How to Start a Batteries Plus Bulbs Franchise in 7 Steps: Checklist

Get Franchise Bundle
Get Full Bundle:
$79 $49
$99 $79
$49 $29

TOTAL:

Opening timeline

How long does it take to open a Batteries Plus franchise?

5–10 months
Typical physical-store opening period disclosed in the 2026 FDD

The 2026 Batteries Plus Franchise Disclosure Document says the typical period from Batteries Plus, L.L.C.’s acceptance of the Franchise Agreement to opening the brick-and-mortar Store is 5 to 10 months. It separately says commercial sales typically begin in 3 to 6 months. Financing, construction, training availability, and other third-party dependencies can shorten or lengthen that timing.

Data basis. Legal franchisor: Batteries Plus, L.L.C., a Wisconsin limited liability company. FDD issuance date: March 26, 2026. Current offer: individual Store franchises and multiple-unit territory development. Timeline mode: Mode A — official total timeline. Primary evidence: 2026 FDD Items 1, 5–12, 15–17 and 20; Franchise Agreement; Multiple Unit Franchise Agreement; Alternative Exhibit A; Store Lease Addendum; and guaranty forms. Checked July 18, 2026. New Stores use the Batteries Plus mark; some legacy Stores still use “Batteries Plus Bulbs.”

Public supplemental sources: the official Batteries Plus franchise website, its franchising process page, the ideal candidate page, and the Federal Trade Commission’s franchise buyer guide and Franchise Rule materials.

3–6
Months to commercial sales
Typical from Franchise Agreement acceptance. 2026 FDD Item 11, p. 31.
12
Months to open
Single-unit development deadline stated in Item 11; executed Exhibit A controls.
30
Days for site decision
After a complete site report and requested materials are received.
14
Calendar-day FDD review
Federal pre-signing/pre-payment disclosure period; not an opening timeline.
Qualification

What must an applicant qualify for before signing?

The official franchise inquiry form currently screens for at least $125,000 in available liquid capital. That is an application-stage screen, not the same thing as the contract’s capital requirement. The 2026 FDD says the initial investment for each Store must include at least $100,000 of personal cash or other liquid assets, while Franchise Agreement Section 4(H) requires at least $100,000 of direct equity invested in the Store business and at least $75,000 of maintained equity during the term.

No specialized battery, lighting, repair, or retail background is stated as a formal prerequisite in the FDD; the official candidate page likewise says a specific background or skill set is not necessary. The FDD does not disclose a minimum credit score. Meeting financial screens does not obligate Batteries Plus, L.L.C. to award a franchise.

If the franchisee is an entity, each person with a 10% or greater ownership interest is a Principal Owner and must sign the Guaranty and Assumption of Obligations. The Store must remain under the direct supervision of the franchisee, a Principal Owner, or an approved, trained operating manager. If the owner will not manage day to day, the Franchise Agreement requires two approved, fully trained Store Managers on staff and designated owner training.

Confirm the current liquid-capital screen with the franchise development team.
Document at least the FDD-required per-Store cash/equity commitment.
Identify every 10%+ Principal Owner who will sign the guaranty.
Decide who will be the full-time day-to-day Store Manager.
If using an operating manager, obtain franchisor approval and complete required training.
For multiple-unit development, prepare requested financial statements, pro formas, and financing plans.
Verified roadmap

What happens from initial inquiry to opening day?

The public Batteries Plus process presents brand review, Discovery Day, franchise signing, commercial selling, location development, training, and grand opening. The contractual sequence is more detailed: FDD delivery and the federal review period must precede a binding agreement or payment; site, lease, design, training, insurance, systems, and opening approval each have separate gates.

1
Submit an inquiry and enter qualification review
Action: Provide the application information requested by Batteries Plus franchise development.
Actor: Applicant and franchisor.
Timing: No contractual application duration is disclosed.
Blocker: Financial fit, ownership structure, or franchisor approval.
2
Receive and review the FDD
Action: Review the 2026 FDD, Franchise Agreement, Multiple Unit Franchise Agreement if applicable, guaranties, Lease Addendum, and state addenda.
Actor: Applicant.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying the franchisor or an affiliate.
Next dependency: The federal waiting period is separate from approval and due diligence.
3
Complete the franchisor’s pre-award process
Action: Continue diligence and, under the public process, participate in Discovery Day before becoming a franchisee.
Actor: Applicant and franchisor.
Timing: No FDD-defined duration.
Blocker: Discovery Day is shown publicly but is not stated as a contractual FDD condition.
4
Sign the correct agreement set
Action: A single-unit buyer signs a Franchise Agreement; a multiple-unit buyer signs the Multiple Unit Franchise Agreement and the first Store Franchise Agreement together.
Actor: Franchisee, Principal Owners, and Batteries Plus, L.L.C.
Timing: After the disclosure period and approval.
Blocker: Signing triggers non-refundable fees and the development clock.
5
Establish the site path and submit the location
Action: Use Exhibit A if the Store site is already approved, or Alternative Exhibit A if the location will be found later; submit a complete site report.
Actor: Franchisee locates the site; franchisor evaluates it.
Timing: Written site decision within 30 days after a complete submission.
Blocker: A search area is not a Protected Area; territorial protection begins only after an approved site is documented in Exhibit A.
6
Obtain lease approval and start commercial sales training
Action: Do not sign the Store lease before written franchisor approval; landlord and franchisee must sign the Store Lease Addendum. Attend one week of on-site commercial training within three months after signing.
Actor: Franchisee, franchisor, landlord.
Timing: Commercial sales typically begin 3–6 months after Franchise Agreement acceptance.
Next dependency: After successful commercial training, the franchisee must begin commercial selling before the physical Store opens.
7
Design, permit, build, and equip the Store
Action: Submit modified plans for approval, obtain applicable permits and licenses, use a qualified licensed/insured/bonded general contractor, install approved fixtures, signs, Retail Management System, connectivity, delivery vehicle, and opening inventory.
Actor: Franchisee, contractor, suppliers, government authorities; franchisor approves standards.
Timing: Local timing is not fixed in the FDD.
Blocker: Financing, landlord work, permitting, construction, supplier lead times, and utilities.
8
Complete retail, in-store, and repair training
Action: Once a site is secured, complete one week of retail training and one additional week at a designated Store. For a first Store, two people must complete device-repair training before retail opening.
Actor: Principal Owner/Store Manager and required employee trainees.
Timing: Training dates depend on class availability and site readiness.
Blocker: A proposed Store Manager who does not qualify must be replaced and trained before opening.
9
Pass the opening-readiness gate
Action: Complete construction, systems, inventory, staffing, insurance evidence, required marketing setup, Omni-Channel participation, and all manager training.
Actor: Franchisee with franchisor review and third-party completion.
Timing: Insurance evidence is due within two weeks before taking possession and beginning development.
Blocker: The physical Store may not open without Batteries Plus, L.L.C.’s prior written approval.
10
Open the physical Store and receive launch assistance
Action: Open only after written authorization and begin retail operations under the approved Store format.
Actor: Franchisee; franchisor provides opening assistance.
Timing: The franchisor provides one employee for seven days of opening and initial-operations assistance.
Next dependency: Continue required commercial support, inventory planning, marketing, and operating programs after opening.
Training evidence

How much training is disclosed before and around opening?

Item 11 breaks the Initial Start Up Training Program for new franchise owners into compatible hour-based phases. The chart below uses only the disclosed hours in that table; it does not convert the hours into a total calendar timeline because several components occur in different formats and at different points in the opening process.

Initial Start Up Training Program — disclosed hours by phase
Hours shown in the 2026 FDD training table; coaching and in-store phases may occur on different schedules.
Pre-classroom learning28 hrs Classroom program80 hrs Designated Store training40 hrs Pre-opening coaching80 hrs

Interpretation: the largest disclosed hour blocks are classroom instruction and pre-opening coaching, while the Franchise Agreement separately requires one-week commercial training, online modules, one-week retail training, and one week at a designated Store. Source: 2026 FDD Item 11, pp. 31–33; Franchise Agreement §5(B).

Training requirement

New franchise owners must successfully complete the required training programs. The physical Store cannot open unless each proposed Store Manager has successfully completed the initial start-up program, including online courses. If the owner will not manage the Store day to day, two approved trained Store Managers must be on staff.

Site approval

How do site approval, territory, lease approval, and buildout differ?

They are separate decisions. A designated search area under Alternative Exhibit A does not create a Protected Area. Batteries Plus, L.L.C. first evaluates the proposed Store location; after approval, the parties document the Store and Protected Area in Exhibit A. The Protected Area is the lesser of a three-mile radius or an area containing 150,000 people, subject to the Franchise Agreement’s reserved rights.

Search area
Franchisee locates a candidate site within the agreed geographic search area.
Site report
Franchisee submits demographics, commercial information, photos, and requested materials.
Written site consent
Franchisor accepts or rejects the complete submission in writing, generally within 30 days.
Lease gate
Franchisor must approve the proposed lease before signature; landlord signs the Lease Addendum.
Design and buildout
Approved plans, contractor, permits, systems, signage, fixtures, vehicle, and inventory are completed.
Opening authorization
Construction completion alone is insufficient; prior written franchisor approval is required to open.
Site approval is not territory protection

Do not treat a market discussion, search map, or proposed site as a protected territory. Under the attached Franchise Agreement, territorial protection is tied to the approved Store location and Exhibit A. Site approval also does not guarantee lease approval, construction completion, permits, or business performance.

Readiness dependencies

What must be in place before Batteries Plus can authorize opening?

The franchisee must obtain applicable permits and licenses, build to approved plans, install approved fixtures and equipment, secure the delivery vehicle, establish required accounting and inventory systems, and stock approved opening inventory. Local permit categories and timing vary, so the FDD provides no universal municipal checklist.

Required technology includes the Retail Management System, proprietary software, designated hardware, primary business-class internet and cellular backup, approved payment processing, and participation in the PCI compliance program. The FDD also flags environmental obligations related to batteries and lamps. The U.S. EPA universal-waste guidance explains the federal framework for batteries and lamps; state programs can differ. Payment-data requirements should be verified against the PCI Security Standards Council and the franchisor’s required compliance program.

Insurance is another pre-development gate. The Franchise Agreement requires specified liability, property, business interruption, auto, data privacy, employment-practices, and other coverage, with evidence delivered to the franchisor within two weeks before the franchisee takes possession and begins development of the Store premises.

Format difference

How does the multiple-unit opening path differ from a single Store?

A multiple-unit buyer signs a Multiple Unit Franchise Agreement covering a Designated Area and Development Schedule, plus a separate Franchise Agreement for each Store. The first Store Franchise Agreement is signed when the Multiple Unit Franchise Agreement is signed; later Store agreements are signed at the earlier of delivery of the complete site report or 12 months before that Store’s required opening date.

Path Governing documents Development gate Failure consequence
Single Store Franchise Agreement, Exhibit A or Alternative Exhibit A, Lease Addendum, guaranty Approved site, lease, training, buildout, systems, prior written opening approval Failure to open can become a curable default; extension rights depend on executed documents
Multiple unit Multiple Unit Franchise Agreement plus one Franchise Agreement per Store Meet Development Schedule, financial capability criteria, site requirements, and good-standing conditions Development rights can be terminated or protected development rights can be lost

The 2026 FDD describes the Multiple Unit Franchise Agreement term as generally no longer than three years and generally anticipates the first Store within 12 months and the second within 24 months. The attached Development Schedule is the controlling place to verify the actual number of Stores and required opening dates for a particular award.

Contractual deadlines

Which deadlines and document conflicts should a buyer resolve before signing?

The FDD describes a typical 5–10 month opening period and states that a single-unit Store must open within 12 months after the Franchise Agreement date. The Franchise Agreement, however, makes the deadline the period inserted into Exhibit A or the date inserted into Alternative Exhibit A. The execution copies control the buyer-specific milestone.

Buyer verification — reconcile the execution set

Site deadline: Franchise Agreement §2(A) refers to site acceptance at least 150 days before scheduled opening, while Alternative Exhibit A states 180 days and gives termination rights if approval is not obtained by that 180-day point. Device-repair training: Item 11 describes three days, while Franchise Agreement §5(B) says approximately two days. Extensions: Item 6 and Franchise Agreement §4(F) describe up to three months without an added fee plus up to four approved one-month extensions at $2,500 each, while Item 12 separately summarizes different extension economics and a six-month cap. These differences should be resolved in the final documents before signing.

For multiple-unit development, another timing difference appears: Item 1 generally describes purchasing or leasing the first approved location within three months, while Multiple Unit Franchise Agreement §5(A) requires franchisor acceptanceof the first site within six months. The signed Development Schedule and Store-specific Franchise Agreements should state the operative milestones.

Under Item 17, failure to open when required, failure to complete training, certain lease failures, and other material breaches generally carry a 30-day cure period after notice; payment defaults generally carry a 10-day cure period. State-specific addenda can modify contractual rights, so the applicable state addendum must be included in the review.

Final verification

What should a prospective franchisee verify before the Store opens?

The exact legal franchisee entity and every Principal Owner signing the guaranty.
Whether the award is single-unit or multiple-unit and which Development Schedule applies.
The exact Store opening date or month inserted into Exhibit A or Alternative Exhibit A.
The exact site-acceptance deadline where the 150-day and 180-day language differs.
Written franchisor site consent before committing to the lease.
Franchisor lease approval and a landlord-signed Store Lease Addendum.
Training attendees, Store Manager structure, and current device-repair course length.
All local permits, inspections, utilities, insurance evidence, and environmental obligations.
Approved suppliers, Retail Management System, Omni-Channel, payment processing, PCI compliance, and opening inventory.
Written authorization from Batteries Plus, L.L.C. before opening the physical Store.

The FDD’s Item 20 and Exhibit D provide current and former franchisee contacts that a buyer can use to test how site selection, landlord negotiations, training scheduling, commercial-first selling, buildout, and opening approval work in practice. Those interviews can help identify operational delays, but they do not replace the deadlines in the executed agreements.

Synthesis. The verified path is inquiry and qualification, FDD review, franchisor award/signing, commercial training and early B2B selling, site and lease approval, buildout and systems installation, retail/in-store/device-repair training, readiness completion, written opening authorization, and launch support. The total timeline is an official typical 5–10 months, not a guarantee. The most important applicant-controlled dependency is securing and developing an approved site on time; the most important franchisor/third-party dependencies are written site/lease/opening approvals plus permitting and construction. The key unresolved issue is the conflicting site, training, and extension language that must be reconciled in the execution set.