OPENING PATH
How does opening a FocalPoint Unit work?
15-30 days
Official opening estimate:The 2026 FDD estimates this period from signing to operation, but the Unit Franchise Agreement also requires at least 30 days' written opening notice and imposes a 60-day opening deadline after its Effective Date. The practical path is qualification, FDD review, territory and office decisions, signing, setup, the required training gate, insurance evidence, and written opening authorization.
Legal franchisorFocalPoint Coaching, Inc., a Nevada corporation
Disclosure basisUnit FDD issued March 10, 2026
Applicable pathUnit Franchise Agreement; residential or non-residential Office
Timeline modeOfficial estimate plus a separate contractual deadline
Primary evidenceItems 5-12, 15-17 and Franchise Agreement Sections 1-4, 8 and 14
Date checkedJuly 14, 2026
The separate Area Representative offering is outside this Unit roadmap. An Area Representative who also signs a Unit Franchise Agreement may use the disclosed AR Addendum, which changes certain signing-stage fees but not the core Unit opening conditions.
14
calendar days
Federal pre-signing or pre-payment disclosure period.
15-30
days estimated
FDD estimate from signing to opening.
60
day deadline
Open after the Agreement's Effective Date.
30
days' notice
Written notice before the proposed opening day.
6
Prepare hours
This module must be completed satisfactorily before opening.
Sources: 2026 FocalPoint Unit FDD, cover page, Item 11 pp. 26-28, Item 17 p. 38; Unit Franchise Agreement Section 2.D. The federal timing rule is explained in the FTC Franchise Rule and 16 CFR Part 436.
QUALIFICATION
What must an applicant qualify for before signing?
The FDD does not disclose a minimum net worth, liquid-capital threshold, credit score, degree, professional license, or fixed years-of-experience requirement. The brand's official positioning says it works with experienced leaders ready to turn their background into a coaching business, but that is marketing language rather than a stated contractual minimum. Meeting any informal preference does not require FocalPoint to approve or award a franchise.
Accurate application informationStatements and materials given to FocalPoint must be complete and accurate; acquisition-stage misrepresentation is a termination ground.
Full-time operating leadershipThe owner, Managing Owner, or approved Business Manager must be trained and devote full time and effort to management and supervision.
Entity and guaranty readinessAn entity must identify a Managing Owner, disclose ownership, and have every owner sign the Guaranty and Assumption of Obligations.
Territory and client-development commitmentThe franchisee is responsible for soliciting clients in the approved Territory and operating only within the permitted geographic rules.
Approved personnelAssociates must be approved and trained before serving clients; the disclosed cap is three without FocalPoint's written consent.
Funding independent of FocalPointItem 10 states that FocalPoint offers no direct or indirect financing and does not guarantee a loan, lease, or obligation.
Sources: 2026 FocalPoint Unit FDD, Items 1, 10, 15 and 16; Unit Franchise Agreement Sections 1.B, 1.C and 2.E. See the official Focal Point overview and become-a-coach contact path.
VERIFIED SEQUENCE
What happens from inquiry to opening authorization?
The documents do not publish a detailed application workflow or promise an approval date. The following roadmap begins with the official inquiry channel, then follows the dependencies established by the FDD and Unit Franchise Agreement.
1
Enter the inquiry and qualification process
Action: Discuss fit, background, proposed ownership and market; provide truthful application materials.
Actor: Applicant and FocalPoint.
Timing: No application-review period is disclosed.
Blocker: FocalPoint approval is discretionary; no award is promised.
2
Receive and review the current FDD
Action: Review the FDD, Unit Franchise Agreement, guaranty, state addenda and related exhibits.
Actor: Franchisor furnishes; applicant reviews.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or affiliate.
Next dependency: Resolve entity, Territory and Office-path questions before execution.
3
Fix the Territory and choose the Office path
Action: Confirm the approved Territory in the Agreement and decide between a residence-based or non-residential Office.
Actor: FocalPoint designates the Territory; the applicant identifies the Office.
Timing: Territory is described before signing; an unapproved Office must be approved within 60 days after the Effective Date.
Blocker: Site, lease or plans may fail FocalPoint criteria or local requirements.
4
Sign the Unit Franchise Agreement
Action: Execute the Agreement, ownership schedules, guaranty, required confidentiality documents and electronic-debit authorization.
Actor: Franchisee, owners and FocalPoint.
Timing: Signing triggers the disclosed initial payments; most are non-refundable.
Next dependency: The Effective Date starts the 60-day opening clock.
5
Complete training and system onboarding
Action: Attend the required modules, obtain digital Operations Manual access and set up required technology.
Actor: FocalPoint trains; the owner, Managing Owner or approved Business Manager completes the program.
Timing: Training begins after signing and runs while the business is being developed.
Blocker: The Prepare module must be completed to FocalPoint's satisfaction before opening.
6
Finish Office, supplier, insurance and compliance setup
Action: Obtain the specified computer system, required products and systems, licenses and permits applicable locally, and insurance naming FocalPoint as additional insured.
Actor: Franchisee, suppliers, insurer, landlord, contractor and government authorities.
Timing: Before the proposed opening and within the contract deadline.
Blocker: Delivery, lease, buildout, permit and insurance timing are third-party dependencies.
7
Give written notice of the proposed opening
Action: Notify FocalPoint in writing of the proposed operating date.
Actor: Franchisee.
Timing: At least 30 days before the proposed opening day.
Blocker: An incomplete readiness package can prevent written authorization.
8
Obtain written opening authorization
Action: Deliver insurance evidence, satisfy payment obligations, pass the Prepare gate and show that the Office and Franchised Business meet System Standards.
Actor: FocalPoint issues written notice; franchisee supplies evidence.
Timing: Before operations begin and no later than 60 days after the Effective Date.
Consequence: Failure to open within 60 days is disclosed as a non-curable termination ground.
Sources: 2026 FocalPoint Unit FDD, Items 5, 8, 9, 11, 12, 15-17; Unit Franchise Agreement Sections 1.C-1.E, 2.D-2.E, 3, 4 and 14.B.
TIMING
How should the 15-30 day estimate be interpreted?
It is an FDD estimate, not a guaranteed opening date. The estimate depends on the Office path, delivery of equipment and supplies, commencement of training, and compliance with local law. The separate 60-day provision is a contractual outside deadline measured from the Agreement's Effective Date.
Buyer verification: timing conflict
The Agreement requires at least 30 days' written notice before opening, while the FDD estimates opening 15-30 days after signing. The documents do not explain how the 15-day lower bound works with the notice requirement. Before signing, obtain written confirmation of when notice may be submitted and what proposed opening date FocalPoint will accept.
Contractual timing ladder
These periods use different triggers and must not be added as one 119-day timeline.
14 calendar days
FDD receipt to the earliest permissible signing or payment point under the federal rule.
15-30 days
FDD estimate from signing to opening, subject to training, Office, supply and local-law dependencies.
30 days
Minimum written notice before the franchisee's proposed opening day.
60 days
Contractual deadline from the Effective Date to open and operate, subject to all opening conditions.
Interpretation: the 15-30 day figure is an estimate; the 60-day figure is a deadline; the 14-day and 30-day periods are pre-event notice windows. Sources: 2026 FDD cover and Item 11 p. 26; Unit Franchise Agreement Section 2.D; FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide.
TRAINING
What training must be completed before the Unit opens?
For a first FocalPoint Unit, the owner or Managing Owner, or an approved Business Manager, attends initial training. The FDD says the program is currently online, but FocalPoint may require in-person attendance in San Diego or another designated location. Only the Prepare module is expressly identified as the pre-opening completion gate.
Disclosed initial training modules
Classroom-equivalent hours shown in the Item 11 training table; no on-the-job hours are listed.
Fast Track & Ideal Client
13 h
Interpretation: the table totals 56 hours. Item 11's narrative separately says “approximately 44 hours,” creating an internal discrepancy that should be verified against the current training calendar. Source: 2026 FocalPoint Unit FDD, Item 11 pp. 27-28. The official site describes coaches as completing extensive development but does not replace the Agreement's opening gate; see Focal Point's official description.
Training requirement
If the required attendee cannot complete initial training to FocalPoint's satisfaction, the franchisor may terminate. The training fee is disclosed as non-refundable; Item 5 states that FocalPoint may refund the initial franchise fee less $10,000 in this circumstance. Confirm the exact assessment standard, remediation process and current module schedule in writing.
OFFICE AND TERRITORY
How do residential and non-residential Office paths differ?
Both paths require an approved Territory and compliance with System Standards. The Territory is not exclusive, has no disclosed minimum size, and is typically defined around approximately 100,000 residents and/or workers. Territory designation does not equal site approval, lease approval, protected territory or opening authorization.
| Decision point |
Residence-based Office |
Non-residential Office |
| Location |
May be in the franchisee's residence and primarily used for the Unit. |
Must meet disclosed demographic, parking, neighborhood, competition, size, appearance and commercial criteria. |
| Lease |
No commercial lease approval is ordinarily involved. |
FocalPoint may approve the lease or sublease and require specified provisions. |
| Design and construction |
System Standards still apply; residential use and local rules must be checked. |
FocalPoint may prescribe layouts and must approve final plans before construction; franchisee remains responsible for codes and permits. |
| Relocation |
A move to a new residence is approved under Item 12. |
A substitute location must satisfy FocalPoint's criteria and receive approval. |
Sources: 2026 FocalPoint Unit FDD, Items 7, 8, 11 and 12; Unit Franchise Agreement Sections 1.D-1.E and 2.A. FocalPoint's official U.S. brand site is Focal Point Coaching.
RESPONSIBILITY
Who controls each opening dependency?
FocalPoint's assistance does not transfer the franchisee's obligations to obtain a suitable Office, financing, permits, insurance, suppliers or personnel. Third-party approvals can delay opening even when the applicant and franchisor have completed their own tasks.
Opening responsibility matrix
Applicant / Franchisee
Before signing: truthful disclosures, entity choice, owner guaranties, professional review.
Development: find the Office, prepare plans, obtain licenses, buy required systems and maintain insurance.
Opening: complete Prepare, give notice and submit readiness evidence.
FocalPoint
Before signing: furnish the FDD, approve the applicant and designate the Territory.
Development: identify System Standards, suppliers, Operating Assets, manual access and training.
Opening: decide whether the Office and Unit meet standards and issue written authorization.
Third parties
Real estate: landlord consent, lease terms, contractor performance and utility readiness.
Compliance: insurer certificates and applicable state or local permits and inspections.
Systems: delivery and activation by approved or designated suppliers.
Source: 2026 FocalPoint Unit FDD, Items 8, 10-12; Unit Franchise Agreement Sections 1.D, 2 and 4. FocalPoint expressly states that it does not conduct site selection for the franchisee or guarantee financing.
OPENING AUTHORIZATION
What must be complete before operations begin?
The franchisee may not begin operating merely because training has started, the Office is finished, or the 15-30 day estimate has elapsed. The Agreement requires every listed opening condition and FocalPoint's written notice.
Written standards approvalFocalPoint confirms in writing that the Franchised Business and Office meet its standards and specifications.
Prepare module completedThe owner, Managing Owner or approved Business Manager completes Prepare to FocalPoint's satisfaction.
Amounts then due paidThe initial franchise fee and other signing-stage or then-due obligations are satisfied.
Insurance evidence deliveredCertificates or other requested proof show required coverage and premium payment.
Office and systems readyRequired computer, CRM, approved supplies, manual access and applicable local approvals are in place.
Opening notice satisfiedThe proposed operating date was delivered in writing at least 30 days in advance.
Contractual deadline
Opening more than 60 days after the Effective Date is listed as a non-curable default. The FDD does not disclose an automatic extension right or standard extension fee for this opening deadline. Any extra time should be documented as a written franchisor approval rather than assumed.
BUYER VERIFICATION
What should be verified before the Franchise Agreement is signed?
Use the current FDD and the completed Agreement schedules rather than sales statements. Item 20 provides current and former franchisee contacts, which can be used to test how the disclosed process works in practice without treating another franchisee's experience as a contractual promise.
Approval criteriaAsk which background, financial and interview criteria are actually used, because fixed minimums are not disclosed.
Territory mapConfirm boundaries, overlap rights, national accounts, digital-client rules and the absence of exclusivity.
Notice timingReconcile the 30-day notice requirement with the 15-30 day opening estimate before selecting a launch date.
Training scheduleResolve the 44-hour narrative versus the 56-hour table and identify the current completion standard.
Office approval recordFor commercial space, obtain written site, lease and plan approvals as separate deliverables.
Deadline reliefAsk whether extensions are available, who may approve one and what written amendment would control.
Supplier readinessConfirm current CRM, advertising, assessment-code and sales-generation supplier requirements and activation lead times.
Franchisee interviewsAsk Item 20 contacts how long approval, training, technology setup and written opening authorization took.
For general due diligence, the FTC explains the 23-item disclosure framework and buyer protections in its Franchise Rule materials. The official brand site also provides a current coach-experience library, but testimonials and interviews do not modify the Unit Franchise Agreement.
SYNTHESIS
What is the decision-ready opening conclusion?
The verified path is inquiry and discretionary qualification, federal FDD review, Territory and Office decisions, Unit Franchise Agreement execution, concurrent training and setup, 30-day written opening notice, and written authorization after the four contractual opening conditions are met. The total timeline is an official 15-30 day estimate, not a promise, alongside a separate 60-day deadline.
The most important applicant-controlled dependency is completing the Office, insurance, systems and Prepare module early enough to support the proposed date. The principal franchisor dependency is written standards approval; the principal third-party dependencies are any landlord, supplier, insurer and government approvals. The key unresolved issue is how FocalPoint applies the 30-day notice within the stated 15-30 day estimate and whether any written extension is available before the 60-day deadline.