How to Start a KOA Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Opening path

How does the KOA franchise opening process work?

3 official ranges
Signing to opening

KOA discloses a path-specific estimate, not one universal timeline: a few days to 6 months when buying an existing KOA, 1 to 12 months when converting an independent campground, and 12 to 48 months for new construction. Each route still requires KOA approval, the correct agreement package, property work, required systems, and path-specific opening clearance.

Data basis: Kampgrounds of America, Inc., April 29, 2026 U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document; purchase, conversion, and new-construction paths; Timeline Mode A because Item 11 states complete estimates from Franchise Agreement signing to opening. Sources reviewed include Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20, Franchise Agreement Form X-26, the Conversion Addendum, and the New Construction Addendum. Public information was checked July 14, 2026.

The 2026 FDD and signed agreements control contractual requirements. KOA’s public pages are supplemental; where a web checklist, fee description, or training duration differs, the current FDD governs.

14
Calendar-day FDD review

Before a binding franchise agreement or franchisor payment.

Up to 1 yr
Site approval

Measured from submission of the proposed site to KOA.

≈4 days
KOA-U program

Generally held in person in Billings, Montana.

1 year
Training completion deadline

Trigger varies by purchase, conversion, or new build.

30 days
Signage window

No earlier than estimated opening without written approval.

Offer structure

Which KOA opening path and agreement package apply?

KOA offers three routes. Journey, Holiday, and Resort are approved brand positions, not substitutes for the purchase, conversion, or new-construction path.

Existing KOA

Acquire an operating KOA campground

The buyer completes KOA approval, the property acquisition, a Franchise Agreement and the transfer transition. On written request, KOA will provide the most recent quality-assurance report and property-improvement documentation for the campground.

2026 FDD Items 7 and 11; Franchise Agreement.

Conversion

Convert an independent campground

The governing package is the Franchise Agreement plus the Conversion Addendum and its Site Report/Branding Plan. The negotiated plan identifies physical changes, brand position, installation work, and the required completion date.

2026 FDD Exhibit A-15.

New construction

Develop and construct a new KOA

The Franchise Agreement is supplemented by the New Construction Addendum. KOA must approve the location and application, evaluate the site, prepare the scale development plan, approve construction documents, and certify standards before public opening.

2026 FDD Item 11 and Exhibit A-16.

Format difference

One Franchise Agreement authorizes one KOA campground in the territory described in that agreement. A second campground requires a separate application, initial fee, and Franchise Agreement; the 2026 FDD does not disclose an area-development agreement.

Qualification

What must a KOA applicant qualify for before signing?

KOA retains approval discretion, and satisfying a published guideline does not guarantee an award. The FDD requires the franchisee to be an approved corporation, limited liability company, partnership, or other approved entity; KOA does not authorize an individual or informal group as the franchisee.

Entity and ownership disclosureForm the approved entity, identify its owners accurately, and authorize the signer.
New-build financial guidelinesKOA’s current public page lists $1 million net worth and $500,000 liquid assets for new construction.
New-build development scaleThe public guideline lists 75 RV sites and 90 total sites; the final approved design controls.
New-build acreageThe FDD states at least 12 acres with municipal water/sewer or 15 acres without them.
Management structureAn absentee owner must use a direct on-premises manager; a management company requires KOA approval.
Owner training participationOne owner must attend KOA-U; a manager or representative cannot replace that owner.

The reviewed FDD does not state a universal minimum credit score, education requirement, campground-industry experience threshold, or numeric net-worth/liquidity minimum for the conversion or existing-KOA purchase paths. Buyers should ask KOA to identify any current screening criteria applied to their specific ownership group and path.

Official supplemental source: KOA new-construction guidelines. Contractual sources: 2026 FDD Items 7 and 15; Franchise Agreement §3.

Verified sequence

What happens from inquiry through opening?

The sequence below separates applicant actions, KOA approvals, and third-party dependencies. Some design, financing, permitting, hiring, and training work can overlap, so the roadmap is not an additive duration calculation.

1

Select the ownership path

Action: Choose existing-KOA acquisition, independent-campground conversion, or new construction and submit the requested application information.
Actor: Applicant.
Timing: No FDD duration disclosed.
Blocker: Unresolved property, ownership, or path.
2

Complete qualification and entity review

Action: Provide ownership, authority, proposed manager, property, and path-specific financial information KOA requests.
Actor: Applicant; KOA approves.
Timing: No fixed review period disclosed.
Next: KOA agrees to consider the proposed franchise and location.
3

Receive and review the FDD

Action: Review the FDD, Franchise Agreement, state addendum, and applicable conversion or construction addendum.
Actor: Franchisor delivers; applicant reviews.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing or paying KOA or an affiliate.
Blocker: The disclosure period is not the full application timeline.
4

Obtain site and property approval

Action: Submit the selected site or campground and supporting market, utility, facility, and approval information.
Actor: Applicant selects; KOA reviews.
Timing: KOA may take up to one year after site submission.
Blocker: Without approval, KOA will not sign for that location.
5

Sign the correct agreements

Action: Execute the Franchise Agreement, applicable state and path addenda, ownership schedules, and electronic-debit authorization.
Actor: Approved franchisee entity and KOA.
Timing: Initial or transfer fee is due at signing: $45,000 new build; $15,000 conversion or transfer.
Next: Inserted dates and schedules become contractual.
6

Control the property and complete physical work

Action: Close the acquisition, complete conversion upgrades, or secure permits, survey, approved design, contractor, utilities, and construction.
Actor: Franchisee and third parties; KOA approves standards and plans.
Timing: Path-specific and locally variable.
Blocker: Financing, zoning, permits, contractor, delivery, or seasonal delay.
7

Install the operating platform

Action: Put required insurance, KampSight/K2, koa.com reservations, approved payment processing, hardware, uniforms, signage, camp-store inventory, and staffing in place.
Actor: Franchisee; KOA and approved suppliers provide specified systems or items.
Timing: Before opening where the agreement says so.
Blocker: Conversion merchant-account rejection may permit termination.
8

Schedule and complete KOA-U

Action: One owner and one designated manager or representative attend and complete KOA-U to KOA’s satisfaction.
Actor: Franchisee attendees; KOA trains.
Timing: Generally about four days; completion may occur after opening but must meet the one-year deadline.
Blocker: Training completion is distinct from opening authorization.
9

Pass path-specific opening clearance

Action: Finish the branding plan or approved construction and confirm required systems, supplies, approvals, and readiness.
Actor: Franchisee completes; KOA verifies.
Timing: By the dates inserted in the applicable addendum.
Next: New construction cannot open until KOA certifies compliance.

Sequence derived from 2026 FDD Items 5–12 and 15–17, Franchise Agreement Form X-26, Conversion Addendum §§1–5, and New Construction Addendum §§2–7.

Official timing

How long can each KOA opening route take?

These are KOA’s path-specific estimates from Franchise Agreement signing to opening, not promises or deadlines.

Signing-to-opening estimate by path

Horizontal ranges use months; “a few days” is shown at the origin without converting it into a false numeric minimum.

012243648 months
Buy existing KOA
Few days–6 mo
Convert campground
1–12 mo
Build new KOA
12–48 mo
The path determines the planning range: property condition and closing dominate acquisitions, required upgrades dominate conversions, and zoning, design, utilities, contractors, and construction dominate new builds.

Source: 2026 KOA FDD, Item 11, “Time to Open,” pp. 21–22. Evidence class: official total timeline estimate.

Responsibility

Who controls the critical opening dependencies?

KOA assistance does not replace the franchisee’s property, financing, construction, employment, or legal-compliance responsibilities. Third-party approvals can delay a project even after KOA has approved the applicant or site.

Applicant or franchisee

Selects the site or acquisition and forms the approved entity.
Secures property control, financing, permits, utilities, contractors, insurance, and employees.
Completes upgrades, installs signs and systems, stocks the camp store, and meets inserted dates.

Kampgrounds of America, Inc.

Approves the applicant, site, territory, brand position, plans, and specified suppliers.
For new builds, performs the site evaluation and provides the scale development plan.
Provides specified signs, systems access, manual, training, and path-specific promotional guidance.

Third parties

Landlord or seller controls real-estate terms and closing conditions.
Lender decides financing; KOA does not offer or guarantee financing under Item 10.
Government authorities, utilities, engineers, architects, contractors, insurers, and the processor control their own approvals and delivery.
Site approval is not opening authorization

KOA site approval allows the transaction to advance. It does not itself create territory protection, approve a lease, confirm local permits, approve construction changes, certify completed facilities, or authorize public opening.

Deadlines and consequences

Which KOA opening deadlines can change the deal?

New-construction dates are inserted into the addendum

The franchisee must start construction and complete construction/open by the specified dates, after obtaining KOA’s written plan approval. Missing those dates may permit termination and retention of amounts paid.

New Construction Addendum §3.

Only one discretionary new-build extension is described

KOA may grant one written extension, for a period KOA determines, after payment of the $5,000 extension fee. The extension is not a right, cannot be extended again, and failure to open by its end leads to termination.

New Construction Addendum §7.

Conversion deadlines sit in the Site Report/Branding Plan

The form addendum leaves project-specific dates to Schedule 1. The buyer must verify every required modification, brand-position condition, opening date, and completion evidence before signing.

Conversion Addendum §§1–3 and Schedule 1.

Conversion data and processor approvals can block readiness

A franchisee choosing the customer-database exclusion must submit its one permitted file during KampSight/K2 training or at least 14 days before opening. A required merchant account must be approved before opening.

Conversion Addendum §§3 and 5.

Training requirement

At least one owner must complete KOA-U to KOA’s satisfaction within one year after purchase or conversion, or within one year after a new-build campground opens. Failure is a breach that may allow KOA to terminate and retain amounts paid.

Opening readiness

What must be verified before the campground opens as a KOA?

The exact checklist depends on the approved brand position and the KOA Quality Assurance & Policy Manual. The following items are disclosed opening dependencies rather than a universal local-permit list.

Property and approvalsProperty control, zoning and permits, utilities, and required governmental inspections are resolved.
Approved physical conditionFacilities, amenities, accessibility, landscaping, signs, and any Site Report work meet the approved plan.
Insurance evidenceRequired policies and certificates name KOA as additional insured where required; new builds insure before construction.
Technology and paymentsKampSight/K2, required hardware, internet, koa.com reservations, and approved payment processing are operational.
Suppliers and inventoryMandatory uniforms, approved trademarked goods, equipment, signage, and minimum camp-store inventory are in place.
People and operating controlEmployees are recruited and trained by the franchisee; the approved owner/manager structure is documented.

New construction has the clearest final gate: the campground may not open to the public until KOA certifies that it meets then-current standards and other requirements. Conversion requires completion of the Site Report/Branding Plan and operating setup. An existing-KOA acquisition must complete the approved transfer, property closing, required improvements, and systems transition.

Buyer verification

What should a prospective KOA franchisee confirm before committing?

Legal packageConfirm the Franchise Agreement, state addendum, guaranty if any, and the correct conversion or construction addendum.
Site versus territoryConfirm the approved site, territory map, minimum radius, competitive carve-outs, and property-control term separately.
Inserted datesList each construction, conversion, opening, notice, training, and extension trigger exactly as written.
Approval criteriaAsk what evidence KOA requires for plan approval, Site Report completion, processor approval, and final certification.
Third-party critical pathConfirm lender, seller, landlord, zoning, utility, engineer, contractor, insurer, and supplier dependencies with the responsible party.
Franchisee interviewsUse Item 20 contacts to ask recent buyers, converters, builders, and former franchisees about actual approval and opening delays.

The FTC rule requires delivery of the disclosure document at least 14 calendar days before a prospective franchisee signs a binding agreement with, or pays, the franchisor or an affiliate. The count begins the day after delivery; this federal review period should not be treated as the date on which KOA must approve the applicant, site, financing, or opening.

Synthesis

What is the verified KOA opening decision?

The verified path is application and entity approval, FDD review, site or property approval, execution of the path-specific agreement package, physical and operating-system completion, and KOA’s applicable readiness verification. The total timeline is official but path-specific: a few days–6 months for an existing KOA, 1–12 months for conversion, and 12–48 months for new construction.

The most important applicant-controlled dependency is securing a viable property and completing permits, financing, approved work, systems, staffing, and documentation on time. The most important franchisor or third-party dependency is KOA’s site/plan/certification review together with government, lender, seller, utility, contractor, insurer, and processor decisions. Before signing, verify the inserted opening date, extension language, Site Report obligations, and the exact evidence KOA will accept for final clearance.