How to Start a Challenge Island Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Opening path

How do you open a Challenge Island franchise?

By the end of the next full calendar month
Disclosed estimate and default threshold

Challenge Island Global, LLC expects a new mobile, home-office franchise to begin operating after signing and required training, by the end of the full calendar month following the signing month. The Franchise Agreement says opening is immediate upon training, while Item 11 says training must finish at least three days before opening. Confirm the operative date in the completed agreement. Missing the disclosed threshold can be treated as a default; it is not a guaranteed opening date.

Data basis: Challenge Island Global, LLC; U.S. Franchise Disclosure Document issued April 21, 2026 and amended June 2, 2026; one mobile Business per Franchise Agreement. Timeline mode: official estimate/default threshold. Reviewed Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20, Franchise Agreement Sections 1, 3, 5–8, 14–17, 20 and 23, and Exhibits A–E. Checked July 14, 2026. The FDD does not disclose a Development Agreement or Area Development Agreement.
14 days
Federal FDD review
Calendar days before signing or payment.
3 days
Initial training
24 classroom hours; Atlanta unless specified.
51%
Operating Owner interest
Unless the franchisor approves a smaller interest.
30 days
Insurance certificate lead
Before coverage is first required.
30–60
Alternative supplier review
Days after a complete written proposal.
Sources: 2026 Challenge Island FDD, cover; Items 8, 11 and 15, pp. 13–31; Franchise Agreement §§6 and 15. Federal timing: FTC Franchise Rule and FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide.
Verified sequence

What happens from inquiry to opening?

The official franchise page describes inquiry, a phone or Zoom discussion, NDA, virtual discovery, Request for Consideration, FDD review, validation, market research, agreement review and training. The 2026 FDD and Franchise Agreement control the stages below.

1

Submit the inquiry and enter discovery

Action: Complete the contact form, introductory call, NDA and virtual discovery activities.
Actor: Applicant and franchisor development team.
Next dependency: Request for Consideration and mutual fit review.
2

Complete qualification and market research

Action: Provide requested financial, educational, work and ownership information; research the local school market.
Actor: Applicant; award remains in franchisor discretion.
Blocker: No published minimum guarantees approval.
3

Receive and review the current FDD

Action: Review all 23 Items, state addenda and the attached Franchise Agreement; validate with franchisees.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before a binding agreement or payment.
Next dependency: Final approval and completed contract documents.
4

Form the ownership structure and sign

Action: Finalize the franchisee entity, Operating Owner, principals, Office and Protected Area; execute the Franchise Agreement, guaranty and ACH authorization.
Timing: The $49,900 initial fee is due at signing and is nonrefundable.
Blocker: All owners must execute the personal guarantee.
5

Establish the Office and compliance file

Action: Confirm a home office inside the Protected Area, or obtain written approval for a commercial office or storage facility; secure applicable licenses, zoning approval and insurance.
Actor: Franchisee and government or insurance authorities.
Blocker: Franchisor approval does not establish legal suitability.
6

Install systems, source materials and staff programs

Action: Activate the Franchise Management Tool, compliant computer and security tools; order approved curriculum, kits and supplies; recruit screened instructors.
Actor: Franchisee, approved suppliers and vendors.
Next dependency: Staff and systems must be ready for training and service delivery.
7

Complete required training

Action: Operating Owner and Manager, if one is used, must complete the 24-hour program to the franchisor’s satisfaction.
Timing: Three days, normally in the Atlanta area; complete at least three days before opening.
Blocker: Unsatisfactory completion can delay opening or trigger replacement training.
8

Clear final readiness and begin operations

Action: Finish written pre-opening requirements, pay amounts due, train sufficient staff, implement required opening promotion and begin approved programs.
Timing: Open immediately after training and by the FDD’s disclosed threshold.
Blocker: Missing the opening deadline is a termination ground without a contractual cure period.
Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 1, 5, 9, 11, 15 and 17; Franchise Agreement §§3.8, 4, 5, 6, 8.2 and 17.2.1. Supplemental sequence: Challenge Island’s official franchise page.
Qualification

What must an applicant qualify for?

Challenge Island evaluates financial resources, background, personality fit and ability to work with its team. The 2026 FDD publishes no minimum net worth, liquid-capital threshold, credit score, degree, teaching credential or prior ownership requirement. Meeting an informal benchmark does not create a right to approval.

One owner must serve as Operating Owner and ordinarily hold at least 51% of voting and ownership interests, unless the franchisor approves less in writing. If that owner will not supervise daily operations full time, the franchisee must employ an acceptable full-time Manager. Every entity owner signs the personal guarantee.

Buyer verification

Ask the development team to identify which application fields are true approval gates, which are preferences, whether any background or credit check is used, and exactly when the applicant becomes “approved.” The FDD describes discretionary award criteria but does not disclose a guaranteed approval formula.

Source: 2026 FDD, Item 1, pp. 1–2; Item 15, p. 31; Franchise Agreement §§6.1 and 28.
Timing evidence

Which disclosed periods can affect the opening schedule?

Disclosed review, training and readiness periods
All values are calendar-day equivalents or stated day counts; triggers differ and the bars must not be added.
FDD review before signing/payment
14 days
Initial training program
3 days
Training completion before opening
3 days
Insurance certificate lead
30 days
Alternative supplier decision
30–60
The review period starts after FDD delivery. Insurance documentation and a proposed nonapproved supplier can become longer lead items and should not wait until training week.
Sources: FTC Franchise Rule Compliance Guide; 2026 FDD, Item 8, pp. 14–15 and Item 11, pp. 24–26; Franchise Agreement §§15.5 and 6.2.
Territory and operating base

Does Challenge Island require a retail site or buildout?

No standard retail buildout is disclosed. The Business is mobile and ordinarily operated from a home office inside the Protected Area. Programs run at schools, residences, community centers, parks and family entertainment centers. The franchisee finds these venues; the franchisor does not find, review or approve them.

The Protected Area differs from venue selection. It uses contiguous ZIP codes and typically includes about 30 public and private elementary schools with at least 200 students, usually a 30–40-school cluster. It is not exclusive: reserved channels and nontraditional facilities remain outside the stated protection.

Site approval is not territory protection

A home Office must be identified in writing and remain inside the Protected Area. A commercial office or storage facility requires prior written approval and applicable permits. Neither that approval nor the Protected Area means the franchisor has validated zoning, landlord terms, school access, customer demand or the suitability of any program venue.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 11, p. 19 and Item 12, pp. 26–28; Franchise Agreement §§1.2–1.5 and 5.2. See the official Challenge Island locations directory and program descriptions for public format context.
Responsibility map

Who controls each opening dependency?

Applicant / franchisee
Submit complete ownership and qualification information.
Choose the Office, obtain permits and insurance, finance the business and hire staff.
Order approved materials, install systems and complete training.
Challenge Island Global, LLC
Decide whether to award the franchise.
Designate the Protected Area and provide Brand Manual access and supplier information.
Provide and evaluate initial training; issue required written approvals.
Third parties
Government authorities decide zoning, licensing and regulatory approvals.
Insurers and approved vendors issue policies, certificates and technology services.
Schools and other clients decide whether and when to host programs.
Required pre-opening assistance is limited to training, Protected Area designation, Brand Manual access and supplier information. It does not promise financing, venues, permits, employees or customer contracts.
Source: 2026 FDD, Items 10–12, pp. 18–28; Franchise Agreement §§3, 7, 8 and 20.
Training and readiness

What must be complete before the first program?

The initial program covers 24 classroom hours over three days. Item 11 and the official ownership page identify metropolitan Atlanta, while Franchise Agreement §6.3.5.2 also references San Francisco or elsewhere for expense responsibility; verify the written training notice. Topics include the Brand Manual, Franchise Management Tool, setup, program operations, curriculum, safety, materials, staffing and classroom management. Up to three approved active participants may attend without an added training fee; the franchisee pays travel, lodging, meals and wages.

Management: Operating Owner and required Manager have completed training to the franchisor’s satisfaction.
People: Sufficient instructors are hired, trained and have completed jurisdiction-required background checks and credentials.
Insurance: Required liability, abuse, cyber, employment and vehicle coverages are active, with required endorsements and certificates.
Technology: Compliant computer, internet, Microsoft Office, security tools and Franchise Management Tool are operational.
Materials: Approved curriculum, kits, supplies, branded materials and required opening inventory are available.
Compliance: Office, licenses, local approvals, staff policies, confidentiality covenants and payment obligations are complete.
Marketing: Required launch activities and franchisor-approved local materials are ready for the pre-opening week.
Authorization: Any exception, supplier, digital site, vehicle, commercial office or out-of-area activity has written approval.

Training alone is insufficient. The agreement also requires sufficient trained staff and payment of amounts due to the franchisor and affiliates before opening.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Items 7, 8 and 11, pp. 10–26; Franchise Agreement §§5.3, 6, 7, 8.2, 14 and 15.
Deadlines and consequences

Which deadlines can block or end the opening process?

Opening immediately after trainingSection 5.1 states that time is of the essence. Item 11 estimates opening by the end of the full calendar month after the signing month.
Training at least three days before openingFailure to complete satisfactorily can require a replacement Manager, delay the opening or support termination.
Insurance before any activityCertificates are due at least 30 days before coverage is first required. If coverage is missing, the franchisor may obtain it and invoice the franchisee.
Written approvals onlyCommercial office, storage, alternative suppliers, certain digital activity and other consent items are valid only when provided in writing.
Opening default has no stated cureSection 17.2.1 permits termination by written notice without an opportunity to cure when the Section 5 opening limit is missed.
Pre-opening performance confirmationIf requested, the franchisee has three business days to confirm performance or identify specific unperformed franchisor obligations.
Contractual deadline

The documents disclose no general extension right or opening-extension fee for ordinary applicant delay. Section 22 automatically extends an applicable period for qualifying causes beyond a party’s control, equal to time lost, if the affected party makes reasonable efforts and gives prompt notice; payment duties are not extended. Any other revised opening date should be documented in writing.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 11, p. 19 and Item 17, pp. 32–35; Franchise Agreement §§3.8, 5.1, 6.2, 15.5, 17.2.1, 22 and 23.
Multiple territories

Is there a separate multi-unit development process?

The 2026 FDD lists only the Franchise Agreement. Multiple territories require multiple Franchise Agreements. No Area Development Agreement, Development Agreement or contractual development schedule is disclosed.

Do not assume one approval, Operating Owner, training session or opening date satisfies every agreement. Verify the Protected Area and Office for each Business, assigned personnel, whether openings may be synchronized, and what happens if one territory misses its deadline. An existing-outlet purchase instead follows the transfer conditions in §16, including prior consent, transferee qualification and required training; it is not this new-unit opening path.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 5, p. 5; Item 12, pp. 26–28; Item 22, p. 45; Franchise Agreement §1 and Exhibit A.
Buyer diligence

What should you verify before signing and scheduling training?

What documents and events constitute qualification, approval and award, and who gives each decision?
Which ZIP codes and schools are included in the proposed Protected Area, and which reserved channels remain available to the franchisor?
What exact Effective Date, training dates and opening threshold will appear in the completed documents?
Will the Operating Owner supervise full time, or must an approved full-time Manager be hired before training?
Which licenses, background checks, insurance endorsements and school-vendor requirements apply in the selected state and locality?
Which systems, kits and approved-supplier orders must arrive before training, and which can be completed afterward?
What written evidence will show that all pre-opening requirements are satisfied and the Business may begin programs?
What did franchisees in Item 20 experience for training availability, school onboarding and actual signing-to-opening time?

As of December 31, 2025, Item 20 reported 93 franchisees operating 170 Territories and provides franchisee contacts. Their experience can test the practical sequence but cannot amend the Franchise Agreement or guarantee the same result.

Sources: 2026 FDD, Item 20, pp. 39–44 and Exhibit B; official Challenge Island ownership process.
Synthesis

What is the practical opening conclusion?

The verified path is qualification, FDD review, Franchise Agreement execution, Protected Area and Office setup, insurance and local compliance, approved systems and staffing, three-day training, then launch of the mobile program business. The timing is an official FDD estimate and default threshold, not a promise: opening is expected by the end of the full calendar month after signing month.

The main applicant-controlled dependency is completing insurance, staffing, systems and local requirements before training. The main outside dependency is training availability, approvals and school relationships. Verify the exact opening deadline and any adjustment in writing because the agreement treats a missed deadline as a termination ground without a stated cure right.