How to Start a Made in the Shade Blinds & More Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

How do you open a Made in the Shade Blinds & More franchise?

60–90 days

Official typical signing-to-opening period. The 2026 FDD says a MITS Business typically opens about 60 to 90 days after the Franchise Agreement is signed. This is an estimate, not a promise. The same FDD also states a 60-day opening default threshold unless more time is allowed, so the Opening Date in Schedule 3 and any written extension should be reconciled before signing.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Made in the Shade Blinds and More LLC. FDD issued April 28, 2026. Applicable U.S. offer: a MITS Business operating from one Office inside a defined Territory; the Office may be home-based or commercial. Timeline mode: Mode A — official total timeline, using the FDD's approximately 60–90 day period from Franchise Agreement signing to opening. Primary evidence: 2026 FDD Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; Franchise Agreement §§1.B, 5, 6.B, 6.J–K; Schedules 3–4. Checked July 17, 2026.
60 days
Base opening threshold
Item 11 states delay beyond this can be a default.
5 days
Initial training
Generally conducted in San Antonio before opening.
14 days
Federal disclosure wait
Calendar days before signing or paying the franchisor.
10%
Operating Principal ownership
Minimum ownership if the franchisee is an entity, absent consent otherwise.

The practical path is discovery and territory discussion, FDD review and qualification, execution of the Franchise Agreement and related owner documents, Office and territory setup, completion of required training, installation of required systems and pre-opening resources, and finally written opening authorization. The official discovery page says prospects begin by submitting a brief form and may receive an email within one business day; that response time is marketing-process information, not a contractual approval deadline.

APPLICATION

What do you have to qualify for before signing?

The 2026 FDD says the franchisor offers franchises to “qualified franchise applicants,” but it does not publish a numeric net-worth minimum, liquid-capital minimum, minimum credit score, education requirement, or mandatory industry-experience threshold for a new-unit applicant. The official franchise site states that prior window-covering, interior-design, and sales experience is not required. That is a stated fit preference, not a guarantee of approval.

If the franchisee is an entity, it must be properly organized and authorized to do business where required, and Schedule 4 identifies owners and management. An Operating Principal must be designated at signing; if the franchisee is not an individual, that person must generally hold at least a 10% direct or indirect ownership interest, satisfy the franchisor's standards, complete training, and guaranty the franchisee's obligations. Designated Principals may also be required to execute the Principals' Guaranty and Assumption Agreement.

BUYER VERIFICATION The FDD does not disclose a formal application-scoring rubric or a deadline by which Made in the Shade Blinds and More LLC must approve or reject a new applicant. Ask the development team which current financial, background, ownership, and fit criteria are actually used before a franchise is awarded, and distinguish those screening practices from contractual requirements in the FDD.

The franchisor offers financing of the initial franchise fee only subject to credit approval. An applicant using that option must execute the Secured Promissory Note and Security Agreement. Applicants paying without franchisor financing do not face that financing-specific credit gate. See the brand's official franchisee-fit page and official franchise FAQ for current non-contractual positioning.

VERIFIED ROADMAP

What are the actual steps from inquiry to opening?

1
Start discovery and identify a target territory
Action: Submit the inquiry form and discuss available geography.
Actor: Applicant and franchise development team.
Timing: Official site says initial email may arrive within one business day.
Next: Territory availability and applicant fit must still be confirmed.
2
Complete qualification and due diligence
Action: Provide requested applicant information and evaluate the system.
Actor: Applicant; franchisor controls acceptance.
Timing: No approval deadline is disclosed in the FDD.
Blocker: Unmet internal qualification standards or unavailable territory.
3
Receive and review the current FDD
Action: Review all 23 Items, Franchise Agreement, schedules, guaranty, and state addenda.
Actor: Applicant and advisers.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing or paying the franchisor or affiliate.
Next: Resolve state-specific changes and final deal terms.
4
Finalize territory, ownership, and signing documents
Action: Put Territory ZIP codes in Schedule 3, identify the Operating Principal and ownership in Schedule 4, then execute required agreements.
Actor: Franchisee, Principals, and franchisor.
Timing: Territory is described before signing; initial fee is due at execution.
Next: Schedule 3 must also specify the Opening Date.
5
Establish the Office and local operating prerequisites
Action: Set up a dedicated home Office or commercial Office inside the Territory; obtain required licenses, permits, insurance, equipment, computer systems, and vehicle.
Actor: Franchisee and relevant third parties.
Timing: Before opening; local timing is not standardized.
Blocker: Local requirements, insurance, equipment, or Office readiness.
6
Complete initial management training
Action: Operating Principal must successfully complete training; one additional trainee is included.
Actor: Operating Principal, trainee, and franchisor trainers.
Timing: Generally about five days, before the Opening Date.
Blocker: Unsatisfactory completion can trigger a 45-day cure period after written notice.
7
Finish systems, suppliers, samples, and payment setup
Action: Activate required support systems, approved accounting software, computer access, designated suppliers, initial sample inventory, and standing ACH authorization.
Actor: Franchisee, franchisor, and suppliers.
Timing: Required before opening where specified.
Next: Any unapproved advertising or supplier request needs separate approval.
8
Obtain written opening authorization and open on schedule
Action: Demonstrate compliance and receive written authorization before serving the public.
Actor: Franchisor authorizes; franchisee opens.
Timing: On the Schedule 3 Opening Date unless a written extension is granted.
Blocker: Noncompliance can delay opening; failure to open as required is a material default.

Sources: 2026 FDD Items 1, 5, 9–12 and 15; Franchise Agreement §§1.B, 3, 5, 6.B, 6.J–K; Schedules 3–4; official Next Steps page; official Start page.

TIMING

Which opening deadlines and durations matter most?

Pre-opening time rules disclosed in days
These periods have different triggers and must not be added together.
Initial training 5 days Federal FDD review period 14 days Base opening threshold 60 days Typical signing-to-opening 60–90 days 0 30 60 90 days

The key tension is contractual: the FDD describes 60–90 days as typical, while Item 11 also states that failing to locate an Office and open within 60 days of signing can place the franchisee in default unless more time is allowed.

Source: 2026 FDD cover and Item 11, pp. 18–23; Franchise Agreement §1.B, p. 3; Federal disclosure period verified through the FTC Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise.

CONTRACTUAL DEADLINE Do not treat “60–90 days” as an automatic right to take 90 days. The Franchise Agreement requires opening on the date written in Schedule 3 unless the franchisor gives a written extension, and Item 11 describes a 60-day default threshold. The exact Schedule 3 date and extension process are therefore critical pre-signing verification points.
SITE & FORMAT

Do you need a storefront, site approval, or buildout?

No traditional showroom is required by the 2026 FDD. The franchise operates from one Office inside the Territory. A home Office is permitted if it is separate from living space and dedicated to the MITS Business; a commercial Office is also allowed. The franchisor is not obligated to find a site, and the FDD does not impose a conventional retail buildout process.

Home Office

Must be inside the Territory, separate from living space, and dedicated to the Business. The official franchise site also presents the model as home-based.

Commercial Office

May be used instead. The Franchise Agreement allows the franchisor to review a non-home Office to confirm standards, but it does not guarantee suitability.

Large or multi-location territory

A territory above 450,000 population may require a separate territory and Franchise Agreement. Multiple locations within one territory can require separate support-system instances and related fees.

Territory designation and Office selection are distinct. Schedule 3 must describe the Territory before signing, but the Office address can be added later by amendment if not yet selected. The franchisor's territorial protection is also subject to state addenda; for example, the 2026 California addendum modifies Item 12's exclusivity language. Buyers should review the addendum applicable to their state rather than assuming the base Item 12 language controls everywhere.

Sources: 2026 FDD Items 11–12; Franchise Agreement §6.B and Schedule 3; official home-based franchise page.

TRAINING & READINESS

What must be complete before the franchisor can authorize opening?

The Operating Principal must successfully complete the initial management training program before the Opening Date. The FDD says initial training generally lasts about five days in San Antonio, Texas, and its training table allocates 43 classroom hours plus 15 hours of vendor-provided on-the-job training, with the on-the-job component at the owner's location. Training completion does not itself authorize opening.

Before opening, the franchisor is obligated to provide access to the Manuals, an Approved Products List and designated-supplier list, an initial inventory of sample Products, and the initial training program. The franchisee remains responsible for local licenses and permits, required insurance, a compliant vehicle and wrap, computer hardware and software, approved accounting software, Office readiness, and a standing ACH authorization for required payments. Advertising not previously approved may require franchisor approval; the agreement gives the franchisor 20 days to approve or disapprove submitted materials.

Franchisee-controlled
  • Choose and establish an Office inside the Territory.
  • Form the entity, identify ownership, and designate the Operating Principal.
  • Obtain local licenses, permits, insurance, vehicle, and equipment.
  • Complete required training and activate required systems.
Franchisor-controlled
  • Accept or decline the applicant under undisclosed current qualification standards.
  • Finalize Territory terms and execute the Franchise Agreement.
  • Provide Manuals, approved-source information, samples, and training.
  • Issue written authorization before public opening.
Third-party dependent
  • Government licensing or permit timing where applicable.
  • Insurance underwriting and required proof of coverage.
  • Supplier delivery of samples, equipment, and technology.
  • Commercial landlord or local office constraints, if used.
OPENING READINESS

What should a buyer verify before committing to the opening schedule?

Applicant screening: Ask for the current qualification criteria because the FDD does not disclose numeric financial or credit minimums for a new applicant.
Territory: Confirm the exact ZIP-code boundaries in Schedule 3 and whether a state addendum changes the base territorial protection.
Opening Date: Reconcile the Schedule 3 date with the FDD's 60-day default statement and 60–90 day typical period.
Operating Principal: Confirm ownership percentage, guaranty obligations, training attendance, and who will supervise day-to-day operations.
Office: Determine whether a home or commercial Office will be used and whether local rules or landlord terms affect that choice.
Training: Confirm the next available training session, required attendees, travel logistics, and how the 15 hours of vendor on-the-job training will be scheduled.
Opening authorization: Ask for the franchisor's current written pre-opening checklist so compliance can be demonstrated before public opening.
Franchisee references: Use Item 20 contacts and the brand's due-diligence process to ask recent owners how territory setup, training, suppliers, and authorization worked in practice.

The FTC states that the FDD must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before the prospect signs a binding agreement with, or pays money to, the franchisor or an affiliate in connection with the proposed sale. That federal waiting period is a pre-sale disclosure rule; it is not the total application period and not part of the 60–90 day post-signing opening estimate. The official franchise site also encourages prospects to speak with existing owners during due diligence. See the official franchise opportunities page.

SYNTHESIS

What is the opening decision in one view?

The verified path is: discovery and territory discussion → applicant qualification and due diligence → 2026 FDD review and federal waiting period → Franchise Agreement, Schedule 3, ownership documents, and any guaranty → Office, insurance, permits, vehicle, systems, suppliers, and samples → required training → written opening authorization → opening on the Schedule 3 date.

The total timeline is officially disclosed as approximately 60–90 days from signing to opening, but it is not a guaranteed completion date. The most important applicant-controlled dependency is completing training and all local and operational readiness items. The most important franchisor-controlled dependency is written opening authorization. The key contractual issue to verify is the relationship between the FDD's 60-day default threshold, the 60–90 day typical period, and the exact Opening Date or written extension recorded for the buyer.

Primary private research evidence is cited only by document title, year, Item, agreement section, and page. No franchise-controlled public PDF of the 2026 FDD was verified for linking. Public process references: Made in the Shade Blinds & More franchise site and the Federal Trade Commission franchise-buying guide.