For an illustrative KOA Holiday campground, that is the derived annual Operating Profit range produced by the 2026 KOA FDD's official 2024 median profit-per-camper-night figures and three explicit volume assumptions. The base calculation is $168,150. This is the closest disclosed measure to owner earnings, but it is not after-tax take-home pay and it is calculated before interest, depreciation, lease payments, and debt service.
Data basis and evidence status
The article uses the current 2026 U.S. FDD as the controlling source and preserves its separate 2024 profit and 2025 revenue populations. External evidence is limited to owner-role context and buyer guidance.
- Legal franchisor
- Kampgrounds of America, Inc.
- Current disclosure
- 2026 KOA Franchise Disclosure Document, issued April 29, 2026.
- Item 19 status
- Official historical Gross Profit and Operating Profit per camper night for reporting franchised KOA Journey, KOA Holiday, and KOA Resort campgrounds.
- Profit population
- 277 franchised campgrounds open for all of 2024 and reporting complete financial information; 11 new campgrounds and 141 incomplete reporters were excluded.
- Scenario focus
- KOA Holiday, representing 55% of the Item 19 profit sample. Owner-role composition was not disclosed.
- Supplemental benchmark
- U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics lodging-manager wage data for RV parks and recreational camps, May 2024.
- Date checked
- July 14, 2026.
$22.42 median profit per camper night multiplied by 7,500 assumed camper nights.
For the 5,001–10,000 camper-night band in the 2024 reporting population.
Complete 2024 financial reporters included in Item 19 Section B.
The largest brand-position group in the disclosed profit sample.
8% royalty and 2% advertising assessment on Total Registration Receipts, subject to disclosed thresholds and exceptions.
BLS median annual wage for lodging managers in RV parks and recreational camps, May 2024.
What does KOA's official profit figure actually measure?
It measures Operating Profit per camper night, not annual owner salary or personal take-home pay. The official 2024 calculation covers franchised campgrounds that operated for the full year and submitted complete financial information. KOA grouped results by brand position and annual camper-night band.
Item 19 defines one camper night as one rented campground or lodging site for one night. The count can include rented but unoccupied seasonal or long-term sites, so it is a utilization measure rather than a guest-headcount measure. The disclosure calculates revenue, expense, Gross Profit, and Operating Profit on that basis.
The 2025 site-class figures—such as median annual registration revenue of $6,312 per RV site and $14,054 per Deluxe Cabin—describe revenue generation by site class. They do not deduct payroll, utilities, repairs, insurance, royalty, advertising, or other operating costs. The earnings analysis therefore relies primarily on Item 19 Section B's Operating Profit measure, not Section A revenue.
What is included and excluded?
The official measure includes ordinary campground operating expenses and stated franchise charges, but it excludes major financing, property, and noncash costs. Those exclusions are why Operating Profit can exceed cash available for distribution.
- Included in Operating Expenses
- Salaries and Benefits, utilities, operating supplies, property taxes, repairs and maintenance, advertising and promotion, auto expense, insurance, miscellaneous expense, an imputed 8% royalty, an imputed 2% advertising assessment, and a $1,750 administrative fee.
- Excluded from Operating Profit
- Interest expense, depreciation, lease payments, and debt service. Capital expenditures and personal income taxes are also not presented as deductions.
- Owner compensation
- Item 19 does not state consistently whether owner salary, draws, or distributions are contained in Salaries and Benefits. That prevents Operating Profit from being treated as a clean per-owner compensation figure.
- Data quality
- The underlying franchisee reports were unaudited and not independently verified by the franchisor.
Source: 2026 KOA Franchise Disclosure Document, Item 19, pp. 35–52.
How does the official per-night profit become an annual earnings range?
The annual estimate multiplies each KOA Holiday median Operating Profit per camper night by an explicit annual camper-night assumption. The FDD supplies the profit rates and volume bands; it does not supply the selected annual volume points.
| Scenario | Holiday evidence and volume assumption | Calculation | Derived annual Operating Profit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Conservative | 1,000–5,000 band; $15.19 official median; 3,000 assumed camper nights | $15.19 × 3,000 | $45,570 |
| Base | 5,001–10,000 band; $22.42 official median; 7,500 assumed camper nights | $22.42 × 7,500 | $168,150 |
| Upside | 10,001-and-up band; $13.77 official median; 15,000 assumed camper nights | $13.77 × 15,000 | $206,550 |
Official 2024 median profit per camper night multiplied by editorial camper-night assumptions.
Interpretation: Volume is the dominant driver in this annualization. The higher-volume band has a lower median profit per camper night than the middle band, yet its assumed 15,000 camper nights produce the largest annual total.
Source and formula: 2026 KOA FDD, Item 19, pp. 45–47. Annual Operating Profit = official Holiday median Operating Profit per camper night × assumed annual camper nights. Amounts are rounded to the nearest dollar after multiplication.
- Conservative volume: 3,000 camper nights is an editorial point within the FDD's 1,000–5,000 band.
- Base volume: 7,500 camper nights is an editorial midpoint within the 5,001–10,000 band.
- Upside volume: 15,000 camper nights is an editorial point within the open-ended 10,001-and-up band, not an FDD average or probability.
- No financing or tax deduction: The scenarios do not subtract interest, lease payments, principal payments, capital expenditures, or personal income taxes.
How different are KOA Journey, Holiday, and Resort profit rates?
The official median Operating Profit per camper night varies materially by both brand position and annual camper-night band. KOA Resort shows the highest disclosed median, $40.07, but that result comes from only eight reporting campgrounds, all in the 10,001-and-up band.
The chart preserves the FDD's separate brand positions and volume bands; missing Resort bands were not estimated.
Interpretation: A format label alone does not determine annual profit. Volume, site mix, cost structure, and sample size matter, and the Resort result has a much smaller evidence base than Journey or Holiday.
Source: 2026 KOA FDD, Item 19, pp. 43–49. Values are official medians; sample sizes are the number of reporting campgrounds in each band.
How does active owner involvement change the result?
Active operation can increase the owner's total economic benefit when the owner replaces a paid on-site manager, but the added amount is compensation for labor—not passive business profit. Item 15 does not require personal day-to-day operation, although KOA recommends it; a non-operating owner must use direct on-premises manager supervision.
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics lodging-manager data reports a May 2024 median annual wage of $56,170 for lodging managers in RV parks and recreational camps. That is a national occupation benchmark, not a KOA-specific manager cost, and it excludes the employer's payroll taxes and benefits.
This owner-operator bridge is a sensitivity, not an Item 19 result. It is valid only when the owner actually performs comparable management work and a similar paid-manager cost is avoided.
Do not automatically add $56,170 to every KOA result. Item 19 includes Salaries and Benefits but does not identify which reporting campgrounds were owner-operated, whether owners were paid through payroll, or whether each campground employed a separate general manager. Adding a replacement-manager wage could double count compensation at some properties.
Which franchise fees affect the earnings calculation?
The official 2024 Operating Profit already incorporates an 8% royalty and 2% advertising assessment on Registration Revenue, so those charges should not be subtracted again. Current Item 6 obligations still matter because not every present fee is separately visible in the historical profit table.
Optional Revenue Managed Services, Marketing Managed Services, and text-messaging services are not included in this article's core scenarios. A buyer should add them only when the operating plan actually uses those services.
Source: 2026 KOA FDD, Item 6, pp. 5–9; Item 19 notes, pp. 45, 47, and 49.
Why could actual owner cash be much lower—or higher?
The largest unresolved uncertainty is the gap between disclosed Operating Profit and cash actually distributable to one owner. Debt structure, property ownership, lease terms, owner payroll treatment, and recurring capital needs are not resolved by the Item 19 table.
- Financing: Interest and debt service are excluded. A heavily financed campground may produce positive Operating Profit while distributing little cash.
- Real estate: Lease payments are excluded. The disclosed measure is therefore not comparable across an owned-property campground and a leased-property campground without adjustment.
- Capital spending: Road, utility, cabin, pool, bathhouse, and site upgrades can consume cash even when they do not appear as current operating expenses.
- Reporting selection: The profit sample excluded 141 campgrounds that did not provide complete financial information and 11 that opened during 2024.
- Closed outlets: The FDD states that 17 franchised campgrounds permanently closed as KOA campgrounds in 2024 and another 17 in 2025; closure context is not captured in the full-year 2024 reporting cohort.
- Open-ended high-volume band: “10,001 and up” covers a broad range, so a 15,000-night scenario should not be read as the average of that group.
Item 20 reports 432 franchised KOA campgrounds at the end of 2025, up from 429 at the start of that year. System count alone does not establish the profitability of an individual campground.
What should a buyer verify before relying on the range?
A buyer should reconstruct the target campground's earnings from source records rather than treating the $46,000–$207,000 range as a forecast. The most useful diligence compares the target's camper nights, rates, site mix, payroll, property costs, and capital plan with the exact Item 19 cohort.
- Request Item 19 written substantiation and confirm how Gross Profit, Operating Expense, and Operating Profit were calculated for each brand-position and camper-night band.
- Ask whether owner wages, family payroll, management-company fees, and on-site housing benefits were included in Salaries and Benefits for comparable campgrounds.
- Separate Registration Revenue, Store Sales Revenue, and Other Revenue; apply royalty and advertising only to the FDD-defined Total Registration Receipts base.
- Obtain the target property's last three years of monthly camper nights, site-class revenue, payroll, utilities, repairs, insurance, property tax, and merchant-processing charges.
- Model lease payments, interest, principal, deferred maintenance, and required upgrades outside the FDD Operating Profit figure.
- Interview current and former franchisees in the same KOA brand position, climate pattern, and volume band, following the due-diligence approach in the FTC's consumer guide to buying a franchise.
What is the strongest defensible KOA owner-earnings takeaway?
The most defensible annual range is approximately $46,000 to $207,000 in derived KOA Holiday Operating Profit, with a $168,150 base scenario. It is anchored to official 2024 Item 19 median Operating Profit per camper night, but the annual totals are scenario-based rather than reported by the franchisor.
The most important earnings driver is annual camper-night volume combined with brand position and cost discipline. The largest unresolved uncertainty is how the FDD's Operating Profit converts to cash for a specific owner after lease payments, interest, debt service, capital spending, and owner-compensation treatment. Before making a decision, verify Item 19 substantiation, target-property records, and comparable franchisee experience in the same format and volume band.