How to Start a Coffee News Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Opening path

How do you open a Coffee News franchise?

4–6 weeks
Official estimate after signing

Coffee News uses a home-based publisher model, not a retail buildout. The verified path is inquiry and phone discovery, franchisor screening, territory agreement, FDD review, Franchise Agreement execution, mandatory training, advertiser and distribution setup, required printing arrangements, and publication of the first weekly edition. The 2026 FDD estimates approximately four to six weeks from signing to the first edition; it is not an opening guarantee.

Data basis: Sprague Media Partners, LLC is the U.S. franchisor. The Franchise Disclosure Document was issued May 29, 2026. This article applies to the U.S. home-based hardcopy publication franchise, with the optional Coffee News Online companion and additional-territory path noted separately. Timeline mode: Mode A — official estimated total period. Principal sources: 2026 FDD Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; Franchise Agreement §§1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 10, 12 and 13; official Coffee News franchise pages; FTC Franchise Rule guidance. Checked July 16, 2026.
14 days
Federal FDD review period
Before signing or franchise-related payment.
25k–50k
FDD territory population
Usually paired with 25–40 active restaurants.
4 weeks
Training completion deadline
Measured from Franchise Agreement signing.
14 days
Initial copy delivery
Eight weekly editions after signing.
1 year
Required printer period
Runs from the Agreement date.
Contractual distinction

The Franchise Agreement treats its execution date as the franchise business “opening” date for fee timing, while Item 11 separately estimates four to six weeks before the first edition is published. A buyer should keep those two dates distinct when reviewing payment schedules, training deadlines, and the first production calendar.

Qualification

What must an applicant qualify for before Coffee News awards a territory?

The 2026 FDD does not disclose a universal minimum net worth, liquid-capital threshold, credit score, education level, citizenship rule, prior publishing requirement, or ordinary application fee for a cash purchase. Meeting the brand’s preferred profile does not guarantee selection. The official Coffee News franchise inquiry page says the first step is an initial phone conversation and that submitting the webform does not guarantee franchisee selection.

The official site describes outside sales, local networking, follow-through, and full-time commitment as success factors. Those are marketing preferences, not stated FDD minimums. Contractually, the franchisee or a designated person must use best efforts to sell advertising and distribute editions; the owner is not expressly required to perform every operating duty personally.

Different financial gates apply only if the applicant requests franchisor financing. Financing for up to three additional franchises may require good credit and at least $100,000 net worth. Full funding for four or more franchises may require excellent credit and at least two years of verifiable advertising, similar sales, or entrepreneurial management experience, plus the training payment and other loan conditions. Financing remains discretionary.

Verified sequence

What happens from inquiry through the first published edition?

1

Submit discovery information and take the phone call

Action:
Provide initial contact and market information, then discuss the publisher model.
Actor:
Applicant and Coffee News development team.
Timing:
No contractual response period is disclosed.
Blocker:
The form is only an inquiry and does not establish approval.
2

Propose the distribution territory

Action:
Identify the city, town, county, or combination to be licensed.
Actor:
Applicant proposes; Sprague Media Partners researches overlap, population, and restaurant counts.
Timing:
FDD says approval is timely but gives no fixed number of days.
Blocker:
Overlap with an existing publisher or an unsuitable market configuration.
3

Receive and review the current FDD

Action:
Review all 23 Items, the Franchise Agreement, Schedule A, state addenda, and financing documents if applicable.
Actor:
Franchisor delivers; applicant reviews with advisers.
Timing:
At least 14 calendar days before signing or paying the franchisor or an affiliate.
Blocker:
Missing updates, incomplete state terms, or unresolved contract changes.
4

Finalize boundaries and legal setup

Action:
Put the exact territory in the Agreement or Schedule A and finalize the franchisee’s legal name.
Actor:
Applicant, franchisor, and the applicant’s attorney.
Timing:
Territory must be agreed before signing and initial-fee collection.
Blocker:
The Agreement requires a state-law compliance opinion letter but does not state when it must be delivered.
5

Sign the Franchise Agreement and complete payment

Action:
Execute the Agreement, territory schedule, and any promissory note or guaranty.
Actor:
Franchisee and Sprague Media Partners.
Timing:
The contract date starts the four-year term, fee schedule, training clock, and printer period.
Blocker:
Unresolved material terms or payment before the disclosure waiting period expires.
6

Complete initial training and mentoring

Action:
Use the pre-opening materials and assigned mentor; all signatories, owners, and principal officers identified by the Agreement must participate.
Actor:
Franchisee attendees, mentor, and Coffee News training team.
Timing:
Agreement requires completion within four weeks of signing.
Blocker:
Unsatisfactory completion or unclear attendee requirements.
7

Build the advertiser, distribution, and production system

Action:
Sell ads, secure free distribution locations, source stands, create local “What’s Happening” content, and arrange the first print run.
Actor:
Franchisee, Coffee News Printing, suppliers, and local businesses.
Timing:
Runs in parallel during the four-to-six-week startup estimate.
Blocker:
Slow ad sales, printer readiness, or insufficient distribution locations.
8

Publish and distribute the first compliant edition

Action:
Use franchisor-supplied content, approved format, local events, advertiser artwork, and sufficient copies for each outlet.
Actor:
Franchisee publishes and distributes; franchisor retains editorial control.
Timing:
Approximately four to six weeks after signing.
Blocker:
No separate formal opening inspection or authorization procedure is disclosed, so confirm launch acceptance in writing.
Buyer verification

Item 5 describes a $500 document-preparation portion of the initial fee before the draft Agreement, while the FTC rule prohibits franchise-related payment before the 14-calendar-day FDD review period ends. Confirm the franchisor’s exact sequence in writing and do not treat a draft fee as outside the federal disclosure clock.

Timing evidence

Which post-signing periods control the critical path?

Post-signing opening periods disclosed in the 2026 FDD

All bars use calendar-day equivalents from the Franchise Agreement signing date; the first-edition bar is an estimated range.

Requirement 0142842 days Value
Initial eight editions supplied
14 days
Initial training completed
28 days
First edition published
28–42 days

Interpretation: content delivery and training are early dependencies, but the FDD says ad sales, printer preparation, and distribution-location selection can determine whether the first issue reaches the four-week end or the six-week end of the estimate.

Source: Coffee News 2026 FDD, Item 5 p. 4 and Item 11 pp. 12–15; Franchise Agreement §§4.2 and 10.1. The four-to-six-week period is an estimate, not a contractual deadline or promise.

Training ambiguity

The Agreement says initial training must be completed within four weeks of signing, while the Item 11 training table describes an eight-week mentor program. Ask whether the mentor relationship continues after the four-week completion deadline, what “satisfactory” completion requires, and whether the in-person two-to-three-day alternative replaces or supplements mentoring.

Territory and format

How are territory, home-based operation, and online publication handled?

Coffee News does not require a storefront, commercial lease, architectural plans, construction, branded exterior signage, or a retail-site opening inspection. The operative real-estate decision is the distribution territory. Before signing, the parties agree on boundaries, and the franchisor checks overlap and market characteristics. At signing, the franchisee receives exclusive rights to distribute Coffee News within those boundaries; advertising may be sold inside or outside the territory.

The FDD generally uses 25,000–50,000 residents and 25–40 active restaurants as the territory guideline. The current official Coffee News FAQ describes roughly 40,000–50,000 residents and 50–75 distribution locations. Because those figures are not identical, obtain the final population source, restaurant count, distribution assumptions, and exact map in writing before signing.

Path Agreement structure Opening difference Verify before signing
Initial hardcopy territory Franchise Agreement plus Schedule A Home-based; first weekly print edition is the practical launch Boundaries, franchise count, printer start date
Additional territories May be included initially or purchased later under a separate then-current agreement Each additional territory must be researched and scheduled; system maximum is 20 unless authorized Development timing, weekly-fee ramp, return option
Coffee News Online Optional companion enrollment through the franchisor Must serve the licensed print territory; franchisee uploads ads and local events Basic or Premium contractor, enrollment terms, launch workflow
Existing franchise transfer Franchisor consent and then-current documents Buyer may inherit an operating edition rather than build from zero Transfer approval, records, training, remaining term

Coffee News states that it has no U.S. area developers. Territory availability shown on an official marketing page is not an award; use the official states-seeking-publishers page only as an inquiry starting point.

Opening readiness

What must be obtained, completed, and verified before the first issue?

The franchisee must obtain any federal, state, and local permits, certificates, or licenses needed for the publishing and advertising business. The FDD does not provide a universal permit list, insurance deadline, or inspection checklist. The Agreement additionally requires the franchisee to provide Sprague Media Partners with a legal opinion from an attorney licensed in the franchisee’s state stating that the Agreement and operation comply with applicable state law. It gives no delivery deadline, so the applicant should obtain the required timing in writing before signing or scheduling the first issue.

Production must use franchisor-supplied weekly content, except the franchisee’s local “What’s Happening” section. The franchisee cannot edit the protected content or format without written permission. For at least one year from the Agreement date, hardcopy printing must be purchased from Coffee News Printing, LLC; franchisees using certain franchisor financing may remain tied to that printer for the loan term. Stands may be bought from the preferred source or locally, and no prescribed computer hardware or software purchase is disclosed.

Final territory map, population basis, restaurant count, and number of licensed editions match Schedule A.
Franchisee entity name, owners, signatories, and principal officers are consistent across the Agreement and training roster.
The current FDD, quarterly updates, state addendum, and final Agreement were delivered with the correct review periods.
Local counsel has confirmed the required state-law opinion letter and any business-license obligations.
Training completion criteria, mentor schedule, Coffee News College attendance, and travel responsibilities are documented.
Coffee News Printing has the first print specifications, advertiser artwork workflow, shipping timing, and delivery address.
Distribution outlets have agreed to placement, and the franchisee has enough stands and copies for seven-day coverage.
The first issue includes compliant format, franchisor content, local events, advertiser proofing, and the error-free-or-free guarantee.
Online enrollment, if selected, identifies Chil Consulting or Shadow Fox Consulting and the franchisee’s upload duties.
Current and former publishers have been contacted to verify real startup timing, training, printing, and territory support.
Responsibility map

Who controls each opening dependency?

Applicant or franchisee

Provide discovery and territory information; decide the legal entity and financing path.

Review disclosures, sign documents, pay when legally due, and obtain the attorney opinion and local permissions.

Complete training, sell advertising, recruit distribution outlets, prepare local content, and distribute weekly.

Sprague Media Partners

Screen the candidate, research territory overlap and market data, and agree boundaries before signing.

Deliver the FDD and Agreement, grant the territory at signing, provide the Operations Manual, content, and training access.

Retain editorial and format control; provide post-opening support only as it deems reasonable and advisable.

Third parties

Coffee News Printing prepares and ships the hardcopy publication under the required printer arrangement.

Local counsel, government authorities, and business registries control legal opinions, licenses, and entity formalities.

Advertisers and distribution businesses control sales commitments, artwork readiness, placement access, and local launch pace.

The official site provides additional process context through its Coffee News U.S. website, publisher franchise page, and publisher directory. Contractual obligations remain governed by the current FDD and signed agreements.

Disclosure and deadlines

Which deadlines and failure consequences need special attention?

The FTC’s consumer guide to buying a franchise says the FDD must be delivered at least 14 calendar days before the prospect signs a contract or pays money to the franchisor or an affiliate. If the franchisor unilaterally makes a material change to the agreement attached to the FDD, FTC guidance may require an additional seven-calendar-day review period; buyer-requested negotiated changes are treated differently. The FTC Franchise Rule page provides the controlling federal materials.

After signing, the Franchise Agreement requires initial training within four weeks. A requested postponement of the business start date by one month or more can trigger a nonrefundable $1,000 extension payment to hold the area before the full amount is paid. Failure to make required payments for 60 days may result in termination and loss of licensed territories at the franchisor’s option. The Agreement does not provide a general cure right for other defaults.

For multi-territory schedules, Schedule A allows the franchisee after each six-month period to return unopened territories; keeping them may require moving to the next weekly-fee level. This is not a general refund right. Initial fees are disclosed as nonrefundable, and the franchisor’s waiver or extension is not automatic unless the governing document expressly grants it.

Verified opening path: Coffee News is opened by securing an approved exclusive distribution territory, completing federal disclosure review, signing the Franchise Agreement, finishing training, establishing advertisers and distribution outlets, arranging mandatory printing, and publishing the first compliant edition.

Timeline status: the four-to-six-week period after signing is an official estimate, not a deadline or guarantee. The most important applicant-controlled dependency is building enough advertiser and distribution commitments. The main franchisor and third-party dependencies are final territory approval, timely content and training access, and printer readiness. Before committing, verify the $500 draft-fee sequence, the four-week versus eight-week training language, the attorney opinion requirement, and whether the franchisor uses a separate written launch acceptance.