How to Start a HomeVestors Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Opening path

How does the HomeVestors opening process work?

4-8 weeks
General signing-to-opening interval

The 2026 HomeVestors FDD says there is generally a four- to eight-week interval between signing the Franchise Agreement and opening. This is an estimate, not a promised date. The applicant must first pass approval, complete the federal disclosure period, sign for a Full or Associate Franchise, establish the required business infrastructure, satisfy licensing and insurance conditions, and complete training to HomeVestors' satisfaction.

2
Franchise formats
Full and Associate; each may be full- or part-time.
5 days
Initial training
Required participants must complete it satisfactorily.
5
Secondary meetings
Virtual sessions begin about two weeks later.
10 days
Attendee notice
Business days before initial training starts.
~15 days
Office review
Approximate review after a complete submission.
Legal franchisorHomeVestors of America, Inc., a Delaware corporation.
Disclosure basis2026 FDD issued April 22, 2026; Franchise Agreement and Exhibits E and H.
Formats coveredNew Full Franchise and Associate Franchise; home-based or approved outside office.
Timeline modeMode A: official total estimate from a defined signing trigger.
Primary FDD sectionsItems 5-12, 15-17 and 20; Franchise Agreement Sections 1-7 and 9.
Date checkedJuly 17, 2026.

HomeVestors' official U.S. franchise site presents inquiry, discovery and application as the entry path. Its more detailed ownership-process description places FDD review, due diligence, validation, executive approval and final signatures before onboarding. Contractual requirements below come from the current FDD and attached Franchise Agreement, which control where marketing language is broader or different.

Qualification

What must an applicant disclose and qualify for?

The 2026 FDD does not state a universal minimum credit score, net-worth threshold, education level or real-estate-experience requirement. The official franchise site says no prior real-estate experience is necessary, but meeting that description does not guarantee approval. HomeVestors may evaluate the applicant, every proposed owner, the ownership structure, the day-to-day manager, funding plan, requested markets and investigation results.

Submit personal identity, residence, employment, education and real-estate-investing history.
Identify the proposed entity, ownership percentages, managing owner and full- or part-time plan.
Disclose criminal matters, litigation, government investigations, bankruptcy, delinquency, liens and judgments.
Provide assets, liabilities, income, funding sources and a 12-month business-funding plan.
Provide two professional references and one personal reference.
Authorize background, credit, account-balance and other investigative checks.

The application warns that a false statement or material omission can cause denial or later termination. The managing owner must hold an equity interest and personally participate full- or part-time in direct operations. Owners and designated spouses must sign the required guaranty or related covenant documents. The entity name must be submitted to HomeVestors for approval before filing it with a Secretary of State.

Verified sequence

What happens from inquiry through the first day of operation?

1
Inquiry and introductory discussion
Action: Submit basic contact information and discuss the business and available markets.
Actor: Applicant and franchise-development team.
Next dependency: HomeVestors agrees to consider a formal application.
2
Application and investigation
Action: Complete the application, financial questionnaire, references, property disclosure and investigation authorizations.
Actor: Applicant, co-owners and investigation providers.
Blocker: Incomplete, unverifiable or materially inaccurate information.
3
FDD review and validation
Action: Review the FDD, agreements, territory terms, Item 20 contacts and current updates; speak with franchisees and a Development Agent.
Actor: Applicant and professional advisers.
Timing: Federal review period applies before signing or payment.
4
Approval, format and territory
Action: Obtain approval, select Full or Associate status, confirm the non-exclusive Territory in Attachment 1 and secure entity-name approval.
Actor: HomeVestors approves; applicant accepts the awarded structure.
Blocker: No acceptable territory, entity or ownership arrangement.
5
Sign and pay the triggered fee
Action: Execute the Franchise Agreement, ownership attachments, guaranties, telephone assignment and related documents.
Actor: Franchisee, owners, designated spouses and franchisor.
Timing: Initial fee is paid at signing and is nonrefundable.
6
Build the operating foundation
Action: Finalize the entity, bank/EFT setup, home office or approved commercial office, voice number, licenses, insurance, equipment and required systems.
Actor: Franchisee, government authorities, carrier and suppliers.
Blocker: Missing license, office approval, phone assignment or insurance evidence.
7
Complete prework and initial training
Action: Finish online prework, register required attendees and complete the initial program to HomeVestors' satisfaction.
Actor: Managing owner, owners and designated personnel.
Blocker: A required person may have to repeat training before opening.
8
Clear the contractual opening gate
Action: Confirm all five opening conditions are met, then begin operating after successful training.
Actor: Franchisee; HomeVestors controls required approvals and training satisfaction.
Next dependency: Continue secondary virtual training and any applicable field training.

Sources: 2026 HomeVestors FDD, Items 5, 8, 9, 11, 12 and 15; Franchise Agreement Sections 2, 4, 6, 7 and 9; Exhibits E and H. The FTC explains the pre-sale disclosure right in its Consumer's Guide to Buying a Franchise.

Timing evidence

Which disclosed periods control planning?

The chart separates the official opening estimate from legal and contractual deadlines. The four- to eight-week range is not obtained by adding the other periods; several workstreams may overlap, and the trigger for each bar differs.

Range and deadline chart

Calendar-day scale; the office-review and attendee-notice periods are excluded because one is approximate and the other uses business days.

02040608090 days Federal FDD review14 General signing-to-opening28-56 Insurance certificate60 Initial training conducted90

Interpretation: The opening estimate can fall before the outside deadline for delivering the insurance certificate, but the franchisee must still have required coverage in force before operating. Sources: 2026 FDD cover and Item 11, pp. 31-34; Item 8, p. 27; Franchise Agreement Sections 6 and 7. Four to eight weeks is converted to 28-56 calendar days solely for plotting.

FEDERAL DISCLOSURE PERIOD

The applicant must receive the FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying HomeVestors or an affiliate in connection with the proposed sale. This is a minimum review period, not the total application or opening timeline. The FTC Franchise Rule governs the federal disclosure requirement.

Format and location

How do Full, Associate and home-based paths differ?

Full Franchise

The initial fee is $85,000, due in a lump sum at signing and nonrefundable. The FDD describes the same initial training, owner-attendance, opening-gate and optional home-office structure. Full status generally carries lower ongoing transaction fees than Associate status.

Associate Franchise

The initial fee is $42,500, due at signing and nonrefundable. The FDD expressly identifies ten hours of Associate in-field training with the Development Agent, to be completed within three months after signing. An Associate may later seek an upgrade, subject to compliance and a separate notice and fee process.

The 2026 FDD does not disclose a separate multi-unit Development Agreement or Area Development Agreement for a new buyer. An acquisition of an existing franchise follows Item 17 transfer conditions instead: HomeVestors approval, transferee qualification, training, a then-current agreement and satisfaction of seller-side defaults and fees.

A separate commercial office is not required. A home-based franchise avoids a lease and outside-office approval, but the business must remain segregated from other activities. For an outside office, the franchisee must submit photographs, maps, signage restrictions, square footage and layout before entering a lease or purchase agreement. HomeVestors says it will generally approve or disapprove a complete site submission within approximately 15 days and may withhold approval in its sole discretion.

TERRITORY LANGUAGE REQUIRES WRITTEN CLARIFICATION

The April 22, 2026 FDD, Franchise Agreement and Exhibit H state that the assigned Territory is non-exclusive and may contain other HomeVestors businesses. A June 30, 2026 official franchise guide uses “protected territory” language. The signed Attachment 1 and Franchise Agreement control; the buyer should request a written explanation of what, if anything, is protected.

The public available-markets page is a lead-generation overview, not an award of rights. Territory boundaries are placed in Attachment 1 and are typically based on all or part of a designated market area, metropolitan statistical area or contiguous counties.

Opening gate

What must be complete before operations begin?

Section 4.D of the Franchise Agreement prohibits operation until five conditions are satisfied. HomeVestors does not describe this as an automatic result of paying the fee or attending class; training satisfaction and any required written approval remain separate gates.

Opening condition Responsible actor Evidence or dependency
Outside office approved Franchisor approval; franchisee submission Only applies when the Office is outside the home.
Required licenses obtained Franchisee and government authority Copies or evidence that a particular license is not required, when requested.
Voice number and assignment delivered Franchisee and telecom provider Telephone Number Assignment accompanies the setup.
All amounts then due paid Franchisee Includes the signing-triggered initial fee and other due amounts.
Training completed satisfactorily Required attendees; HomeVestors evaluates completion Failure may require repetition before opening.

Insurance must be procured and maintained, HomeVestors must be named as required, and a compliant certificate must be delivered by the contractual deadline shown in the timing chart. The franchisee must also install required Programs, use UGVille for lead tracking and reporting, obtain specified hardware, comply with advertising approval rules, and secure applicable federal, state and local licenses. Local requirements vary; the agreement places investigation and compliance responsibility on the franchisee.

Responsibility map

Who controls the dependencies that can delay opening?

Applicant or franchisee
Complete and verify the application.
Obtain entity approval before filing the name.
Arrange capital, licenses, phone, insurance, equipment and office.
Register and complete required training.
HomeVestors
Decide whether to approve the applicant.
Define the awarded Territory and franchise type.
Approve an outside Office and designated materials.
Conduct training and determine satisfactory completion.
Third parties
Authorities issue business, real-estate, lending or other required approvals.
Insurers issue required coverage and certificates.
Telecom, suppliers and technology vendors complete setup.
Landlords control lease terms for an optional commercial office.

The official training page describes curriculum in lead generation, property valuation, acquisitions, financing and exit strategies. The mentorship page explains the Development Agent role, while the official franchise FAQs provide current supplemental descriptions. These pages describe support; they do not replace the Franchise Agreement's allocation of responsibility.

Buyer verification

What should be verified before signing and opening?

Confirm whether every proposed owner and spouse must sign a guaranty, covenant or both.
Match the awarded Territory description exactly to Attachment 1 and confirm its non-exclusive effect.
Ask whether opening may occur before all five secondary virtual meetings are completed.
For an Associate Franchise, document the Development Agent and schedule for the ten in-field hours.
Obtain written office approval before signing a lease or purchase agreement for commercial space.
Identify every state and local license applicable to the intended activities and entity structure.
Verify the insurance carrier, limits, additional-insured wording and certificate-delivery method.
Ask current and former franchisees listed in Item 20 about actual approval, training and setup delays.
OPENING-DEADLINE INTERPRETATION

The FDD provides an official signing-to-opening estimate and a separate outside period for conducting initial training. It does not promise a date for government licensing, insurance underwriting, commercial lease completion or technology provisioning. The applicant-controlled critical path is complete documentation and timely setup; the main franchisor-controlled dependencies are approval, territory terms, office approval when applicable and training satisfaction.

Verified synthesis: The path is inquiry, application and investigations, FDD review, approval, format and Territory confirmation, signing, setup, training and clearance of the five contractual opening conditions. The timeline is an official estimate, not a guarantee. The applicant controls document completeness, licensing, insurance, phone and entity setup; HomeVestors controls approval and training satisfaction. Confirm in writing whether the secondary virtual sequence affects the exact permission to begin operating.