How long does it take to open an InXpress franchise?
The 2026 InXpress Franchise Disclosure Document states that the typical period from signing the Franchise Agreement or paying fees to opening is approximately 45 days. That is an official estimate, not a promise. Financing, permits, training, equipment, staffing, insurance, and other pre-opening conditions can extend the process, and InXpress may withhold opening until the required readiness conditions are satisfied.
What do you need to qualify before InXpress will offer a franchise?
InXpress does not publish a numeric U.S. net-worth minimum, liquid-capital minimum, or minimum credit score in the 2026 FDD. Its public inquiry form asks about prior franchise ownership, B2B sales experience, desired opening timing, ability to provide proof of financial capability, and employment-visa sponsorship needs. Those are screening questions, not disclosed contractual minimums, and meeting them does not guarantee approval.
The official U.S. franchising page says shipping or logistics experience is not required and describes many owners as coming from sales, business development, or service backgrounds. The public form also states that the franchise opportunity does not provide employment visa sponsorship. InXpress says franchises are offered only to qualified candidates in geographic areas it chooses, without guaranteeing approval or a particular market.
Sources: 2026 FDD Item 15, pp. 33-34; Franchise Agreement §13.4, A-30; official InXpress franchise inquiry form; official U.S. franchising FAQ.
What is the actual InXpress process from inquiry to opening?
The evidence supports an eight-stage dependency sequence. InXpress does not publish a complete application-scoring timetable, so the first qualification stage has no official duration. The 45-day estimate begins only at signing or fee payment, not at the first inquiry.
Sources: 2026 FDD Item 11, pp. 19-28; Franchise Agreement §§5.1-5.3, A-15-A-16; §§8.1-8.3, A-21-A-22; §24.2, A-55; FTC Franchise Fundamentals guidance.
Which verified process periods can affect the opening date?
These periods use the same unit, days, but they start from different events and are not additive. The chart is a duration comparison, not a derived total timeline.
The Franchise Agreement requires the franchisee to satisfy the opening conditions and be prepared to open and continuously operate within four months of the Effective Date. The agreement says time is of the essence. The FDD states that failure to open in that timeframe may result in termination; it does not disclose an automatic extension right for a new-unit opening.
Do you need a site approval or protected territory before opening?
No site approval is required for the initial InXpress office. Under Franchise Agreement §5.1, the Location may be a Home Office or an Office Complex that is not open to the public, and the franchisee is solely responsible for selecting it and notifying InXpress. InXpress designates a Primary Franchise Market Area, but the FDD expressly says the franchise is non-exclusive and other franchisees may market and serve customers in that area.
The absence of site approval does not create territorial exclusivity. Also, Item 1's narrative mentions commercial or retail space, while the Franchise Agreement's more specific §5.1 says a Home Office or Office Complex not open to the public. Because the contract governs, verify the intended location type in the final Franchise Agreement before committing to a public-facing premises.
The Location must be developed and equipped within 90 days after the Effective Date. The agreement requires business permits and licenses, written certification and evidence to InXpress, and dedicated communications and internet capability. Local requirements vary; the 2026 FDD says the primary shipping carrier generally does not require additional transportation permits, while certain freight services through other carriers may trigger additional licensing or bonding requirements.
Sources: 2026 FDD Item 1, pp. 3-4; Item 11, p. 20; Item 12, pp. 28-30; Franchise Agreement §§5.1-5.2, A-15; official InXpress U.S. locations page.
What must be completed before InXpress can allow the business to open?
The opening gate is broader than training. InXpress may withhold opening until all pre-opening obligations are fulfilled, required attendees complete New Franchise Business Training to its satisfaction, amounts due are paid, insurance evidence is delivered, required permits and licenses are obtained, and required equipment, supplies, inventory, and related materials are ordered, received, and installed.
For training, the franchisee or Designated Owner and any Designated Manager must attend and complete the program. The FDD shows a virtual-only program of 80-140 classroom hours, or a virtual/in-person program totaling 48-79 classroom hours plus 50-79 on-the-job hours. InXpress may modify duration based on attendee number and experience, so these are disclosed program ranges rather than a guaranteed calendar schedule.
The franchisee must also recruit, background-check, reference-check, hire, and train any personnel required for operation. InXpress does not become the employer and is not responsible for hiring. Required computer hardware and software must meet InXpress specifications; carrier and supplier requirements come from the Manuals and Carrier Contracts. The official U.S. services page describes the current WebShipX-centered operating environment, while the FDD and Manuals control franchisee setup obligations.
Who controls the main dependencies between signing and opening?
The most important distinction is between franchisee-controlled readiness, InXpress-controlled training and opening clearance, and third-party timing that neither side can guarantee.
What changes for a home office, branch location, or resale acquisition?
The initial Location does not require InXpress site approval. The Franchise Agreement requires prompt selection and notice, plus development and equipment within 90 days. The FDD's typical 45-day opening estimate assumes the franchisee will work from home, already has a site, or identifies one shortly after signing.
A later Branch Location is different: the franchisee selects the desired additional office and must obtain InXpress's prior written approval before establishing it. The FDD does not disclose a separate branch-opening timeline.
A buyer of an existing InXpress Franchise must qualify, complete required training, obtain necessary permits and approvals, and sign InXpress's then-current Franchise Agreement. The transfer also requires InXpress approval and seller-side transfer conditions. The FDD does not promise that the 45-day new-unit estimate applies to a transfer closing.
The 2026 FDD discloses one InXpress Business per Franchise Agreement and does not list a separate Development Agreement or Area Development Agreement among its exhibits. A franchisee seeking an additional InXpress Franchise must apply again, and InXpress retains discretion whether to offer it.
Sources: 2026 FDD Items 1, 6, 11, 12 and 17; Franchise Agreement §§5.1 and 5.4, A-15-A-16; transfer provisions summarized in Item 17, pp. 35-37.
What should you verify before signing and before opening?
The FTC recommends reviewing the entire FDD and attached agreements, not just the summary Items, and contacting current and former franchisees. The InXpress FDD's Item 20 and franchisee list are therefore useful for verifying how qualification, training scheduling, and the 45-day estimate work in practice. The FTC franchise buying guide explains how to use those disclosures, and the official InXpress U.S. site provides current brand and operating-system context.
What is the practical opening decision?
The verified path is inquiry and qualification, FDD receipt and the 14-calendar-day pre-sale review period, Franchise Agreement signing, Location and Primary Franchise Market Area setup, New Franchise Business Training, completion of permits/insurance/systems and other pre-opening obligations, then InXpress's readiness determination and opening. The total timeline is officially estimated at approximately 45 days from signing or fee payment, while the contract requires readiness to open within four months of the Effective Date.
The most important applicant-controlled dependency is completing training and the full readiness package on time. The most important franchisor or third-party dependency is the timing of training, approvals, insurance, permits, vendors, and any financing. The key contractual issue to verify is the exact Effective Date and whether any written extension mechanism applies if a dependency threatens the four-month opening deadline.