory Purchase Addendum is elected.

7

Staff and train for legal and operating readiness

Action: Recruit and train employees, keep the business under licensed-pharmacist supervision, and complete applicable HIPAA, Fraud, Waste and Abuse, and other legally or contractually required training.

Actor: Franchisee.

Timing: The FDD discloses no franchisor-run initial training course, duration, exam, or certification gate.

8

Commence operations before the outside deadline

Action: Open the pharmacy once the site, licenses, staffing, systems, insurance, inventory, and required network participation are ready.

Timing: Existing-business conversions must commence within 90 days after the franchise grant; start-ups within 12 months.

Blocker: Failure to commence within the applicable period is a stated termination trigger.

Sources: 2025 FDD, Items 8–12 and 15–17; Franchise Agreement §§I, II, V, VI.B(13), X and XIV; FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise.

FORMAT DIFFERENCE

How do new stores, conversions, acquisitions, and co-branding differ?

A buyer should not merge these paths. The FDD gives different opening windows for a start-up and a conversion, while a transfer of an existing Medicap franchise adds transferee approval conditions. The Co-Brand Addendum permits approved additional marks but does not replace the Medicap Pharmacy primary mark and is not an area-development agreement.

Path Key process difference Timing or agreement consequence
New store Site selection, lease/buildout, pharmacy licensing, systems, inventory, staffing, and network readiness are built from scratch. Typical signing-to-opening period: 6–12 months; outside opening deadline: 12 months after franchise grant.
Conversion An already operating pharmacy is converted to the Medicap Pharmacy system; existing licenses, systems, inventory, and premises may reduce work but must still satisfy applicable requirements. Typical conversion: 2 weeks–3 months; outside opening deadline: 90 days after franchise grant.
Existing Medicap transfer Medicap must approve the transferee and transaction; the transferee may assume the existing agreement or sign the then-current form, as Medicap decides. Transfer conditions apply before closing; a nonrefundable $1,000 transfer fee is process-triggered.
Co-brand addendum Requires Medicap consent to use another approved name or mark alongside the primary mark. The primary mark remains principal; consent can be terminated for noncompliance with brand standards.

Sources: 2025 FDD, Items 7, 11, 12 and 17; Franchise Agreement §VIII; Co-Brand Addendum. The Cardinal Health co-brand announcement provides historical public context, but the current FDD and addendum control the contractual path.

SITE APPROVAL

Does Medicap Pharmacy help choose the site or grant a protected territory?

The franchisee is contractually responsible for selecting the site, and the Franchise Agreement prohibits acquiring a particular site before Medicap approval. Medicap considers the space, trade-area demographics and density, nearby competition, customer access, and proximity to other Medicap businesses. Approval is not an endorsement of site viability.

The 2025 FDD grants a right to operate at one approved location but no exclusive territory, no option or right of first refusal for additional franchises, and no protected customer base. Relocation requires Medicap consent, which the FDD says may be withheld in its sole discretion.

Site approval is not territory protection Medicap can consider proximity to another Medicap Pharmacy when approving a site, yet the approved location still carries no exclusive territory. The official franchise marketing page broadly mentions “help choosing a location,” while the 2025 FDD and Franchise Agreement state that finding and selecting the site is the franchisee’s responsibility and that pre-opening assistance is not contractually guaranteed.

Sources: 2025 FDD, Item 11 pp. 26–27; Item 12 pp. 32–33; Franchise Agreement §I.A and §V.A.

TIMING

Which disclosed periods can affect the opening schedule?

Three day-based periods are directly comparable as lengths, although they begin from different triggers and must not be added into a single opening estimate. The federal review period controls the pre-signing stage; the site figure is a stated general response pattern, not a deadline; the 90-day period is a contractual outside limit for an existing-business opening.

Verified day-based process periods

Bar length compares days only. Each period has a different trigger and evidence status.

Federal FDD review minimum 14 calendar days Site decision after complete submission generally 30 days Existing-business opening outside limit 90 days after franchise grant 0 30 60 90 days

Interpretation: The 14-day rule protects pre-signing review time; a complete site package can still take about 30 days for a decision; a conversion that has not commenced by day 90 reaches a separate contractual termination trigger.

Sources: FTC Franchise Rule guidance; 2025 FDD, Item 11 p. 27; Franchise Agreement §VI.B(13). The periods are not additive.

The broader official opening windows remain format-specific: 2 weeks to 3 months for a conversion and 6 to 12 months for a new business, both measured from signing to opening. Item 11 expressly identifies site selection, lease negotiation, financing, permits or zoning variances, construction, and equipment, fixture, or sign installation as factors that can extend the new-store process.

The FTC describes the pre-sale disclosure rule in its Franchise Fundamentals FDD guidance. The rule uses calendar days, not business days.

RESPONSIBILITIES

Who controls the critical dependencies before opening?

The franchisee controls most execution work; Medicap controls specific approvals and system requirements; third parties control several regulated and real-estate dependencies. This division matters because the FDD’s typical opening range is not a promise that landlords, regulators, lenders, contractors, insurers, suppliers, or network administrators will finish on a particular date.

Applicant / franchisee

Select the site and submit a complete approval package.

Negotiate lease or acquisition and arrange financing.

Obtain licenses, hire and train staff, and maintain pharmacist supervision.

Install systems, secure insurance, arrange inventory, and complete network enrollment.

Medicap Pharmacies Incorporated

Approve or reject the proposed site.

License the Medicap Pharmacy marks and provide system policies and procedures.

Review franchisee-created advertising under the agreement process.

May provide limited pre-opening help on request, but the agreement does not guarantee pre-opening assistance.

Third parties

Landlord, lender, architect, contractor, sign vendor, and utilities.

State Board of Pharmacy and other applicable government licensing authorities.

DEA registration authorities when controlled substances are handled.

Insurers, suppliers, NCPDP profile systems, and pharmacy-network administrators.

Federal controlled-substance requirements should be verified directly with the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration’s Controlled Substances Act resources and the applicable state licensing authorities. Exhibit B also makes current pharmacy-profile information relevant to network onboarding; NCPDP Online is the official profile portal referenced by that onboarding process.

TRAINING

What training must be completed before a Medicap Pharmacy opens?

The 2025 FDD states that Medicap does not provide an initial training program to the franchisee. It therefore discloses no standard franchisor training duration, required owner attendees, test, retake rule, or franchisor certification that automatically authorizes opening. The franchisee is responsible for recruiting, hiring, and training its employees.

That does not eliminate regulated training. Item 1 identifies Fraud, Waste and Abuse training requirements and Item 11 says Medicap may assist franchisees in obtaining web-based HIPAA, Fraud, Waste and Abuse, or similar training and provides access to a compliance learning solution. Any additional training tied to a chosen PMS, POS, Retail Solution, immunization service, point-of-care testing program, or other regulated service is separate from a base franchisor initial-training course.

Training requirement Do not treat “no franchisor initial training program” as “no training required.” Pharmacy licensing, payer/network participation, HIPAA, Fraud, Waste and Abuse, vendor systems, and optional clinical services can create separate training or credentialing obligations controlled by law, contract, or third parties.

Sources: 2025 FDD, Item 1 pp. 3–5; Item 11 pp. 30–32; Franchise Agreement §II.A.

OPENING READINESS

What should be verified before the pharmacy begins operating?

The FDD does not disclose a separate franchisor “grand opening authorization” certificate or a mandatory initial-training pass/fail event. The practical readiness gate is therefore the combination of the approved location, executed agreements, legally valid pharmacy operation, required insurance and systems, inventory and staffing, and required pharmacy-network participation—plus any additional state or local conditions applicable to the actual site.

The Franchise Agreement Rider identifies the actual approved operating location.
The pharmacy business license is active and all pharmacists are properly licensed.
Required federal and state controlled-substance or related registrations are active where applicable.
Insurance meets current Medicap specifications, including required additional-insured treatment.
The premises, signs, fixtures, equipment, computer, internet access, and systems meet applicable standards.
Required pharmacy-network enrollment is complete and the NCPDP profile is current for the onboarding scenario.
A licensed pharmacist will supervise the pharmacy whenever required, and employees have completed applicable training.
The conversion or start-up opening deadline is tracked from the correct franchise-grant trigger.

One document point deserves explicit confirmation: Item 16 says the franchisee must sign the MSI InterNet® Participation Agreement, while the FDD table of contents labels Exhibit B as the Medicine Shoppe InterNet® Enrollment Guide. A buyer should obtain and review the current participation agreement that actually governs network terms rather than assuming the enrollment guide is the complete contract.

Sources: 2025 FDD, Items 8, 11, 15 and 16; Franchise Agreement §§II, X and XIV; Exhibit B enrollment materials.

FINAL VERIFICATION

What is the key opening-process conclusion for a Medicap Pharmacy buyer?

The verified path is a one-location retail-pharmacy franchise process with distinct new-store and conversion timing. The total timeline is officially disclosed as a typical 6–12 months for a new business and 2 weeks–3 months for a conversion, while the separate 12-month and 90-day periods are contractual outside opening limits. The applicant-controlled dependency is getting a viable site, licenses, staffing, systems, insurance, and network onboarding completed; the major external dependencies are Medicap’s site decision and third-party real-estate, regulatory, construction, and network processes.

The most important unresolved point to verify before signing is the exact current application/approval criteria and the complete MSI InterNet participation contract. Also confirm which date Medicap treats as the “grant of the License” for the opening-deadline clock in the buyer’s specific transaction, because the agreement makes failure to commence operations within the applicable period a termination trigger.