OPENING TIMELINE
How long does it take to open an Apricot Lane Boutique?
≈6 months
Official FDD estimate when the site is identified at signing
The 2026 FDD says the typical period from Franchise Agreement signing to opening is about six months when the location is already identified. Under the Open License path, the FDD says the process can take 18 months or more because site selection comes after signing. These are disclosed estimates, not guaranteed opening dates; separate contractual deadlines still apply.
Data basis: Country Visions, Inc. is the U.S. franchisor. The governing disclosure reviewed is the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document issued March 9, 2026. This article covers the single-store Apricot Lane Boutique offer, including the identified-site and Open License paths, plus the optional Location Option for a later additional store. Timeline mode: official total timeline. Key evidence comes from FDD Items 1, 5–12, 15–17, 20 and 22; Franchise Agreement Sections 1, 4–6, 14, 16 and 18; the Open License; Location Option Agreement; and lease addendum. Checked July 18, 2026.
14 days
Federal disclosure period
Calendar days before signing a binding deal or paying the franchisor.
30 days
Site decision window
Business days after Country Visions receives the written site proposal.
2 weeks
Training completion lead
Initial training must finish at least two weeks before opening.
60 days
Insurance certificate deadline
After signing, and never later than acquiring a real-property interest.
12 months
Open License opening deadline
After securing an approved site, unless Country Visions grants a written extension.
QUALIFICATION
What must an applicant qualify for before Apricot Lane awards a franchise?
The current official Apricot Lane process page describes an introductory call, a Founder call, a financial application, franchisee validation, an application review and a leadership call before an Open License award. The same page says the financial application itself does not involve a credit or background check. That statement should not be read as a promise that no third party will later require financial underwriting.
The official investment page currently lists a minimum net worth of $250,000 and $80,000–$100,000 in liquid assets depending on financing. The official ideal-candidate page says business management or retail experience is a plus, not a requirement. These are current franchisor marketing qualifications; the FDD does not state that meeting them guarantees approval.
✓Confirm the applicant or ownership group meets Country Visions' current financial qualification standards.
✓Complete the application accurately; a material misrepresentation is an immediate-termination ground in the Franchise Agreement.
✓Plan for full-time owner involvement or a trained full-time manager; the franchisee remains ultimately responsible.
✓If an entity signs, all owners must sign the Guaranty and Assumption of Obligations disclosed in the FDD.
✓Verify spouse-signature requirements: the FDD cover and Item 15 describe the guaranty issue differently, so confirm the documents for your transaction.
✓Do not treat a market discussion, site tour or verbal award as final site approval, lease approval or a protected territory.
VERIFIED ROADMAP
What happens from first inquiry to opening?
The sales process and the contractual opening process are related but distinct. Apricot Lane's website explains how prospects are screened and introduced to the system; the FDD and attached agreements control signing, payment, site, lease, training and opening obligations.
1
Inquiry and initial fit conversations
Action: Submit an inquiry and complete the introductory and Founder discussions described by Apricot Lane.
Actor: Applicant and franchise development team.
Timing: The website gives a 15-minute introductory-call length, but no total approval deadline.
Next dependency: The applicant must be invited to complete the financial application.
2
Application review and franchise award decision
Action: Complete the financial application, speak with franchisees and participate in the follow-up review and leadership call.
Actor: Applicant and Country Visions.
Timing: No contractual decision period is disclosed.
Blocker: Country Visions must determine both financial pathway and fit; minimums do not guarantee award.
3
FDD receipt and pre-signing review
Action: Receive and review the current FDD, Franchise Agreement and applicable exhibits before binding commitment.
Actor: Franchisor provides; applicant reviews.
Timing: At least 14 calendar days before signing a binding agreement or paying Country Visions or an affiliate.
Next dependency: Resolve agreement, guaranty, state-addendum and site-path questions before signing.
4
Sign the correct agreement path
Action: Sign the Franchise Agreement; if no site is approved, also sign the Open License exhibit.
Actor: Franchisee, guarantors and Country Visions.
Timing: An identified-site franchise fee is due at signing; an Open License starts with a $5,000 nonrefundable installment.
Blocker: The Open License site-search period is blank in the form and must be completed in the executed exhibit.
5
Find the site, obtain site approval and clear the lease
Action: Submit the proposed site, detailed LOI terms and evidence of favorable prospects before acquiring the premises.
Actor: Franchisee secures the site; Country Visions approves or disapproves.
Timing: Written site decision within 30 business days after the written proposal is received.
Next dependency: The proposed lease must be approved before signing, and any site purchase must follow the franchisor-approved site process.
6
Design, permit and build the boutique
Action: Obtain required plans, zoning changes, building and sign permits, licensed architect services when required and a licensed general contractor.
Actor: Franchisee and third-party professionals.
Timing: Final plans require Country Visions approval before work begins.
Blocker: Construction, landlord approvals, code compliance, utilities and permit issuance remain third-party dependencies.
7
Set up insurance, systems, inventory and opening readiness
Action: Deliver insurance evidence, install required POS/computer and traffic-counter systems, join the gift-card program, use approved sources and prepare opening inventory.
Actor: Franchisee, suppliers and Country Visions.
Timing: Centralized Buying begins about eight weeks before the planned opening; participation is mandatory before opening.
Next dependency: Required equipment, inventory, staffing and grand-opening marketing must be ready for launch.
8
Complete both training phases
Action: Complete Phase 1 onboarding before Phase 2, then finish the in-boutique and designated buying-market components.
Actor: Franchisee and the designated employee attending initial training.
Timing: The FDD lists 131 Phase 1 hours and 55 Phase 2 hours; all phases must finish at least two weeks before opening.
Blocker: Failure to complete training satisfactorily is an immediate-termination ground.
9
Obtain final approvals and open
Action: Complete pre-opening standards, obtain all final permits and certificates including the certificate of occupancy, and pass Country Visions' System-compliance approval.
Actor: Franchisee, government authorities and Country Visions.
Timing: Open within six months of signing for the standard path, or within 12 months after securing an approved site under Open License, absent written extension.
Blocker: Missing permits or final franchisor approval prevents opening.
SITE APPROVAL IS NOT TERRITORY PROTECTION
Country Visions' site approval, lease approval and Territory are separate. The Franchise Agreement grants operation at one approved location. For shopping-center stores, the Territory is generally the shopping-center property; for stand-alone stores, the FDD says it is typically a 1- to 2-mile radius depending on market. The Territory is not exclusive against every competing channel or brand.
Pre-opening countdown markers disclosed in the FDD
These markers share the scheduled opening date as the reference point; two are approximate planning markers and one is a minimum completion deadline.
Centralized Buying Service begins≈56 days before opening
Typical pre-opening marketing period begins≈30 days before opening
Initial training must be complete≥14 days before opening
Interpretation: buying, marketing and training overlap in the final eight weeks, so delays in inventory planning or training can compress the same pre-opening period rather than simply adding time to the end.
Source: 2026 Country Visions, Inc. FDD, Items 7 and 11. The eight-week and 30-day markers are disclosed planning estimates; the two-week training requirement is mandatory.
RESPONSIBILITIES
Who controls the critical opening dependencies?
The franchisee controls most execution work, Country Visions controls system approvals, and landlords, contractors and government authorities control several outside dependencies. A franchisor recommendation or review does not transfer responsibility for the lease, construction legality or permit issuance.
Opening responsibility matrix
The process can move only when the responsible actor completes the dependency assigned to that stage.
Applicant / Franchisee
Application accuracy, financing pathway, site search, lease negotiation, entity and guaranty documents, plans, contractor engagement, permits, insurance, systems, hiring, inventory, training participation and readiness for final opening review.
Country Visions
Candidate award decision, site decision, lease-condition review, System plan review, training, approved-source standards, opening assistance and final System-compliance approval. Assistance does not guarantee real estate, financing, construction or permits.
Third parties
Landlord LOI and lease, lender underwriting, architect and contractor performance, supplier delivery, utility activation, local inspections and government permits. These outside dependencies can delay opening even after franchise-side tasks are complete.
Source: 2026 FDD Items 8, 10 and 11; Franchise Agreement Sections 4–6 and 16.
OPEN LICENSE
What changes when the franchise is signed before a site is secured?
Under the Open License exhibit, the Franchise Agreement is signed before a final premises is approved. The franchisee pays a $5,000 nonrefundable installment at signing; the balance becomes due after an LOI is negotiated and the franchisee requests a lease for the approved location. The executed Open License must state the number of calendar months allowed to secure and obtain approval for a site.
The form FDD leaves that site-search period blank. Extensions may be granted only by mutual written agreement in three-month increments, and Country Visions has no obligation to grant one. Missing the site deadline can lead to termination and retention of the $5,000 installment. After the approved site is secured, the separate contractual deadline is to open within 12 months unless Country Visions grants a written extension in its sole discretion.
CONTRACTUAL DEADLINE
The FDD's statement that an Open License can take 18 months or more is an opening-time estimate, not the site-search deadline. The actual site-search deadline must be written into the signed Open License exhibit. Verify that number, any extension language and the event that Country Visions will treat as “site secured” before signing.
ADDITIONAL STORES
Is there a separate multi-unit development path?
The 2026 FDD does not disclose an Area Development Agreement or a general multi-unit development schedule. It also does not present conversion, mobile, home-based, kiosk or e-commerce operations as separate franchise-opening formats; temporary, seasonal, kiosk and cart extensions require prior written approval, and e-commerce participation requires separate qualification and an amendment. Country Visions has no obligation to approve an additional store. An approved additional store requires the then-current Franchise Agreement and the then-applicable additional-store franchise fee.
Optional Location Option for one identified additional site
An existing franchisee may request a 12-month Location Option for a specific location. It is discretionary, costs $15,000 when signed, and is not final site approval. To exercise it, the franchisee must remain compliant, provide a pre-approved financing package, secure the location and sign the then-current Franchise Agreement before expiration. If not exercised on time, the option expires and the option fee is retained.
BUYER VERIFICATION
What should a prospective franchisee verify before committing?
Use the FDD and final agreements to verify transaction-specific blanks and approvals rather than relying only on the website sequence. The FTC's franchise buyer guide explains the federal disclosure period, and the FTC Franchise Rule page provides the governing federal framework.
✓Confirm whether your transaction is an identified-site signing or an Open License signing.
✓For Open License, verify the exact site-search months inserted in Exhibit A and the written-extension process.
✓Confirm the Territory description separately from the site and lease approval.
✓Verify the lease addendum or collateral assignment language required for your landlord.
✓Confirm who must attend training and who will act as the trained full-time manager if the owner delegates daily supervision.
✓Check local permit, zoning, inspection and certificate-of-occupancy requirements with the relevant authorities and qualified professionals.
✓Confirm supplier lead times for POS, fixtures, signage and opening inventory before fixing a grand-opening date.
✓Speak with current and former franchisees listed in Item 20 about actual site, buildout, training and opening bottlenecks.
Official public references:
No matching 2026 FDD was verified on a franchise-controlled public domain, so FDD citations above are intentionally unlinked.
FINAL SYNTHESIS
What is the verified opening path in one view?
The verified path is application and fit review, FDD review, Franchise Agreement signing, site and lease approval, design/buildout, systems and inventory setup, training, final permits and Country Visions' opening approval. The total timeline is an official FDD estimate: about six months with a site identified at signing, while Open License can take 18 months or more. The main applicant-controlled dependency is securing and developing an approved site; the main outside dependencies are landlord, contractor, supplier and government approvals. The key unresolved item for an Open License buyer is the blank site-search deadline that must be completed in the signed exhibit.