What must you complete before a Black Bear Diner can open?
Black Bear Diner’s 2026 FDD describes a typical 180–365-day path, not a guarantee. The franchisee must pass screening, review the FDD, sign the applicable agreement, secure an approved site and lease, complete buildout, install required systems, finish training and staffing, satisfy licenses and insurance, and obtain BBDI LLC’s written authorization.
Who qualifies, and what happens before signing?
BBDI’s current applicant screen lists $1.5 million net worth, $500,000 liquid capital, and previous restaurant ownership or operating-partner experience. The 2026 FDD says prior restaurant-management experience is preferred. Confirm whether the thresholds apply to each principal, the ownership group or the entity; meeting them does not guarantee approval.
The official applicant page presents the marketing sequence as inquiry form, franchise-sales discussion, FDD review, Discovery Day, Franchise Agreement signing, real-estate selection, construction and training, then opening. Contractually, inquiry, qualification, approval, FDD receipt, signing, site approval and opening authorization remain separate decisions.
The FDD does not disclose a minimum credit score, application fee, fixed approval period or universal background-check standard. Ask BBDI which principals will be reviewed, what evidence is required, and whether approval is for the applicant, entity, territory, site or all four.
What must be reviewed, signed and paid?
The prospect must receive the current FDD at least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying BBDI LLC or an affiliate in connection with the sale. That federal review period is not the application timeline or opening timeline. The FTC franchise guide also advises requesting the most recent FDD and updates before signing.
Single unit
Area development
For an entity-owned single unit, Item 15 says owners of 10% or more—and a spouse if required—must sign the Guarantee and Assumption of Obligations, while the attached Franchise Agreement defines Personal Guarantors more broadly. The Area Development Agreement uses a separate guaranty standard for specified 25% owners, general partners and managing members. Confirm the final guarantor list before signing.
Item 5 treats the initial and Development Fees as fully earned and non-refundable. The attached Franchise Agreement §3.1 includes an exception cross-reference to §8.3, but §8.3 addresses unsuccessful General Manager training rather than an express refund. Have the final documents reconciled before payment.
What is the chronological opening process?
This sequence combines the FDD, attached agreements and official pre-contract process. Each stage advances only after its required document and approval.
Submit the inquiry and application
Complete disclosure review and approval activities
Sign the governing agreement set
Secure written site approval
Obtain lease or purchase approval
Design, permit and build the restaurant
Install required suppliers, equipment and systems
Complete training, hiring and opening preparation
Obtain written authorization and open
Which dates control the critical path?
Three deadlines run from the Franchise Agreement’s execution or effective date. They are termination triggers, not target completion times. State law or a written amendment may affect enforcement, but the agreement does not disclose a general franchisee extension right.
Interpretation: The 60-day site clock is the first contractual bottleneck when a location was not already approved; lease negotiation cannot safely be treated as a later, independent workstream.
Source: 2026 FDD, Item 11, p. 23; Franchise Agreement §§5.1, 5.2 and 5.5, pp. 7–9.
After BBDI approves the site, the franchisee has 365 days to open. The restaurant must also open within 500 days after the agreement becomes effective. Missing either opening deadline may permit immediate termination without a cure period.
How do territory, site, lease, buildout and opening approval differ?
Each approval answers a different question. A Protected Area limits certain same-brand restaurant development around the approved location; it does not prove that a site is viable, a lease is acceptable, plans meet code, construction complies with BBDI standards or the diner is ready to open.
Protected Area or Development Area
Single-unit agreements typically describe an approximately three-mile Protected Area. An area developer receives a negotiated Development Area tied to a Development Schedule.
Written location approval
The franchisee finds the location. BBDI reviews suitability, traffic, access, visibility, parking, nearby businesses and proposed lease terms.
Lease or purchase approval
BBDI must approve the commitment first and may require collateral assignment. Landlord consent and lease execution remain third-party dependencies.
Plan approval before work
An acceptable architect adapts BBDI’s standards. No site preparation or construction may start before written plan approval.
Final inspection and sign-off
Conversion, ground-up and end-cap projects must follow approved plans, code, décor, equipment and signage requirements.
Written authorization
BBDI authorizes opening only after satisfactory buildout, training, minimum staffing and verification of all pre-opening obligations.
The FDD uses an approximately 4,500–6,000-square-foot rent assumption. The official footprint page highlights conversions, ground-up sites and end caps. Obtain BBDI’s current written criteria for the proposed market and format.
Who must train, manage and support the opening?
The franchisee owner, General Manager and assistant manager personnel identified by BBDI must complete initial training to BBDI’s satisfaction before operations. The FDD describes approximately eight weeks and 320 hours of on-the-job management training, supplemented by roughly 15–30 hours of classroom or online work.
| Role or module | Disclosed duration | Completion requirement | Opening dependency |
|---|---|---|---|
| Franchisee / General Manager / assistant manager | About 8 weeks; about 320 on-the-job hours | Complete to BBDI’s satisfaction | Required before opening authorization |
| Kitchen Manager | About 160 on-the-job hours | Food preparation, purchasing and cost control | Supports trained kitchen leadership |
| Grand Opening Module | About 80 hours; 14 consecutive days described | Conducted where BBDI determines | Coordinates with opening assistance |
| Area Development Manager for 5+ units | Initial program; no separate duration | Full-time best efforts and satisfactory completion | Required to oversee the multi-unit program |
The restaurant must remain under exclusive, direct, full-time supervision of the individual franchisee or, for an entity, its trained General Manager. The official FAQ says an owner may hire an experienced operations manager; that does not replace the agreement’s full-time supervision and training rules.
BBDI discloses approximately 14 days of on-site guidance: 6–10 representatives for a franchisee’s first or second restaurant, 3–5 for the third, and 1–2 for the fourth or later restaurant. If the franchisee requests a reschedule and BBDI agrees, the franchisee reimburses actual rescheduling costs, estimated in Item 6 at $4,500–$8,000.
Who controls each opening dependency?
BBDI supplies standards, reviews and specified assistance. The franchisee remains responsible for the site, capital, lease, construction, employees and legal compliance; third parties can still delay opening.
Applicant / franchisee
BBDI LLC
Third parties
What must be verified before BBDI authorizes opening?
Written authorization depends on satisfactory completion, not a scheduled date. Reconcile this checklist with the final agreement, Manual, approved plans, state addendum and local requirements.
What should a buyer verify directly before committing?
Use Item 20’s current and former franchisee contacts to test the process against actual projects. The FTC’s FDD review guidance supports detailed questions before signing.
Verified synthesis: the opening path is applicant screening and approval, federal FDD review, agreement signing, written site and lease approval, approved design and buildout, required systems and suppliers, training and staffing, final inspection, then BBDI’s written authorization. The official typical total is 180–365 days from signing, while the franchisee-controlled critical dependency is securing an approvable site and lease. The largest outside dependencies are permitting, construction and supplier delivery. Verify the 60-, 180-, 365- and 500-day deadlines—and the area-development schedule, if applicable—before committing.