How does the Gotcha Covered franchise opening process work?
What must a candidate qualify for before Gotcha Covered approves the franchise?
Gotcha Covered’s 2026 FDD does not disclose a universal minimum net worth, liquid-capital threshold, credit score, education requirement, or prior window-treatment experience requirement. The official franchise page says no prior experience is needed and shows qualification and background checks during the “Validation & Meet Your Team” stage, but it does not publish the detailed standards used to approve or reject a candidate.
An entity applicant must also plan for ownership and management documents. The GC Business must be managed by the franchisee or, for an entity, a natural-person Designated Owner; a separate Manager may be allowed. Each direct and indirect owner must sign the Owners Agreement guaranteeing the entity’s obligations, and a non-owner Manager or officer must sign the applicable System Protection Agreement. These are contractual ownership and supervision requirements, not promises of approval. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 15, pp. 36–37; Franchise Agreement Attachment 2, pp. B-2-1–B-2-4.
Official supplemental source: the current Gotcha Covered franchise process page. Contractual source: 2026 FDD, Items 10 and 15, pp. 20 and 36–37.
What are the actual steps from inquiry to opening?
The sequence below combines the official franchise-development flow with the contractual dependencies in the 2026 FDD. The first stages are candidate-development steps; the later stages are enforceable pre-opening conditions under the Franchise Agreement.
Explore the opportunity and speak with a franchise developer
Action: Review the business model, investment framework and available areas.
Actor: Applicant and franchisor development team.
Timing: No FDD duration disclosed.
Next dependency: Candidate qualification and territory discussion.
Complete qualification, background checks and validation
Action: Complete the franchisor’s candidate review and meet brand leadership; speak with current or former franchisees for validation.
Actor: Applicant and franchisor.
Timing: No fixed period disclosed.
Blocker: Approval is discretionary; meeting stated preferences does not guarantee an award.
Receive and review the current FDD before signing or paying
Action: Review all 23 Items, the Franchise Agreement and relevant attachments.
Actor: Franchisor delivers; applicant reviews.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment under the federal rule.
Next dependency: Final agreement on the Area of Primary Responsibility.
Agree on the Area of Primary Responsibility
Action: Agree with GCF on the initial area, generally at least 30,000 households, before signing.
Actor: Applicant and GCF.
Timing: Must occur before Franchise Agreement execution and Initial Franchise Fee payment.
Blocker: No franchise is granted if the parties cannot agree on the area.
Execute the franchise and ownership documents
Action: Sign the Franchise Agreement and, as applicable, Owners Agreement, Software License Agreement, payment authorization and other required forms.
Actor: Franchisee, owners and GCF.
Timing: Signing triggers the Initial Franchise Fee; starter-package and conference-deposit obligations follow within seven days.
Next dependency: Onboarding and pre-training setup.
Complete onboarding and assemble the operating setup
Action: Establish the required phone, email and internet access; obtain compliant technology, vehicle, insurance, licenses, permits and approved-source items.
Actor: Franchisee, insurers, suppliers and government authorities.
Timing: FDD schedule section says onboarding can take an additional two to four weeks.
Blocker: Financing, licensing, insurance, equipment or supplier delays can postpone opening.
Complete the Initial Training Program and become Certified
Action: Complete approximately six weeks of virtual, eLearning, webinar and in-person training; Week 5 is in Denver or another designated location.
Actor: Franchisee or Designated Owner and Manager, if applicable.
Timing: Must be completed within 90 days after signing and to GCF’s satisfaction.
Blocker: Unsatisfactory completion prevents opening and can trigger the FDD’s training-failure refund mechanics.
Satisfy all seven opening conditions and obtain written clearance
Action: Finish every pre-opening obligation, pay amounts due, deliver insurance evidence, confirm approvals, obtain permits and licenses, and receive/install required operating items.
Actor: Franchisee completes; GCF issues written readiness notice.
Timing: No separate approval-response period is disclosed.
Next dependency: Be prepared to open immediately after GCF states the business is ready.
Roadmap sources: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15 and 20, pp. 5–7, 16–20, 21–33, 36–37 and 46–55; Franchise Agreement §§1.3, 3.1 and 5.16, pp. B-1–B-6 and B-28; FTC Consumer’s Guide to Buying a Franchise and the FTC Franchise Rule.
Which disclosed time periods control the planning calendar?
Four verified periods matter, but they do not all add together. The federal review period occurs before signing; onboarding and the six-week Initial Training Program are sequential for the derived opening estimate; the 90-day figure is a training-completion deadline measured from agreement execution.
Do you need a retail site, lease approval or construction before opening?
No required retail site is disclosed. The GC Business is mobile and is most likely operated from home; a franchisee may choose an executive suite, commercial office or retail space, but the 2026 FDD says GCF does not assist with site selection and does not require site approval if an office is opened. This removes the usual franchised-store sequence of site approval, lease approval, design and buildout from the standard opening path.
That does not remove third-party dependencies. The franchisee must obtain all licenses, permits and approvals required by applicable state and local law, which may include a contractor’s license in some states, and must provide proof to GCF. A business vehicle must meet GCF specifications and be approved before use. Insurance evidence must also be delivered before opening. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 1, 7, 8 and 11, pp. 1–4, 12–19 and 21–31; Franchise Agreement §§5.12–5.16, pp. B-26–B-28.
Who controls the critical pre-opening dependencies?
The applicant controls most readiness work, but opening cannot occur without franchisor clearance and several third-party deliverables. The matrix separates responsibility so that franchisor assistance is not mistaken for a guarantee.
| Phase | Applicant / Franchisee | Gotcha Covered / GCF | Third party |
|---|---|---|---|
| Qualification | Provide requested information; complete qualification and background-check steps. | Evaluate fit and decide whether to approve the candidate. | Background-check providers may supply results. |
| Area and agreement | Accept the Area of Primary Responsibility and execute required ownership documents. | Designate/agree the area and execute the Franchise Agreement. | State franchise regulators may affect whether an offer or sale may proceed. |
| Pre-opening setup | Obtain licenses, insurance, vehicle, technology and approved-source items. | Provide Brand Standards access, starter package and designated systems; approve required specifications. | Government authorities, insurer, suppliers and vendors must complete their own actions. |
| Opening authorization | Complete training and all seven contractual opening conditions. | Determine training satisfaction and issue written readiness notice. | Permit, licensing, insurance and delivery timing can still delay readiness. |
What must be finished before GCF can authorize opening?
The Initial Training Program lasts approximately six weeks and includes virtual learning, eLearning, webinars, vendor-led content and an in-person Week 5 in Denver, Colorado, or another designated location. Up to two people may attend the initial program at no additional training fee if they attend together; the required group must include the franchisee or Designated Owner and the Manager, if there is one. Successful completion is determined by GCF and results in Certified status.
Insurance is a contractual gate. The Franchise Agreement requires specified liability and automobile coverage, applicable workers’ compensation and employer liability coverage, and certificates naming GCF as required; a certificate for a new or renewal policy must be provided within five business days after issuance. Failure to maintain required insurance can become a material breach, while lack of proof also blocks opening clearance. Source: 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 16–19; Franchise Agreement §5.12, pp. B-26–B-27.
What changes if you want more territory or more than one unit?
The core 2026 offer is one GC Business per Franchise Agreement. A franchisee in good standing may request one or more Additional Areas of Primary Responsibility, subject to availability, GCF approval and the then-current terms; an addendum is required. Item 7 also presents a two-unit opening estimate, and Item 6 references a Multi-Unit Addendum for multiple contiguous territories, but the FDD does not disclose a separate Area Development Agreement or a development schedule with mandatory unit-opening dates.
Buyers should verify the exact document package before signing a multi-area transaction. Attachment 6’s template refers to a Franchise Starter Package amount that is inconsistent with the $22,500 amount stated in current Items 5 and 7 and the Franchise Agreement’s fee section. Because the FDD and attachment are internally inconsistent on that point, obtain written clarification and a clean final form before execution rather than assuming which amount or wording controls. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5–7 and 12, pp. 5–16 and 31–33; Franchise Agreement Attachment 6, pp. B-4-8–B-4-10.
Can financing change or delay the opening sequence?
Yes. The FDD identifies financing as a possible timing factor, but the disclosures are not perfectly aligned. Item 10 says GCF does not arrange financing or guarantee a note, lease or other obligation; Item 7 says GCF may finance a portion of the Initial Franchise Fee depending on creditworthiness; Attachment 1 includes a checkbox for GCF-elected partial financing. The current franchise marketing page also refers to third-party lenders.
For process planning, treat financing as uncommitted until the specific lender or GCF approves it in writing. A delayed funding arrangement may change when the Initial Franchise Fee is paid, but it does not waive the FDD review period, training deadline or other opening conditions. Source: 2026 FDD, Items 5, 7 and 10, pp. 5–7, 12–16 and 20; Franchise Agreement Attachment 1, pp. B-1-1–B-2-2.